Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal 

3rd April 2017:
Oh Wow! Fred is not dead!? This is so interesting - though I would be sad and heart broken if you've just given false hope here! I don't think I've ever seen as story where one takes the route of keeping Fred alive and how you are doing it keeps things VERY canon to the books and yet 'fixes' things for at least one person. Kudos on pulling that off!

Now that we've got the initial reaction out of the way I wanted to go back and state how the beginning for the story was pulling at my heart strings - I was beginning to think that this story was going to get me tearing up by the end as you feel so much for George and his loss and pain and partially because I do love Fred.

Also I admit that based on the title I thought that this story was going to be all about George healing from the loss of Fred but now I'm wondering if this is a healing story of Fred getting better. (If the main summary covers this and I'm being a dunce please forgive me - I have a habit of diving into the story without a summary sometimes.)

Anyway great job on bringing the shock of Fred possibly not being dead! I also love that George jumps to join the port key at the last minute, it is so him not leaving his brother's side.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I tried SO hard to make it so this could really be canon for almost everything except possibly the epilogue, (though technically there's no mention of Fred there, either, so.) I didn't want to be like - no, JKR was wrong! But at the same time, that's exactly what I was doing, hehehe. Because, Fred being dead is just wrong. I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

And I can't lie and say this second point doesn't also make me smile. I WAS trying to tug at some heart-strings, simply because Fred dying cut me up inside, and so I poured all of that emotion in to George there.

This story is titled for both of the reasons you just mentioned, plus others. Fred healing, George healing from almost losing him. Harry healing from all the trauma of - everything. And all the others as well.

Thank you so much! This review was so much fun to read!


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

3rd April 2017:
Here to review for Slytherin.

Oh my god. This story started out in a heartbreaking manner and then by the end of the chapter (prologue) it had me almost jumping with shock and excitement. What a way to transition your readers' emotions! The opening was great with some beautiful descriptions. You set the mood beautifully with the quote itself, very fitting indeed. George's emotions made sense, his grief came through the narrative brilliantly, of course he wanted to be left alone.

The whole "wand sweep" thing was a great idea. It's fascinating to explore how wizards do things that we muggles do. For some reason, the whole idea of the wand glowing blue around made it sound so sad, even sadder than usual! The little details also worked very well to shape up the narrative and bring the scene to life, such as the trio not being there, or Fleur tending to the wounded in a corner and so on.

The change of the pacing and dialogue with the wand glowing red instead of blue was done brilliantly. The entire energy of the narrative changed and I felt the shock alongside George. The time it took for him to register the situation made sense and you juiced out the moment perfectly by him grabbing on to the portkey last minute!

I'm very excited to continue reading and see the direction the plot is headed in. It would be wonderful if fred were alive! *sobs*

Great work, 10/10
cheers
Angie

Author's Response: Hey, that's good! That's exactly what I was trying to do with this first little part. Make everyone go from one extreme to the other with their emotions! Always make me happy to know I accomplished it for someone!

I had a lot of fun thinking up those little things that would take our normal things and change them for a magical world. And I was trying very hard to stick to the canon chapter at this point, so it's nice that you noticed those little things.

And now my grin is very big! Thank you! I'm so glad it worked for you, and you enjoyed it! Thanks for giving me a smile, when you first did this, and today when I got to read it again.


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne 

22nd May 2016:
I feel like I'm going to cry during this chapter, I can feel it in my bones and my heart as I read this, and I've only gotten to the second sentence.

*tries to keep in the tears*

George without Fred always gets me sad, it always breaks my heart. They can't be without each other, it shouldn't be allowed.

Oh god, this is painful. I hate to think what it must be like for George.

No! He's alive?! Please tell me that he's alive, please don't let this be a joke.

No! You can't leave it there! I need to know what happens! He needs to be alive! I have all this hope inside me and I need to know!

This is the best and worst cliffhanger! Such a mixture of emotions right now, the main one is relief and love for you if he's still alive!

Author's Response: Um...probably. I won't hide that fact. I kinda wrote it hoping to pull at the tears a little bit, so I'd be honored if it worked.

George without Fred is just wrong, in any universe. :( It makes me too sad to think about it.

Um.sorry. But at least I know it's working!

Umm...maybe?

I think that's the best compliment ever. Thanks! So glad you enjoyed reading it, and then went and read the next one as well! You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #4, by victoria_anne 

27th February 2016:
Happy birthday to you!
Happy birthday to you!
Happy birthday dear Farmgirl!
Happy birthday to you!

Aand now the mood is going to change after I've read this. Oh man. So sad. Fred's death is still so painful and I felt all of that all over again in your writing. You write beautifully, by the way.

Oooh what is going on?! I actually got butterflies in my stomach when Madam Pomfrey's wand turned red! Sorry, I'm going to have to leave now, I HAVE to find out what happens next!

I hope you have birthday as wonderful as you :)

Bianca x

Author's Response: Ah! Beautiful singing! Thank you!

And...um...yeah. The mood is probably a little more somber in this first chapter. Fred's death is just wrong on so many levels, so I totally understand what you're saying.

And yep. There's my little twist. Sorry about the butterflies, but hopefully you liked it! And rushing to find out what happens is the best compliment ever!

Thank you for the birthday wishes, and for reading!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

15th September 2015:
Hey there! I'm here checking out the Dobby nominees--big congratulations on your nomination!

And OH MY GOSH! Is Fred alive?! This possibility fills me with joy! What is happening?!! FRED!

Okay, I'm going to try to calm down and give you a review that's actually a review.

I found the first line to be really striking. It pulled me right in. And your descriptions are really solid--the whole scene seems just how things might've looked after the battle.

I like the idea of a Wand Sweep. That's a handy piece of magic. I wonder if wizards had that way before we could detect brain activity and heartbeats with machines. I always love when people include new bits of magic.

CC:

blood-shot expressions
--Most properly, I think it would be spelled "bloodshot".

That's all I noticed, though!

Great job, and now I really do have to go find out what's happened with Fred. Like, right now!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! This was so kind of you! And I'm so sorry that it's taken me two whole years to reply to this amazing set of reviews you left me. I do hope you can forgive me.

AH! I love your reaction to this! It is so much what I hoped would happen to readers when I wrote this chapter. You have just made me smile.

And yes, there might be hope for Fred in this story. Just a little bit of it.

No need to calm down. This was the best review ever! But, thank you for your words just the same. I really had hoped to make it seem like this was just an extension of the canon scene we saw in the books, so it's lovely to hear you think it worked.

You know, I'd never thought about what came first - The Wand Sweep or muggle tech to show if someone is dead. Interesting.

Ah, thanks for the typo spot! And thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotter 

11th September 2015:
Hey, Farmgirl! I'm here reading/reviewing the Dobby stories. Congratulations on your nomination!

Boy, did George's grief break my heart here but then HOLY MOTHER OF PLOT TWISTS, is Fred still alive?! If Fred isn't alive and you're just getting my hopes up I will cry real tears and have an actual tantrum! I need to read on!!

Dee

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much! I'm so honored I was nominated and so honored people stopped by to read!

I do hope you can forgive how late this response is! Got so swamped and it's taken a lot to catch up.

Hehehehe. I love your reaction. I love it when this catches people by surprise and they express it in their reviews. It's like watching people read my story in real time.

Thanks!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Frankie05 

14th August 2015:
Hey Farmgirl,

I asked if anyone wanted reviews on the forums and Tanya in her sweetness directed me to your story :)

This seems promising, George and Fred our beloved twins, starting out with the heartbreak of losing Fred, George suffering in silence. You already start out sad and upset that one of the best is dead. And the fight isn't even over yet (if we are going by canon). so when we see the audience around those in the Hall- we see the reprieve. They cant find Harry, Ron, or Hermione, Bill's sad face is making sure that he is okay, but he can't say anything. The anguish!

I love that he is annoyed that he just wants time with Fred but people are getting in the way of that. He can't mourn properly. But then comes Poppy to adequately assess Fred, and what? IS HE NOT DEAD RIGHT NOW? Oh my, what kind of magic have you unearthed! Poppy all wonderful makes a portkey (serious magical ability) and George in the last second decides to go along for the journey because Poppy is freaking out about Fred and taking him to St. Mungos. You have a great way of hooking people into your story :) Great job, Farmgirl. I look forward to reading more!

Frankie

Author's Response: Hey there! I know I'm horribly late (two years!) with this response, but I wanted you to know that I so much appreciated getting this review. It was amazingly kind of both you and Tanya.

And I'm glad you were able to find something that seemed promising to read while doing your good deed!

I'm STILL sad and upset about Fred. I will never accept it - not really.

As for when this little scene was set - it was actually when the fight was over. This was after the battle finished, when Harry, Hermione, and Ron had gone off to do other things. But you caught all the emotions I was trying to put in there, which is so lovely. Thank you!

And I always grin when people get to this part of the chapter and write it in a review. Yes, I threw something different in here. And isn't Poppy amazingly wonderful with her magic?

Thank so much! This is a great review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 

11th July 2015:
Wait what? What just happened? Is Fred not dead? Please let Fred not be dead, I will love you forever if you let him live!

Okay, the beginning of this was amazing. George's thoughts were absolutely heartbreaking to read, and I loved how everyone was treating him softly and carefully. His thoughts were phenomenal though, and I almost started tearing up as he thought about losing his other half. "How he wished it was still yesterday" okay, ouch. That line almost physically hurt me to read- the pain in George's thoughts was so transparent and incredibly sad. I could almost feel his heart breaking! This is honestly so well written and the emotion behind it is so real! I love the way you've written just this first chapter, and I can't wait to read more.

George noticing the rest of his family was a sweet little moment- even in the middle of such a tragedy, he was able to think about the rest of his family, and Harry and Hermione. is was really sweet.

But oh my God, what happened with Fred? Why was the light red- does blue mean dead and red mean...not dead? If she's taking Fred to ST. Mungo's, there must be a chance that he's still alive! I honestly didn't expect that at all. I can't imagine what George must be feeling at this point- extremely confused, still heartbroken, but a little bit hopeful. Don't make this any worse, I'm begging you. I will actually cry if Fred dies just a little alter than originally.

Great job with this chapter! It was very well written, and the emotions in the chapter were perfect. I love it!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

Author's Response: I have a soft spot for Fred. Okay, forget that, he's tied for my all-time-favorite HP character. So, there just might be the slightest possibility that Fred is not dead...

But, yes, back to this review. Thank you so much. It was so crushing to write George mourning like that. It was like pouring all my frustration that Fred was killed in the book onto paper. I'm so glad you thought it was a good portrayal of George and how is grief might have been.

As for the fate of Fred, you'll have to read on for that.

Thank you so much! Such an emotional review! I loved it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by looneylizzie 

6th May 2015:
Okie Dokie Farmgirl (or Jill. Can I write Jill?), I’m here for our review swap!

And, since I’ve been wanting to read this, obviously I’m going to start here!!
(Note, I’m just adding commentary as I read, so you’re gonna get all of my initial reactions to everything.)

Oh man. Where are the tissues? This is gonna be sad. Fred is the death that I’ve always hated the most. I may or may not have thrown the book across the room when I read it for the first time. Well, I threw it several times, with several more with each read.

This is easily the best description I’ve read of George’s initial reaction. So detailed, and so realistic. *wipes tears*

Of course George can’t look at Madam Pomfrey while she works. I love the line “make his worst nightmare an unavoidable reality.” That’s such a great way to sum up how he feels about Fred’s death. It’s his worst nightmare.

I love your descriptions of the rest of the family as they’re dealing with things. I think it makes sense that they’d immediately be trying to help instead of just sitting around an grieving. That feels very…Weasley. Even though Molly and Ginny, are sitting, it doesn’t feel like they’re wallowing. It’s more like they’re just tired and struggling to deal with the physical pain and the emotional pain of the battle.

Of course the Trio’s missing. No surprise there.

Wait a second.

HOLY SCHMOLEY HE’S STILL ALIVE? WHAT?!?!?!

I can’t even…I don’t know what to think…I mean…No words. Like the chapter title.

*Takes several deep breaths*

Okay. Now, normally, I’m not one to like stories that stray from canon. BUT, this is Fred we’re talking about, AND it’s really well written. Just from a basic structure and composition standpoint, your writing is phenomenal. I mean, I see maybe two grammatical things that could be fixed a bit? That’s really good!

Plus the flow of your writing and the characterization of George is amazing, and so are your descriptions! You do a really good job of giving the reader a great mental image of what is happening around George.

In short, I LOVE IT! I really can’t wait to see what happens next, and it’ll be really interesting to see how you write Fred into the story moving forward!

*jumps up and down excitedly* This is awesome! You’re gonna be hearing more from me VERY soon!!
LL

Author's Response: Wait, so a long time ago, we used to do review swaps, instead of just force each other to read our fic in chats? Wow...how come I don't remember this time? LOL

But I'm honored to have received a few reviews from you! Makes me grin a lot!

And I've always loved your commentary, so why would you be worried if your review is like that?

*hands over tissues* How many book 7's have you gone through, btw? And, as for Fred being dead...you know me better than that.

Glad you liked George's emotions. They were HARD to write.

I love how you sometimes manage to analyze my own characters even deeper than I do. Your reactions to all the others was just what I was hoping for, though you may have put it into words better than I did.

Um.yeah. Come on, you didn't see that coming?

LOL. Glad I was able to win you over to my AU and canon breaking ways (which lead to crossovers and fandom-jumping and all sorts of malarkey.) And thank you so much for the writing compliment as well!

And love the jumping up and down! Thanks again! Such a fun review to come back to tonight.


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart 

5th May 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap!

After reading this chapter I can already tell that I'm going to love this novel. Let me give you a whole list of reasons why!

Fred is alive! Here you had me thinking this was another sad story where George is in mourning. You described his heartbreak so well that I was really feeling for him and then you go and flip it around on me like that. Can I just tell you that I've never been happier for a character to be alive than I am right now!

Second, the way you used descriptive sentences to really build a complete view of what was going on was truly well done. I could very much imagine what was happening, what things looked like, the state of disarray that the room was in, and the defeat written all across George. Description and imagery are probably the most important part of a story for me. I really love it when I can thoroughly envision what the author is talking about and in this case I most definitely could.

Third, your ability to throw an unexpected twist into the story. I love a good twist in the ending. I've been known to play with them in my own writing. The thing that's hard about it is to keep the reader from realizing there's a twist coming at all. Fred still being alive was a big surprise. I really didn't expect it based on the description of your story, so I was shocked when Madame Pomfrey's wand was glowing red.

All in all, I feel that this is a really strong start to this story. I usually like to try and leave some sort of solid constructive criticism, but I really have none to offer you here. Excellent work. I will definitely be back for more!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Oh look I'm not QUITE a year late replying to this, but I'm pretty dang close. (And, now I just realize, I'm WAY more than a year late over here...that's even worse! *hangs head in shame* I'm SO sorry. But just because I'm so behind in replying doesn't mean I didn't love this review. Promise. It made me smile and feel happy, and I think you for it.

Fred - yes, Fred is alive. I have issues with him being dead, and therefore must strive to fix that problem whenever possible. Sorry to be deceiving with the whole "Grieving George" bit, but I needed to make sure I started firmly rooted in canon before I splintered off. Glad it made you happy!

Um..now I'm blushing. Really badly. Thank you so much! What amazing compliments! I really did try to put in a lot of description, but I am not always sure it works. This makes me feel so much better!

YES! I kept the surprise until the very end! That ALSO makes me happy. Because, while I do want Fred to be alive, it's nice to still surprise new readers for a little while.

Thank you so much! This review was great to receive, and so much fun to re-read tonight! You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard 

27th April 2015:
Hi there!

Since I don't like empty promises (and since - let's face it - I'm evil), I'm here to drive your review count back up ;)

Oh my god what are you doing to my brain?? This chapter starts out so sad and depressing, I felt like you put a heavy weight on my heart.
I felt like I completely left this planet behind and was travelling through a world of pain and loss.

I love that George still thinks about everyone else, I really liked the following sentence:

He still wasn’t sure of everything the trio had done to make last night’s victory happen, but he figured it had to be worth a few moments of quiet solitude and the chance to break down without it making tomorrow’s headlines.

It shows that even though his own personal imagination of hell has come true, George still realizes what's been happening around him. He knows the battle was won, he knows Fred's death meant something, helped bring about the change they both fought so hard for. It brings a shimmer of light into the dark and depressing future.

Then suddenly - BAM!
Madam Pomfrey whisks Fred away before anyone can even realize what that red light might mean. It seemed almost like instinct that George threw himself at the portkey and went with them.

I really can't wait for the next chapter.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: So here I am, FINALLY getting around to responding to these amazing reviews of yours! Bet you thought I'd forgotten totally about them and never would reply. (hides head sheepishly) I promise I didn't. I'm just busy and slow. That's all I can say.

But wow! Talk about a bunch of pick-me-ups! These were great! So, let's talk about this first one first.

Oh, and you are not evil. You are amazing.

So, wow. Seriously. Wow. That is a lot of feelings of sorrow. And I did that? With my story? I'm sorry!! Should I give you some tissues? Really, so sorry! (but also a bit happy because that's also a HUGE compliment!)

I love my twins. And I like to give them more credit than just as comic relief. Or just as twins - totally caught up only in each other. I think George would have been devastated to lose Fred, but I also think he wouldn't be so shallow as to think no one else was as well.

And yeah, then there is the BAM. hehehe. I like that part. It gives me hope that people will want to know what happens next.

Thanks so much for reading! Glad you liked my humble little prologue, and even more excited that you went on to the next chapter!

You rock. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Cassius Alcinder 

15th March 2015:
Review tag!

Wow, this one hit me right in the feelz right off the bat. I know it's been a few years since I first read it, but Fred's death scene still gets to me.

The saddest part of Fred's fate for me is picturing George having to go on without him. You captured that vibe spot on here. You could really feel the pain and grief that George had to deal with. You could really feel how he didn't want to confront it, and he didn't want Pomfrey's inspection because it would force him to accept the finality of what happened.

But wait...a shocking twsit? He might not be dead? If it's true, then you've given me hope! But if it isn't, then I don't know if my feels can take it. In any case, i want to read on to see what happens!

Author's Response: Well, as much as I don't like damaging peoples tender feelings, I have to say that a big grin appears on my face every time someone mentions that my story gets an emotional response from them. That's one of the best forms of praise ever, so thank you! And I am STILL not over Fred's death. Hence the whole denial thing I have gong on.

That IS the saddest part! How could JKR separate those two?! That's just not right! I can't deal with it. This chapter was honestly an attempt by me to get some of those feelings and grief out on paper and away from my head.

And yes, the shocking finish to the chapter. He might not be dead, or maybe he is. Read on if you want to know more.

Thanks for reading! Maybe someday You'll stop back for the next chapter and see if your prediction was right or not.


 Report Review

Review #13, by The Basilisk 

9th January 2015:
Oh boy oh boy, this Prologue really HAS left me with 'No Words' haha

This was a very emotional introduction to your story. I always feel a squeeze tightening my chest a little whenever I read stories featuring George post-war, especially ones that revolve around him mourning his brother's death. Maybe this is the reason why I jumped as high as George when Madam Pomfrey screamed. I'm very curious what is wrong with Fred, but by her reaction there still seems to be hope for him (*fingers crossed*).

But you know, even if the story has taken a turn for the hopeful after the first half, it made me feel really sad, which is an unusual reaction to have when there are stories with survivors from the war. The thing is, when Madam Pomfrey jumped and started fussing around, I was immediately hit by the horrible thought that this is exactly what someone wishes would happen in real life, if a loved one dies. The way George was sitting by Fred's side, the desperation you could feel coming off of him and then next moment when a glimmer of hope started shining brightly...it's exactly what we wish for in real life as well. That's why, for me, that little part there made this story very poignant. I'm sure you never intended it that way, but that goes to show that the way you write will sometimes make people experience stuff you never imagined your stories could transmit. And that's a huge accomplishment. That's an essential part of story-telling in my opinion. Writing stories with feeling is one of the most important aspects of this craft.

Anyways - can't wait to see what happens next!! Hope we don't get our hopes crushed in the next chapter, but judging by the genres you put this story under, we won't :P

Author's Response: AH, a review from a scary poisonous creature! Should I hide?

But, you seem to be very nice and civil for your kind, so you must be a nice basilisk. Given this amazing review, that has to be true.

I'm so glad you liked the prologue! I had that Fred died. Hate it, hate it, hate it. And I try to avoid reading or writing anything about it whenever I can.

So yes, there probably is some hope for Fred after all. Because, it is me writing this.

I understand what you mean about it making you sad. Even though I knew I was going to go AU in this story and change things, writing this first part was very hard for me. I think I poured a lot of my grief over Fred dying into this chapter, as a way to deal with it somehow.

Thank you for the compliment, though. And yes, isn't it interesting how stories can touch us. Something can touch us in a way that was never intended, but is still just as meaningful. That's the power of words, then, I guess.

Thank you! This review was a treat to get! I'm making an exception in my fear of snakes for you.


 Report Review

Review #14, by DougA 

2nd November 2014:
A very nice start. You do an excellent job of depicting George's grief, and through him a reflection of what the rest of the Weasleys are feeling.

The triage/last rites idea is good, and not one I remember seeing in any other story. Of course, it makes sense that a Healer would have to check the bodies to officially pronounce them dead. The fact that one of the "deceased" is actually still alive reminds me of a MASH episode, where one soldier comes in from the aide station marked as dead. The body lies under cover through the whole episode, until Father Mulcahey arrives at the end and goes to perform Last Rites. At which point he notices that the "deceased" is crying when he realizes what is going on.

An excellent start, with an interesting premise.

Author's Response: Thank you! It wasn't that hard to write George's grief because I was feeling a measure of that myself when Fred died. It hit me as hard as a fictional character dying can.

I'm glad you liked the last rites idea. I needed a way for me to stay true to almost everything that happened in the books, but then deviate to make it AU, and that last rites was what I thought of.

And I actually THOUGHT of that MASH episode as I was writing this. It was one of the sources of inspiration! NICE CATCH!

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan 

25th March 2014:
Well, it looks like you haven't updated this one for a while, but it looked interesting. Having just recently written something about post-war George as well I decided to have a look at yours because I have a sneaking suspicion that you dispensed with parts of canon. Fred is listed as a character in this, so I have hope. :p

Ugh, reading about George witnessing this is so raw and heartbreaking and sad. You've portrayed the grief and emotions so well, and it's like reading that part of DH all over again :( and the way you've focused on things like Bill's face "floating" in front of him is such an effective way to portray George's shock and helplessness, like he's seeing everything in the hall through a haze of tears. :'(

BUT WAIT. HE IS TOTALLY ALIVE. Why else would Madam Pomfrey do that? Ha, I knew I could count on you, as someone who denies that Fred's death ever happened. HE'S ALIVE! At least he'd better be. Ahhh!

Awesome start! I'm excited to read more of this. :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Only 4 months late responding. Yeah, I know...I'm not very good at setting records. At least not good ones.

I'm so glad you found this story. I know it's sat for a long time, but I am still working on it. It just got pushed aside for a while.

You wrote a George post-war? I should check it out. Then again, it will probably just make me BAWL! They always do, I'm still so sensitive about that topic.

I have no idea what you are talking about with this dispensing with canon and Fred characters... *whistles guiltily*

Sorry to make you feel the pain. This chapter was really my way of getting my own pain at what happened out into the open. I thought it would help and make it go away...nope. Still feel it every time I think about it. Silly fictional characters that make me love them as much as real people.

But WAIT. ARE YOU SURE? Hehehehe. Keep reading to find out!

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you come back and finish this someday.



 Report Review

Review #16, by loveinidleness 

8th October 2013:
First of all... Gah.

I read the first line of this then had to leave. I returned minutes later cowering from my laptop behind a pillow and clutching a tub of ben and jerry's as if it were my first born, having prepared myself for the emotional turmoil that was to follow. I had successfully refused to deal with Fred's death in the years since the final book was published by sticking my fingers in my ears and singing loudly every time it was mentioned.

So I finally prepared myself to face the inevitable and gosh darn it, you go and move the goal posts!

This isn't a bad thing. I love it, genuinely. I don't have time to review this chapter now because I need to know what's going on. I couldn't spot anything I wanted to mention in CC but then again I was too emotionally wrapped up in it, so perhaps I wasn't paying enough attention to spelling. I will start being more constructive when you stop PLAYING WITH MY HEART.

-goes back to behind pillow and clicks next chapter-

Author's Response: I am very slow responding to your wonderful reviews! I appologize from the bottom of my heart. I'm a music teacher and Oct/Nov are the months we put on a musical theater production. (I might have told you this.) It's one of the reasons I kind of took a break from writing/reviewing/responding for a while. But I'm back to writing and have a chapter ready to post again, but I won't let myself post it until I've given all of you wonderful people who left me reviews the responses you deserve first.

It's been long enough I hope the shock of reading this prologue has worn off by now. I didn't mean to play with your feelings like this. Okay, well, maybe I did...but it's all for a good reason, right?

Was the ice cream good? Did it help with the reading experience?

Secret: I have never really delt with Fred's death either. It took me 2 years to actually read the last book because someone had told me what happened and I figured as long as I didn't read it, it couldn't be true. And I STILL don't deal well with it, which is why I keep finding ways to undo it. Or ignore it.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this prologue though. Even with your emotions. Thanks so much for reading! I love getting reviews from you! They are so nice and helpful.



 Report Review

Review #17, by toomanycurls 

23rd September 2013:
Oh man, tug at my heartstrings. :( I cried enough during DH, this is so sad looking at George's reaction to his twin's death. His reactions feel very real and quite heartbreaking.

This is great and dramatic. The utter terror and grief of letting her do the wizardly last rights stuff then to have her think he's alive. Talk about an emotional roller coaster.

I have to read on - you've taken me through a hard emotional journey and I need to see where it goes.

Really, this is a fantastic start. It's gripping and raw in a way that puts the reader right into George's devastation.

Author's Response: Erm.sorry about the heartstrings?

Maybe.

Honestly, I'm just really glad you liked it. Because it's not only really sad, but it's AU.

Fred's death hit me really hard. So hard, I still try to pretend like it didn't happen. So, I guess this was my way of writing out my grief for a fictional character.

When you get time, I'd love to have you read on and see what you think. I really need to get unstuck on this one and figure out how to get it to the ending, but in a different way than the one I originally had planned. (And hopefully a slightly shorter way as well, LOL.)

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! And for being patient as I find time to respond to it and your others.


 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane 

2nd September 2013:
I love stories like that, one that give some insight into how the war effected people and how they dealt with and came to terms with what happened.

Really love the second paragraph of this chapter. The implication that George no longer feels whole makes a lot of sense and is pretty powerful imagery.

I also like the focus on Fred's death. It must have been so upsetting for all the Weasleys, and particularly George, but because it came right at the end of the last book, it got pretty much glossed over.

Hmm, not quite sure what's going on at the end. I'm intrigued as to what has Pomfrey so worked up.

I think you portray the family's grief really well here.

Author's Response: Yeah! These were so fun to come home to the other day! I'm just sorry I'm so slow responding to them for you.

You know, when I started this, I didn't set out to do that - the whole after the war thing. I just needed a story to bridge between the books and something else I was writing. But, then I realized once I'd started it I had to dive into it whole heartedly. So, here I am.

George not feeling whole again was probably the very second thought that ran through my head after I learned Fred died, the first being an anguished NO! I really, really, really hate that the twins were spilt up, and fixate on it way too much, but that's where that feeling comes from.

And that's my other pet peeve. I'll never forgive JKR that she killed off Fred, but the fact she did it and then practically forgot about him makes me really angry. I know they were in the middle of a war and didn't really have time for grieving, but I hate that the rest of the book passes with hardly one mention of him, or that he died, and the Weasleys after their one moment in the Great Hall don't even mention him! That bugs me.

Glad you liked the story, and the turn at the end. Thanks again so much for reading.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Illuminate 

2nd September 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

One of my favourite kinds of stories are about what happens directly after the end of Deathly Hallows. If a writer can portray the grief, sad victory and the rebuilding of lives then I know I will enjoy whatever they come up with next to happen to the characters :)

I think this is one of them! George is such a loved character (and Fred), and the way you've taken this in just the first chapter is really surprising! Is Fred alive? If so, will he ever be the same? It's all so unexpected and exciting!

I think you wrote George's grief perfectly, it's all very apt and appropriate, and the descriptions are great. I think his characterisation, and the characterisation of Madam Pomfrey were wonderful!

All in all, great job! I hope to continue this at some point :)

Author's Response: Hello back! Sorry I'm a bit tardy responding to this awesome review.

You know, I never really meant to write one of those right after Deathly Hallows stories. I had another story I was working on but I found I needed something to bridge the gap and explain my person head-canon to those who might read it. So, I started Healing, and then it took on a life of it's own. Funny how stories can do that... But I have been completely overwhelmed and amazed by the interest in it. So, thank you, and I'm so glad you enjoyed this!

I love my twins. So I'm really happy you liked my twist ending of this prologue! As to your questions... Hm. Keep reading. :)

I think I probably channeled a little of my own grief at Fred dying into that part with George. Sad to have grief over a fictional character I know, but I really was heart broken. So, hopefully that helped the writing.

Thanks so much! I hope someday you'll be able to finish at as well. This was a really fun review to get and I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by PolyJuice_ 

11th April 2013:
I loved this story!

Your detail was flawless and I really got an image in my head. I could plainly see every breath, every twitch, every idiosyncrasy of all your characters through out.

(You know how in drama you'll always told to remain in character? You've done that with your people. They stay the same through the entire chapter, instead of changing their whole personification halfway through, something I've noticed a lot of people have troubles with.)

BUT WHOA NOW. CLIFF HANGER? NO, SO NOT COOL. I mean, you had it all, the grammar, the flow, the characters everything. But then you went and killed it with a cliffie. There's totally nothing wrong with them, it just makes me sad to think I have to wait and get through my list to get to the next chapter.

Once again, fantastic story. You really brought each character to life, while adding that often-hard-to-find air of mystery.

I had a great time reading it,
Liz

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'm so sorry it's taken me this long to reply to your wonderful review! This spring has been entirely too crazy for me and I've fallen behind on so many things.

Your review left me blushing, and I'm blushing again now reading it. I can't tell you how happy it makes me when someone mentions they think people are in character in my stories. That's something I worry about all the time, especially when I haven't been writing for a while, or reading the books, or watching the movies even. I worry that I will lose the characters' voices from my head. (Hehehehe, voice in my head...perhaps I SHOULD lose them.)

Sorry about the cliffy! But it really did have to happen. I needed to find some way to make people want to keep going on to chapter 1. But I'm really very sorry that you have to wait to find out what happens. :( Maybe someday your life will slow down enough you can read the next chapter and then you will know.

In the meantime, know how grateful I am for this wonderful review! Was so nice to receive!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jchrissy 

18th October 2012:
You are naughty!!! I was trying so hard to hold back my feels, to remember that I already *know* Fred is dead. But this prologue was incredibly moving.

Your build up, just really hurting our hearts and making sure we realize how much this is killing Fred, everyone, before Poppy's revelation was so awesome. It's like when you're dropping on a roller coaster, just before you get to the bottom you think you aren't going to be able to handle it, then ta da! You're going back up.

But then, with that glimmer of home you've given us, it was almost even *more* sad.. because we know that doesn't actually happen. And it should! Why can't it?? There was no reason for JKR to kill Fred ;(.

The mood that clung around the entire prologue, that misty darkness that almost suffocates your heart, was so perfect. I wanted to turn away when George did, to not see the final proof that Fred was gone.. except.. Red!

I was curious as to just how that spell worked, but that's because I'm always greedy for details ;).

This was a really intriguing prologue! I'll be by soon to check out the next chapter :)!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the incredible review! I was so excited when I saw it! And you can't really call me naughty, considering the heartwrencher you put out there.

Your rollercoaster comparison was awesome. Although, I must admit, as far as Fred dying, I never really get to the coming back up and learning to handle it part. LOL. As I said before, I really, really don't like Fred being dead.

Amen to the no need to kill Fred part. I STILL haven't forgiven JKR for that and I'm not sure I ever will.

Still, I did warn you this was AU, right? And you saw that the wand glowed red, right?

The wand spell was just something I made up. I figured there had to be a way to magically check for that, just like we have monitors and equipiment in hospitals now that tell when a person has died and a death certificate. I wanted the magical equivilant...something that was simple, but could also give me my surprise moment of the chapter.

Thanks again for reading! It was great to get a review from you! I hope someday you might want to know how it ends!


 Report Review

Review #22, by iyanarulz792 

13th November 2011:
Already I am gripped to the story. You should become an author.

Author's Response: Lol! Thank you, I'm so flattered by your review! And the fact the story is gripping you! I hope you'll read on and let me know what you think of the rest.

As for becoming an author, I'm again very flattered, but honestly, I'm prefectly happy just writing fanfiction for now.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #23, by julianna ls 

12th November 2011:
Thanks for trying to save Fred. I read this story for the first time and I hope that he will survive. I was very disappointed when he died in the book.

Author's Response: You're welcome! I love Fred, so I don't like leaving him dead. If you want to, you can check out the rest of the chapters of the story and see how I'm doing on the saving Fred front. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Pacific Wizard 

3rd December 2010:
1917 Farmgirl: I can't leave another review for Chapter 9 but I wanted to tell you that I think the Fox is an x and it's identity is x. Luna figured out the plot about Fred because x. Now the Fox will x the Death Eater in a ferocious battle that will shake St. Mungo's to its foundation.

How's that for a cliffhanger from an adoring reviewing fan. Lol! (Bright lights appear from my wand to crush the dark mark over the laptop). Whew! Ever faithful, PW.

Author's Response: LOL! You never fail to make me smile, you know that. Thanks for the extra praise, and the predictions. And I can't shake St. Mungo's to it's foundation! I don't want that kind of carnage on my hands...

Glad the dark mark disappeared, however. And something that might make it disappear even better - Eldy's got a new one-shot up. It's part of the Gryffendor Christmas Collab. You certainly want to go check it out, it's amazine!


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly 

29th November 2010:
Farmgirl,
A very interesting start to an AtB, which is my favorite. Most focus on Harry, Ron and Hermione. You've taken another turn and given us hope that Fred will live. That's awesome. I'm anxious to continue. Good Start.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! And welcome! It's so nice to have a new reader.

I admit this story will have a lot of Harry, Ron, and Hermione in there as I do love them, but I love a lot of other characters as well so hopefully you'll enjoy the mix. And I'm glad you enjoyed the twist at the end. Thanks for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>