Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Ah, Laura has finally clicked that the reason she isn't all that bothered about Bertram (well she is, of course, but if she'd liked Bertram more then I think it would have been harder for her to deal with the news that he was cheating on her) is because she's actually got a crush on Sirius. Eep, this is exciting news! I liked the fact that she only told Mary for now because even though she's friends with the other girls, they're not as close as Laura and Mary are at the moment and it's better for them to keep each other's secrets, I think.

Bertram's really a nasty piece of work. I can't believe that he'd first of all try and pretend that nothing happened when Laura saw it, and then tell her he loves her to try and get her back. If anything, he's in love with the idea of her, the girl that he's created in his head that isn't really Laura. I'm so glad that the boys are looking out for her as well as the girls, and she certainly shouldn't be bothered so often with Sirius being as protective as he is. They both definitely like each other now - I just hope that they can carry on getting closer and then get together eventually!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, she's worked it out. She's horrified, of course, but that's fine because she thinks she'll just grow out of it. Ha! (Sorry, but I really love being cruel to my characters.) But yeah, she's only telling Mary, because she's convinced the others - Martha especially - would laugh at her. And that's fair enough, because I kind of suspect that's exactly what Martha would do. :)

And yeah, Bertram's no good. I like the use of PEter there, to be honest - his rat form was really useful at time, I should think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Great chapter!! What did the boys find in the dorm?

Author's Response: You'll have to look at my collection of one-shots to find the answer to that one, I'm afraid.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Helios 

1st August 2012:
I honestly don't think I've laughed so hard in so long from a story! Honestly BRILLIANT and I feel guilty to confess that I've been too enticed in this fan-fic, to the point that I've been eagerly going through the chapters and failing to leave reviews! I really appreciate how you've introduced facts into the story as it's grown, as well - you've clearly done your research and it's honestly the details that seem to make a load of difference. I can't wait to see what's waiting in chapters to come!

~Leo

Author's Response: Thanks Leo! And yes, I did a lot of research for this story so I'm very pleased that you appreciate that. I'm also pleased that you've found it funny because that's a very subjective thing (and also hard to do) but it was something I was aiming for so thank you. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
Yay she likes sirius 9/10 : )

Author's Response: And it took her long enough to realise it. Glad you're still enjoying it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

20th October 2011:
Guessing they used they're Animagus forms, except that doesn't explain Remus. oh well, I guess we'll have to find out eventually. But Oh My Goodness! I actually laughed out loud at the Lily's underwear part!
Glad to see that Laura's finally realising the inevitable truth, anyways. Great job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: How did they get up to the girls' dorm? Not telling. Though you may be onto something, I'll say that much. :D Glad you liked the bit about Lily's underwear, it was just too good not to include I thought. Very pleased you agree!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Adria 

22nd August 2011:
hello! i just read straight through 27 chapters and i think its finally time for me to leave a comment!
this is realy good at first i wasnt so into it but it sure does pick up. marys accent was a bit obnoxious at first but i got used to it and its a nice detail to have. this story is extremely accurate with the little details that correspond with JKRs work so well done there! im going to keep reading now because AHH laura finally realized that she likes sirius.. and obviously he likes her too ;)

ps im assuming that the girl bertram cheated with, esther davies, is a relative of roger davies with whome fleur delacour hooks up with in book #4? nicely done!!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

You're not the first person to find the beginning of this story slow, and to have trouble with Mary's accent, and I'm totally to blame for that. I'm very pleased though that you persevered and managed to get through both of them. Thank you! I'm pleased too that you appreciate the little canon details I threw in because I really wanted this story to fit with the canon that we do have for that era, so I included as much of that as I could. It's lovely to have that recognised and appreciated.

And yes, Esther Davies is certainly related to Roger Davies. An aunt, perhaps? :) Actually all the surnames in this story come from canon somewhere; sometimes you just have to dig a little to find it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

7th August 2011:
YES FINALLY! *jumps about with un-contained excitement*
Finally the realisation and admittance has arrived, just at the perfect moment as well! I think what I love most about this situation is how you've been building up to it for so long that when it finally arrived it was beyond anything I could have expected in terms of sheer awesomeness. For her to admit such a thing to Mary would have been so difficult, but then again I suppose she had to tell someone!

I for one, am Siriusly hoping she does not come to her senses any time soon, (bad joke I know) but I have to say, your writing of the conversations between all the characters is so perfect, I always love extremely well written and believable dialogue, and I believe you've captured the age of the characters well in how they speak to one another, every single time. I honestly can't wait for the next chapter, you are a seriously talented writer, so I'm going to move on straight away!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Yeah, she took her time, didn't she? But then again she did have some issues to deal with in the form of that annoying ex, so there were other things on her mind besides personal epiphanies. And yes, she had to tell someone, ashamed though she was of becoming just like everyone else, so Mary has to bear her secret. Then again, she bore Mary's crush on James, so it's only fair, right?

And thank you so much in saying that my dialogue is age-appropriate, as that is something I tried to do yet, as my own teenaged years are so long ago, something I wasn't sure I had got right. *happy dance*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

6th August 2011:
Don't worry I will go back and review the other chapters I swear hehe, the reason they're all over the place is because I was reading this on my phone and had to write my reviews down in a notebook and I forgot to write some, But I will go back and review the ones I missed (Pinky promise)

The boys are so sweet looking after Laura like that. I am so glad that they attacked Bertram, I really do not like that guy!!
No! how did the boys get in there? I thought for sure that it was a fan club member who had!
Yay! she's admitted to having a crush on Sirius! I can't wait to see their friendship blossom into a relationship!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Hi again!

No worries about the other reviews - if you post them, I'll be happy, but don't feel obliged. I'm just pleased you're reading and reviewing at all. :)

Anyway, yeah, Bertram was always going to get it. Very much of a type, I'm afraid, and the boys don't like it when one of their friends is on the receiving end of such behaviour. It was quite fun to write, though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Haha! No, that's what this story is for, you'll never snap out of it!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, funny about that! If she did, it would be a pretty darn boring story, I'm afraid. But good old Laura, so convinced that it's the only option that she tries her hardest. She's so earnest sometimes. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by JayJay 

7th April 2011:
OMG!! I laughed so hard when Mary told Lily to check her underwear drawer. LMAO!! No joke =D. So hilarious!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Oh, you liked that bit? I have a feeling it wasn't planned but just came out as I was typing, and it fit so well that I just had to keep it. I do love Mary, she's such a great character. *grins*

Thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

21st August 2010:
You can't really expect a long review with an ending to this chapter like this? I need to keep reading! LOL!

'bout time she figured it out! But this is only half the equation. I know Sirius likes her, but now they've gotta dance around each other for a while, don't they. Ug! Hopefully, it won't take too much longer.

But still, I keep remembering the canon...no matter what, these two can't have a happy ending. Sirius ends up in prison and he has no significant other in the books. Dangit!

gotta read the next chapter.

Eldy

Author's Response: I've had a couple of reviews like this but this chapter was never intended to be a cliffy or anything like that, more just a natural progression of a teenaged girl admitting things to herself. She's actually deeply ashamed of herself now, because she'd thought she was above all that adulation stuff and now she's getting caught up in the middle, so she's really disappointed to have proven to be just like everyone else.

But no, no happy ending. I'm a canon girl so don't hold out too much hope for that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Aww, she's in luuurrvve! I'm all smiley now, as this is clearly awesome news. It just waits to be seen what kind of measures need to be taken. I don't think she's all that slow about the whole thing - given her complete certainty about the impossibility of something like that ever happening, it's no wonder that it took her a long time to realise that she was developing feelings for him. Again, all fits the character you've developed perfectly.

And Sirius seems a bit overprotective for her opinions to be correct - hexing him to a wall, etc. Yay - macho men annoy me in real life, but in stories they're just so compelling. And so...

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, good old Sirius. We have to remember that this is the first chance he's had to have a real go at Bertram so he's not going to hold back, is he? I tend to agree though that Laura should probably be picking at least some of this up - though her self esteem is so bad that she just doesn't even consider it as a possibility, as you noted. Glad this is coming through!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
yay!!! she said it out loud!!! laura black :]

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, Laura Black. It does roll off the tongue nicely, doesn't it? And of course it took something like that to make he realise it, because she's nice and naive in a lot of ways. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Schnatz 

14th June 2010:
Ooooi, finally Laura has figured out that she has a crush on Sirius! I absolutely loved the way it happened ... that's so cute and again (as so much of your story) it's so true, too. Who has not played with the surnames of boys and the own name?! Well, I have! And sometimes I still do that! *blush*

Anyway, Laura Black sounds good!

Oh I can't tell you often enough how great your story is ... it's just like it's the real HP prequel! You're a fantastic author! You really are! :)

I'm looking forward to read the next chapters,
till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Don't wonder about the fact that I haven't write something about Bertram's try to apologize in this review but I think he isn't worth it! :P

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I think all girls have done that with surnames. Most of what I have Laura do (along those lines, I mean) is taken from my own life and what my friends and I used to do at that age. It can take some remembering considering I'm going back 20-odd years but I seem to have done it reasonably well. :) Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by always_dreaming 

25th March 2010:
that was clever of them to all sign the note. although technically, they could have signed it downstairs and only sent one boy up to put the note in. i love how protective the boys are! it's cute. and i love your overall depiction of sirius. as i was coming back from piano lessons today i decided i need a sirius black... tall, handsome, funny. i'm jealous of laura :/

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, technically they COULD all have signed the note and then one of them took it up, but that wouldn't have been nearly so much fun for them, now, would it? I'm very glad you like my version of Sirius, though - there are lots of different interpretations out there but this was the one that sat best with me.

thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by ochalke5 

7th January 2010:
FINALLY!!! It was another brilliant chapter! I loved it and i love that Sirius and James and Remus are becoming friends with mary and laura and stuff. I love it! I cannot wait to see what happens... maybe a party or a something... they could hook up or soemthing. Great chapter mel, but that goes withouth saying!
10.10
Amazing!
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, finally she's worked it out. Laura can be a bit thick sometimes (as you'll discover more as you read on). As to how they might get together ... well you'll find out. Eventually. And that's all I'm saying about that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
I love how protective all the Marauders are of their friends. It's so cute. That's what I love about boys. They make act like they don't care, but for the people they care about.. it's so reassuring. I love that my friends and I aren't the only ones who do that thing with last names.. it's so fun, but Laura Black is definitely a good name. Poor time to realize a thing like that. Agh. But this is one thing I hope she never shakes off. Hehe. And oh my.. I hope the guys didn't find anything too incriminating.. and I loved how they teased Lily about her underwear, haha. (:

Author's Response: Ah, you're not the only person who likes it when boys get protective. It's kinda cute, isn't it? And definitely reassuring. And fear not, I think every girl on the planet does that with last names at one point or other.

As for the boys, well they didn't find anything too incriminating, but they did like the feeling of power they got in leaving the note. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by butterbeergal 

1st November 2009:
*sigh* how i'd love to have sirius, james, remus and (ok, fine) peter as my chums.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I think we would all like to have those boys on our side when we're trying to get over a breakup. Definitely good value, don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by notsure 

14th October 2009:
So I know you have been updating quite frequently and I have been keeping up. :-) But I have not had time to review for a few chapters. So I decided to start with this chapter and then review the couple of chapters I haven't had a chance to review.
Bertram is such a dork. Seriously, what makes him think that Laura would come back to him. Ah! I am so glad that the marauders to protect her, especially Sirius. YAY!
The best part: Laura admitting she has a crush on Sirius. EEEK! Aw, it was so cute. Of course she needs to come to realize that it is not going to go away like Mary's crush on James. Which I thought that was cute too but James and Lily belong together. Too bad for Mary.
Well, I would say update soon but since you already did I will just skip that part. ;-)

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you've been able to keep up even if you haven't had a chance to leave reviews (and I know what it's like to have a real life and very little time for things like this).

Yep, Bertram's a dork. And that's one of the nicer things people have said about him! :D But yeah, I had to have the boys being protective. I get the feeling they'd be good at that.

And yes, Laura's finally worked it out - and of course you are right and it's not going to just go away like Mary's did. But she doesn't know that. Not yet, anyway. *evil grin*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
OK Laura really seems oblivious about the whole Sirius thing. I would think by the way he looks at her she would get it. But then again he is not getting it either. Oh boy this could be fun!! another great one MEL!!!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for another lovely review! :D

Yes, Laura is completely oblivious. But then again her self esteem has taken a bit of a battering lately and she just doesn't even consider it might be a possibility. (Blame me. I like torturing them!)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by guest 

8th October 2009:
I absolutely love your story! I should have left you a review for each chapter but have enjoyed reading it so much I didn't stop. Sorry. This is wonderful, I love the depth of the characters you have created (I somehow see Laura as a character out of a romance novel - doesn't think she is pretty but is actually a knockout!). Anyway I just wanted to let you know I really liked your story. Wishing there was more to it at this point! =)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! :D

Ah, don't feel guilty about not reviewing every chapter. There are so many of them up now that it would be a huge undertaking for anyone, but I appreciate that you considered it. *grins*

As for Laura, well I never intended to make her a knockout. More one of those average-to-pretty girls who seem to be everywhere, but who can really grow on you if you give them a chance. However beauty is very much an eye-of-the-beholder thing so it's hard to be objective about it. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by 4rm_h8_2_luv 

6th October 2009:
WHAT? when was it pointed out to him??? i answered your answer from below : ) what chapter was this???

Author's Response: Hi again!

Actually it was pointed out to him off-page - I couldn't have Laura witnessing something like that, could I? But yeah, there are a couple of subtle hints in that chapter (I think it's ch27 that it happens) which will make more sense as we get further through the story.

Hope this is clearing things up for you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by 4rm_h8_2_luv 

5th October 2009:
AWWW BUT CLEARLY HE HAS A THING FOR HER TOO. I WONDER WHEN HIS FRIENDS AND HE WILL REALIZE IT

Author's Response: Ah, Sirius has realised it by now. Actually it was pointed out to him but yeah, it has happened. You find out all this in more detail later on but I've confirmed it for other people so I might as well with you. :D

As for Laura, well she's completely clueless isn't she? So much fun to write that way, let me tell you. *grins*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by nire 

3rd October 2009:
I’m so behind!! I have been so busy lately and I have hardly been home to read, let alone review, but it’s the weekend now and I can finally spend some time reviewing! [I don’t like being in debt – in reviews haha]

Fortunately the other sixth-year Gryffindors had taken my side and provided a protective barrier between us.
Oh I love them. Protective and loyal Gryffindors. They are the best. Of course I couldn’t see why they wouldn’t take her side. I would be angry if they didn’t!

Remus was slow to anger but when he did it could be terrifying, something Bertram was just discovering.
Ohhh man. That would freak the heck out of me as well. I know Remus is soft and lovely most of the time, but it’s true, he would be terrifying when angry. Something about the wolf in him I believe.

Sirius’ wand still trained on him. Whatever spell he was being held with was obviously a powerful one.
Love that. I love it when I get to hear that Sirius is powerful.

“No,” agreed Lily. “It’s almost like someone else has been in here.”
Pleasseee be the Marauders.

“Dear Lily, Laura, Charlotte, Mary, and Martha. Thanks so much for allowing us to have a look at your dorm. We found it so much more interesting than ours is! Sincerely, James, Sirius, Remus and Peter.”
Hahahah! Yes! I love that they were there. That made my day. That sounds like such a Sirius way of putting it as well. :)

”Hang on,” Mary said suddenly, a broad smile on her face. “James was i’ here? Lily, hae ye checked t’ make sure ye’ve still go’ all yer underwear?”
Hahahaha! Oh James would never do that. Especially now that he has matured a little.

“What about Lily Potter?”
Oh that name makes my heart swell. And I’m glad she secretly thinks so as well. And I’m also glad it eventually turned out that too. There is nothing that makes me more happy than them getting together. And then it sucks coz I think about how they die and Sirius is left by himself coz Remus thinks he actually betrayed them. How awful to spend all those years in Azkaban. Sigh. I shouldn’t think about it...

a new name came into my head. Laura Black. And it sounded good.
You bet it does.
That does sounds good. :) I know you are keeping this story to canon, but are you keeping the story to canon in relation to Sirius? Does he still go to Azkaban? And what happens to Laura? Or is that something you don’t wish to tell until after you finish the story? And are you going to write about? I hope not coz I get so depressed.

“I think I’ve got a crush on Sirius.”
Yes. She finally admitted it.

“Thanks,” I said with a smile. “And with any luck I’ll just snap out of it like you did with James. It shouldn’t take me too long to come to my senses, should it?”
I hope Sirius is standing right there. Or James. James would be good since he knows that Sirius likes her too. Sigh. That would be amazing.


Faaanntastic chapter. We finally got some of the denial out of the way. I’m glad it finally occurred to her. I just wish I could get into Sirius’ head so badly! He is driving me crazy! :)
10/10

Author's Response: Hello! Yet another lovely review! I feel so guilty for not having time to get back to your story but I am hopelessly behind on my reading at the moment and it's taking me a while to catch up.

Anyway. Thanks for reviewing! :D Yes I thought the wolf in Remus would be a contributing factor in how angry he could get, it did seem to fit. And don't you think he just seems the type to absolutely blow his top when he does lose it?

And yes, the boys made it inside their dorm. They did threaten to, didn't they? :D

I'm glad you liked the conversation about names. It seemed to me something pretty normal for a bunch of 17 year olds. And yeah, I like the sound of Laura Black too. *grins*

Oh, since you asked, yes Sirius does still go to Azkaban. The idea of this fic is that it can be something that fills in the blanks for the canon that we do have. So yes, I couldn't exactly change that, could I? As for how it all pans out, well my lips are sealed. Sorry!

Anyway thanks again for the review! Your reviews always make me smile.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jaded94 

1st October 2009:
Laura Black does sound good :D :L Reading next chapter now x

Author's Response: Ah, thanks Jaded94! I thought so too, it was one of the reasons she was given the name Laura in the first place. :)

Anyway thanks for reviewing, I really do appreciate it. Hope you liked the next chapter!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>