Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by starryskies55 

30th September 2012:
OH MY STOP IT WITH THE FEELS.

I'm really sorry I haven't read/reviewed any more chapters until now, I have been ridiculously super busy! :( Now I'm making time where no actual time exists :P

I adored the bit at the start, about the differences between Muggle and wizarding Halloween, it was really nice to be reminded of the difference! And James and Lily... you stubborn morons, you! I badly need for them to get back together, you hear me?
I'm blaming James here too, not Lily. James is trying to give Lily some space to cool down and stuff, and Lily is just being pigheaded and stubborn! Role reversal, much? Gahhh, you make me mad :(

I also liked the little bit of pranking with the Slytherins :P You make the cliche bits of the maruader era seem not cliche, which is super awesome. It's also kind of cool that it's usually Peter who has the ideas against the Slytherins.

REMUS/MARY. Holy moley, why do you do this to me? :(
Not fair. I know Remus is doing the right thing (in his eyes at least) and James and Sirius and Peter know that too, but Mary can't understand why and this is horrible :( I thought that Remus' internal conflict was written amazingly (per usual) and I'm so sad for him! Although, as soon as the words 'Mary' and 'near the dungeons' were mentioned, my internal Slytherin/evilness radar was screaming!

I really hope everything gets better soon.. but I doubt it, somehow :P Another fantastic chapter! Also, I'm writing a marauders now, one that I've been wanting to write for aaages! So, thanks for giving me the push!

- Jenny

Author's Response: Oh, no, don't apologize! I totally understand being busy, and no rush at all. I definitely did miss your lovely reviews, but other commitments come first. :) I will be happy to receive your reviews whenever you have time (existing or otherwise)!

I hear you, don't worry. And they will, I promise! That's one of the great things about James/Lily--you never have to worry TOO much about them (as long as you ignore their eventual fates), because you know they'll end up together. They are both being very foolish, and as much as I'm sorry to make you mad...I'm also happy about it? :P If you weren't frustrated, I wouldn't have done a very good job writing this.

"You make the cliche bits of the maruader era seem not cliche, which is super awesome." - That line made my LIFE. Thank you.

I think at this point, I may need to invest in a shield, in case you decide to start throwing rotting vegetables at me. Remus and Mary are not in a very happy place, it's true, and...well, I shouldn't say anything more, because it'll spoil it! You must read on! (When you have time!) Mwahaha.

Well, like I said, everything will get better. Actually, SOME things will get better. That's more accurate. And I'm so happy to hear that you're writing your own Marauders story! I bet it will be great. :) At some point, I want to read it.

Thanks for another great review! I'm so happy that you're still enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack 

10th December 2011:
So I think Lily's a really good friend, but I wish Remus would just get over the fact that he's a werewolf. I know he never does, but it's a nice thought.
I liked the prank on the Slytherins and how you had the Head Boy and Girl decorating the Great Hall.
Hopefully, James and Lily will become friends, and evetually boyfriend and girlfriend, again. I liked this chapter overall.
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: You know, I was thinking the other day about how Remus is almost always portrayed in fan fiction as possessing a great deal of self-hatred, and I wondered what it would be like to read a story where he wasn't like that. I don't know how consistent it would be with what we know of his character, but maybe he was a bit different as a teenager--more optimistic, or something. It's an interesting possibility, at the very least.

I sort of cribbed the idea of them decorating the Great Hall from the books. I think there's a line in OotP where it says that Ron and Hermione are enlisted to help Filch hang Christmas decorations. :)

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Livelaughlove25 

17th July 2011:
Any ideas about what mulciber actually did?

Author's Response: You've got some really good questions here! :)

Yes, I do have an idea, but it's nothing all that original, I have to admit! I always thought that Mulciber would have used a curse similar to the one Voldmort had laid on the ring when he hid it in the Gaunts' shack. Of course, Mulciber being a teenager (and not Voldemort), it wouldn't have been as powerful. I do envision it having a similar physical effect, though (i.e., blackening the skin/veins), and I think it was something that could have caused great harm if Mary hadn't gotten it fixed quickly.

I hope that seems somewhat compelling...kind of piggy-backing on JKR's idea there, but I guess that's what fan fiction is all about! :)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
Mulciber is a perfect villain. I really love Anna and Mary - they're so well written and have so much depth and personality. I usually OCs from this era, but you've given them really great characterisation.

The Remus/Mary stuff is wonderfully handled and I can't wait to see where it leads.

Oh and James and Lily's misunderstanding is really great stuff too.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so happy to hear that you think Mary and Anna are good characters. After I'd already started writing the story, I had one of those moments where you're on the forums, and you suddenly have a crisis over something you've written because someone says they don't like it when people do that. In this case, I read some post where someone said they couldn't stand when Lily had two best friends, one of them sarcastic and cynical, and the other, sweet and wholesome. I kind of panicked, and thought Mary and Anna fell into that category! It's only through having people review and tell me that they think the two of them are well-written that I've relaxed and felt like I manged to avoid that particular pitfall, even if I was heading in its direction for a short time. :D

I'm so glad you are (were) enjoying the story! Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by harrypottergurl10 

27th January 2011:
I think it was good. Also u could actually let Remus and Mary date. From what I've read so far Remus actually likes someone for a change. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thanks for another review! Well, I think you're right in that Remus did like Mary, but you'll have to read to the end of the story to see if anything comes of it. ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by doglover 

22nd December 2010:
remus really needs to get over himself.

Author's Response: Hahaha, you know, sometimes I think the exact same thing. I'm not sure if he ever did, though! Even as an adult, he was very resistant and hard-headed.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
He's incorrigible. That word just made me laugh; it's not one I've seen often, but I do use.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you liked that word. :) I don't know where the inspiration for that came from...it just kind of fit, I thought! It's got a nice sound to it, doesn't it?

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Isannah 

15th June 2010:
That tense moment with Mulciber was great! Good job! And the fact that Remus rejected Mary...so tragic. *sigh* I feel so sorry for Mary, esp. since Remus is a werewolf and can't do anything about it. He has a knack for breaking people's hearts, doesn't he?

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Tense moments like that are hard for me--I think I've improved slightly, and it's become a little easier, but it's still difficult!

Yep, Remus does have a habit of putting girls into the woes of romance. :P I guess it just comes with the territory. I'm glad you can sympathize with Mary...she's sadly clueless, and there's not really much that can be done to fix it, like you said!


 Report Review

Review #9, by hh 

3rd May 2010:
that was totally cool! you've inspired me!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and that's so nice to to know that I somehow inspired you. :) What a lovely compliment!

 Report Review

Review #10, by _hedwig_ 

23rd April 2010:
this is so good! i hate remus right now. i mean, i love him. no, i hate him. No, i love him. Argh!

i think lily should apologize, she's being unapproachable. 9/10 for one reason: remus is currently being a git.

Author's Response: Remus does elicit that response often. :P You want to take him by the shoulders and sake some sense into him, and then immediately sit and let him cry on your shoulder. Haha. I'm glad you liked the chapter, despite Remus being an idiot. :P

Yes, Lily is just a tad unapproachable. But James is persistent; I wouldn't worry about him getting through to her eventually. ;)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by CaribouProngs 

17th April 2010:
I can kind of see the confrontation thing, but it's still pretty good. I'd say letting the confrontationers use a little more magic might not be such a bad idea... But maybe I just wanted Lily to curse Mulciber's pants off.
You are definitely right about the Marauder stories. They can be written seriously well by the right person. I'll sure be in on this movement!

Author's Response: Oh, good, I'm glad you thought that part was okay. I sometimes make myself cringe in these kinds of scenes. :P I think perhaps I've gotten the teeniest, tiniest bit better as I've been writing more and more, but still...

Yes, go Marauder stories!! They are, after all, my first and truest fan fiction love. ♥

Thank you again for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Prongs and Lils 

28th February 2010:
the confrontation was good. and my favorite type of hp fanfic is from the Marauder Era so yeah lol

Author's Response: Who doesn't love the Marauders? :P I'm just kidding; I know that they're not everyone's cup of tea. But they're certainly my favourite, too!

I'm really glad you thought the confrontation was good. I always feel really uncertain about writing those types of scenes, and it's encouraging to hear that I did okay.

Thank you again! I hope you like the rest of the story too!


 Report Review

Review #13, by a 

6th February 2010:
I completely agree! I hate how James and Sirius are always portrayed as sort of womanizers, and that although James supposedly in love with Lily, he goes through about sixteen different girls before he gets together with Lily.
I love the way Snape is in this story - a lot of the Marauder era stories that I've read seem to just forget about him.
Love it!

Author's Response: Hello there! (I'm not sure if you're the same person who left the previous review--if so, thanks for leaving another review! And if not, thank you still!)

Yeah, there's a lot of unfounded characterizations floating around, in my opinion. We didn't get a very good idea of any of their personalities in that scene in OotP, or in DH--I mean, we got a BETTER idea of them, but not a really good one. And I definitely agree that the womanizing aspect seems strange.

I couldn't possibly forget about Snape--he's such a big (but often silent) part of the whole story! I'm glad you're enjoying his inclusion.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by RainbowVeins 

17th January 2010:
ya i think that was a great idea and the confrontation was very good glad u didnt make the marauders save them now that would be a cliche and i hope u make remus' romance different oh and sorry i just realized there is a rating! :)

Author's Response: I'm happy you thought the confrontation was good! As I've been writing this story I've gained a little more confidence when it comes to writing these scenes, mainly because of encouragement like yours.

And I'm firmly of the opinion that girls are quite capable of taking care of themselves, so quite apart from it being a cliche, I didn't think any help from the boys was necessary. :)

Oh, don't worry about the rating. I forget about it sometimes when I'm reviewing too, and I actually don't even know what function it has, if any. Your rating doesn't show up to me, at least--I'm sure the staff have it there for some purpose, but I don't know what!

Thanks again! (I'm sounding like a broken record here, but I really do appreciate the reviews.)


 Report Review

Review #15, by apriltruex 

9th January 2010:
well I personally am a huge fan of Marauder stories. I usually don't read anything but. That being said I of course have favorites (most of the ones in my favorites list are actually these marauder stories) I really enjoy this story however for it's different approach. And it is joining the list with the others to be marked as a Marauder one of a kind.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for reviewing. I really like to hear new perspectives on the story!

I don't read much other than Marauders stories, either! They're just so great. I can't tell you how big of smile you've given me, saying that you think it's a different approach, since you read so many of them. Sometimes I think it's a mathematical impossibility to find any originality when you've read enough Marauders stories. :P I really am so flattered that you're enjoying the story so far, and I hope it lives up to those standards in the rest of the chapters!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Elly 

1st January 2010:
nice story. slightly different to jk, but who isn't. marauders era is my absolute fave too, and there are so many terrible lily/james stories out there.
i do enjoy the silly romance type stories but i think the actual story would be more like yours. more funny though, and jk just writes so cleverly. i read one in which snape actually invented the wolfsbane potion, not sure what it was called though.
i think your snape is good and works, but not quite a person lily could be such good friends with or be so brave in the end.
i am enjoying the story, keep on keeping on!!

Author's Response: Hi Elly! Thanks so much for taking a moment to review.

I'm really glad you like the story. :) Marauders stories are definitely my #1 choice too! They've been done so many times but every once in a while I find a story that's a new take, or a better take, and they're always so much fun to read. It really is a great story at its core--of course there's the romance, which lots of people tend to focus on, but then there's the bigger picture with the war going on as well. I'm so glad that I've managed to capture a bit of that. And I agree that JKR's version of the Marauders is much funnier. I'm not the best at writing the funny and clever type of dialogue that she does with James and Sirius, which sometimes makes me wonder why I ever chose to write a story with their characters. :P

Oh, Snape...he's an interesting character for me to write. Because I'm not really his biggest fan. Don't get me wrong--he did some very brave things, and his death was one of the few moments that made me cry in Deathly Hallows--but I also think that he did some very reprehensible things, and overall I don't think he's a very nice person. Especially at this point, where he hasn't suffered the loss of Lily, and he really is dead-set on becoming a Death Eater. He's a very curious character, though, and he has a lot of depth and complexity to him. Anyway, there's a bit of a ramble for you--I suppose what it comes down to is that right now in this story, as an eighteen-year-old, not an eleven-year-old who's Lily's friend or a thirty-something-year-old who's a double agent, I don't think he is someone who Lily could be friends with or be as brave as he was when he had lost her. That's just me, though!

Thanks again for the review! This was fun to respond to. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by RocketBabyDoll9 

21st December 2009:
So, finally James and Lily kind of speak again? Yay. (:

Though Mary was getting on my nerves a bit, I feel oh so bad for her about what Remus said. Though I do understand where he's coming from, with the whole werewolf thing.

You don't write confrontation poorly! In fact, Lily's threat to Mulciber made me really happy.

And I'm glad this won't be a typical Remus/OC. I really dislike those (except for Tongue Tied, that was just too cute!).

You already know how I feel about Marauders stories. I like yours. (:

And I like melian's.

And a few others. (:

'Til next time!!

Author's Response: I love all those things you said about Mary and Remus. Again I'm glad that Mary's a bit annoying, since she's supposed to be, but it's also fantastic that you could feel sympathy for her despite that. I've tried my best to make it possible for readers to understand both her and Remus' perspectives, and it encourages me to know that you felt that pull in both directions.

I do hope (and think) that this won't turn out as a typical Remus/OC, although you have permission to call me out on it if I don't end up succeeding in the end. I've never read Tongue Tied, but I might have to go take a look over the holidays now that you've mentioned it!

Phew, I'm glad you thought the confrontation was good! I didn't want to make it too melodramatic, and sometimes I really think I might have gone a wee bit too far, but it's great that you liked Lily's line to Mulciber. I figure it at least sets a pattern of behaviour that makes it believable that she'd end up joining the Order, even though I think it might be a tad over-the-top, looking back. :P

Yep, I definitely know how you feel about Marauders stories, and I'm still so excited that you're enjoying mine. And I'm so glad that your love of melian's story ended up bringing you to mine! :)

Thanks for all the reviews--so much! It was so nice to read and respond to them. I hope you're enjoying your holiday season!


 Report Review

Review #18, by pattybuns_hpf 

16th December 2009:
This chappie, the best! Brilliant as the start! I feel so sorry for Mary, and Remus should have never been so rude! Yay for Lily for putting sense into him, I think... =/

Anyway, thought I'd leave a review now before you think I'm not reading anymore. But I certainly have been reading. I couldn't stop until now. =] The last few chapters were great as well. Hope Lily and James get together soon! x)

-Patty

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm so glad the story is still good. :)

Yes, I do feel bad for Mary here too. I think every girl knows what it's like to get your hopes up that someone might like you and then have them disappointed. And unfortunately (as you've already seen), Lily didn't change much with her talk to Remus...

Thanks again for the review! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lulu 

6th December 2009:
Hey there

I would just like to tell you how incredibly much I love your story. Your writing... how can I decribe it... in a way it is simple, but then it is not. I love how you don't use all the clichées (like the Head Dorm), and the way you put in flashbacks and changes the POW's. That is just magnificient. I really love what you've accomplished so far :)

- Louise

Author's Response: Hi Louise! I'm so, so glad that you love the story. It's wonderful to get such lovely feedback, especially on my style of writing. Sometimes I feel like I have a tendency to be quite wordy, so to have someone call it "simple" is actually a big relief!

I have tried to steer away from cliches as best I can, although I'm sure I haven't avoided them completely. It's good to hear that I'm doing okay at it, at least. :)

And it's really nice to know that you like the flashbacks and POV changes. Sometimes I feel like it might turn some people off the story. The flashbacks, though, contain some really fun details that I like to put in so you still get some sense of their past, even though this story is beginning in their seventh year. And as for the POV changes, I really wanted this story to be about both Lily and James, equally. Writing a story from one of their points-of-view or the other didn't really appeal to me.

I do hope you'll review again sometime! I love hearing any and all thoughts about the story. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by banana 

7th November 2009:
I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!! It was very unique-I've never read a fanfiction where the students decorate for Halloween!!

I liked the Mulciber moment-very suspenseful...Also I'm glas you cleared that up, I really dislike that kind of formula with Remus...He needs self-confidence!!!

And I completely agree-Marauder era stories are my favorite!!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you loved this one, especially that you liked the suspenseful moment with Mulciber. I always kind of grimace at my writing in moments like this, so it's really nice to know that others aren't doing the same thing!

And yes...Remus definitely does need some self-confidence. The poor thing!

Yay for Marauders stories! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Leigh Kelley 

30th October 2009:
Ahaha at Sirius as a pumpkin-head. He is a bit obnoxious at times, so I don't really feel sorry for him. Him and Peter having the pumpkins in a duel is very Marauder-like. I wonder how it would have been if McGanagoll caught them instead xD.

Aw, I feel sorry for Mary. Remus is in fact leading her own, though I guess it is unintentional because he happens to like her back, so flirting with her is pretty natural. He had to turn her down, for her own sake, but of course he couldn't give her a proper explanation as to why. Poor girl. Poor Remus too, as he's obviously torn up about it.

I am actually not turned off by you including some Remus/OC action. Usually the OC already knows he's a werewolf, either by stumbling upon him or some other improperly explained reason. Or she happens to secretly be a werewolf himself, which really ticks me off. I don't think you're that type of writer though. You write the relationship between Lily and James so naturally that I can only assume that any that may spring up between Remus and Mary would be much the same.

The scene with Mulciber was...nerve-racking. I seriously thought he would hurt her. I know they are in school right now and everything, but I wouldn't put it pass them to try and show their allegiance to the Dark Lord while still at Hogwarts :/. I'm glad Lily found her, and that Hagrid happened upon the scene right after. You injected the right amount of tension so that I, as the reader, felt scared for Mary at that point.

Good job. On to the next one.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Haha, the image of Sirius with a pumpkin for a head is really funny, isn't it? And I suppose it's pretty appropriate right now, since Halloween is tomorrow!

Wow, and how amazing that you don't mind the Remus/Mary thing! I know people usually get a little turned off when one of Lily's friends get paired with the Marauders, but I really am sincerely trying to make this different from usual. And I'm so glad that you can sympathize with both of them. I think most people might be tempted to side with Remus, but you're right, he is leading her on, albeit unintentionally.

I really happy you liked the part with Mulciber! I often find it a bit tough to write these sort of tense, action-filled moments, and it's really reassuring that I did okay. :) And I think they definitely would have been practicing (if you want to call it that) for becoming Death Eaters while they were at school...we definitely know that at least one incident like that happened with Mary, and I don't think it's too much of a stretch to think that it would have occurred at other times as well.

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Harry and Ginny 

3rd October 2009:
the little moment of Mulciber and Mary was intense and i hope Remus sees reason and starts to be correct towards Mary.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Ooh, intense is a good word. That makes me feel good about that scene. :) And yeah, Remus is messing up big time, but all will be revealed in time...and in a lot of ways, you have to cut him a bit of slack. He hasn't had the easiest life, right?

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review