Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
I KNEW IT! I knew it, I knew it, I knew it. Well okay, I didn't know that Bertram was cheating on her but I knew that he wasn't a good guy and that Laura would be better off without him. But anyway, I'll talk about that in a little bit...

Ugh, looking back at the beginning of this chapter, I'm really annoyed at how two-faced Bertram was when he was with Laura and yet at the same time he was probably cheating on her. It's just so unfair and mean and she deserves a lot, lot better than someone who'd treat her like that. But the Sirius and Laura conversations made me smile! It's nice to see them getting on a lot better now and growing gradually closer, and I suspect that Sirius already has feelings for Laura, although Laura's denying hers since she's got a boyfriend.

The part about the Turpin Tales was sweet, as well. I thought that Sirius had bad taste in girls when I read he was going out with Dione earlier on but I think that it's quite cute they were so worried and surprised and simply didn't have a clue that she spread rumours like that. And then the ending! I didn't expect that to happen but I suppose that was what the boys saw on the map? Anyway, reading on to find out what happens...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Sian!!!

Yep, that's what the boys saw on the map, hence Remus pointing it out to Sirius when he noticed it. It does put another spin on Bertram, doesn't it? I thought Sirius summed it up well with the "lying, cheating ..." line, to be honest. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by DancingMooncalf 

3rd January 2013:
I Knew it!
Well, better she know now!

I have an official addiction to your story now, i was ready till 5 in the morning last night.
you're very good at keeping the tension high!

I love this story!

Author's Response: Five in the morning? Heavens. I hope I wasn't responsible for your missing anything. Really, though, that's a huge compliment so thank you very much. If my writing has affected you in this way then I must have been doing something right, and that's really gratifying.

As for Laura, well yeah, you'd THINK she'd start getting a clue, wouldn't you? You'd think. Sigh.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Oooh, Bertram, you sorry little pig. But yay cute hand holding/yanking and expressions! Woohoo!

Author's Response: Ah, there is certainly action aplenty on its way. Just be patient. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by JustanotherHarryPotterfan3816 

27th November 2012:
You have no idea how pleased and giddy I am now. Hahahaha! Yay me. Okay..sorry to those who actually liked the relationship.

Author's Response: Which is not many people, I'm afraid. Aside from Bertram, that is. But yes, it was always going to end this way, unfortunate (for Laura) as it is.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Slytherinbabe 

1st August 2012:
Somehow I'd known this was going to happen...

Author's Response: Yes, not a huge surprise to a lot of people, I'm afraid. Bertram is very much of a type, and this is how that type behaves. Unfortunate, but true.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Voldemorts_Little_Helper 

27th March 2012:
What a scumbag! Can Laura and Sirius get together already, the sexual tension is driving me up the wall! James is so cute!

Author's Response: Lol. If it's driving you up the wall now, yo'uve got a frustrating road ahead of you. There's a bit of a wait, I'm afraid, because I had a very strict story plan and The Snog had to happen at a certain time. Glad you're enjoying it though!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
I so called that. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Yeah, it was kinda obvious, wasn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack 

19th October 2011:
BAHAHAHA! I knew it! I knew there was something off about that boy, and here's the proof! And Laura's breaking up with him next chapter, right? Although, I wish she'd come to her senses without being cheated on... ah well.
Anyway nice job. I liked that Laura promised to wait with Mary.
Until next chapter (Betram's finally gone!!)
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, here's the proof. Perhaps it was a little abrupt and tactless showing Laura like that, but she had to know, right? But no, I doubt she would have come to her senses before the end of the school year if he hadn't done it. She liked being wanted too much.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

6th August 2011:
I WAS RIGHT! I would have almost used Sirius' line from the previous chapter, but luckily your Author's Note warned me not to, it just would have worked so well. It's nice to see that the Marauder's are looking out for her, even if it's not exactly the best of situations for her to find herself and her boyfriend in, although I have to admit now that there was an element of this is Bertram's personality from the beginning and I guess that's why I was never particularly fond of him being with her, even if I did ignore the earlier warning signs of him potentially acting like this. I almost feel heartbroken for Laura having to have seen this, and you've captured the shocking moment so perfectly in the final line.

I particularly love the effort the Marauder's have clearly gone to in order to uncover this as well, there is something so believable about them doing this in order to protect a friend. It seemed as though their relationship was heading in a direction that was not particularly good, however from all that time ago when they met, I never exactly expected this. Well done on such an amazing cliff-hanger too! I'm not going to stick around writing a long review because I think I'd be just repeating almost what I've already said in earlier reviews and because I just have to find out what happens next, and what Sirius has to say about all this...

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: I'd like to thank you for not using that line, because I've had a few reviews deleted and we all hate it when that happens. But yeah, a lot of people saw that coming. Just not Laura, bless her. :)

And yes, the boys are defiintely looking out for her by this stage. I like to think that their famous loyalty wasn't reserved only for themselves, but for others important to them, and this is a demonstration of that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
For Laura's sake, I'm sad. Otherwise, good riddens!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: LOL. Yes, good riddance! Again, not an uncommon reaction, hahaha. Bertram is very much of a type, I'm afraid, and this was that type in action under certain circumstances. As for Laura, well it's something she has to get through as part of growing up, isn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
Well, I"m not pleased with the pain it will undoubtedly cause, but i am glad Hufflepuffgit is about to be tossed, unceremoniously, under the Knight Bus.

An excellent chapter, liked all the little flourishes, but I simply must move on to the next.

Cheers!

Eldy

Author's Response: LOL. I love the idea of Bertram underneath the Knight Bus. I might have to write a one-shot that does just that, just for the fun of it. *grins* This chapter, as you know, was mostly filler, but it was all in aid of character development, or at least that's my excuse, hahaha. The ending, though, was a lot of fun ... just be glad you're not waiting for the next chapter to be validated. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
That lying, cheating... indeed. I am not surprised in the slightest by what's been found out, but I did nonetheless enjoy this twist immensely. The only question is, how will she react to catching them in the act? Not sure that was exactly the most tactful way for the Marauders to handle it, but I can see why Sirius might have felt the urge to ensure he believed her. Now we can only sit back and hope she doesn't shoot the messenger. Of course, she's generally quite good at keeping a level head, so I'll just have to hope it stays true. Once she's hexed that lying cheat into oblivion, that is!

I just adore the way Laura keeps justifying Sirius' behaviour "oh, he must be upset about Dione", "oh, he's pausing by the stairs" - she's so wonderfully clueless. In most stories this makes me go "oi, get a clue, dummy", but because of the prior build up, it seems perfectly validated. Heck, half the time I'm looking for more reasonable excuses for his behaviour, and I'm not living it, so it's no wonder that she is. Really beautifully crafted.

Onwards...

Author's Response: Hi again!

It may not have been the most tactful way of letting her know about it, but do you really think Laura would have taken them as seriously if they'd just told her? She knew they didn't like him, after all. So from the point of view of the story she had to find out this way, harsh and abrupt as it is. (Besides, boys aren't generally known for their tact, are they?)

I'm especially pleased that you feel that the backstory in this has justified Laura's reactions to things - that was the intent, as we really saw what her starting point was in this whole thing, but I did have a number of people who were getting increasingly frustrated with her. Thank you for understanding!!!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
oh poor laura!!! stupid bertram...

Author's Response: LOL. Yes, poor Laura. She needed a bit of a wakeup call as far as this relationship went and this just happened to be it, Marauder-style. But I quite agree, Bertram wasn't exactly thinking it through, was he?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Isi 

5th April 2010:
Hej Mel,

Yesterday I started to read your story and i have to admit; i'm absolutely addicted. You're really such a good writer! I hope you write one day your own novel or something in the way because I think you're really gifted!

And.. Maybe I'm not supposed to say the followed but I want to; I think that JKR herself would be very proud of you and your ff because it "flows" in every sentence (like hers). You respect her work and you making something very new out of it - Respect. Keep Writing :)

Last but not least I wanted to say that you really inspired me and reading your story reminded me how great it can be to write, to create, to live and love (and even die) with your characters. I want to start again writing. Thank you a lot!

Isi x X

(PD: Okay. I'm very sorry but I have to say it; If it sounded like it; you're not perfect but you're on the best way to be a R E A L L Y good writer!!)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! :D

And wow, what a review. Thank you! *beams* And don't worry, I never thought you meant I was perfect. I know myself that I have a lot of improving to do, though then again I'm probably my own worst critic. But I'm really chuffed that you think so much of my writing, that really does make my day. And to say JKR herself would be proud of me ... well, that's the greatest compliment you can pay a fanfic author, isn't it? *beams again, then feels like that's not enough so does a little jig*

I do hope that you start writing again, too. It's such a wonderful creative process and if my little story can inspire someone else to embrace that, then I feel like I've achieved something.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by ochalke5 

7th January 2010:
I KNEW IT!!! I love Sirius!!! Must read on! I love it Mel!!! Great Job!!!
10/10
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, yes, the cliffy. I remember this one. It was a bit of a filler chapter till the end but there was still all that establishment of relationships that was happening. Glad you liked it! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by saffy 

29th November 2009:
"Imagine having to go into Gringott's and change money every time you get into a new country, it'd be a nightmare!" It is isnt it ? Do you know whats worse when you go to england and they wont accept scottish money ! bgah !

I think you'll find that its legal tender across the whole of the uk (specificaly aimed at the newsagetns in Buntingford, who wouldnt accept my fiver last half term when i was down there).

Sorry for that outburst i was just thinking about that incident (and many others) when i was reading this and it just sort of came out.

This is one of my favourite chapters the careless banter between sirius and laura and its great to get rid of bertram who equals the biggest tin ever in existence !

Author's Response: Hi Saffy!

I've just done a marathon of review responses (over 50 since last time I logged in, this is just astonishing) and now you've come back again! But you always make me smile and I do love your reviews, so don't ever think I'm complaining.

Anyway. Yes, I fully understand about the Scottish money thing, it must be completely frustrating. So feel free to vent to me :D And yes, Bertram was a bit of a tin wasn't he? I too liked the banter - the chapter was a bit of a filler but those conversations made it worth while I think. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
I was right! He is studying someone else anatmy. WHAT A JERK! I knew something was off with him. Now I have to continue to read at least the next chapter. Laundry can wait!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yes, you were right. A Ravenclaw girl's anatomy, to be precise. So well done you! :D

I hope your laundry didn't suffer too much though - I do feel guilty when I take people away from their real lives ...

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by 4rm_h8_2_luv 

5th October 2009:
I KNEW IT! THAT SCUM!

Author's Response: Ah, I see you've read this chapter now. Yep, not the best behaviour, was it? I must say that I was astonished at the vitriol Bertram seemed to inspire, but then again that must mean you're getting engaged with the story so I must be doing something right. *beams*

thanks for the review!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sundrops 

24th September 2009:
OMGGG THAT WAS SO GOOD! it is left at a cliffhanger :( but wow. amazing work, as always!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Sundrops! It's just great to have new people reviewing, you really know how to make a girl's day. :)

And sorry for the cliffy, but it was just too perfect a spot to end the chapter. But like I said the next one is in the queue so, pending validation, should be up in the next couple of days.

Thanks for reading! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by MyPseudonym 

24th September 2009:
Ahh another amazing chapter! You go at exactly the right pace so it's not happening too quickly that it's unrealistic, but not so slow that we're like "ok so what now?" and honestly the chapters get better every time.

Personally, I'm hoping Laura lets rip at him, maybe even employ some of Bea's best hexes...? But I'm pretty harsh, so who knows!

Loving it as always :)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks again! If I'm not careful I'm going to get a big head from all these reviews ... *beams anyway*

You know, a lot of people seem to be wishing Bertram significant personal harm. I even had one person dive into the story and hex him to Hong Kong, and I had to go and retrieve him so the next chapter could take place. :) But you'll just have to wait to see what actually does befall him - sorry! *evil grin*

Anyway thanks again for the review and I'm just thrilled that you're still following my story!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by CaSurferGrl 

24th September 2009:
Ok I'm relieved the next chapter is almost up because I can't wait for Lauras reaction. Love this story :)

Author's Response: Hi again! Sorry about the cliffy, but I just couldn't resist. It was such a perfect chapter end point. *evil grin*

However yes, next chatper is in the queue (which is pretty short at the moment) so should be up in a few days, pending validation of course.

thanks for the review! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderette (: 

24th September 2009:
OOHHH.
i've just started reading this pretty darn amazing story, and the last chapter just had to be a cliffie hey? :L
aha, i'll be clicking on here everyday until the next one pops up (y) ;D
aahh, i do like her relationship with sirius, can't wait to see this one grow xD
onebazillion/ten

Author's Response: Wow, thanks marauderette! What a lovely review! Every time I find out I have new readers I just get so happy. *beams*

But yeah, sorry for the cliffy. But don't you think it just worked perfectly as a chatper ending? However fear not, next chapter should be up in a few days, pending validation of course.

And I'm really pleased that you like the relationship with Sirius. I worked really hard to make him as canon as I could and it was a bit tricky trying to get the girl's characteristics right so that it would work as a relationship without being too cliched. So yeah, I'm just thrilled that you think I may be pulling that off. *beams again*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by SeriouslySirius. 

24th September 2009:
Oh no! Saw it coming but still... poor Laura. I hope she is one to be like, "Oh, this sucks..." and not freak out and cry too much. My poor heart can't take it. I hope he begs for forgivness too, i would be like "Oh, i forgive you, but lets break up." *HUGE SMILE* *Walks Away*

Author's Response: Thanks SeriouslySirius! :D

I think everyone saw it coming (I wasn't all that subtle, was I?), but yeah, poor Laura. But of course I can't comment on your predictions because I might give something away and that's just not an option. So I'm saying nothing. Sorry! *evil grin*

However, no matter how it turns out I hope your poor heart can take it and that you keep on reading, it's just great to have new people reading and enjoying my story. *beams*

Thanks for the review!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Liisarr 

24th September 2009:
Oooh, she's going to be crushed!
Then Sirius will be there to pick up the pieces and put them all back together again, but much better than they ever were before.

I still love this story! =D

Author's Response: Thanks so much Liisarr! *beams* Yeah, sorry for the cliffy but it just worked so well, don't you think? As for what will happen, well I've taken your predictions on board but I'm not going to comment on them. Can't give anything away, now, can I?

Anyway thanks so much for the review :D
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Fairytale12 

24th September 2009:
Ok, so I haven't reviewed any chapter yet, but that's because I just deiscovered the story and have read the entire thing in the past fews days! Normally I don't like stories that are based on other characters not from the books, I prefer the traditional Lily/James or Ron/Hermione type of stories. You do such a good job, however, of tying in all the elements of the classic story but at the same time it's so original. I also love the way you take the time to develop your characters and their relationships, it's makes the whole story so much better. Ok, so long story short, I love this whole story so far and I eagerly await more!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Fairytale12! That's just so flattering. I know exactly what you mean about avoiding OCs because I'm a canon nerd as well but, well, we don't have much choice when it comes to Sirius because canon doesn't give us an alternative. Hence, this story. But the fact that it's not generally your thing and you've still read all 28 chapters is just totally flattering to me and means that as an author I must be doing something right. *beams*

So, thanks so much for this review! I can only hope that you keep on enjoying the tale as we get through sixth and seventh years.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>