Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

7th June 2013:
Ok so I'm working my way through this fic now, after I loved Unsinkable so much!

This chapter made me laugh. I remember Ron in the books saying Bilius always had an odd sense of humour - and that prank was so ridiculous. I was laughing out loud. I loved it when Molly hit Bilius over the head with the box - and then Arthur's mum encouraging her. So perfect :D

I liked the inclusion of Rita Skeeter a couple of chapters back. That was great. And I liked seeing the resemblance between the three Prewetts at the duelling club, it didn't surprise me that Molly would be so good at the protective spells but it was great to see the twins really come into their own and have Molly recognise that they're not only about mischief. I really like the way you're portraying the beginnings of the war. So far I'm loving this story just as much as the first one! :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you! I hope you like this one as well as the first. Bilius needs a good smack upside the head ;)

I love to throw a canon character in for a cameo. I'm glad you noticed Rita there :) The Prewetts are definitely similar at duelling club, though Molly would hate to admit it. She's got a natural ability with duelling, both defense and offense, and so do the twins. They're definitely coming into their own a bit, since in the future they'll be quite good at what they do in the Order of the Phoenix. It was fun to show the beginnings of that development.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Singularity 

9th August 2011:
Hmm, I've always wondered about the history between Lucius and Arthur. Obviously, we see that there is some there, so this is a really great introduction to that relationship.

Aww, I always love Christmas with the Weasleys :) Even if it's a bit of a different cast than we're used to, it's still great! I love how Molly fits right into Arthur's family to the extent that she feels comfortable enough to smack Billius over the head. Granted, he definitely deserved it...(that part made me laugh a lot) I can only imagine how embarrassing that would have been for both Arthur and Molly...and probably everyone else in the room by proxy :P

I'm interested to know what the twins are getting up to. It seems like they're maturing quite a bit, which is probably going to set up the unfortunate canon events that I don't want to think about because I love Gideon and Fabian :( *sniffles* Instead I'll think of Molly's face when she pulled out that negligee. *giggles*

The scene between Molly and her mother was great. It's really interesting to watch Molly explore her beliefs and begin to think about things that she hasn't really considered before. I'm glad her parents don't hold with the blood traitor nonsense. I think it would have been really hard for her to have to choose between her parents and Arthur.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: The way they behave toward each other in canon indicates, at least to me, that there's many years of them arguing and scraping each other's nerves as their paths cross. It's probably a blessing they have a few years age difference, or they'd have been in detention for fighting the entire time they were at Hogwarts.

Christmas with the Weasleys! This year's Christmas, as opposed to in Unsinkable, I tried to really show how seamlessly Molly fits with her future in-laws. The way she and Arthur are so confident and just wave to relatives at Bill's wedding in DH, I think she'd have been enthusiastically accepted into the family all along.

Molly's parents are sometimes portrayed as stuffy purebloods, but I think they couldn't have been, or she would have been disowned. Arthur's mother was disowned by the Blacks for marrying a Weasley, and if the Prewetts behaved that way, having two sons in the Order and a daughter who marries a Weasley would have meant a round of disowning, I think. So I wrote them differently. They're not Muggle-lovers, but they're not haters either. I think a lot of pureblood families would be that way.

Gideon and Fabian are growing up in this story - though they're still young, so they've got time. There's some conflict in canon about when exactly they are killed, but it should be around 1980ish, so they've got years still - but yeah, it's sad to think of their fate :(

Thank you very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by theelderwand 

23rd February 2010:
Arthur v. Lucius. Just think how history could have changed if Arthur had just ak'ed the little snot then...Just the same, I loved that scene, a great back story to their confrontation in Chamber of Secrets.

Christmas at the Weasleys. Bilius! I'm glad Molly boxed his ears. But, very in character for the way I always imagined Bilius. That said, I like how seamlessly Molly has integrated into the Weasley clan. Well written, that.

The blood traitor exchange Molly has with her mother was excellent. Again, the way this theme is woven into the story is quite good.

Author's Response: Hahahaha... Oh, the AU possibilities of bumping off Lucius as a preteen! I'm far too canon to ever do it, but it does sound fun.

Bilius is, well, Bilius. He's an idiot. Molly's already a Weasley - she just needs the paperwork ;)

Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rachel 

4th October 2009:
I just thought I would tell you that I absolutely LOVE your work. I've actually read "Unsinkable" about three times now... I'm just not very good at reviewing. Yours are absolutely the best Molly/Arthur stories I've read. Please continue to update quickly! But I also understand that you're a normal human being who is probably ridiculously busy like the rest of us. :-) So just do what you can.

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow three times. That's awesome. You are too sweet. I'm trying to get it updated quicker now, sorry for all the delays. I'm about halfway done with chapter 8. Thanks for sticking with it and being understanding!

 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFriday 

22nd September 2009:
Another F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S. chapter! You make me laugh so much. Bilius' joke was excellent, and even better was when Arthur's mother smacked him in the head - Hah! Just what I would have done. You write such wry, clever lines, like when Arthur's mom said, Christmas is a time for family love. You may kill him tomorrow.

I also loved the inclusion of Lucius in this chapter. He's the spitting image of his future son, exactly as I would expect, down to the way he talks ("My father this" and "My father that"). That boy needs to be slapped (a la Hermione's slap heard 'round the world when Draco runs his mouth too much). :-P Too bad he's too young for Molly to get away with doing it.

Adult Arthur is incredibly mellow, so it's nice to see the other side of him as you've written him, where he actually gets angry and is vocal about his opinions.

Loved it, as always!

Author's Response: Arthur's not always mellow as an adult. Remember he gets in a fistfight with Lucius in the bookstore in CoS? Hagrid has to break them up. I do think Molly wore him down a bit over the years though. Yes, Lucius really does need a good butt-kicking. I think he was probably a snotty little kid, much like his son, and after reading his letter in Beetle the Bard I knew I had to throw him in here as a foil for Arthur's Muggle love.

I'm glad you liked Bilius's joke. He has a messed-up sense of humor (the wedding flowers trick that the Weasley kids describe in DH!) so I thought he'd probably play overly personal jokes on people. Poor Molly. Arthur will definitely be angry in the next chapter at what his brother did, but he's pretty even-tempered so he'll get his equilibrium back. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

19th September 2009:
Adored this chapter! The balance you kept between good and evil was perfect. The way you has us all sober over Malfoy (which I was pleased to see, by the way. It's always been fun to think of that generation in school, with people like Arthur actually dominating over Malfoy for once) and his use of blood traitor, (oh, and no wonder Ron hates the word mudblood, if his father got so stirred up over blood traitor!!!) then threw in the negligee to lighten things up a little. I thought of Bilius as soon as Arthur didn't remember the present and Molly found the pink satin. At least I remembered Bilius. I had to think for a minute about Constantine and co.

I also enjoyed the way unconditional love for the Chudley Canons runs in the family, apparently. Bilius reminded me strongly of Ron.

I got a little tired of the word "drawl" when you introduced Malfoy, although it's also possible that I'm reading a book which over-uses the word, and so I was already bored with it by the time I read this chapter. However, it does perfectly describe how Malfoy talks. (That right there was a poor attempt to find some contructive crit for you :P)

Great work, you wouldn't believe how happy I was to see you updated! 10/10, your charcters are so enjoyable.

Author's Response: You know, it's funny you mentioned it, cause I kept thinking while I was writing that I'd used "drawl" too much lol. I tried to keep its use to a minimum, but it's so descriptive of the Malfoy attitude that it's hard to resist! I'll have to read it over and see if I can polish that up a bit more. Thanks for the concrit ;)

Malfoy held his own quite well for being several years younger than them. Huge sense of entitlement in that family! I think Ron reflects a good amount of his father's opinions. Arthur is clearly a strong influence on his children, despite being pretty henpecked by his wife. I thought Bilius would be the perfect one to pass on the Cannons love to Ron! I'm named for one of my aunts, and she always tried to get me to like the things she likes.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I always love seeing your name in the review box :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by laughhard91 

17th September 2009:
Excellent chapter. I like very much that Ron's namesake, in a way, is also very stubbornly obsessed with the Chudley Cannons. You do a great job describing Arthur's family. It makes it easy to see how the Weasleys that Harry knew evolved and took shape. And that last line...my goodness. I'm excited to see how you're going to work around the whole blood traitor thing with Molly and Arthur. It's a very real issue, and I'm glad you've brought it up again. It's obvious that Arthur doesn't mind, but I can see how Molly would have some really big problems with it. Anyway, wonderful work, and I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I've noticed that sports fandom often runs in families. The Weasley family is big enough to have rival branches of Quidditch support, so I thought I'd have fun with that. And naturally, Bilius would support the Cannons ;)

The blood traitor thing is definitely a big issue, Molly's going to have to work through it. Especially since the first Voldywar is beginning, and the blood status sides are sort of crystallizing. I've brought that out in other facets of the story too, particularly Hattie's problems with her mother. I'm really glad you're enjoying the story. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by JGZimmerle 

17th September 2009:
Thanks for this very entertaining chapter! I especially liked the parts about the present from Bilius, and the revelation of the beginning of the long animosity between Arthur and Lucius.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had fun writing the Weasley Christmas. And the Arthur v. Lucius argument. I can just imagine his face when he overheard the sort of opinions Lucius sends, for example, in the letter to Dumbledore in "Tales of Beedle the Bard". :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by sligers118 

17th September 2009:
I really really love this story (and it's prequel). It's so well written, and the characters are really convincing. I also like Molly's inner struggle with her reputation - instead of just being perfect and completely fine with giving up social standing. I also love the twins, and the whole weasley family, which are so similar, and yet so different, from the next generation.
Favourite line:
"It's Christmas," said Mrs. Weasley. "Christmas is a time for family love. You may kill him tomorrow."

please keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's nice to hear that I did the characters all right. The Prewetts seemed to be rather better-respected among purebloods than the Weasleys, so I thought Molly might have had to deal with some reservations about that. It's fun to write this generation of Weasleys while I'm also writing "Just Another Midnight Run" because the two time periods are so different, and the Weasleys have matured through two generations, so there's a lot of differences, but it's still the same core, kwim? Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Harry and Ginny 

17th September 2009:
the prank Billius did was funny, lol. Molly needs to stop worrying about dating Arthur or what they call "blood traitor". will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'll try to get the next chapter up soon. I have a bit written, lots more to go. Hopefully it won't take as long as this chapter did! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review