Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by starryskies55 

12th September 2012:
I started to review this at half two this morning, and then my eyes went fuzzy so I went to bed, I'm sorry :( So, on with the review!

Right, OMG LILY, JUST LOVE JAMES ALREADY. No, Jenny. Think of the plot.

Also, the Remus/Mary feels, oh gosh, if they get together I may not be able to contain myself. I mean, sure, there is a furry little problem and Lily is quite possibly right saying there are some commitment issues, but he's going to look after her! And it would be so cute. I have a lot of love in my heart for Remus. I love how it's all tentative and new and sweet- if someone else had written it, they would have been caught in a broom cupboard :( So yay for tentativeness! :D The scene with Lily, Mary and Anna- it's so true to life. I must have had the same conversation a million times with my friends, only without the threat of Silencing Charms: "Anna looked supremely unconcerned" - what a LINE.
And James' reaction was so typically male: "The last thing he wanted was to get pulled into hysterics over who fancied who." Never mind that he's pining over Lily, and has been doing so for aaages. Love with anyone else means hysterics! Twas a great little bit.

The discovery of the Room of Requirement! Wow, that was like a breath of fresh air! (oh god, I've started on the imagery again, stop me, please). Usually they just find it, and immediately know how it works and use it to it's full capability every other half hour. *rolls eyes*. I LOVE that this isn't the case- more proof of your fantastic originality. The idea that it is just a hiding place is fab, and while I kind of think that you'll just leave it as a hiding place, I also kind of think that if someone would unlock all it's secrets, it would be Lily, with the Marauders standing around all like "is this girl for real? Seriously?" Oh god, I hope they don't have to use it while running from Death Eaters. :( Your story makes my imagination run haywire! Stop it!

On a more serious note, the ever looming threat of old mouldy Voldy is getting steadily nearer and looming-er.. it's horrible to see all your lovely characters so scared! Lily was a proper lion, declaring she'll defend Mary and Anna, and I really hope she doesn't have to, although my inner Lit student detects a degree of foreshadowing... I hope I'm wrong on that point :( Mary is such a sweet character, although I have a feeling I may get annoyed at her lack of confidence at some point.

Lily and James' sweet moment in 'their' office (KISS) well, I was so happy. SHE ASKED HIM TO STAY. Although he said no, I'm glad, or world war three may have broken out in such a confined space. Also: "To his surprise, Lily sighed knowingly, put down her quill, and said, "Sit down."" She is a teacher if I ever saw one! She's already got an office, the attitude AND planning study groups. Mind you, I could see James being a teacher too- earlier, didn't he say that he liked sharing things with an eager audience? N'aw.

And I think you're probably getting used to my reviews being in the wrong order, but I'll apologise anyway: I am actually sorry, they must be hell to read.

Also, is your title of the fic a reference to the prophecy? "Thrice defied the dark lord... *rattling breath*" Because OMG TRILOGY. YAY. Although considering the web of intrigue I created about Dearborn, I'm embarrassed it took me until chapter five. I think you may have to deduct points for sleuthiness :( Although, I'm pretty excited now about a massive bust-up! I adore action, so so so so much.

But anyway, you're just amazing. I love how this fic is so complex, and I can try to point out things like foreshadowing- I may have said this before, but nothing is clumsy, everything fits in neatly. Everything /adds/ to the story, every single witty line or brilliantly crafted sentence.

-Jenny

PS. Totally saw your tweet, then got a calculator and added up your review counts, which MEANS, that if no-one sneaked in before me, this is your thousandth review. Thanks so much for being a wonderful author- your wittiness and writing prowess and complete genius means you deserve every single one of those reviews, and more besides.

Author's Response: OMG, OMG, ONE THOUSANDTH REVIEW!!! *hugs Jenny profusely* Thank you so much! I feel like I should print this out and frame it or something! *may actually be contemplating doing this in some form*

And you were up that late?! You don't need to apologize for going to sleep...sleep is important! (Although I'm pretty flattered that you stayed up so late because of my story.)

Remus and Mary are very cute, I have to admit...however...well, you basically covered the "however" part of it. It's there and it's undeniable, but I suppose you'll have to keep reading to find out what happens between them. I LOVE tentativeness. You can probably tell that from this story. :D I love that you pointed that out about James, how he didn't want to get involved even though he's BEEN involved in something similar for ages. I actually never even thought of the hypocrisy in it--just more his isolationist attitude towards it--but you are so right!

I'm so glad you liked the Room of Requirement part! I was trying to make sense of the fact that it wasn't on the Marauder's Map, because if it were, you would think they'd have marked it somehow. And then I remembered how Fred and George originally found it, and that scene was born. :)

If it seems like I'm ignoring anything you've said in this review or saying really oddly brief things about it, it's probably just because I feel like, if I say anything, it's going to ruin parts of the plot for you. :P But one thing I WILL tell you is that you're completely right about the title reference and trilogy aspect. I actually have a hope to one day write FOUR novels about them (ack!)--one for each of the "defiances", and then one covering the time following the third and up to their deaths. (Yeah, I'm gonna go there. I'll be a wreck.) Don't feel embarrassed about not picking up on it...I honest think I was on chapter twenty-something of this story before ANYONE ever mentioned it in a review.

And having said that, I love hearing you pick up on foreshadowing, and (dare I say this?) you never know whether you might be picking up on something that is going to happen in this story, or in a sequel! So keep that in mind. ;)

Aaaahhh, I'm just so happy you love the story so much. I couldn't even ask for a better review to have as my thousandth, because it's made me so full of enthusiasm. So thank you (a thousand times)...I can't tell you how nice it is!


 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack 

10th December 2011:
Oh my goodness I absolutely loved how you included the Room of Requirement in there! And that you displayed how hard Remus tried to prevent his friends from finding out that he was a werewolf. I also like the face that Sirius isn't a member of the Quidditch team; so many fics have that and I don't think it sticks to cannon to have Sirius on the team- he never mentions he's a Quidditch player. So great job on all these points ")
I really liked this chapter and how, throughout the story, you add all these details from canon that aren't big parts of te story, but add genuity to it. Well done!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: (I'm kind of replying to your reviews in fits and starts--hope you don't mind!)

Thank you! I thought it was interesting to think about how the Marauders might have known the Room of Requirement--the most plausible explanation to me was that they never had the same kind of knowledge of it as Harry did. Otherwise, Sirius probably would have mentioned it to Harry at one point or another.

JKR once said that one of Remus' biggest weaknesses was his desire to be liked--that forms a lot of my characterization of him. I think he would have been very afraid to let his friends know what he was, and potentially have them reject him.

Completely agreed on the Sirius point. Again, it's something he would have mentioned to Harry at some point if he had played, in my opinion.

Thanks so much for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by AngelEyez3954 

30th September 2011:
I found this chapter a little slower paced, and the flashback actually confused me a bit - there wasn't much transition in or out of it, so I found it a little hard to take. I also found the flashback to be a bit out of place - maybe there is a reason for the backstory of the Marauders finding the Room of Requirement, but at this point it seemed like just a placeholder/filler chapter.

I like the conversation that the girls have about Remus, and Lily's concern for her friend is sweet. Once again, I found the interaction between Lily and James to be well-written and very sweet.

Great work :) I can't wait to continue reading!!

Author's Response: I think I've realized a problem with my question about the flashback: it's not really a flashback! Haha. I don't know if there's a good word to describe it...more like just James' train of thought, which happens to land on a moment in his past. Because you're right--there isn't a clear transition in or out, and I never really intended there to be. (Hopefully, that casts it in a slightly different light and makes it seem less disjointed.)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
I love how you're writing Mary's crush on Remus - it's not Lily and the Marauderettes or anything so ridiculous, it's just well written female characters who are also teenagers and may or may not find Remus Lupin a little bit foxy.

I also like that Sirius isn't Mr Crash Hot Quidditch Star - it's a nice touch that separates this fic from a lot of stories.

Great dialogue, and and I do like that James is loyal so far - given how Sirius, Peter and Remus are a little antagonistic of his obsession with Lily, his abandoning them for her wouldn't have gone over well.

Also: thanks for writing Peter as a believable and included member of their group. He's not an idiot, nor is he a coward, or obviously evil. The Marauders were dumb teenaged boys, but not that dumb to miss that Peter was already plotting their deaths. Peter wasn't a criminal mastermind, he was just lost to the other side and made some bad decisions. It's easy to hate him, but not easy to write it as a believable descent.

Author's Response: You know, I was re-reading a later chapter of the story earlier, and thinking about how teenage-y Mary's crush on Remus is...which makes it somewhat cringe-inducing at times, but having spent quite a bit of time with my younger siblings, I think that means that it's probably realistic. :P I definitely wanted to avoid the whole "Marauderettes" idea (which is cringe-inducing in a completely different way), but there are only so many Gryffindor girls and so many Gryffindor boys, so you'd think that at some point, there would be some romantic feelings between more than just Lily and James.

I'm glad you like Sirius. He is definitely the character I struggle with the most, so I always sigh with relief whenever I get a compliment about his characterization!

Peter, on the other hand, I enjoy writing. I do absolutely despise him, but he, like Snape, is most interesting to me because of, not in spite of, all his bad qualities. I really enjoy trying to write about his "descent", as you called it, subtly and realistically. I always try to write it imagining that nobody knows that Peter is the one that's going to end up betraying them--I want to plant subtle hints here and there, but ones that you might only fully understand once you look back at the entire story.

Thank you again! (I feel like a broken record here, but I am really grateful for each review!)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Owlpost68 

28th June 2011:
just want to suggest that you use italics for the memory, I was confused that's what you were doing. LOVE the story though! great job with all the details, and the storyline!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you for the review. :) I'm glad to hear you're loving the story. I'll have to go back and look at that section again to see if it needs italicizing...I think at the time I wrote it, I thought it wasn't necessary, because it wasn't necessarily a "flashback"--more just James thinking about a memory. But now I don't know if there's a difference. :P

Anyway, I appreciate the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by doglover 

22nd December 2010:
i liked the memory :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Great to know that you liked it--sometimes it's hard to incorporate flashbacks/memories without really disrupting the story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlPadfootPotter96 

16th December 2010:
I love this James/Lily business going on :). By the way, I think the memory was quite nice because it gave a good background on why the Room of Requirement was not included on the Map.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the James/Lily interaction. :) They're always so fun to write together.

I'm really happy you liked the memory. I felt like the absence of the Room of Requirement on the Marauders Map was something that needed to be explained, but sometimes memories can interrupt the narrative too much. It's great to know you enjoyed it!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
I really enjoy that you have both perspectives in one chapter, but they're at different times and usually about different things. It's so fun to read, full of insight to the whole story.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like the two perspectives! This is pretty much the way I've always written James/Lily stories, so initially I was surprised when reviewers picked it out as something interesting about the story. :) I do think it's nice to see both of their perspectives, too...keeps the story a bit more balanced, I think.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by yogopogo 

5th August 2010:
awhhh cute :) the last part..ahhh!

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought this chapter was cute as well! :) That last bit is kind of a nice moment between them (or at least I thought so, and it's great to have someone else agree).

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by happy_person 

1st July 2010:
i liked the whole memory thing, but i think you stretched it out a little longer than necessary, but that's just my opinion. good chapter nonetheless!

Author's Response: You're probably right about it being too long, now that I think back to it. I had a few people tell me it didn't quite sit right in the chapter, and now I'm thinking that the length might have been why. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sarah 

24th May 2010:
I love this book so much! The calaboration behind it is amazing!

Author's Response: Well, thank you again! :) It just makes me so pleased to hear that you continued enjoying the story.

If you have any thoughts to offer as you read (if you read) the rest, I would love to hear them. For now, I'll just say that I very much appreciated the time you took to read and review. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dani 

2nd May 2010:
Hello,

Because you asked-
The flashback did seem a little awkward. The thing about flashbacks is that everything that happens during one has to be directly related to the current storyline, or otherwise essential to where you're taking the story. Because a story is in the present, incorporating a flashback, no matter how good, stalls the progress of the story. So, as a writer, you must only use what's absolutely neccessary in the flashback to get your point across.
In this case, your allusion to "Take that hidden broom cupboard that he and his friends had found in second year. It had not been the first secret they had discovered...Either way, they spent many late nights running from Argus Filch, the school caretaker." was enough to get the point across. Although it is a lovely flashback, I feel like it hinders the forward motion of your story a bit.

But otherwise, I'm loving this story. James is much different than a "normal" James that so many people stick into their stories. I enjoy your characterisation, as well as the plot you're weaving. Nice job!

Author's Response: Hi Dani! Thank you for reviewing, and for your thoughtful comments about flashbacks.

You've made a lot of good points, and if I ever get the proper motivation to edit the story (which I'm hoping I do), I'll keep your suggestions in mind and see if maybe there isn't something better I can put in place of this flashback, or, at the very least, to make it sit a little better within the chapter. I definitely see what you're saying about shortening it down and still being able to get the point across.

I'm so glad to hear that you're loving the story, though! Characterization was something that I put a lot of thought into, so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoy it. I'm also really pleased to hear that you like the plot--I always wonder whether I'm managing to keep it interesting!

Again, thank you so much for the review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as well.


 Report Review

Review #13, by CaribouProngs 

17th April 2010:
That is RIDICULOUS. It is almost impossible to find good fanfics to read, expecially Maurauder-Era, which is my favorite. You definitely need to find time to write just for the sake of my sanity.
I've always thought that flashbacks in general were sort of awkward, but I really liked that particular flashback, and I liked that you didn't put it in italics.
I find this story very well-rounded. There's enough James/Lily to keep me smiling fondly, but not so much that I begin to think 'okay... are these the only two people at Hogwarts?!'

Author's Response: Well, somehow I managed to find time to write, and there are luckily many more chapters waiting for you! :) I actually managed to somehow sustain a regular updating schedule until the beginning of March, and then I just floundered horribly. But I'm back on track now, what with my school term almost at an end! (Unfortunately the story's also almost at an end, but that's by the by...)

Yes, flashbacks are a bit awkward, but I'm glad you didn't mind the way it was integrated here. I think it's possible to insert them by just using the character's thought process--as long as you leave the right cues for the reader, you can draw the story back in time bit by bit without having to do big italicized blocks or anything. I'm not sure if it would always work well, but I find it a little less jarring to do it that way, at least. :)

Wow, well-rounded? That feels like a wonderful compliment, so thank you! I always worried in these chapters about whether I had too much or too little James/Lily interaction, so it's nice to hear that you think it's balanced.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ranilyn 

19th February 2010:
Another awesome chappie! I like how you're explaining on how they found secret passages and the side pairing with Remus. :D Good job on story! I've never really read a James/Lily fic from James view, but I think you're doing it great!

Author's Response: Hi again! Glad to hear you liked the chapter. :)

Oh, yes, this was one of those chapters with a flashback scene! I have these different scenes from previous years written down, and I couldn't help myself from including some of those. I thought I'd try to provide an explanation for why the Marauders Map didn't have the Room of Requirement on it, and I borrowed a bit from JKR on the way they discovered it. I thought that if Fred and George found it as a broom cupboard, other troublemakers might have done the same.

I'm so happy to hear you think I'm doing a good job with James' perspective. It's of course difficult because I'm not a boy (haha), but I did really want the story to be equally about James and Lily, not just focused on one or the other. So despite it being kind of tricky to write both POVs, I'm glad I did it this way, and even more so because you like it!

Thanks for reviewing again! I hope you like the rest of the chapters too!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lucifers Daughter 

10th January 2010:
I thought the flashback worked excellent! I hate it when people write *Flashback* the text, sometimes in italics *End Flashback* That just shows bad writing skills, or so I believe, anyway. Therefore I thought you did that really well, it fitted perfectly the way you snuck it in:) I was not confused as to whether it was a flashback or if it happened there and then at all!

And of course I loved the rest of the chapter too:) I am curious as to whether Lily asked him to stay only out of politeness, or if she actually wanted him to stay. Maybe I'll find out next? I felt really bad for James, though, who had to leave, but of course he had to, he could not have stood up his friends like that, not with what they were about to do.

I'll stop now, hehe. But great update, looking forward to read more!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me some feedback. :)

I'm glad you like the flashback. Haha, I know what you mean about the *Flashback* thing...they really do only work if you can manage to integrate them well into the story, and I'm really happy you thought I managed to do that! I just have these little bits and pieces of their past years written down, and I just can't help myself from adding some of it in. :)

You know, I think it was a bit of both that made her ask him to stay. She's making a concerted effort to be nice, but then at the same time she's enjoying his company. And you're right, James never would have ditched his friends. It's one of his best qualities, I think.

I really hope you enjoy the rest of the story too! If you have a moment please don't hesitate to review again. I love hearing from readers!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RocketBabyDoll9 

21st December 2009:
I'm back! I know, it's been a dreadfully long time since I reviewed. I'm awful, I know.

Now, let me just say that I read this chapter a while ago, but I couldn't review, as I was on my iPod, not a computer. So, now that I'm on a computer, here I am with your review!

I must say, I'm not completely sure how I feel about Mary and Remus. I think it's because Mary is getting on my nerves a bit. Her fear is to be expected though, as she is a muggle born in the middle of a war. I guess Lily is different because she has a backbone. Which I like.

And about the flashback. It was a tad bit confusing at first, but once I realized it was a flashback, it made sense, haha. I think I was confused because I read the chapter quickly the first time, and very late at night. Coming back to read it now, and actually paying thorough attention, it makes a lot more sense now.

I'm really glad Lily is warming up to James! It's rather adorable, really, without being too fluffy. They're realistic, and that's a breath of fresh air.

The scene when she asked him to stay (at the end) just made me feel warm inside. I'm not sure if she was just being friendly or subtle-y flirty, but I liked it.

10/10!

Off to re-read the next one!

Author's Response: Hi again! Don't feel the least bit guilty about taking some time in between reviews! I know life can get very busy, especially around this time of the year. I am glad to hear from you again, though, so thanks for coming back and leaving some more reviews!

I think I'm a very strange author, because I actually get thrilled when people tell me stuff like you did about Mary and Remus. I suppose in this case it's because I never meant for it to be a relationship that someone could get behind 100%, or even at all. Mary is definitely a bit irritating at times, and she is very different from Lily. She isn't nearly as brave as her, but then, I always imagined Lily as being on the exceptional side courage-wise, so it's a bit of a high standard to live up to.

Flashbacks are the trickiest things--I find that if they're really glaringly marked off from the rest of the story, it can distract you from the reading experience, but if they're not, it can be really confusing. I've tried to slide into it without having a big italicized section, almost like it's part of a thought process, but I'm still not entirely sure it works as well as I'd like it to. Oh well! I'm glad it does make sense, even if it takes a moment or two to figure it out.

I'm so thrilled you think Lily and James are realistic! It just warms my heart every time I hear someone say anything about my story is realistic, but particularly when it comes to characters, and then particularly when it comes to the two of them. :) I think at the end she was being friendly...but there's no doubt that she enjoys his company and probably would have liked to have him around for a while.

Thanks for the review, and I'm about to respond to the rest!


 Report Review

Review #17, by pattybuns_hpf 

15th December 2009:
Brilliant Again! =] No other words. Liked the flash backs, though it confused me at some point but I got there.

-Patty

Author's Response: Awesome, another positive review! I'm glad this chapter was up to snuff. :)

I'm glad you liked the flashbacks. I've always thought they might be a little jarring for some people, especially since I kind of slide in and out of them without making it very obvious. There were some things from the past that I just couldn't resist writing into the story, though, so I do hope they were enjoyable to read!

Endless thanks for the constant reviews! It's so nice to sign in and have a few waiting for me rather than the "0 Reviews Found" message. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Leigh Kelley 

30th October 2009:
Nice flashback. I sometimes wondered if the Marauders knew about the RoR, due to it not having appeared on the map, and it not having been suggested to Harry when he formed the DA. Your reason for it not being on the map makes a lot of sense; finding the room, or returning on a later date to further inspect it, would be the grandest accomplishment of a mischief-maker. Though, I notice James hasn't realized the room's full potential as of yet. He happens to think it a merely a hiding place. I can't argue with his thinking, since it only appeared for them when they needed to hide.

You know, it's good that you didn't use Lily being alone in that room as a reason for James to jump her bones. Many a Marauder author would have used that opportunity to get them together; make James forget completely that he has to be with Remus that night. And I'm sure James wouldn't have done that, despite his feelings for Lily.

Speaking of James; the prank Sirius pulled on Snape involving Remus being a werewolf...is that why he's more cautious now? Judging by his need to explore the castle without any concern of being caught in second year, and his worry not about merely bumping into someone and being caught leaving the castle... It's a big change. If that stunt is the reason for you including his new attitude, then great job with it. You're tying in the little glimpses we got of the Marauders into your story, and giving reasons behind everything, which I enjoy.

Next chappie.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Ah, I love the flashback to the Room of Requirement discovery. The big question here is, "Why isn't the room on the Map?" It's a question that Harry asks, and two answers are proposed: one was that they never found it, which I suppose is plausible to some extent. But we know that Fred and George stumbled upon it, and I don't think they explored the castle to the same extent as the Marauders did. So to me it doesn't really seem likely that they never would have found it...but they do find it in exactly the same way that two other troublemakers did years later. :) The other explanation is that the room is unplottable. But Hermione said, "If you need it to be unplottable, it will be." So I don't think that the room is ALWAYS unplottable, it's just that if you're looking to hide in some way it will be. So basically, I think the Marauders did know about it, and they made a conscious choice not to include it on the Map. In addition, I'm sure if it were in some way included on the map, Fred and George would have found out about it. If they didn't explore the castle very thoroughly, I'm sure they looked over the Map a lot.

And yes, I think that the incident with Snape is definitely what's made James a little more nervous about their full moon excursions. I think he realizes more than Sirius and Peter that they were extremely lucky in that situation, because no one got hurt and no one found out about them being Animagi. But then his loyalty, which you can see in moments like the one with Lily, is too powerful to make him walk away from his friend. So he feels very cautious about the situation, but he also knows it's necessary.

What a fantastic review! I love it when reviewers really tap into some of the more subtle explanations I'm trying to give for events and characterizations.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Harry and Ginny 

27th September 2009:
i'm so sorry it took me this long to review!!! it was impossible to me to do it but i hope this one makes it up. anyway, i liked the entire chapter and how the marauders found the Room of Requirement. i'm going to read the next chapter now but if i don't review them today, i'll read or review them tomorrow and i'm sorry again if i didn't review when this was validated.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hey, no problem! Whenever you have the time to review is just fine with me! (Although I'm glad it was just that you didn't have time, and not that you had decided you didn't like it any more...hehe.)

I'm glad you liked the flashback--I always feel like it's one of those unanswered questions in HP: Why didn't the Marauders put the Room of Requirement on the Map? Even if it's been made Unplottable, wouldn't they have left some reference to such an amazing place? I think it was just because they never understood what it was, but ran into it as a place to hide from Filch, just like Fred and George did!

Anyway, that's a bit of a lengthy explanation, but thanks so much for reviewing! I hope you like the following chapters just as much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review