Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Haha, I'm not sure that it was necessarily the best idea that Laura had to agree to teach the four Marauders all the jinxes and hexes that her sister taught her! They did enough harm when Bea was using them, so just think of the trouble the four of them could cause with that sort of knowledge... Sirius is starting to use his charm on her, though, so I can understand why she agreed in a way and it's nice to see she's not completely neglecting her friends in favour of her boyfriend.

Oh dear. This has already made me angry with Bertram and to be honest, I feel like Laura needs to break up with him now. He's not going to get any better and he's already shown how presumptuous he can be just a few weeks into the relationship. No definitely should mean no. But I can understand why Laura is still with him, because having a boyfriend would make her feel special and important and she doesn't want to lose that feeling. Still, she's worth more than Bertram Aubrey, I just hope she realises that!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: No, not a good idea at all for Laura to teach those boys some of those spells. However, it does serve to get them closer to each other, which is part of the goal. And didn't I say earlier that Bea had her uses as a character?? teehee.

And yes, no should always mean no. No ifs, no buts. I was glad Sirius agreed with that, to be honest (which sounds weird because I wrote it, but yeah, characters can surprise you sometimes).

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Yay friendship! Boo pushy Bertram.

Author's Response: Well, that's one way of putting it. Lol.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Catherine 

8th July 2012:
The Hufflepuff Common Room- J.K. Rowling's description


The Hufflepuff common room is entered from the same corridor as the Hogwarts kitchens. Proceeding past the large still life that forms the entrance to the latter, a pile of large barrels is to be found stacked in a shadowy stone recess on the right-hand side of the corridor. The barrel two from the bottom, middle of the second row, will open if tapped in the rhythm of 'Helga Hufflepuff'.* As a security device to repel non-Hufflepuffs, tapping on the wrong barrel, or tapping the incorrect number of times, results in one of the other lids bursting off and drenching the interloper in vinegar.

A sloping, earthy passage inside the barrel travels upwards a little way until a cosy, round, low-ceilinged room is revealed, reminiscent of a badger's set. The room is decorated in the cheerful, bee-like colours of yellow and black, emphasised by the use of highly polished, honey-coloured wood for the tables and the round doors which lead to the boys' and girls' dormitories (furnished with comfortable wooden bedsteads, all covered in patchwork quilts).

A colourful profusion of plants and flowers seem to relish the atmosphere of the Hufflepuff common room: various cactii stand on wooden circular shelves (curved to fit the walls), many of them waving and dancing at passers-by, while copper-bottomed plant holders dangling amid the ceiling cause tendrils of ferns and ivies to brush your hair as you pass under them.

A portrait over the wooden mantelpiece (carved all over with decorative dancing badgers) shows Helga Hufflepuff, one of the four founders of Hogwarts School, toasting her students with a tiny, two-handled golden cup. Small, round windows just level with the ground at the foot of the castle show a pleasant view of rippling grass and dandelions, and, occasionally, passing feet. These low windows notwithstanding, the room feels perennially sunny.

Author's Response: thanks for that! The thing is, I wrote (and posted) this story well before Pottermore was up and that information was available. I based my description on the information that we had at the time of writing, which was that it was round, had round tunnels leading out of it and lots of yellow wall hangings. I may yet go back and re-do this chapter based on this new information, but then again that would mean I'd have to do that for every bit of new info that Pottermore reveals, and that may prove impractical. Perhaps an author note would suffice.

Anyway, I appreciate you bringing this to my attention as it's clearly something that, with the limited information I had at the time, i got wrong.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lillylover22 

2nd March 2012:
I love the new friendship 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

19th October 2011:
Um, Laura? The relationship is most certainly NOT worth continuing. Break up with him already! But I'm glad that Laura kept her priorities straight and didn't give into Betram when he pressured her.
Glad to see that the Marauders and the Gryffindor girls are becoming friends, means we'll get to see more of Sirius ( yet another reason why Laura needs to break up with Betram, and soon). Great job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Ah, good old Laura. She thinks she's being all mature in considering the pros and the cons, but as I said before she's so taken with the idea of being wanted that she's actually overlooking a lot of things that perhaps she shouldn't. But that's for another time. It's all part of growing up, isn't it? *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

6th August 2011:
I absolutely adore The Lord of the Rings (almost as much as Harry Potter), so it comes as no real surprise as to one of the many reasons I loved this chapter. I also love how you've decided to handle the issues that arise in Laura's life in a way which is sensitive and not overdone, as I often see in a lot of stories, however this is done very here!

You know what, the more the story progresses, the less I seem to be liking Bertram, and in some ways I think it rings true with the fact that I was never the biggest fan of him to begin with. I particularly liked your description of the Hufflepuff Common Room, it was very unique and you've really given it a life of it's own in terms of how the other Common Room's look.

I'm also glad the girls are making friends with the boys, it seems natural almost as though having been together in the same house and year for six years would eventually draw you together in such a way that a friendship was possible despite their behaviour and I'm really glad this is being allowed to develop at such a natural rate over the course of the story!

Well done on another magnificent chapter (I'm running out of variations of the word amazing now...)
- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: It was actually really important to me to try to get the gradual establishment of relationships right,b ecause that's so often how it happens in real life yet so infrequently seen in fanfic. But, for my characters, it was the only way it was going to work, so I'm very pleased that you think it's believable. *beams*

Also glad you liked the Hufflepuff common room. That's the only time we see it but I thought that it was important for that relationship that she did go in there, even if they were at cross purposes. We can thank JKR for the description, I just took it a bit further. :D

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Laura's way of calculating is really remarkable. Most teenagers don't think so clearly, but she is very concise. Haha, I suppose I like it because it's similar to how I think; I'm a little biased.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Ah, you've got me there - perhaps she thinks TOO clearly for a teenager. It's a long time since I was that age myself so it can be hard to remember. However, hopefully it's still mildly believable. :) Then again, if it's similar to how you think - and you're closer to that age than I am - then I can't have stuffed up too badly, right? *crosses fingers*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
Something I've been meaning to ask. In my minds eye, I've always pictured Laura as being very pretty, despite her own misgivings on the subject. Naturally, the girl on your banner is a bit of a stunner. Is she at all close to the way you picture her?

Odd I should I ask. At the end of the day, as we all know, love is blind. Well, that's not quite right. Love sees with its own eyes.

Eldy

Author's Response: You know, I was surprised how many people asked me this, as to me it wasn't really important. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder so what really mattered was how my hero saw her. However, I'll tell you what I told everyone else - she's not supposed to be a stunner (despite your opinion of the girl on the banner, who I actually chose because I thought she wasn't overly striking), but more one of those average-to-pretty girls who can really grow on you if you give them a chance. They're a dime a dozen, really, but if you sit and actually take notice they can become quite attractive in their own way.

I will also say that the graphic artist played around a bit with the model's colouring - she's far more ethereal-looking in the banner than she is in the photo I gave them. She's close, though - or as close as I could find given I wanted someone anonymous and didn't have heaps of time to go looking. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
"Overall, he made me happy more than he made me uncomfortable" - wow, that's true love. I want to be disappointed with Laura for settling for this, but as someone who has always been undateable, who can really blame her. Happiness is happiness, and I guess not every high school romance has to be true love. Still, it doesn't look like it's going to last.

Her platonic relationship with Sirius on the other hand, is truly awesome. Loved that bit of banter about disagreeing on definitions, and the way he seemed angered when he found out the word was "no". Honestly, there's so much depth at those points in the story, where Sirius and the other Marauders do things that aren't spelled out later in the plot, and it really shows that you've thought through the encounter from every angle, which is awesome.

Loving this, off to read more...

Author's Response: Hahaha, yes, true love. However, as you noticed, she's never had much by way of interest from boys so she's happy to take what she can get. Happiness is happiness, even when it's tempered with other things like unnecessary pressure and the like.

As for Sirius, well I was quite pleased with that little conversation myself. I can see that whole definition thing being discussed just in that way and it was a lot of fun to throw them together in that particular circumstance. But yeah, I did put a lot of work into his characterisation, as you know from reading the one-shots, so it's good that the extra effort paid off.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
bertram is annoying. and he has a weird name. :[

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm afraid that I can't take credit or blame for Bertram's name because he's canon. I ascribed him a personality, yes, but the name was provided by JKR. So if you don't like it you can blame her. :) (Not that I recommend this, of course - if it wasn't for JKR then none of this story would exist at all.)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
I wish Laura would rethink the Bertram thing. I liked the analogy between 'imaginary Laura' and 'real Laura'. As explained, they are indeed extremely different people. It's a shame Bertram never tried to get to know the real Laura that we all know and love(:

Author's Response: The thing with this, of course, is that Laura THINKS she's being mature about it all. And in a sense she is because she's trying to think objectively about it. Of course, she loves the attention too much to see it for what it really is, but that's normal too I think, especially for someone who's not had a lot of attention of that sort before. In any case it's all a learning experience for her, and a necessary one for her to go though I think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Schnatz 

26th May 2010:
Hey Mel,

that chapter was so great with so much different themes. Most of all I liked that Laura and the girls made friends with the marauders. Yay :) Now you can concentrate more on the Lily-James- and the Laura-Sirius-relationship. Anyway, Laura realized that she have to look at pretty Sirius ;D

Bertram, hmm, nothing to say about him this time. I can only shake my head and advise Laura to drop him soon!

I'll write more as soon as possible,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

To be honest, I'm in two minds a bit with this chapter - there are some good parts in it but I don't like how it ends. Too much narrative and not enough dialogue, I think, though I wasn't sure how to change that when I posted it and I'm still not sure now. In any case, I'm glad you enjoyed it. And yes, they're all friends now, despite Bertram's efforts to the contrary, so that gets that particular hurdle out of the way. :)

I say nothing about whether Laura dumps Bertram soon. You'll find out when you read on. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by ochalke5 

6th January 2010:
It was good! I feel like Laura should ditch the boyfriend... it's too fishy... and i'm so glad that the boys are being nicer to her and stuff! It's awesome! and it's been long awaited! I love it always. You're chapters are amazing as is the story but really i feel it goes without saying.
10/10
I love it darling! I cannot wait to read more of this amazingly wonderful story. Top notch work, Mel
natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

I feel I should warn you that Bertram is around for a little while yet - he very obligingly filled a number of plot points for me when he first made his appearance in my mind and not all of those have been finished yet. But then again he's a seventh year and Laura is a sixth year so there's that going against them if nothing else. And that's all I'm going to say there.

As for the boys, well they were never specifically nasty to her before, they just didn't pay her any attention. Thought she wasn't worth bothering with. But Bea has her uses, despite how difficult she made life for Laura when they were both at school, and her spells were an excellent way for them all to bond.

Glad you're still enjoying it!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
I love that she's making new friends with the Marauders, they're definitely good and loyal company to keep.. of course, save for Peter. But you can't help some things.. and history has to happen else Potter would never exist. My what a would J.K. has made for everyone. What will we do after the movies are done with? Crazy, crazy... I think tomorrow I'll do a marathon of all the movies, haha. Bertram is an idiot.. and you know he was gonna try to get her to do that soon enough. The asshole. But... if he still makes her happy.. then by all means, she can keep going with this relationship..

Author's Response: Yes, I too think that the marauders would be good friends to have - but you wouldn't want to be their enemy, I don't think. (I have friends like that myself - loyal to a fault, but heaven help you if you cross them.) As for Peter, well he was obviously trustworthy at this point, otherwise James and Lily (and Sirius,for that matter) would look stupid making him the Secret Keeper, and we all know that they weren't stupid.

As for Bertram, well, yes, he's an 18 year old boy. One track mind. And Laura thinks that she's being all mature with weighing it up and all that, and perhaps she is, but deep inside she's still a bit unsure.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Merry Quoter 

6th November 2009:
Great story so far~!

Just thought I'd leave my first review for this story by pointing out a bit of a mistake I think.

In the notes Sirius gives and Laura passes back it goes
"What’s that spell your sister did that made Nigel Ackerley breathe purple bubbles?" Sirius is clearly asking for the spell but Laura replies by saying "Depends who you want to use it on"

Does this mean the spell differs for everyone or was this just a bit of a typo? :P

Again great story 9/10~

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

You know, no one has asked me about that before, and reading it again I think maybe I need to do a bit of a re-word. To answer your query, Laura isn't specifically answering the question Sirius asked, she's responding as though he said, "Will you teach me that spell ...". Which is pretty much what he was asking, but I might have to re-do his original note to indicate that. So, the spell doesn't change depending on who you use it on, she was just working out if teaching it to those boys was worth the risk that it would be used on her or her friends. Hope that makes sense!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Me Thinks you rock 

28th October 2009:
another awesome chapter. still stoked its not over, xD

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! I'm very glad you're still enjoying it and yes, 10 chapters still to go.

thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
I am so not liking Bertram. I really feel like all this sweetness is just to woo her into bed. And Sirius is killing me. Just tell her dammit! I know that wouldnt be any fun if i was done too soon! Loving this story!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, Sirius can't tell her because he doesn't know yet. Actually it needs to be pointed out to him but that happens later (and off page - I couldn't have Laura witnessing something like that), so sorry.

(I have however written that scene as a one-shot and there are a number of people who want me to load that - and other one-shots I've written from Sirius' POV - as a short story collection once this is all posted, so if I do that then you'll see it happen then.)

As for Bertram, well again I'm saying nothing. But he very obligingly filled a number of plot points for me when he first made an appearance in my head so he definitely has a purpose.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by 4rm_h8_2_luv 

19th September 2009:
so it was sirius who sent her the birthday gift right??? when does she get it back? i love this story!

Author's Response: Ah, you don't honestly expect me to let on who sent that gift do you? That's to be revealed later. *evil grin*

But thank you so much for reading and reviewing, that really does make my day. I'm so pleased you're enjoying it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by nire 

19th September 2009:
Crap! I'm sorry! I did it again! I don't understand why it isn't taking the whole review!

“So, Laura, when are you going to teach me that hex?”
Calling her Laura still.

James looked at me with mock concern. “Well, you’d better wake them up,” he deadpanned, “’cause otherwise they’ll be up all night and you’ll never get to sleep.”
Hahahah. Another amazing one. And the fact that they laughed afterwards as well is fantastic!

“Here, let me give you a hand,” he said sincerely and without a trace of humour. You could always tell when he was being genuine – the haughty and arrogant look that usually adorned his face disappeared entirely, leaving it looking friendly and even a little vulnerable.
SO CUTE! :) I love it. I reckon a one-shot after that where he goes back down to the guys would be wonderful. Perhaps you have already written one... but that would be my suggestion. Of course, after you have finished the story.

He only then stopped his attempt and indicated his bulging pants. “Well, what am I supposed to do with this then?”
Hahahaha! What an idiot! He is horrid! Selfish!

As I reached the top of the stairs I was joined unexpectedly by Sirius, who had apparently seen our little display in the Entrance Hall.
Trust. I love Sirius. Always there when you need him. I’m sure he wouldn’t have an issue with no. There wouldn’t even be a no because he would respect her enough to know things are going at her pace!

I like that Regulus isn’t a villain in this story. I like that he and Sirius get along. That there isn’t huge tensions between them. It’s refreshing.

The added bonus we got with being friendly with the boys was that they started looking out for us. They began doing things like stepping in when they felt we might be uncomfortable, and forming a protective barrier between us and, say, some of the nastier Slytherins.
Yay! I love it when guys get protective. I think it’s so cute.

Overall, he made me happy more than he made me uncomfortable, so I concluded that the relationship was definitely worth continuing.
Definitely not. Sirius is waiting in the wings though. I’m sure he will be willing to hex the living daylights out of him if he goes too far. I know that he will. And i hope it brings him and Laura closer together. That will be amazing.
Loving the progression between them as well. I wonder if Sirius knows it’s Laura he got all cranky about? I’m sure he does by now. I wonder why he has chosen to go happy though. I’m definitely confused about that.

Sigh. Now I’m up to date and I have to wait like everyone else. :( I should be more patient... but I can’t help myself.. this is an amazing story and I’m so hooked. Can’t wait til you have the next chapter up. My fingers will be waiting impatiently to type you another review. Hopefully that will entice you ;) haha!

10/10

Oh, so now it works! I think it's coz I tried to do a love heart. Weird.

Author's Response: Hi! I hope you don't mind but I asked that those other reviews get deleted - they're not real reviews after all and I feel kinda fraudulent having non-reviews up against my story.

Okay. Yes he's still calling her Laura - he does that from now on, the party thing wasn't just due to the alcohol. And I'm glad that you liked James' little joke there, it just seemed so James that I had to include it.

I've gathered you don't like Bertram much. That's fine. But he's playing a vital role so he's staying for the time being. :)

As for Sirius, well no he has no clue yet that he was bugged about Laura. Give that one a bit more time. He has his own naivete in this I think.

And no, Regulus isn't a villain. He and Sirius have a bit of a complicated relationship but you'll see where that ends up if you keep on reading.

Thanks for another brilliant review! I just adore them. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by BellaRose 

19th September 2009:
i really adore this story and thats why i voted in the Dobby's. CONGRATULATIONS! you deserve it :)

Author's Response: Ah, so you're the culprit! Thanks so much BellaRose, I'm forever in your debt. :D I'm still astonished that I won, but it's all thanks to people like you who read and enjoy my story. *beams* Thanks again!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by nire 

19th September 2009:
Gah! It isn't posting my review! I'll just have to wait a little while and post it again.

Until then, I'm very sorry!

Author's Response: No problems Erin, I know that you tried to do it so that's good enough for me. Thanks anyway! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by moon_light 

18th September 2009:
please update soon!!!
cant wait =)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much moon_light! I love getting reviews from new people! (Actually, I just love getting reviews, but you know what I mean.)

Anyway the next chapter has been loaded up but the queue is pretty long so I'm thinking early to mid next week at the earliest.

thanks for your review!! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rose 

18th September 2009:
Congrats on the Dobby!!! You deserve it!!! Your story is so addicting that I check every few hours to see if a new chapter has been posted. I know lame...but I cannot help it!!! It's just that good!!! So I checked to see if it was updated today...and it was on the first page but no chapter.what gives?

Author's Response: Firstly, thanks so much! I'm still astounded that I won but the proof is there on the story page so it must be true. *shakes head in amazement*

Okay, the new chapter thing. Sorry about that. I had found some grammatical and other errors in an earlier chapter so I just went through and fixed those. Normally when I do this it's on the same day as a chapter upload so this sort of thing doesn't happen but that's not how it worked this time.

I loaded up the next chapter last Monday morning my time and the queue was 8 days long so I would think it will be up Tuesday at the earliest.

Sorry for the confusion!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by NorahGP7 

18th September 2009:
Just wanted to say congrats on the Dobby! I haven't been on in days and loved seeing that you won! And you totally deserved it! Your fanfic is so addictive! CONGRATS!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Norah! I'm still astounded that I won, but hey, I must have been doing something right! *does a little dance* Though my kids are a little unsure why Mummy keeps beaming and dancing around the house ...

thanks again, and thanks for your reviews!! They're great :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by notsure 

17th September 2009:
Just wanted to say congrats on the award! You really deserve it. I am definitely addicted. :-D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm just amazed ... I've been dancing around the house all morning. My four year old has no idea why Mummy's so happy but - wow! A Dobby! I'm just so humbled and flattered and .. I don't even know what I am. Astonished. Thrilled.

So thank you! I'm so pleased that you agree! You do know how to make a girl feel loved :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>