Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna 

21st July 2014:
wa bloody hufflepuff !
me no want bertram ! Sirius/laura all the way !

Author's Response: Lol. Me too !!! Just wait, okay? *evil grin*

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Aw, lucky Laura getting some love in her life! Well, kind of :P To be honest if it were me in her position then Bertram's idea of being romantic would have really irritated me, but it's really cute that he's making an effort and trying to get to know her. She definitely deserves some attention from a man, like Mary said, and it's nice that she's found someone who'll shower her with gifts and romance!

I don't like the fact he took her to Madam Puddifoot's, but I suppose they've only been going out for about a week and that's not long enough for him to get to know her. Then he was quite sweet when he was so concerned about the fact that Sirius and Laura were meant to have gone out in the past, because he felt like he had competition from someone who - let's face it - is quite tough competition. He was sweet and nice to her though so it was great for her to be cherished for a while!

And it seems that romance is in the air for almost all the girls here, too! Good for Mary, since she's had Gerry Stebbins hanging around her for so long - it's nice for her to find someone else. It doesn't surprise me that much about Sirius and Clio breaking up because he doesn't seem to do long term relationships!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, she gets a love life. Had to happen eventually, right? And yeah, Bertram has some faults, but in a lot of ways he's very typical of boys of a certain age. He's got ideas of how he thinks she wants him to behave, so he does that, not taking the slightest bit of notice of her reaction to it. Sigh.

As for competition from Sirius, well yes, that would be tough on anyone. I quite feel for certain characters in this story because of that. But yes, Bertram is sweet and kind and makes her feel special, and that's what's important to her right now.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Hmm i don't know how I feel about Bertram

Author's Response: Lol. Don't worry, you're not alone there. He's necessary for Laura's development, though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lillylover22 

1st March 2012:
You write this really well. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you, I appreciate that.
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

18th October 2011:
Great job! I must say the date was well written and I'm actually starting to think that maybe, just maybe, Betram actually likes Laura. Sorry Laura! It's just because you've been telling me you're really plain and not that special for a while!
May I make a guess as well that Sirius's bad mood is because Laura found a boyfriend? I can't expect her's and Betram's relationship to last long, though. Anyways, girl-banter is always a plus and I think you did a great job overall.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yeah, maybe Bertram actually does like her. She's always pretty down on herself, yes, but that does'nt mean it's how the rest of Hogwarts sees her, is it? This is one of the fun things about writing from a single POV - you can lead people up the wrong path really easily. :)

As for Sirius, well, poor boy, he has no idea why he's grumpy. And that makes him even more grumpy because he's frustrated that he doesn't know. Vicious circle, isn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne 

11th August 2011:
Bertram is being quite sweet and romantic, how nice of him.
There's a lot of love and looks at each other in this chapter, although Sirius is ruining it by being moody, could this be because Laura is going out with Bertram and Sirius is jealous?
ooo ouch! splinching, everytime I hear about splinching I wince *eek* and to splinch an arm and a leg sounds quite painful.
So Bertram doesn't seem to know a thing about Laura, and he doesn't seem to care about what she wants to do. And Sirius is having an argument with Clio. I do really enjoy all of the girls banter, you have written and developed them really well.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, good old Bertram. He was perfect for the role I had for him and played it brilliantly. As for Sirius, well my lips are sealed as to why he's so moody. You'll find out later on, hahaha. *grins*

Glad you're still enjoying this, it was a fun chapter to write so it's good that it shows. :)

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

6th August 2011:
I've never been particularly lucky to have someone who actually made an effort for me on Valentines day like Bertram does for Laura, so perhaps that's what I found almost so disturbing about Bertram, the extent to which he seems to be willing to do anything for her and shower her with gifts and affection to almost crazy proportions. This almost came to the extent where it is almost drastically cheesy on his point, and I'm fairly sure like Laura I'd never want to be caught in Madam Puddifoot's it sounds like a horrific place to be... But I have to say I enjoyed the pairs interaction, it was so different from anything else I've read in this story and it really opened up a lot of different ideas in terms of where it's going and who she ends up with. I particularly love how the story behind his asking her out was written, it was believable and from what little experience we've had with his character, very true to it. What a romantic... Although I'm going to add I'm still hoping for Laura/Sirius no matter how cheesy Bertram is!

I also love how you've tied the whole thing together with the conversation in the dorm at the end, which managed to provide all the details we needed about the other girls days, not to mention Sirius' which always makes me happy as a reader. I particularly loved the part about Martha's nickname, and I have to say it fits some of her comments extremely well.

I'm still very much excited to see how the party goes, as the way it's going it's leading up to be something very exciting... Another brilliantly written chapter no matter how much I really don't like Valentines day!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Ah, Valentines Day. I'm not a huge fan of it myself because it all feels so contrived, and if someone was doing a Bertram to me I'd probably be suspicious more than anything. But Laura's so unused to that sort of thing that she's happy to take it, and even put up with Madam Puddifoot's, in the hope that all these professions of love (so to speak) will evolve into something workable.

As for the girls at the end, well I just adore that conversation. Really takes me back to when I was that age. Glad you liked it too!!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Madame Puddifoot's is the scariest place in the world.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Agreed! And I think JKR felt the same way. I'm sure there are some people who like that sort of thing, like Cho, but to me (and Laura) it's the sort of thing nightmares are made of. But I had to throw it in there, if for no other reason than to show how much Bertram has misread our heroine.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
"James was gazing at Lily, pretending not to notice that the necklace he had sent her still lay unwanted on the table where she had tossed it aside that morning."

Double OUCH!! Gods, woman, can you cut the poor guy a break? Apparently not. ;)

The whole "doomed to be kinky thing had me laughing out loud. that was great!

Puddifoots? There's a deal breaker. Not to mention the whole, women as second class citizens thing. This is doomed, which is a good thing. She's my buddy Sirius' girl anyway.

I think my favorite flourish tho had to be how mental Sirius went once Laura got a girlfriend. Great stuff that.

Onward!

Eldy

Author's Response: No, of course Lily can't give James a break! That might indicate to him that she is in fact interested and she's not ready for that revelation yet. ;) Yes, I know, I'm cruel sometimes. But they get together in the end so it's all good, right?

And yes, Puddifoot's is DEFINITELY a deal breaker. If someone ever wanted to take me into a place like that their chances of it going any further than that would plummet dramatically. Then again, I'm not quite as date-starved as Laura and possibly less forgiving. :) She's right, though, in that he's got this idea of what she's like and she doesn't necessarily fit that. Not a good start for any relationship, really.

And yeah, totally mental. And no idea why he's so ticked off which makes him frustrated with himself for not knowing. Cruel, aren't I?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
"Don't worry your pretty little head about that" - I sure am glad she didn't appreciate that little comment, because it is one of the most revolting things a guy can say. All in all, I'm loving Bertram as a first boyfriend for Laura - sweet and clearly talented at certain "skills", but not exactly the man of her dreams, if Puddifoots and little lady comments are considered acceptable.

As for Sirius, whatever could be the problem? I can only hope I know, though it would be surprising if Laura getting a boyfriend really was bothering him. Still, nice to hear that the Sirius/Laura rumour made the rounds, if only to make the concept appear in Sirius' mind. I see her as the one character sufficiently level-headed to be able to take him on!

On to more...

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Now, Ella, if I told you what had Sirius all riled up that would be a spoiler and I don't do those. Having said that,you've already finished the story so that's probably a moot point but I'm sure you'll forgive me for not going on about it here in case someone who hasn't read it all sees this.

As for Bertram, well I love your summation of him - talented at certain skills but not exactly the man of her dreams. In other words, pretty par for the course for teenaged romances, in a lot of ways. He was an experience she needed to have, let's put it that way. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
haha sirius is in a mood ever since she got a boy :)

Author's Response: Ah, poor Sirius. No idea why he's so peeved off and of course that exacerbates it because he's annoyed with himself for not knowing. I am cruel to my main pair, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
I can see why you would be pleased with this chapter, Mel. It's very good(: So Bertram's not completely perfect, but he's not bad. And the banter between the girls is definitely worthy of noting! Their conversation flows so easily and naturally, it's practically real(;

Author's Response: I'm still proud of that conversation in the dorm, it felt just like the sort I used to have when I was that age. :) Then again I quite enjoyed writing these characters so that probably helped.

And no, Bertram's not perfect, nor is he completely bad. Basically he's an embodiment of a type. And that's all I'm going to say, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Schnatz 

10th May 2010:
Hey, this chapter made me smile all along.
First of all: Could it be that Sirius is just a 'little' jealous of Laura's date? At least it seemed so because he was nonstop huffish ;D
Hmm, I don't know what I should think about Bertram. For me he's a little too romantic and poetic but maybe we can put this on the fact that he's head over heels in love and overhappy (does this word at all exist?) So I'll tell you later more about my opinion of the pairing LauraxBertram.
I'm happy for Mary, too, that she also had a nice day. I absolutely love the girl-talk in the dormitory. I think it's slowly but surely time that Lily and James get closer to each other ;-)
But now as a start I'm looking forward Laura's and Remus' birthday-party.
Love, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again! And SO sorry it's taken me forever to get to this review ... I'm afraid I slacked off a bit in my responses after posting the epilogue to this story so I'm horrendously behind at the moment.

Anyway. I will admit that it's possible that Sirius is jealous of Laura's date, though if that is the case he's got no idea of it. As for Bertram, well my lips are sealed, except to say that he plays an important role in this story and does so admirably. *grins*

I'm glad you liked the girl-talk, though, I was so pleased with that when I wrote it. To this day it's one of my favourite scenes in the whole story, I think. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by ochalke5 

6th January 2010:
Sirius is all mad because Laura's found a new boyfriend, no? And honestly, I'm not sure how i feel about this new boy of hers. I'm interested to see what happens.
Well, another amazing chapter but, honestly, it goes without saying xD
10/10
Top notch chatper Mel!
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Yes, poor Sirius, all worked up and no idea why he's so pissed off. And then he's frustrated with himself for not knowing, so that's not helping. I am cruel to the poor boy. But yeah, it's jealousy, which he recognises much later. I don't think that's too much of a spoiler - everyone pretty much worked it out anyway.

As for Bertram, well I had very mixed reactions when I introduced him. You'll see where it goes if you read on.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
My, oh my. I love how outings like this can affect and produce so much so much gossip. It's amazing. I miss those days, haha. But yay for all of them.. cause they all seemed to come out of this Hogsmeade trip completely unscathed. That's always good. Ahh, I wonder what's up with our dearest Sirius now.. hmm.. But at least he isn't with Clio anymore, it was bound to end anyway. Haha. That party's coming uppp! Oh and that reminds me.. Bertram is so cute. Even if he knows like absolutely nothing about Laura.. but it's all good, I guess. As long as she's.. happy, haha.

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, this is one of my favourite chapters I think, mainly because of the girl talk at the end. Like you I miss those days a bit, when all you had to worry about was who was going out with whom and that sort of thing. As for Sirius, well, bless him, he doesnt' have a clue what's bothering him. And it's compounded because he's frustrated with himself for not knowing. Poor boy, the things I put him through ...

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
OK Bertram seems to be so sugar coated that he is rotten on the inside. What is he up too. Almost to romantic if you ask me. Not really liking him...I do like Sirius' reaction to him! Another Great Chap MEL!

Author's Response: Ah, a few people had that sort of reaction to Bertram! I will say nothing of course until you read on but yeah, everyone's entitled to their own opinion. ;-)

As for Sirius' reaction, well I liked that one too. Nice and confusing for the poor boy. *evil grin*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by nire 

19th September 2009:
The following Monday was Valentines Day, and Bertram surprised me at breakfast with a bouquet of roses and a box of Honeydukes’ finest.
Hahaha. Oh Bertram. How cute. But I’m sure Sirius could plan something far better than that. I think I’m a little biased though.

James was gazing at Lily, pretending not to notice that the necklace he had sent her still lay unwanted on the table where she had tossed it aside that morning.
Aw James! That’s so sad. Heartless Lily needs to get the hell away and nice, ‘i love you too James’ Lily needs to make an appearance.

had a decidedly sour look on his face and was scowling at the roast beef when Bertram and I sat down. Remus was concentrating steadfastly on the shepherd’s pie on his plate, which made me suspect he did know about Charlotte and was trying to pretend he didn’t.
One, why is Sirius looking so sour? I didn’t think he had realised yet that he liked her. Or perhaps he is jsut put out coz someone is showing some interest?
And Remus. Oh Remus. Why! He doesn’t need to push her away because what he is. No need at all. I know he doesn’t ever get over it, so I should stop wishing it would.
Just as I think of it... him and Sirius would be related in the end... since he married Tonks. Cool! :)

“I swear, he’s driving me crazy,” she said hotly. “He’s been in a foul mood for days, and I’ve got no idea what I’ve done to make him like this.
Oh yay! It is because of Laura’s new found love. Hooray.

Martha shot me a wicked grin. “You never know, maybe Bertram likes them kinky.”
Hahahahaha! Nice one Martha!

“You’re probably not, but you looked it sometimes,” he explained. “Probably something to do with those high cheekbones. You look almost regal.”
Hahahaha! Oh Bertram. What are we going to do with you!? But it’s cute that he has so much interest in her.

“If we could just stop here for a bit,” he whispered to me, his mouth going from my ear to brush over my jawbone before kissing my neck. I got tingles all over and pulled him closer, losing myself in the moment.
This is pretty good... but I keep wanting it to be Sirius! Look at me, I’m bloody harping on about Sirius every review now! I’m such a girl! My apologies for my constant whining. Just ignore me.

“At this point,” Martha said loftily, “I’m thinking that any bloke who’s halfway decent looking, is taller than me, and is mature enough not to refer to me as ‘Martha Horny’, will fit the bill.”
Love it! Hahahah. And that fits my standard as well. Definitely the taller bit. That’s first on my list. I’m a bit judgemental I think.

I wonder how long it will take Sirius to figure it out? I’m cery curious!

Author's Response: Another lovely review! I just couldn't resist logging back on to see if you were still reading ... *shakes head*

Ah, Bertram. He's kinda sweet, isn't he? And just what Laura needs right now. But enough of that. You're dead right with the Sirius thing, he has no clue why he's so ticked off and of course that compounds it because he's frustrated with himself for not knowing. I thought that sounded rather like him. :) And you're most welcome to whinge about him, everyone else does. My own fault for pandering to a Sirius-centric audience, I think. :D

As for how long it takes him to figure it out ... actually it has to be pointed out to him, but I'm not saying now when that happens. Or who points it out. It does however happen off page (obviously I couldn't have Laura witnessing something like that) so you'll be wondering for a while I think. I've written the scene though so it's clear in my head - another of those one-shots I was talking about.

And I'm glad you like Martha. She's a bit of an acquired taste (brash, outspoken) but I'm rather fond of her all told.

Glad you're still enjoying it! THank you!!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by SlytherClawx 

29th August 2009:
Whe chapter 24 ^^
I didn't see it earlier..Hmm...
Goood chapter.. I just don't like this Bertram.. He seems... "Needy"...
But everyone else is fine =D
Update soon

~Leoni x

Author's Response: Hi again!

The chapter came up a couple of days ago now, they've cleared out the queue from when it closed.

Anyway. I've had mixed reviews of Bertram, but I'm saying nothing about what he's like. You can form your own opinion. :D I'm pleased that you liked the chapter though. *grins*

I'll load up the next one once the queue opens on Tuesday, so it will be up whenever they get a chance to get to it (assuming it's validated and everything, of course).

Glad you're still reading! :)
Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Roxanne 

28th August 2009:
I think this story is wondefuly well written, maybe at the party Sirius can discover he's in love with Laura? Please!! I have been waiting for that bit for ages.

Author's Response: Hi Roxanne!

My lips are sealed about the party and Sirius' personal epiphanies. You will have to wait to see what happens there. Sorry! *evil grin*

But I'm really pleased that you're enjoying this story and left a review, that just makes my day. And thanks for your compliments, it's so nice that people like my writing! I really hope that you keep on reading it as it goes along :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Bluebell 

27th August 2009:
Yea, I like the banter too ;) Actually, I like ALL your dialouges! And how sweet is Bertam? although I'm guessing he's not a totally good match for Ms Cauldwell - cue Sirius! (I hope!)

As always, loved your chapter! Keep up the excellent work!

Author's Response: Hi again Bluebell!

I'm so pleased you like my dialogue, that's just lovely to hear. I was pretty proud of that girl talk at the end, though, as you probably worked out.

As for Bertram, well obviously it's not going to last forever (otherwise you could have me for false advertising) but that's all I'm going to say about that. You'll just have to see how it pans out. I will say though that I've had mixed reviews of him so I'm curious to know how people's opinions of him will change (if they do). Now, was that obtuse enough to not give anything away? I hope so! *evil grin*

Anyway thanks for your review, it's so nice to have people enjoying my story. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauders_girl11 

27th August 2009:
yeah! you upgraded! i guess it might be a while until you do that again, with the validation line closed and all - otherwise, i'm very confussed! - so i'll just be waiting! and sirius must be upset about laura. but she dosn't seem to so much as notice him at all as anything actrative.

well, i'll be here wait for an upgrade!

-Nickole.

Author's Response: Hi Nickole :)

Yep I can't load up the next chapter till the queue re-opens but I'll do it as soon as I can once that happens.

As for Laura (and Sirius), well most of what's happening there right now is subconscious so she's not aware of it. But there have been a couple of clues so far, even as far back as ch1, so we just have to wait for her to work it out now.

thanks again for reading
Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Karishma Frayne 

27th August 2009:
very good story and im glad that the laura/sirius isnt going too fast overall a very interesting story

Author's Response: Yay! A new reviewer! Thanks, Karishma Frayne! *beams*

I'm so pleased that you're enjoying my story. Like a lot of people I got frustrated with stories that went too fast so that's partially why I wrote this one. I hope you keep on reading it as it goes along. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lottieloo 

27th August 2009:
Another good cahpter, can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Thanks again Lottieloo, it's so nice to have people like you following my story! :D

I shall load up the next chapter once the queue re-opens so hopefully it won't be too long before it's up.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Twilight_Princess 

27th August 2009:
LOL, love the ending and all the gossip. What is Bertram really up to? IDK, I just have this feeling that he's up to something, but what? And, with the same feeling as Bertram, I think I know why Sirius is in such a foul mood, but I'll wait for the next chapter, however, to find out. I really do hope you can update soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks Twilight_Princess! I was pretty pleased with that gossip session myself :)

As for Bertram, well I confirm nothing and deny nothing. You can think what you like and find out later on what's going on. *laughs evilly*

With Sirius though, well most of my reviewers have already come to a conclusion as to why he's in such a foul mood. And they're right. I'm admitting this now because, well, everyone has guessed it (who said I don't do obvious things?), and besides you'd be waiting about 20 chapters to have this confirmed in the narrative so I thought that was a little unfair. :D

I'll post the next chapter once the queue re-opens next week. Hopefully you will like it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by samitaclover 

26th August 2009:
BEST CHAPTER YET!!! I ABSOLUTELY ADORE YOU AND YOUR STORY!

i love how sirius is pissed off becuz of laura's date!!! by the way...i love betram's character (perfect arrogant senior high school guy!)

UPDATE SOON!!! cuz i'm ur biggest fan!!!
~clover

Author's Response: Wow, thanks clover! Because it just feels so wierd to have fans at all, let alone a biggest one *beams anyway*

I'm glad I got Bertram's character right, that's pretty much what I was aiming for. And yes, poor Sirius, no clue why he's so ticked off and frustrated because he doesn't know why ... all good fun to write, of course :)

I'm so pleased that you're enjoying this :D I had so much fun writing it and it's just fantastic that people like you think it's worth reading.

*hurries off to get her ego back to a much more manageable size*

Thanks again :) I'll load up the next chapter once the queue opens again.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>