Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Legend, Chapter 2: Chapter Two
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by deluminator 

4th March 2012:
I love how original and incredibly well-written this story is!

And I am enjoying the characterisations of the four founders. I like that you have made them your own because so often they are reduced to the traits of their respective house. I also like the way you have included both the cup and the diadem into the story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sirius Blacks lover 

30th September 2010:
Another good chapter, and I have to say I am really liking this story so far. It's clever, well written, and has a good ammount of action and tension in it. I find it interesting that you portray Salazar as the eastern-cynic, kind of, and Helga as the valiant warrior; I think it's really accurate and effective, and the other portrayals are really good too. It's like a burst of insight into the founders' lives, after only having hints:)

Author's Response: Hi there!
Thanks a million for the thoughtful review! It's really been wonderful hearing from you, and I must say, I truly enjoy your insights. ;)

I hope you have a great weekend. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by me_thehplvr 

26th May 2010:
I'm really looking forward to the next chapter. To the way that these very different founders began their school, their legacy.

Author's Response: Thanks again, me thehplvr! I'm so very glad you're enjoying this fic so far.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #4, by alyosha 

16th May 2010:
I love how you have taken all the characters and reversed them, while still keeping to their characteristic traits. While Godric is still courageous and self-sacrificing, he is certainly in no position to exert any strength or heroism. Helga, similarly, is not the typical meek, softly-spoken, and jovial woman she is usually painted to be. Instead she is direct and strong, and full of what seems like power.

And that ending is so enticing.

Author's Response: Hello Alyosha!
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! I'm really thrilled to hear that you're enjoying this story. Your kind feedback means the world to me.

Haha, yes, I did take some liberties regarding Founder's canon. I suppose I was never really comfortable with Helga being a meek, mild, pleasant witch who liked to teach house elves to cook. I mean, I think she would have to be extraordinarily powerful to have played a part in the founding of Hogwarts. Anyway, just my silly two cents. ;)

Again, thanks for everything! The next chapter has just been completed and should be posted soon. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFriday 

11th April 2010:
Well, if I wasn't already sucked into this story by the first chapter, I am now! Remarkable characterizations of the Founders - strengths and flaws are already apparent. I would never have guessed what you did with Rowena - she always seems so regal and strong, not at all like you've portrayed her here. And making her a Seer is a fabulous touch, balanced out by her obvious weaknesses.

Again with the Founders trinket, the diadem! I am so intrigued by the whole story, I can't even put it into words. Your writing is seamless, the dialogue is fluid, and the pace is perfect.

Melanie

Author's Response: Hi Melanie!
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you're enjoying this fic and my characterization of the Founders. As far as Rowena goes, well, since this fic is so clearly AU, I thought I might as well go all the way and make her a sickly weakling. ;) Haha.

And yes! You picked up on the diadem. I'm so thrilled you noticed it.

Thanks again for all the great feedback, Melanie. I hope you have an enjoyable weekend! Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #6, by hallowsorhorcruxes 

14th March 2010:
This story is absolutely epic.

I am so interested in the character dynamics, particularly the one between Salazar and Helga. I think it's fascinating, the calculation that Salazar is now making, and I can't wait to learn more about his plotting-- what an excellent sentence with which to end a chapter, by the way!

I wish we knew exactly what Helga is planning and what Salazar is thinking; at the moment I think that we readers are seeing this scene through Godric's eyes, in a way. The way you write the story, giving enough description and dialogue to keep us from being confused while keeping enough from us to keep us helplessly fascinated-- it takes true talent as a writer.

Your characters are richly detailed and tantalizingly tangible- I can't wait to read more! Once again, 10/10, naturally.

Cheers-
Hallows

Author's Response: Hello again Hallows!
*blushes* Wow, what a lovely review! Your feedback has been amazing--so very encouraging. I really can't thank you enough. This fic had been giving me a few problems for a while, so it was just great to receive your kind comments. You've truly made me feel so much better about the plot and characterizations. ^_^

Thanks again! Take care, dear!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by mizzxpearl 

7th March 2010:
Hey! It's me again. :)

Okay, I'm SO sorry this review took so long! I've been so busy, and then I realized I skipped over your request. Sorry!

Alright, I really like this story. You know, your story ideas are always original and different, and I like that. You don't do cliches or anything, so hats off to you! You know, I actually like this story more than Madam Minister. I mean, their both really good, but I just like this one more. I think your writings improved in this one (did you write it later?) and I also think that I just have more familer characters in this story to relate too.

I'm REALLY curious to see where you take this story. I've only gotten one other Founders story request before and I liked that too. We know so little about the Founders that there's an entire story book to fill with their story.

Still, even though I've read a very little amount of Founders story, I feel like yours is even more orginial than most of the. I love the way you've showed the different kingdoms and what not. It didn't start off with the perfect Godric deciding to start a school and getting his friends together. Good job for being original (x2 ;)

The ONE thing I wasn't so sure about was the fact that I'm guessing the cup Godric got is the cup that's Helga's gong to get. I kind of wished that the four items each of the Founders cherished were passed down from their family herloms, not two items from one Founder (Godric). Of course that's personal prefernce, so don't worry about it!

Hmmm, I wonder if you're going to start a relationship with Helga and Godric.

Anyway, your writing is still amazing. You put just the right amount of detail in there. And can I just comment on how good you made your old English? I commend thee. Hehe. :P I can't even write more than that sentence in old English!

Also, I LOVE your banner, and I think the characters you chose to put in your banner are really good representations. Especially of Rowana. It's just how I would imagine her!

Keep it up! You're writing's awsome. :D

Author's Response: Hello Mizzxpearl!
Eep! I'm so, so sorry it took me over a week to reply to this review. I had a bunch of midterms to deal with and I didn't want to leave a brief 'thank you' in response to such an incredible review. ;) Please do forgive the delay.

This review really was incredible. I've been having some issues with this story lately (mostly of the writer's block variety). Your feedback really gave me a good boost. It was just what I needed, so thanks a million!!! I truly appreciate the encouragement and support.

To answer you question, I believe I started this story a few months after Madam Minister. I actually think it's rather ironic that you found this fic a bit more comfortable to read, because I'm honestly more comfortable writing about the 18th century as opposed to medieval England, haha.

I'm so glad you found this story original! I know I have a tendency to write about obscure characters and plot points in JKR's universe, though I'm always afraid of running into cliches. ;)

And yes, the cup Godric is given by his sister-in-law will become Helga Hufflepuff's famed goblet. In fact, all of the Founders' artifacts belong to her in this fic, as I've tried to portray her as omnipotent, or at least, more powerful than her colleagues.

And I shall certainly pass along your compliments to the artist who made my banner. I'm so glad you like it! ^_^

Thanks again for the lovely review, mizzxpearl and once more, I apologize for the delay. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by sillysamii 

3rd December 2009:
This chapter was pretty good.

It may not have been the most capturing chapter, but it did give us a little more insight into 3 of the 4 main characters, just as it gave us an allusion to the plot.

Nothing too much more to say about this chapter, except it's just building me up for the next.

On that topic, I'm going to read on now :]

Author's Response: Hi samii!
Thanks a million! Your reviews have been wonderful. ^_^ I really do appreciate your feedback.

Yes, this installment was a bit slow...a sort of transition chapter. But I'm so glad you enjoyed the bit of character background.

Thanks again! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by InvisibleWitch19 

6th September 2009:
Hey, here's my second review!!! :)

This chapter is as brilliant as the other one. Your characterization is perfect once again. Curious Godric, evil Salazar, powerful Helga, and weak Rowena; the portrayals of the characters are very unlike other Founders fics, which is good.

This story is so original and unique; the plot and flow is really different than other stories. Your writing style and the descriptions you make are so good; I really like it!

I have nothing else to say except that I wonder what will happen in the next chapter. It's really exciting, keep up the good work! :D

Bree
a.k.a.
InviWitchie019

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Bree! I'm so glad you enjoyed the second chapter. I actually found it much harder to write than the first, even though the opposite is usually true for me. ;)

And I'm thrilled to hear that you liked my characterization of the Founders. I was worried that most readers would find them too AU or OOC.

Again, thanks for everything, Bree! Your feedback was fabulous. ^_^ I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by henryjones 

3rd September 2009:
a very interesting take on the founders. the few stories i have read that placed them in medieval england among muggles got very tiring very fast, but this story seems very interesting, i would love to read more. please do update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, henryjones! I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this and I really do appreciate your feedback. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jazzeh Turnip 

1st September 2009:
I think I may have a new found love for the Founders era. Wow. It definitely suits me better. I prefer older stuff and history (Usually ancient history, but I've always had a fondness for the Dark Ages)... I just wish more people had historical elements (accurate or not) in their fics and actually stuck with the times.

Your characterisation is beautiful. I love Hegla being powerful and Rowena being weak. The role reversal is such a relief. I also ADORE Salazar. He's so evil, I love it.

I quite like how you're discreetly building up to the Helga/Godric pairing already (sometimes I wish the pairings weren't there xD) without making it really obvious that there's going to be something between them.

I can't wait to see what else this has in store. It's so exciting, despite not much happening in the chapter aside from a lot of. interestingness?

Sorry. I seem to gush nonsense when I like a fic. 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Hi there Jazzeh!
Awww, you're so sweet! I am certain I do not deserve such praise. Thanks a million for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review!

I'm quite the history nerd myself, although my favorite era is the 18th century. The Romans, however, are also fabulous to study. I took a course in classical history my first semester of college and even toyed with the idea of doing my thesis on Gaius Julius Caesar. ^_^

I'm so glad you're enjoying my characterization of the Founders. I wasn't quite sure how readers would react to it, since it is so very different from the books.

Thanks again for the fantastic review! I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #12, by Anon 

28th August 2009:
Is Salazar defecting to Alba? The next chapter can't come soon enough! I want to learn more about Rowena!

Author's Response: Thanks, Anon!!! It was great hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this. ^_^ The next chapter will be posted soon. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #13, by CrazyForYou 

27th August 2009:
OOh! Very interesting!

I really really really love your descriptions. Rowena's dream, Helga's camp, amazing!

Your spacing between 'page breaks' bugged me, but no big deal.

I think the way that you have set up the various magical factions and the general populace is going to make this a very interesting story.

Awesome job!

Author's Response: Hiya CrazyForYou!
Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed these first two chapters.

So sorry about the page breaks. I've found the formatting on this site to be a bit tempermental. Often, when I edit something, the site revises it after I post the chapter. ;) However, I will go back and try to fix the spacing issues. Thanks for letting me know about them!

The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #14, by shanelizken 

21st August 2009:
All I can say is this story is brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by no name 

17th August 2009:
This is extremely well written. I like that the wording sounds old and fits the time period. Really interesting plot line, it's very original. I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really do appreciate your thoughtful, kind feedback. ^_^ The next chapter should be posted soon. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jen 

17th August 2009:
Love it. You have me enthralled. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Jen!!! It was wonderful hearing from you. With any luck, I should have chapter three posted no later than the 7th. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review