Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LunaNotLoony 

16th July 2014:
This is a good story, and really unique too. I like how normal Laura is, and not fake Bella-Swan normal. She has a great character too, and so does everyone really, you feel like you know them. I'm totally sucked in. Though I have to say I hate how blasť this story seems about giving people cancer. My Mum has cancer, and my uncle died of it, and while you do have the sensitive issues warning, I think it's only fair to put a A/N warning at the start of the chapter really. But it is a brilliant story so far, and I mostly love your writing style.

Author's Response: I'm really sorry about that. I admit that i'm from a generation that didn't have things like trigger warnings and the like, so to be honest it never ever occurred to me to put a warning in for this chapter. Thanks for the heads up, as I'll be more sensitive to that sort of thing in future.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Until I read this chapter of the story, I hadn't even realised that there was a canon book called that and something that explained that werewolves weren't bad and dangerous as people. I think it's really important to get that message across, and it's great that there's a professor at Hogwarts who wants to make sure that the students learn that there are differences between a person who's a werewolf when they are and aren't transformed. I felt sorry for Remus as he had to sit through that class but at the same time it's good for him that the others in the year - particularly the girls like Charlotte and Martha - can begin to understand if they ever find out.

It's really sad news about Lily's mum, though. I feel so sorry for her, especially when she's away at Hogwarts and can't do anything to help or comfort her. But it's well placed in the chapter and fits with canon since we know her parents died before Harry was orphaned.

I like the idea of them having a joint birthday party! It's a sign that the girls and guys in the year are getting on better, and it can't hurt that James gets to spend time with Lily for it. And then the ending! I wasn't expecting that to happen but it's quite nice for Laura to get a bit of a love life rather than just the date to the Yule Ball!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yep, it's a canon book. I did a lot of research for this and with the publication date for that book I really had to use it, didn't I? I thought it was an important lesson, and it also served in making people like James and Sirius take Viridian more seriously than they had been, because they now realised he actually got it.

As for Lily's mum, well yes it is sad but parents do have to start dying off eventually, don't they? After all, they're all dead by October 1981. So this is my way of putting some of that in motion.

And yes, joint birthday party. that conversation about birthdays had to lead somewhere, right?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Wooah Bertram came out of nowhere, this should be interesting:-) and hmmm a joint birthday party

Author's Response: Ah, Bertram. He very much is one of a type, I think. I'm rather fond of him all told. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by singer123 

13th December 2011:
Won't it become obvious to everyone that Remus is a werewolf now that they've read a whole book on one??
I mean they could notice the signs..

Its great that Laura finds love again!! But I was hoping it would be Sirius or Remus..

Author's Response: Like so many things, it's important that people think to look for the signs inorder to recognise them. Everyone has the pet rabbit idea so ingrained by now that they're not really going to look past that and consider the symptoms might mean something else. At least, that's my theory and I'm sticking to it. :D

And remember, Sirius already has a girlfriend. Why would he be looking at Laura???

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Serendipity1234 

26th November 2011:
Aw :D
Isn't Remus the CUTEST?!
God, I love him.
And his 'rabbit from hell' lol.
I know he wasn't the main detail of this chapter or anything, but I know you've finished this story and I was waiting until the end to review...and, well...I couldn't hold it in any longer :D lol.
He's adorable. Especially the way you portray him. And at the time when you mentioned the 'rabbit from hell' and then equated it to Voldemort, about to unleash its wrath on them all- I actually laughed my head off. Flat-out cracked up at those images :)
So, thank you for that :)

Author's Response: Why, thank you! I'm rather fond of this chapter myself, though I admit I never expected other people to like it as much as they seem to. The rabbit from hell was a lot of fun to play with - I'm amazed I haven't seen more of that in fanfiction, to be honest - and it was interesting to show the werewolf thing from the POV of someone who's just never given it much thought. I mean, why would she? :)

Thanks so much for the feedback,and I'm glad I made you laugh.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

14th October 2011:
Loved the idea of the werewolf book and I do hope that Remus will tell Laura sometime. Laura get's a love life... hmmm. I can't help thinking though that Betram has some alterior motive (like maybe a rumour has been spread about that she snogs Sirius all the time and he wants to test her out?) Well anyway, can't wait to see what happens with that!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Ah, I can't take credit for the werewolf book, that's canon. The release date was just too perfect to ignore, though, so I used it for my werewolf DADA lesson. As for Bertram, well you might be reading too much into things. Maybe he just likes her. But that's all I'm going to say about that - you'll find out soon enough how that pans out. ;)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne 

11th August 2011:
Poor Lily! But James is so cute trying to be there for Lily.
Werewolves? This could be awkward for Remus. Viridian is pro-werewolf? I like him! he seems like such a great teacher. I like how he's getting the class to think about the predjudices werewolfs face.
Yay! the apparation teacher is there!
Remus wants a shared party? are they accepting the girls into their friendships?... oh wait ulterior motive.
Laura has a date to Hogsmeade? Yay! although I was hoping that it would be Sirius who asked her. Hehe.
Another great chapter!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, good old James. He means well, even if he sometimes has funny ways of showing it. :)

I'm glad you like Viridian. I have no idea where his character came from but he endeared himself to me very quickly. And once I found out that book was released at such an opportune time I just had to use it. :)

And yeah, Laura has a date. Though it could never have been Sirius who asked her - he already has a girlfriend, hasn't he?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

6th August 2011:
I particularly loved the insight you've given into werewolves in this chapter, and the detail that you've poured into the description and lesson itself. But perhaps above this, what I found to be the most interesting were the reactions of the Marauders which were all believable and very much in character. I could not imagine knowing about the condition existing within your friend and then having to watch as people you share classes with say that they would probably separate themselves from someone they have found out to be a victim of a werewolf attack. Particularly Remus' behaviour intrigued me, he'd lived with the condition for such a long time he'd obviously come to terms with the implications, but I still can't imagine hearing from a teacher what the condition you have no control over would mean for your entire life, and the treatment you'd receive from others. It's moments like those that make me pity Remus beyond all other characters in the series, and to have him shushing James and Sirius was perfect, as I doubt they'd quite feel the same way he does about it.

I can't help but rejoice at Laura receiving a love life, even if it is not with Sirius as I hoped for, but for some odd reason I really don't mind, and just feel as though I have to find out how it turns out with Bertram Aubrey! Another brilliant chapter which explored one of my more loved topics - Werewolves, and I cannot wait for this party, and so I read onwards!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: You know, a lot of people commented about the werewolf lesson, but I thought it was important to cover, especially when I was given the gift of that book being released in 1975. Very pleased you liked it, and even more pleased that you think my characters reacted appropriately, because something like that, with this situation, can be hard to get right.

As for Laura having a love life with someone who's not Sirius, well remember that he does have a girlfriend at this point so that was never really possible anyway. :) Besides, I thought this was a step that she needed to take. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
WEREWOLVES ARE PEOPLE, TOO!

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, they certainly are! And this was a lesson that a few people in Potterverse needed to learn (and still do, *cough*Umbridge*cough). When I realised the release date of that book I just had to include it, and Viridian provided the perfect opportunity.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by HartOfARebel 

15th May 2011:
Hey I haven't reviewed yet, apologies! But I was too caught up in the story!! =D
I wasn't too sure of it at the start but it's after getting really interesting. It has some really funny moments =] Terrible Lily's mam getting cancer, that's gonna be horrible =( Bertram asking Laura out was really funny, must read on and find out what's happening =]

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! And I'm really sorry it's taken me so long to respond, RL has been really hectic lately.

Anyway. So pleased you're enjoying my story so much, and I admit that it's a little slow at first but there was a lot I wanted to include so that's why that's the case. Thanks for persevering though, I really appreciate that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
Great chapter.

Loved "Hairy Snout, Human Heart." I didn't know it was canon until your author's note, tho. ( I really need to re read all of the books instead of constantly rereading DH). Excellent flourish including that. The lecture was good as well.

I recall Remus telling Harry how kind Lily was and I always expected more back story there, as if Lily was able to soothe him even in werewolf form. I was disappointed JKR didn't follow up with that. Perhaps, from the furtive glances during the lecture Lily knows Remus is a werewolf? Or, at the least you'll include a scene like that? I hope so.

For reasons to juvenile to divulge, I was laughing my posterior off when Sirius was mocking Filch. Still chuckling about that!

And now, Laura has a date? Excellent! I'm guessing that'll get old snuffles jealous.

Off for more

Eldy

Author's Response: I'm not sure that Hairy Snout, Human Heart was actually mentioned in the books, but it's certainly on the Lexicon and was mentioned on JKR's website at some stage. The publication date was just too good not to use and I did want to have this lesson with Viridian some time during sixth year.

As for Remus being a werewolf, Lily knows by now but is keeping mum about it. I think I covered this later on by saying that Lily was told during sixth year because Remus couldn't complete all his prefect duties ... in any case, that conversation has certainly happened by now.

The Sirius-mocking-Filch thing is actually one of my favourite scenes, but it's so visual that I wasn't sure that I'd done it justice. Seeing people do things like that can be funnier than just about anything, I think, but it doesn't translate so well to the written word. So, juvenile or not, I'm very pleased that you laughed at that. I did, too. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
I just love the title, "Werewolves are people, too" - for some reason, it cracks me up, but it's also perfect for the tone of this piece. I also loved the Marauder's reactions to Viridian bringing werewolves up - it's almost sad that Viridian's unlikely to last the year.

And as for our lovely Laura, she is getting busy! Speaking to the Marauders, and now a real live date! Glad to see it, even if she doesn't seem overly intoxicated by her date at first glance - hopefully he'll be more than meets the eye. Really great twist there, and I can't wait to see how it turns out. On that note...

Author's Response: Oh, heavens, me and titles. I really am shocking with them so from that perspective it was a really dumb move to decide that chapters should be titled rather than simply numbered. Having said that, there are some that I quite like and this is one of them, even if it was a bit flippant at the time. I thought that it was important to address the werewolf issue and to have a teacher who was sympathetic would I thought be a nice touch.

And yes, young Laura has a real live date. Again, important to the plot, even though she's not madly in love with him first up. Things can change. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
poor remus. im guessing lily already knows, but the other girls need to figure it out soon.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Lily knows at this point, but she's the only one. Remus was pretty good at covering his tracks, after all. How long they stay ignorant, though, is something you will only learn by reading on.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
Aw. Laura has a date(: Bertram seems nice. I mean, he's no Sirius, but I guess I can live with that, haha. I wonder how all of this will turn out. You've certainly got me hooked, Miss Melly.

Author's Response: Yes, she has a date. And he's no Sirius but then again Sirius isn't single at the moment so it's not like he's even an option, even if he or she had thought of it (which they haven't). Bertram fills a number of plot points for me so I'm pretty pleased with him all told.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Schnatz 

9th May 2010:
Hey, finally I've read chapter 20. This was a very long chapter with sad and nice passages. Well, I almost don't know where to start the review ... hmm, I really liked the lesson where they talked about werewolves - first of all the example with Mr Dearborn which the professor gave. Of course I directly thought of Remus at this point and of the non-assumptive, amicable reaction from James, Sirius and Peter when they realized Remus is a werwolf. I absolutely love the three boys for this, I absolutely love the whole marauder-firendship. :)
I also liked when Remus asked Laura if she wants to celebrate her birthday with him - your Remus is just adorable; so shy and polite but nevertheless a marauder. Now I'm really looking forward to read something about the birthday-party. ;D
I'm happy for Laura that she has a date now - this is her first date, isn't it? I just hope that this Bertram is a nice guy ;-)
On the other hand is it really sad that Lily's mom is so ill but on the other hand I like the fact that when you 'kill' her you do it on a normal - what means muggle - way. But it's really sad, poor Lils :(

Don't apologize even more for the late review-answers. It's really no problem for me and if I've wrote before I'm also not the quickest reader and reviewer. The main thing is that you answer, isn't it? ;-)

Till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Indeed I don't know if you're a mother and I don't want to sound impolite or so but when you are one I hope you had/have a nice mother's day!

Author's Response: Hi again!

First of all, thank you, I had a lovely mothers day. I have 2 kids so you were by no means presumptuous or impolite. :)

You know, this chapter was more popular than I'd anticipated when I posted it - I didn't think it was as strong as the previous two, but people seemed to like it. The Defence lesson in particular struck a chord with a lot of people, I think - though with the timing of that book's release, I couldn't NOT use it, could I? *grins*

As for Lily's mum, well JKR said that both parents died normal Muggle deaths, so I thought that cancer would fit that description. Glad you appreciate it :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ronsgirl29 

18th January 2010:
Wonderful Chapter! I'm glad Laura got a love life! And maybe he'll make Sirius alittle jealous (: And i liked the bit about the werewolf book, it just shows us how poor Remus must feel! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm very pleased that you liked this chapter because I wasn't sure it was as strong as the last two were. I did think though that it was important to get the werewolf stuff in there - the book was recent and topical and, frankly, fit the story perfectly. *grins*

As for Sirius getting jealous, well of course that remains to be seen.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by ochalke5 

6th January 2010:
Um, what? I'm not sure how I feel about this? What happened to Sirius? I thought him and Laura would be going there together, no? Oh man, you just threw a wrench into the mix. Well now i must read on!
10/10
Bloody brilliant chapter, Mel!
natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, why would she go with Sirius? He's going out with someone else, after all. And they're only just on speaking terms so I don't think he'd be rushing to ask her. But yes, she needs a love life, so this is how I gave it to her.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
WOOO. That's so cuuute and slightly stalker-ish. But, it's always flattering to get asked out. Aww, I'm so happy for her. And the boy doesn't sound half bad either! And I LOVE Viridian right now. Getting the class to read that book? Ingenius. Absolutely my favorite DADA teacher, right after Remus, of course. Haha. And that was absolutely terrible about Lily's mother, but it makes sense as Harry doesn't have any grandparents. That was the only bit about writing Marauder fics that I didn't like.. having to get rid of people. Eep. And yay for parties, that should be a lot of fun, hehe(:

Author's Response: Yes, Laura finally gets a love life. I thought it would be cruel to deprive her of that for too long. And she's had so little experience with that sort of thing that just about anyone showing an interest is extremely flattering for her. :D

Glad you like Viridian, too! I'm rather fond of him myself. But yeah, as I said in the author note, once I realised that book was released in 1975 it was too good not to include. And, yeah, poor Lily, but like you said I had to start killing off grandparents eventually. And JKR said they died normal Muggle deaths,so this was how I went for that one.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
To be honest when I first started reading this chapter I thought Remus was going to be outed the way he was by snape in poa. I am glad to see that it is not so. Bertram seems sweet but I am not sure. We shall see on to the next

Author's Response: Hi again!

No, I'm not going to out Remus like he was in PoA. That would be cruel and I think he probably suffers enough. But I thought it was important to cover the issue and the release date of that book gave me a golden opportunity.

As for Bertram, well you'll see where that goes.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mafalda Hopkirk 

19th September 2009:
i absolutely love this!
charlotte

Author's Response: Thanks Charlotte! And I hope that your namesake is characterised okay - I'd hate for you to share a name and then you don't like her. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by nire 

19th September 2009:
As sad as it is, Lilyís mum illness is a good plot twist and very different from most Marauder fics. Iím glad youíre original. Canít say the same for myself.
Hopefully James, the knight in shining armour can take over here. Although, Iím not sure how itís all going to go. Lily isnít going to take his concerned side very well.

ďWhatís wrong with Evans?Ē he asked, his face full of concern as he fell into step with us.
Good on you James. I knew I could count on him to be concerned.

He blanched at the implied insult but soon recovered himself and nodded. ďIíll be good as gold,Ē he promised. ďBut do me one favour?Ē We looked at him curiously. ďLet me know if there is anything I can do for her? I mean, anything at all.Ē
Youíre lovely James. I love you.

Interesting DADA lesson. I wonder when people will start finding out about Remus. I wonder if Lily knows already? Iím not sure how close they are in this instance.
I hope that Laura is the most calm and loving towards Remus when she finds out. Iím sure she will be. It would suck that when Charlotte found out she will think of him differently. I think that would be awful... but Iím just thinking of different ways it could all go. I could be completely wrong with my crazy predictions.

Lily looked almost uncomfortable for a moment before her face broke into a grin.
I guess Lily does know about it then.

I looked up and saw Bertram Aubrey, seventh-year Hufflepuff.
Oh no! No no no no no! Thatís meant to be Sirius! I just know how this will end up. But thatís okay, hopefully Sirius will get jealous and realise that he is in love with Laura.
Well, there better be some sort of internal battle going on.

Oh and while I remember... I think that those one shots from Sirius perspective would be brilliant! I would love that! Definite fan!
10/10

Author's Response: Wow, you're still reading! This is a lot in one go. And I have just enough time to respond before I get my youngest up from her nap. *grins*

Ah, I had to start killing off parente eventually. They're all dead by November 1981 (Lily's and James', I mean) so why not start now? And JKR said Mr & Mrs Evans were normal Muggle deaths so ... cancer it was.

And yes, good old James. He's a bit of a sweetheart isn't he?

I thought it was important to have that DADA lesson in there, especially once I realised that book was a recent release. (Gotta love that Lexicon!) And you're right, Lily does know by now. My lips are sealed as to how/whether the others find out though.

And yes, Bertram. He very obligingly filled a number of plot points for me when he first appeared as a character in my head. But you'll have to read on to see how! *evil grin* As for Sirius, well, the same! Not telling in advance. That would spoil the surprise.

Okay, I've taken the request on board for those one-shots. Mind you I'm not doing it till the whole thing is up so it'll be a while off before I even think seriously about posting them. But thanks for the heads up!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by SlytherClawx 

26th August 2009:
Ahh! So sorry, I read this story a couple of days ago...I forgot to review! Now, how could I do that? *Shakes head*

Anyways, brilliant story, I like the pace it is going, not too fast that you could have added lots more, or too slow that it drags on and on and onnn.Well, you get my drift? :]
I must say, That Scottish accent you are writing is very good, I find myself trying to read it outloud. It works of course. :] I am English and I don't think I could have done a better accent...I guess I haven't heard it enough...
But ah-mazin' job anyway! =D
Can't wait for the update!

*Hits head for not reviewing before* Grrr...

~Leoni x

Author's Response: Gee, thanks Leoni! What a lovely review! *beams*

I'm so pleased that you like the pace it's going at because I was worried some people might think it dragged a bit, especially at the beginning when things were happening to everyone except Laura. So thanks for that :)

And thanks for the compliments about the Scottish accent. It really was a little experimental as I don't really know any Scottish people, but Google came to the rescue and it seems like it's good enough. :)

Thanks so much for reviewing, I really do appreciate it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jaymieness 

25th August 2009:
Okay, yeah so I have just read this in one go... didn't plan too but it's just a too good of a story!!!

You have a absolutly fabulous way of writing, everything flows together so well! I love how you have taken the time to ease into the story and not rush everything together all at once, how the characters are being formed and not shoved into our faces... Just fantastic...

And, for not being British at all you are getting Mary's Scottish accent down to a T! Kudos to you!

10/10

Looking forward to the next chapter eagerly!
Jaymie x

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Jaymie! What a lovely review!

It's so nice when people say that they can't stop reading my story, obviously I am doing something right and it's just so gratifying. *beams* This is the first novel I've finished (yep, it's all written - but I have some others on other sites which aren't nearly so well developed) and getting reviews like this just makes my day.

And thanks so much for saying I got Mary's accent right - I've had different types of feedback on it but none saying how accurate it is (or isn't) so I'm just thrilled that I managed to pull that off. :D

Next chapter is in the queue as we speak so will be up sometime over the next week, depending on how quickly they go through with the cleanup they're doing.

thanks again for reading and reviewing :)
Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by bluebell 

24th August 2009:
I was reading the Half-blood Prince just today - before I start uni again when I won't really get time to read (well, I guess I'll be reading textbooks and articles...anyway)- so I'm excited to see how your portrayal of Aubery is going to be :) I love your characterizations; they're so engaging, realistic and charming. The proof is especially evident in Laura- everyone loves her!

Once again, a fantastic chapter. I love how things are progressing. Canít wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ah, another person who recognised Bertram's name! I hope you think I do a good job at characterising him - I only had a name to work from but he ended up being very obliging and filling a number of plot points for me.

And I'm so pleased that people like Laura. I kind of feel like she and I are pretty close now (writing in the first person will do that) but it's great to know that other people think she's realistic and, well, nice! *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauders_girl11 

24th August 2009:
oh, i love this chapter! so, laura finally gets an ego, eh? hehe!

and, oh! what will sirius think about the aubrey kid? is there a sectret reason behind his act, or does he just like larua? who knows!

well, upgrade soon,

-Nickole.

Author's Response: Hi Nickole!

Thanks again for your review, I do appreciate them :D

I'm so pleased you liked this chapter. Like I've told some other people I wasn't sure it was up to the standard of the last two so having people like it is so encouraging for me :)

As for Sirius, well you don't honestly think I'm going to tell you what his reaction will be, do you? That's coming up. *evil grin*

thanks again,
Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>