Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Aw, more Sirius and Laura interactions, just like I was hoping for! Of course, they're far from having any romance to them yet but at the same time it's a start for the two of them, and I imagine that Sirius'll start seeking Laura out even once she's taught them the jinxes and hexes that she knows from Bea, because they'll be friends and then hopefully get together eventually!

The part about the newspaper was quite sad to read after all the normality of Laura being at home for Christmas, and the sweet way her parents treated her. But I think it was a good thing to include because it reminded us once more of the harsh realities of the war outside the walls, and the fact that they can talk so normally about tragic events like the deaths of whole families is really shocking, but it shows how long this has been going on for and how accustomed to it they've become. The points that they made about the Imperius Curse on people who are already perceived as mad were interesting, and it makes me wonder why nobody thought to try and Imperius Xeno Lovegood!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Oh yes, far from any romance. If nothing else, he has a girlfriend anyway, so that's the last thing on his mind.

As for the war, well yes, it's horrible but I really think it has to be in there. After all, most of this crowd join the ORder of the Phoenix after school, so there has to be a real impetus for them to want to do that, doesn't there? And really, if your country is having a civil war and you're away at boarding school, then you're going to want to keep up with what's going on outside the walls, right?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

31st December 2012:
Well this is gettin pretty FREAKIN cute! I love it:-)

Author's Response: So pleased you're still enjoying it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

1st March 2012:
Sirius is great 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Glad you like him!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by singer123 

13th December 2011:
Laura and Sirius are getting close...
About time.

Author's Response: Hey, good things come to those who wait. Or something. Yes, it's taken a while, but they're at least talking now. It's a start, right?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack 

14th October 2011:
Nice connections: the Marauders are normal when not around each other. You're doing a great job of evening out the drama and slowly but surely bringing on the Sirius/Laura relationship. Well done!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Why thank you! I was hoping to achieve that. :) I was a bit sick of all the stories that have people becoming close overnight, when that happens so rarely in real life. So, I wanted this story to be gradual, to show how these things can happen even with the most unlikely of pairings. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne 

11th August 2011:
This story is so canon! I'm so glad that you've included the death eater and dementor attacks, youve made it quite believable that there's a war going on.
Mmm Sirius only seeks out girls when James is busy, but it makes sense. Such a boy!
Interesting to hear how Sirius is as a boyfriend, I bet he will change for the right girl :-p I bet he does fall hard! I can't wait to read it!
The mention of all the names does really hit home about the war. I'm sad that they've been tortured/killed and I'm only reading about it.
Oooo Snape invented more spells? I wonder if he'll invent more?
Sirius being extremely friendly? this is going to be good to read! I can't wait

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: THANK YOU for saying this is canon! I may have said this before but the idea for this story was that it would fit in with what canon we do have without too much difficulty, so to have that recognised really validates the effort I put in. :D

As for Sirius, well he may or may not have ulterior motives at the moment. And that's all I'm saying there. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

6th August 2011:
Hello again!
So I made the shocking discovery that I had not actually finished reading this last Review Fest earlier today, and I couldn't believe what I had done, I absolutely loved reading this, so I have no idea what possessed me when I stopped, let alone how I hadn't realised sooner! (I think part of me thought I had finished when I really hadn't...) Anyway, onto the review!

I found it surprisingly easy to pick up this story where I had left it, which I'm going to attribute to your amazing writing and characters as I usually have the most appalling memory, but I have to say coming back I was immediately hooked on this story once again, even after almost a year of not reading this. There is something so brilliant about how you characterise everyone, and I'd have to say Sirius would have to be my undisputed favourite when I say this, particularly when he interacts with Laura, I have to add that I'm totally all for them as a couple at this point in time, what can I say, I'm easily convinced!

I think what I love most about this aside from the absolutely addictive nature of the story is how each chapter fits so perfectly into what could very well be canon, I particularly loved how you tied Langlock into this chapter, because guiltily it's on my favourite list of spells, and I have to say at this point, I find myself totally hoping for a massive Laura/Sirius moment in the near future, it's just been set up so perfectly for that with their relationship developing so beautifully over the course of this entire story.

As always, your writing is perfect and so descriptive, Laura is such a perfect character to perceive the Marauder's world from, and I think I've said that before, but I can't help but say it again, because it is nothing but true! Well done on another brilliant and amazing chapter! I shall read on!

- Ash (InTheShadowsIDwell)
(Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Hi Ash!

First up, thanks for coming back to this story. There was absolutely no need but I really appreciate that you did. *hugs*

Anyway, I'm really pleased that you found it so easy to get back into, especially when in this part of the story things are only starting to get interesting. That means I'm not wasting my time with this writing malarkey so thank you!

I'll also say that I'm thrilled that you think this could fit into canon so easily because that was what I was aiming for with this story - a backstory for the Marauder era that fit in with what canon we do have. So again, thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
The note they made about Sirius falling hard? I hope they're all ready to start laughing.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Teehee. Yes, that line is a bit obvious, isn't it? I actually considered taking it out altogether but then it was such a great concept - if you've ever known anyone like that you'll know what I mean - that I thought it had to stay.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
Character development. The root of any good story is all about character development and you've got it here in spades.

Sirius and James. Becoming less belligerent, more gallant and caring.

Mary and Laura. Both becoming more sure of themselves and comfortable in their own skin. For Laura, much of this is because Bea is out of the picture.

You've done all this exceedingly well.

Off for more.

Eldy

Author's Response: Well, as I've said before, I'm kinda big on character development so I'm very pleased that you think it's working. After all, my main characters are 15 at the start of this tale and 18 at the end of it, and if they didn't change in that time then I wouldn't be doing my job properly, would I? So thank you, it's so reassuring to know that I have at least some skill in that area considering how much work I put into it. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Ahh, more Sirius and Laura interaction. Life really is good to those who wait. Loving this scene - it's a perfectly natural way for the two of them to become more friendly, and for her to start joining in with the cool kids a bit more. It's a shame that she still didn't feel comfortable asking him about the counter-jinx though, but I guess those kind of double standards are the truth of it.

As for Martha's comments "I have a suspicion that if he does fall for someone, he'll fall hard" - oh, I hope so. So far his relationships have all been highly bland, and it'd be great to see what falling in love might do to his ego! Again, I can only hope this comment is foreshadowing later events.

Off to the next chapter, thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Of course that comment is foreshadowing, though I did consider removing it because it was just a bit too obvious. It's true, though, and if you've ever met someone who is like that it's hilarious when they do meet someone and get really attached to them.

And yes, the double standards of interactions with the cool kids is very much the reality of school life, I think. You answer their questions but don't feel confident enough to ask your own of them. I thought this was pretty normal so I'm very pleased that you agree. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
yay they now are on the path to friendship!!!

Author's Response: Yes, it's a slow path but it's begun, at least. Though it had to happen sometime, didn't it? Otherwise it would be a VERY boring story, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by ochalke5 

6th January 2010:
Interesting, no? Well that was good. I love Sirius and I'm glad that him and Laura have embarked on their friendship (finally!). And also, something else hit me as i was reading. When the girls were talking about Sirius, seriously (no pun intended) falls in love, i bet it will be with Laura. I'd stake a lot of that. It was another well written chapter. I really liked it. And i've eluded to this before, but your chapters keep getting better and beter each time. You've really out done yourself. This story is amazing! I really love. It's wowing.
10/10
Wonderful, Mel, just wonderful
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Yes, things are starting to move along now. And you've picked up on some of the foreshadowing, of course (though that one was so obvious I considered taking it out entirely ...)

Glad you're still enjoying it! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by pinaygrl3123 

26th December 2009:
Mmm, yay for Christmas. Haha. I'm still sitting here savoring all the presents that I got. Aghhh. But so tired.. so it's the perfect day to curl up with HPFF, haha. I really love Laura and how she's definitely out of her shell now. I absolutely adore it. And Sirius.. this'll be a very interesting shift of feelings and all. I love Martha's observation, cause it's completely true and it's very much a good foreshadow for whatever may eventually happen. Oh, I love the Marauders so much... (:

Author's Response: Ah, don't we all love the Marauders? Otherwise why would I be writing and you reading this story? *grins* But yes, Laura is getting much more out of her shell now - she's not hiding behind Bea any more so this is her opportunity to blossom. And, yes, Martha. I do like that little conversation there. And if you have ever known anyone who falls hard after being a playboy/girl, then you'll know how hilarious it is to watch. I felt like I had to throw that in.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
I wouldnt have been suprised if Lily used the langlock curse on James before Snivellus did. Go Laura! Fly Butterfly. Her self worth is skyrocketing and i loveit! It is wonderful to see the girls trying to get out of these dark times and chat like teenagers! Sirius seeing Laura is also a wonderful plus!!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow, you're just ripping through these chapters aren't you?

Yes, not having Bea around is really helping Laura's self esteem. It's still not great but it is improving. And yeah, I thought it was important to have the normal teenaged girl stuff in there - even though there's a war on, they are in boarding school so they're isolated from it to a degree.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Singer Of All Songs 

12th October 2009:
Okay at the very start i read that this wasn't going to be another Sirius/ OC fan fic and i thought great! Just what we need a fantastic writer wrighting about somthing besides love. But now i am regretting that. Your lovely writer! i can't wait to read the rest

Author's Response: Why, thank you! What a lovely review! I'm blushing ...

Now I really hope that you like the rest of it because I'd hate to disappoint you.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by WindCompass13 

12th October 2009:
"Like we had discovered about James the previous year, he seemed to be perfectly rational on a one-to-one basis" about this part, I know two people who are exactly like that. together they are strange (sense of humor; they laugh at everything), apart they are normal...

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Yes, I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes people just feed off each other - I can be the same with certain of my friends - and you need to separate them to understand them properly. So I'm glad you recognised what I was trying to portray with that line! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by nire 

19th September 2009:
It was true Ė they looked decidedly cosy as they snogged underneath the beech tree by the lake.
Thatís a little bit romantic! I would, however, prefer if that was Laura there instead of Clio. All in good time though.

Martha grinned as well. ďProbably. Although,Ē she continued, almost as an afterthought, ďI have a suspicion that if he does fall for someone, heíll fall hard. That is, through the floor hard. The girl involved wonít know what hit her. Which should be very funny to watch.Ē She winked mischievously at us.
Ahhh I know! Itís is going to be amazing to read! I cannot wait until it gets to that part! I donít know how long it is going to be, but Iím already on the edge of my chair!

Lily was nodding. ďMe neither. And youíre right, Martha, when that happens, it will be hilarious.Ē
Perhaps hilarious, but also fricken amazing! Iím pretty much going to be over the moon about it.

I do enjoy that now Sirius is seeking out her company. I like the progress they are making. Even though it is kinda torturous, itís fantastic. There is nothing I hate more than ship stories that happen too quickly. Itís awful coz it doesnít even seem real. It would never happen in real life. You get to know the person, you know?
That is what Iím kinda struggling with at the moment. Iím hoping that it isnít going too fast/too slow.

As always, his hand went automatically to his hair when he realised she was nearby, though at least heíd abandoned that stupid ĎLily voiceí heíd previously put on for her benefit, having possibly worked out that all she did was laugh at it.
Itís a wonder how he doesnít have greasy hair like Snivellus. Iím with Laura; thank goodness he has abandoned that voice. I love how they are progressing. He just needs to lose the hand gesture and heíll be all good to go to win her over.

Anyways, youíre great at it and this story is amazing!
10/10.

Author's Response: Oh, nire, you're giving me such a big head. This really isn't good, I'm going to have to let my kids throw mud at me or something to get it down a bit. First the Dobby, now reviews like this ...

Ah, that little conversation about what Sirius is like as a boyfriend. That's pretty important actually because it tells you what his starting point is. This all gets explored pretty thoroughly later on (okay, MUCH later on) but it's a good hint to begin with.

And I hadn't intended to be torturous but I did want to string it out a bit. Like you I'm a bit sick of stories where they get together by chapter 3 - why dispense with that lovely sexual tension? It's so much fun to write. *evil grin*

I think James must wash his hands a lot to make sure his hair doesn't get greasy from all that attention he pays it. Good to see the Lily voice is gone, though, I'm glad you appreciated that. And I hope you liked Martha's comments about Lily fancying James - those are a bit of a favourite of mine, I'm afraid.

Anyway THANK YOU yet again for another sensational review! I'm grinning from ear to ear right now :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Bluebell 

19th August 2009:
You're such a teaser- leaving it like that at the end! i really, really, really want to know what happens next! (PLus it would be great to see Sirius fall through the floor hard over our heroine ;)

Great chapter- please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks Bluebell! I didn't mean to be a tease - generally I finish things off at the end of a chapter, though I do have some coming up where I leave it hanging a bit - so I'm sorry about that, but you'll just have to wait to see what happens next. Next chapter is already in the queue though so with any luck it will be up maybe on the weekend.

thanks for reading! :D
Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Brianna 

18th August 2009:
I just started reading your story, and it was refreshing to find a Sirius story where the protagonist is actually a believable character. I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks Brianna! It's so great to get new readers, and I'm really pleased that Laura is a convincing character. I just tried to make characters that I felt I would be able to interact with so it looks like that's worked :D

I hope you keep on reading and enjoying my story as it progresses.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by no entiendo!!!(moon_light) 

17th August 2009:
that would be great if you do that! =D
i think this is a great story even if i had some trouble reading it i still couldn't stop.
be around waiting for the next update =D

Author's Response: Hi again

Okay I'll have a go at doing you a Mary-is-less-Scottish version. Just send me a PM on the forums so I know for sure it's you (I've got the same name). If you're not on there I'm not sure how you can contact me because we're not allowed to give out email addresses in review reponses.

Anyway, I'm so pleased that you kept reading despite the problems you had with Mary, that means a lot to me that you didn't just give up.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by kix10 

17th August 2009:
Like everyone else who has reviewed, I really appreciate the fact that you took the time to plan this out and develop your characters. It gets rather annoying when its a chapter into a story and suddenly the quiet girl is everyone's favorite person; so its refreshing to actually get to know Laura and her voice.

As far as characterizations, I think that you've hit the mark perfectly to the canon, or as close as you could get not being JK Rowling.=] If she had written more about the Marauders at school, I really think they would be close to how you've made out to be. I especially enjoy Remus, every time he makes an appearance it makes me happy. ^-^

You'd be hard pressed to find anyone who honestly had something bad to say about this story. The work you've put into it is paying off and making everyone who's read it wanting more. Hopefully you'll update soon!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much kix10! That is almost the perfect review!!! *beams* I had a pretty bad night last night (sick kids, very little sleep) and so getting up to read this first thing has just made my day. I haven't even had a coffee yet and I'm just grinning from ear to ear :)

I am particularly pleased that you think I've got the characterisation right for the canon characters. There is so little we know about them and so much is open to interpretation so I'm really thrilled that you think they're spot on, that's just fantastic. Of course I've written them how I've always seen them but naturally not everyone agrees with that interpretation.

Anyway the next chapter is in the queue so with any luck (validation, queue moving as expected) it will be up in a bit under a week.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by samitaclover 

17th August 2009:
i absolutely love your story! i have been reading it for some time now and i just wanted to say that you are a fabulous writer!

most authors who have a sirius/oc story usually just have the kissing and the love from the start. but i like how you dedicated about twenty chapters of her just being a regular girl at hogwarts before you threw sirius in...

and the other thing i like it how sirius is slowly coming into her life...i personally think that this story is more real as in it could actually happen in real life to a regular girl!!!

so continue this awesome story, and i can't wait for more!!!

UPDATE SOON!
~clover

Author's Response: Wow, thanks samitaclover! I'm so flattered by this review, I'm just smiling from ear to ear right now. :D

And as I've said to some other reviewers, I wrote this story because I couldn't find a Marauder story that I was happy with that fit properly with canon, so I'm so pleased that other people like it too. I tried to make it a believable-could-happen-to-anyone story so I'm just thrilled that you think I've pulled that off.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by notsure 

17th August 2009:
So I am not sure if I have reviewed your story before, as I always do different silly little names when reviewing that I never remember later, but I know I have thought about it. So here it is, love your story! I love the fact that you started it out slow. I am so tired of those stories where the girl is barely noticed by anyone and then in the first chapter she comes back from summer break and everyone is in love with her. Ugh!
The only problem I had with this chapter is that it ended. I was ready to keep reading and then I got to the end and I was like, "aww, I want more!" I can't wait for chapter 23, I am dying to know what happens next so I am begging you to update soon. It is getting really good. Update please!

Author's Response: Gee, thanks notsure! I'm not sure if you've reviewed before either, I generally remember names but if you change them then I'm as in the dark as you are. I'm glad you did review it now though :)

And what a lovely review! I'm really tired of those stories too, which is why I wrote this one - I couldn't find a Marauder story I was happy with. And I'm feeling so loved now. The fact is that I had an awful night last night (sick children) so seeing reviews like this first thing this morning has just brightened up my day no end. *beams*

You will be pleased to know that the next chapter is in the queue and with any luck will be up in a week or so, or maybe a bit less.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by MissGivaAdvica! 

17th August 2009:
Have you thought of maybe Bea teaching Laura about being an underage animangi on accident or on purpose or something because I just love your writing!

And I look forward to more, but I just thing that would be so cool! Hahah!! Can't wait for what you have though!

Love your writing,
:D

Author's Response: Wow, thanks MissGivaAdvica! What a lovely review! :)

I'm not sure about Bea knowing how to become an Animagus though - yes she's brilliant but I'm not sure she'd have the application or work ethic to actually achieve the transformation. Great idea though, I might see if I can work it in somewhere ... :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by I<3Potter[= 

17th August 2009:
I just love this story and I always check for updates! :D
Keep up the great work.

:D!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for your review, it's great to know that people are reading my story and looking out for updates :) *beams*

I hope you keep on reading as it goes on - next chapter is in the queue and will hopefully be up within a week or so.

thanks!
Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>