Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm 

20th April 2013:
Ah I have a theory sort of forming, though Iím probably wrong. Myrtle found Grimmís notebook in the toilets, she died in the toilets due Tom Riddle letting the basilisk free, and his diary kept on reappearing in the toilets, therefore, Grimmís notebook is Riddleís diary. Iím not completely sure how it works, but I may be right.

I really like your characterisation of Myrtle, sheís simply adorable. The way she has a crush (Iím guessing from the blushing) on Grimm, and then how scared she was. I really do feel for her, and I can understand why Olive Hornby ended up getting haunted when she died. I really hope that Minerva does something about her.

As perfect as Minerva and Grimm may be for each other, their respective tempers arenít going to do each other any favours. I have to agree with Minerva, that Myrtle is Grimmís responsibility and that he should do something about the bullying. Though I donít want them to be broken up, I can see itís the only course of action. Theyíre so complex I think they donít even understand themselves let alone the other.

I liked how Minerva instinctively knew what her animagus form would be, and Dumbledore seemed to be agreeing with her with that chuckle. Itís so nice to see how theyíre close bond formed, with her staying behind after lessons to ask question, and you could tell that she wanted hide her thoughts from him at the beginning, because, no doubt, he would know what they would be about.

Grimm reminded of Harry in the scene when they went to visit Dippet. He seemed to view him with disdain and not able to do anything which could improve the situation. I think it was the line from Dumbledore telling him to call him professor which made him most Harry like. Then again, I can see why Grimm wouldnít like Dippet, because from what we know about Riddle, he was close to the headmaster, and therefore, that would create a natural dislike on Grimmís front.

I liked the confrontation Grimm and Minerva had at the end of the chapter, it was just so them. This change in Grimm is worrying though. I donít think heís possessed by Voldemort, but there must be a reason behind. Itís probably just something simple such as worry over the events which have been happening. I guess weíll find out soon.

Another excellent chapter!

-Kiana

Author's Response: I'm sorry to say that, as interesting as your theory is, it is not correct. To try and explain it will make me reveal spoilers, so I'll just leave it there. :P

Myrtle was surprisingly hard to write in this story because, while alive, she's a very different person than she appears in CoS. She's shy and terrified of the world, and although for a while, she looked up to Grimm as a protector, as she hits puberty, that changes. Minerva sees it long before Grimm does, and it's sad that he brushes it off so easily. For him, there's only ever one person he could bring himself to admire - even love - and that's Minerva. She in turn is disgusted by his treatment of Myrtle, how he helps her only to a point and doesn't actually solve the bullying problem.

It's true that Grimm and Minerva don't yet understand themselves, and this impedes their ability to understand each other. They're still undergoing identity development, and until they break free of Hogwarts, they're kept in these boxes created by the social sphere there. As Head Boy and Girl, they're in the spotlight and expected to be a certain kind of person to fill that role. Even when they look at each other, how much do they assume - how much do they actually know one another? That's a question many romance stories don't ask, or perhaps don't like to ask because it shatters the illusion - however strong the connection between two people is, does it mean that they can have a successful relationship? Does it mean that they will be happy together? With Grimm and Minerva, one can always hope that this will be the case, but it can't be just yet because they still have a lot of other things to work through first.

You know, I'd never thought of comparing Grimm's behaviour toward Dippet to Harry's, but you're right. It's a sure sign of Grimm's inability to respect the Headmaster, just as, for Harry, it was a sign that he didn't respect Snape (or Umbridge, or lots of other adults - Harry has issues with authority). I believe that I made Grimm act this way, even to the Headmaster, because it was hard to imagine anyone respecting a person like Dippet. Even Dumbledore with his eccentricities has a presence about him, but Dippet lacks that presence. He's unlike the other known Headmasters of Hogwarts, and in CoS, one can see how Dippet's weakness lead him to be easily manipulated by Riddle.

Grimm is breaking down under pressure. It may be interesting to note that while Minerva rises throughout the story, gaining strength and finding who she wants to be, Grimm falls. He begins as the popular, charming Head Boy, and at the end, he's alienated and disillusioned, his hope lost, his future consumed by things outside of his control. It's depressing. But it's Grimm - everything in "Fires" stems from this disillusionment, this desire to change a flawed and unsatisfying past. It's also disturbing in its realism, and I'm wondering why I made Grimm in this way. My male OCs are troubled, with sad lives that are cut off too soon. :/

Thank you again for reading and reviewing this story! It's been a treat to receive reviews for every chapter, and I hope that you continue to enjoy the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by life_writtendown 

15th May 2010:
:( That was so heartbreaking. I hope its not a final goodbye.

Author's Response: It isn't, thankfully - way too early in the story for that. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Edward Ollivander 

21st February 2010:
Oh no! Things were going so well for them. Well, all good things must come to an end I suppose. there are so many suspicions floating around right now that i can hardly keep track of them all. The plot thickens. I am looking forward to hearing if Dippet has been done by Tom. Happy writing.

Author's Response: I hope that the difficulty in keeping track of those suspicions isn't getting confusing or is taking away from the plot. It's more difficult than I thought to juggle the romance with the mystery, and sometimes, it feels as though I've lost track of most things.

As for the Dippet-Riddle issue, I'm not entirely sure what to do with it. It's a suspicion, and I'm tempted to leave it as such without revealing whether it is actually true. ;)

Thank you again for reviewing! I've enjoyed reading and responding to all of them!


 Report Review

Review #4, by MagicallyClumsie 

21st February 2010:
wow...thats just amazing...i can't wait to read...(:

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the story! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Aisu Hoshino 

29th December 2009:
Wow. Craziness.

And my description of their relationship last chapter should of been applied to this one. More Strongly. Yet it was so interesting to read this, as there is so much raw emotion in it. It's rather intense as well with the lack of interest on Dippet's part. Yet you still kept humor, what with the cat stuff and all.

Oh boy. Tibbs is reminding me of my boyfriend again. In the same situation, I could easily see him being determined to blame Riddle for everything while I thought of other options. Kind of scary making a connection like that so often, yet it makes things more interesting for me.

Author's Response: It's almost less frustrating/annoying in this chapter, though, because Minerva, at least, tries to make the relationship work at the end, but it's Grimm who messes it up. They're so close, and keep getting closer, yet there's always a little something to prevent them from being happy together.

Dippet's lack of interest could, in part, be due to him being much older and not having the same capacity of emotion as Grimm and Minerva do, especially since they're still adolescents. They're going through that turbulent age. :P But there is something suspicious in Dippet's actions too, though I'm still working on how to make it plausible.

All I can say is that I'm glad Grimm is that realistic as a male character. XD It helps a lot to know that is acting guy-ish enough, as it's hard sometimes for me, as a girl, to make him male-enough, as ridiculous as that may sound. Maybe it's the reason why there are so few male OCs out there. :/

Anyway, thank you again for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you're enjoying each chapter. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by padme_alejandra 

2nd October 2009:
Argh, they're both so infuriatingly stubborn, I love it :) I do feel terrible for poor Myrtle - it seems as if nothing good ever happens for her. And I love your Dumbledore. You've got him pegged wonderfully - his dialogue is so JKR like it makes me smile. I love him :)

Excellent work! 10/10

Author's Response: Haha, it's what making this story fun to write. When he gets mad, she starts chasing him, and vice versa. :P I'm so glad that you're enjoying this story, Dani! Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by notloggedin 

30th August 2009:
i love it! as i love every chapter, haha, their relationship is so intense, convoluted, it pains me every time she pulls herself away from him.
i'm so impatient to find out who the thief is!!
update soon :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! :D It means so much that you're enjoying this story, especially every chapter of it. Their relationship is a great experience to write - there's so many twists and turns to it that all my plans for this story are unraveling with each new chapter. XD

Anyway, thank you very much for taking the time to read and review. I really appreciate it. :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by blithering_humdinger 

17th August 2009:
Crikey! That was dramatic! At least she finally realises she likes him. Can't wait for more

Author's Response: Haha, a little too late, though. :P Very typical of her not to admit to her own feelings until he's not pursuing her anymore.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review! I really appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by CaSurferGrl 

14th August 2009:
This story is so intense! Update again soon!

Author's Response: Intense! That's excellent to hear! Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Margravine 

11th August 2009:
My dear Violet, I have some bad news: I won't be reading/reviewing TL for a while.

lol it is however, a twisted compliment - your characterisation is so insightful and vivid its interfering with my own image and persona of Min, (atm i can't picture her as anything but naomi watts in the painted veil) so til I finish my current story, I must love you and leave you!

I loved this chapter, the Min/Grimm relationship, the title, everything! The ending in particular was inspired! You are one of my favourite authors on this site, so I can promise to still be there for WTA and others :)

Author's Response: Oh wow, that's actually a great compliment! Not that you have to leave off for a bit, but that my Minerva has infiltrated your brain. It means that I must be doing something right with her. :D I've had that before with other stories - it makes it hard to remember how a character is in canon, the lines between canon and fanon blurring.

Thank you so much for this review! It means a lot that you like this story and its characters, and I hope that, once your story is done, you'll come back to finish it off (I might actually have the story finished by then, too!). Good luck with your story. I'll have to check it out. :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by moony101 

8th August 2009:
Nooo! Why must they be so frustraiting? And then Riddle and Myrtle and Umbridge... Grr. Still loved the chapter, even if it didn't suit you. Hopefully you'l find the next one better?

Author's Response: I'm asking myself the same question. Why can't they just be happy with one another, but I guess their personalities are of the conflicting sort. >.<

The next one should turn out better. I've already started planning it out, and it should work. The story's heading toward the end - maybe another five chapters? Less than eight, I'm sure. It'll be sad to end it.

Anyway, thank you very much for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate hearing from you, and it's great to know that you loved this chapter. That means a lot. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ylime 

7th August 2009:
Another great chapter! I have a theory about who the thief is :D Though I'm almost always wrong about who the bad guy is when I read mystery novels, so I'm probably wrong now:P Anyway, nice job! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Oooh! You do? :D Keep it in mind, you never know - you might be right. Though, if you are right, that means I was too obvious somewhere. *thinks* It's not set in stone, so don't tell me who you guessed. I've been known to change those things on purpose. ;)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's a great relief that you enjoyed this chapter. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by Harry and Ginny 

6th August 2009:
this is getting interesting and i hoped Minerva and Tiberius would be together but... anyway u wrote "as nothing to do" when it should be "has nothing to do". will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks for mentioning that typo! I really appreciate it and also you review as a whole. :D I'll try to update it soon, though I want to get to another WIP first.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! ^_^ You never know, they still might get together yet. ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose of the West 

6th August 2009:
Actually the chapter works well. It also explains a great deal of what we know happened afterwards from the other stories we see him in. I still feel very badly that they never really have a chance to get together.

Author's Response: It does foreshadow the later separation, though it's not quite at that point yet. I didn't think of it that way until you mentioned it, so it was a rather dangerous plot twist to undertake. However, it's not that dismal yet. There may still be a bit of hope. ;)

Thank you very much for the review! It's good to know that the chapter actually worked - perhaps the depressing content made me, in turn, depressed. :P


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review