Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by girly1393 

12th May 2011:
Oh, God. Not Mr and Mrs Evans, please no.

Bravo to you.

 Report Review

Review #2, by spangles 

14th February 2010:
Oh no! Not the Evans. :( I knew you were going to do that, darn it! I know that they can't survive the war because then Harry would have gone to live with them but.ugh. I hate canon. 10/10 though.

Author's Response: Aw, how'd you know! Well, you are right, obviously, about them not making it to Harry's time. I didn't want to make them a target for Death Eaters (everyone does that, it seems, and really - what is so special about a couple Muggles?) and I also didn't want it to be some huge personal tragedy for Lily. I figured a massive group death would kind of downplay it a bit, as many others died too.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Casey 

26th January 2010:
Ah, I had this sickening feeling inside of my stomach when I read about Lily's parents. They weren't introduced just for some random reason which then I realised, they were going to die. Heck, this is just so sad.

This entire chapter was full of win! Everything was written so wonderfully, you could feel the tension and fear seeping through the page. I really loved their reactions to the train and how everything was so normal one second and the next everything was a total disaster.

Sirius should be extremely glad he's of magical blood, if he was a muggle he wouldn't be able to survive at all.

And Petunia, I always disliked her because she reminds me of my older sister, but I felt so sorry for her here. I guess it'll widen the gap between them even more.

Author's Response: Yeah, I suppose my main reason for writing them at all in this story was for them to die... but I am glad you enjoyed it, haha.

I can tell you enjoy the action chapters the most. I really liked this idea about the train when I first had it, but after it was written, I wasn't so sure. Still, I enjoyed giving Lily's parents a death that wasn't targeted at them specifically (whether accidental or murder) - I don't think I have seen a story that hasn't done that yet.

You are right about Sirius - thank god for St. Mungo's and magic to intervene on an otherwise very serious injury.

When I was writing Petunia here, I came to like her a little bit also. She still came across as slightly snooty, but I feel like I got into her head and could actually understand her regards for Lily. I don't think she is actually a bad or unlikeable person.


 Report Review

Review #4, by allie_0608 

1st August 2009:
Aww.. that REALLY sucks but I knew that was going to happen. Ans=d she'll most likely b;ame Lily for it somehow...

Author's Response: Yep, had to happen before Harry was born, or at least by the time James and Lily die. She'll blame Lily. But perhaps not for long.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Allyson 

29th July 2009:
I really love this story so far :) I agree with the last comment- this is much more realistic and a great interpretation of what went on between the little pieces cannon that we know of during this time period. I have been checking back almost every day since I found the story to see if you've updated. I'm so excited to read the next chapters! Great work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on the story!

I definitely try to keep things realistic - as realistic as they can be, given the circumstances. I hate Marauder/OC and I'd much rather write the realities of the war. There's so much there. And canon is so much fun when you only have a few guidelines and are free to go at it.

I'm happy you're excited for the next chapters - I can hardly stop myself from writing them, and I have to, or I'd have an update every day. And while that sounds nice, I'm afraid my readers might fall behind and get frustrated with having a lot to catch up on.

Thanks again for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lizzie 

28th July 2009:
I really like this story a lot, I had been searching for it for ages but forgot the name and then voila, you updated! :D

I love the way you portray everything and everyone. Most people make the days after Hogwarts funny and wonderful when they were probably filled with darkness.

The best bit was when Petunia was watching tv and heard the news, my stomach actually twisted when hers did when she realized about her parents. I felt so sorry for them both, although I reckon Petunia would have found a way to blame Lily about it saying she could have saved them.

Anyway, love the story and keep it up!

Author's Response: Well I am glad you found it again!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I agree with you about how a lot of people write it - seems like the focus is always on J/L and Sirius/OC and they're all pregnant and having babies together and its a grand time. So I definitely didn't want this to be like that, which is why there are no OC's.

I am glad you were reacting alongside Petunia :D It is always nice to know that your writing can make people feel that way. You'll have to wait and see what Petunia does in the coming chapters, I think she will surprise people.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by auror_snape 

27th July 2009:
Sirius really is a hero, going back to try to slow the train. But I'm wondering, so far it looks like Peter worships James. What will happen to turn that adoration into hate?

And I can so see Petunia blaming Lily (and her inconveniently-placed birthday) on her parents' deaths. I'm assuming this is the straw that broke the camel's (or horse's) back.

Author's Response: I'm glad you think he's a hero - I think he did a good job, too. Unfortunately he just doesn't think so since people did die. I've tried to make Peter seem canon, and he certainly worshipped James in Snape's Worst Memory! I've got some special plans for Peter and his betrayal, and I wouldn't say it turns to 'hate' per say, but you will just have to wait and see!!

LOL inconveniently placed birthday for sure. She definitely blames Lily, but it's not quite the straw that broke the camel's back - I think Lily's death was the one that did that. Petunia will play one more part in this story - after the confrontation about their parents, I mean, and in that part she and Lily will get on surprisingly well.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Moonylupin 

27th July 2009:
Oh man... I knew the second I saw the part with Lily's parents that they were going to be involved in this. I hope they're okay and, even though I hate Petunia, I felt sorry for her when she watched the news report. It has to be terrifying, seeing something like that and then wondering if her parents were there. I really hope they're okay, but it doesn't look good if Mr. Evans's secretary said he hadn't arrived yet.

Thank God Remus managed to get to them in time. It's strange how the use of the two-way mirrors changed so much. They were just intended for James and Sirius to have fun with when they were separated and now they're being used to relay information about Death Eater attacks. You could really feel the panic and urgency from both James and Remus with the news of it.

That one line Peter had that they were probably waiting for Marlene was sad. Peter and Sirius are really going at it a lot lately... Peter annoys me when he tries too much to be on James's good side. He can't always be seen in a good light and he should figure that out by now.

I was scared when the metal embedded itself in Sirius (actually I flinched pretty badly reading it). At least he stopped the train. James is right, he must have saved so many people by doing that. I love how Sirius didn't believe he was a hero. They must have all felt like that during that time, thinking that nothing was good enough if they couldn't save everyone and realizing that it wasn't possible.

Update soon! I need to know what happened to Lily's dad. And amazing chapter too!

Author's Response: No, it doesn't look good at all for them does it? I'm really glad you felt bad for Petunia!!! Part of me really hates her, and part of me finds her just a little endearing. She was a little understanding towards Harry, despite herself. And I can only imagine how jealous she must have been, she really got the short end of the stick. It's definitely terrifying to know something major has happened in the general vicinity of a loved one, and then to be unable to get a hold of that person!

I know, those two way mirrors turned into something much different than what they were originally intended for. I kind of like it. It's like a metaphor for the way the Marauders are being forced to grow up.

Poor Peter. Just like with Petunia, I can totally see the jealousy. Imagine witnessing such great friends every day but never really feeling like a part of it, always feeling a little inferior. And poor Sirius, I think he's just stressing out too much to the point of overreacting to Peter sometimes.

Haha, that metal thing was totally last minute. It just happened as I was writing, I hadn't planned for it. I was trying to picture what such a scene might look like and figured there'd be flying glass and metal, and anyone in the way would be in danger. Then I decided it would be quite unrealistic to go through all these action scenes and never have anyone get hurt. So it happened. I'm really glad you flinched, at least, I hope, that means it was realistic sounding.

As for your last few lines, I don't quite know what to say. I'm glad you said it and recognised how they all must have felt, because that is what I was trying to portray.

I'll try to update soon! I've been in a bit of a writing mood lately, though they never last long, I might get another 2 or 3 chapters out before I start to lose motivation again :P haha.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review