Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShadowRose 

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Hello!

I love all Marauder stories, and this one really was no exception. Reading about James's and Sirius's antics is just so entertaining, and you did a great job of keeping them in character - they're definitely jokesters, but they're also maturing a little bit and it shows in their behavior. At least they try to make their point by writing an essay and not through some master prank.

It's nice that you show Sirius and Regulus getting along, even if it is only to get Quidditch reinstated. They never quite agree with one another, so it's nice that they're working together and behaving like brothers for a while. I also think you did a good job creating McGonagall, she definitely seems very canon and realistic particularly in her speech patterns. I do think it's a bit odd that she, a Quidditch player herself as well as a Gryffindor House team fan, would want to ban Quidditch, but you explain it well enough, and I feel like there's a bit of her that doesn't want it banned and wants the boys to get it reinstated.

Overall, this was so fun to read! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ginnypotter242 

10th July 2014:
Aww, poor James and Sirius! Quidditch is their life, I can't imagine what they hought when they heard it was cancelled. I'm glad they teamed up with Regulus though- I suppose even enemies can get along for a similar cause, right? I like the way you wrote the three of them. They seemed in character from what we've seen in the books, and Regulus was most definitely a cunning little Slytherin. All of them were rather persuasive, which I think is true for their canon characters. I feel like Professor McGonagall would have tried to protest to Pomfrey more- we know just how much she likes Quidditch- but I also feel like you did a good job with having her stand behind her fellow staff members decision. This was a very enjoyable story, and I think it was very well written.

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review) (Educational Decree #7)

 Report Review

Review #3, by anythingcouldhappen 

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review, educational decree #7!

This was such a great little story to read about James and Sirius and quidditch! You did a fantastic job with their characters and keeping them ic. I really enjoyed that you had Regulus in the story as well. Their combined skills were too much for Madam Pomfrey! Great job also with Professor McGonagall--she sounded very chilly and McGonagally when she was dealing with James and Sirius!

The flow of your writing makes the story very easy to read, and I really enjoyed the quidditch scene! Overall, this really made me want to read more Marauders again.

Awesome job!

Sam

 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon 

10th July 2014:
Howdy!

So the first thing that stuck out to me about this story was how well you did with McGonagall's dialogue! Too many people don't capture her speech patterns well enough, having her talk with a normal cadence rather than the measured pace and well-placed emphasis she uses in canon.

I was however, slightly struck by the fact that McGonagall would be the one to ban Quidditch. First, for me it seemed like something that would be left in Dumbledore's discretion. Second, it flies in the face of her own personal history. Though she clearly takes no pleasure in the decision, she nonetheless is committed to making it, despite the fact that she was an accomplished player at Hogwarts and (as canon shows) passionate for her house's success of the pitch.

Aside from those things though, I thought you did a good job dealing with the characterizations of James, Sirius, and Regulus (the other major characters in your story). You struck at James and Sirius's mischievous brotherhood and successfully painted Regulus as just a darker, slightly altered form of Sirius which I think is realistic.

Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie 

10th July 2014:
Oh, James and Sirius. I feel kind of like McGonagall wanted to be talked into allowing Quidditch from the start, though - in the books, at least, she was always a huge supporter of the Gryffindor Quidditch team. I did think that they were really ingenious about their efforts, though (I don't care what McGonagall and Regulus say, I liked the essays!), and I loved that Regulus ended up sticking his nose in, too - it was a great reference to the fact that he'd also been on a Quidditch team, which was briefly mentioned in canon, and it was also a nice way of showing some complexities in Sirius and Regulus's relationship that often weren't really touched on in the books themselves.

I especially loved that you had Madam Pomfrey, who is always complaining about injuries to students, become an advocate for the most dangerous activity in the school. It was definitely a good bit on cunning on Regulus's part!

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #6, by MileyMalfoy 

10th July 2014:
I love the fact that even though they make it clear that they hate Regulus, there is still a touch of house unity in getting quidditch back. I was incredibly entertained by the fact that the entire thing was scripted and they managed to manipulate Poppy into changing her mind (even if the original ideas that were used on McGonagall were even more entertaining). I really liked the fact that James let Slytherin have that victory in peace given they at least had gotten their quidditch back. At one point I thought you were going to have James and Sirius start showing off by transforming into their animagus forms in class as a way to get her approval but I'm glad that they went with the full on quidditch approach instead.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan 

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014
Educational Decree #7

This was so cute! I never even entertained the idea that Quidditch might've been on the edge of being banned so this was a brand new look for me. I can definitely understand what Poppy means by it though, it really is a dangerous game and sometimes students get a little bit too intense with it. She would probably get tired having to mend all of those broken bones all of the time.

On the other hand, yay for house unity! It's always lovely to read a story where Hogwarts houses band together to achieve a result and help each other out instead of splitting up from each other. It's amazing how much power Quidditch has when it comes to bringing people together.

I loved how in the end James decided to let the Slytherins have their victory as a thanks for Regulus helping him and Sirius out. He could've probably thanked Regulus a different way than losing a Quidditch game but it's the thought that counts.

I love how Regulus was just so matter-of-fact about everything. I'm a Slytherin, of course I can help you out and of course you need me, you could definitely see that he was related to Sirius in those moments because Sirius would've said something like that as well.

 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 

10th July 2014:
Hello! this is a great story. Also, this review is a House Cup 2014 Review, and for educational decree #7!

We usually see people disregard Peter for Marauders but this was great and you showed their friendship really reallt well so good job on that! Regulus' character was done super well too, and I have to say that the quidditch scene was pretty epic! You did a fast paced scene with pure excellence and I think that shows how talented you are. Loved the commentary!!! ahaha i loved the part with madam pompfrey! McGonagall was pretty brilliant too, with excellent characterization again! BUT AHHH REGULUS!!! He is a total babe, and rather dreamy as well! ♥ Great work!

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore 

10th July 2014:
Hi there!

This story was really sweet! I liked the fact that it was Marauders and the way that you wrote their friendship - Sirius and James and Peter and Remus were so well written and I loved your portrayal of them. Their characterisation was just great and I loved the way that they tried to sweeten up Madam Pomfrey. I also loved the fact that you included Regulus in this story, because he's so often forgotten from this era completely. I was glad that you didn't do that. My favourite part was when McGonagall told James that she was banning Quidditch, and his reaction was just so great to it - very realistic, it reminded me of how Harry and the Weasleys all reacted when it came to Umbridge trying to disband the team in Harry's fifth year. I loved the fact that you included a Marauders' prank in this chapter as well, that just made it even better!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #10, by Celtic_Dreamer7 

14th July 2009:
Very well written! I love how you added Regulus in it! Great job!

~Celtic~

 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday 

13th July 2009:
Loved it! What a great idea! I like how you wrote James and Sirius, with their cheeky transfiguration essays -- it sounds very much like them, and I could see McGonagall's irritated reaction in my mind.

The end was really awesome, too, with the little bit of camaraderie between them (even better, though, how James is still going to keep his head in the game despite their newfound bond!)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review