Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Laura is definitely starting to come out of her shell, and it's great that other people are noticing it too. She's not going to stay as the quiet one for ages like she has been for the last few years, and that's nice to know. I forgot to mention Mary's crush on James in my last review but I feel quite sorry for her, especially when he's so head over heels for Lily - hopefully she can find someone else soon!

I loved the part showing that Sirius and his brother are still in touch and still friends at this point. I'm sure it's going to deteriorate but it's good to see Regulus isn't being painted as evil. And I loved the scene in the common room with the party, it really made me smile how desperate James was not to be the youngest one in the year. It's just like him to worry about something like that!

Elvira is in need of some help, I think, or some distraction! I feel sorry for Laura since everyone thinks she must know things about Sirius just because they're in Gryffindor together. But Elvira is far too obsessive and it's slightly scary!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thanks Sian!

You know, I never thought Sirius and Regulus had that bad a relationship at school. IF they had, Sirius wouldn't have spent as much time as he did trying to find out how his brother had died, would he? So I think their relationship would have gradually deteriorated, but neither of them ever really gave up on the other, even if it looked like they did. Just my thoughts on the matter.

As for Mary and James, well if someone like James Potter came to see you every couple of days when you were in the hospital wing to see how you're recovering, even though he barely knows you, well of course you're going to get a crush. Right? At least, most normal people would, I think. So yeah, poor Mary. IT's doomed, but at least she knows it's doomed.

AS for Elvira, well she's just so much fun to write that I can't really comment. She's an exaggeration, of course, but that's part of the fun I think. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olga 

30th December 2012:
The friendship between Remus and Laura is so cute! I wonder how Mary's crush will resolve, that can't end well for her...on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, poor Mary. She never really had a chance. It was one of those things that was kind of inevitable, though, don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by I'mAWaffle! 

18th March 2012:
A stunning first fanfiction! Congrats on the award. The way you write and portray the characters is, for lack of a better word, absolutely stunning.

Author's Response: thank you so much! It's really rewarding to have reviews like this because yes, it was my first fanfic. Thanks again!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lillylover22 

1st March 2012:
I love remus. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: He's a sweetie, isn't he? I think so too.
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by singer123 

13th December 2011:
Wow James and Sirius learned to conjure a patronus in just one class..
Real Smart..
Laura's Patronus is a Labrador.. Aww :D

Author's Response: Well,t hey're pretty smart, those boys. Everything JKR has said about them has confirmed that. So what better to demonstrate it than conjuring a Patronus in the first class? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack 

13th October 2011:
Fantastic job! I love how you offset the drama with chapters like this; nice and simple :) The Sirius Black fan club is as amusing as ever and I like the Laura-Remus moments. But please, could there be some more Laura-Sirius moments?
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Laura/Sirius moments? Sure! Coming right up! Just hold on for a chapter or two and ... oh, that's right, you've already got to that point. I realise that it does take a while, but I really wanted to establish everyone's starting points for this story. Thank you for your patience! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by hearts 

10th September 2011:
my birthday is on the sixth of march! (:
just a happy coincidence, i love laura.
and the story. (:

Author's Response: And happy birthday for March sixth! I suppose Laura was always going to share a birthday with someone, but it's nice when that happens, isn't it? :) Thanks for the feedback and I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne 

5th August 2011:
Sirius and Regulus I believe?
Haha he's wearing a tuxedo! I bet he looks good :-D
Remus and Laura are almost twins hehe I can see them two having a great friendship. If James doesn't physically stand between them.
Snape is so angry all the time now, it's making me sad, but he's not helping himself being so angry all the time.
mmm Laura's Patronus is a dog, I think her and Sirius are meant to be together.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yep, Sirius and Regulus. I knew it would be obvious to the readers, even if it wasn't to Laura. It felt like the kind of conversation they would be having - Sirius couldn't have completely given up on Reg, otherwise he wouldn't have gone to so much effort to find out how he'd died. :)

The birthdays thing was entirely coincidental and quite fortuitous, I think. Love it when things work in your favour like that!!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
I'd forgotten Sirius' birthday was so early.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Well, we're not actually sure when Sirius' birthday was, because it's never been confirmed, but JKR said he was "about 22" when he was arrested so it's widely believed that his birthday was about November. So, I put it there in order to comply as much with canon as I could. Makes for some fun dialogue, though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
I haven't mentioned this in a while, but it bears repeating. Your writing of Mary's brogue is excellent. I always find it hard to write accented English like that: Hagrid, Fleur, etc. You do it quite well.

So what was with the muggle tuxedo? Curious about that. Liked the patronuses and no surprise Laura's is a dog, too. No word as to Lilys, tho. Can't help but wonder if hers was always a doe or changed to one.

Well, off to the next.

Eldy

Author's Response: You know what? Once I had the hang of writing Mary's accent, it became second nature. I did do a glossary of the words she used so if I forgot I could go back and make changes, but if you've been doing it for a while you don't really need to think about it. But thanks anyway - I'm rather fond of her accent myself, though I've had mixed reviews of it. :D

As for the tux, well to be honest there is no backstory behind that at all. I just thought it would be funny if he was wearing a tux, so I put him in one. Maybe he lost a bet or something ... not that it really matters in the scheme of things. It helped set the scene quite well, though, don't you think?

I never gave Lily a Patronus, but I do believe that JKR said or implied that it changed from what it was originally to the doe, after she and James got together. I wasn't feeling creative so I never tried to think of what it might have been beforehand. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

19th August 2010:
I wonder about Laura and Remus, they seem to be such a nice couple, yet at the same time, they seem to have that friendly aspect to their I guess, relationship that says they're "just friends" however I'm still left wondering at times. I also must say that Elvira seems to be exceptionally persistent, and I thought I knew some persistent people! Boy was I wrong!

I also love the use of the character's actual birthdays, it's always a nice touch to add in the real details and it's nice to see you've done such research. I'll say it again, I'm absolutely loving this fic, and I've yet to find a reason to fault it!

Author's Response: You know, a lot of people wondered about Laura and Remus, but I never really intended it to go that way. I think they're too similar for something like that to have worked out. Then again, I think that boys and girls CAN be friends without it going further, though this is perhaps a controversial view. :)

As for birthdays, well we have so little canon for the Marauders that it seems a shame to ignore any of it, don't you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Aww, Remus and Laura interaction - always happy when your story provides this, as they are simply lovely together. So this chapter, with two whole pieces of it, was particularly enjoyable! However, Mary's patronus seems to imply she's more of a dog person than a wolf-girl, though I guess I'll just have to wait and see!

Mary really seems to have it bad huh? A true sign of a hopeless crush is when you start being impressed by completely irrelevant things, so her compliments about the shape of his patronus seemed perfect. Also, glad to see that her's was a Scottish emblem - as a displaced half-Scot myself, I know the pain of wanting your heritage to be acknowledged.

Great chapter, as ever.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, Remus. I'm very fond of him as a character, though you're right - Laura is much more of a dog girl than a wolf girl. I think that I made Laura and Remus too alike as characters for them to ever work as a couple ... others might disagree, but it's how I see them. And of course that also explains why she ends up getting along with the rest of them so well. But I'm giving away spoilers now so I'll shut up.

And yes, Mary has it bad. I'm glad you appreciated the golden eagle, though - for Mary, it seemed important that we have some sort of Scottish reference for her patronus. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
thats a lot of gryffindor birthdays in march!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Well, two of those birthdays are canon - Remus' and James' - so I only added one. Laura always had a March birthday, ever since she appeared in my head, but I dont' think it's stretching the borders of reality too far.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Schnatz 

5th May 2010:
Hey Mel,
I really really liked this chapter! (Hope it's not too boring for you to hear this sentence in every review from me! :P)
The scene in the common room was very funny - mainly James was brillant. In any event I like James very much. I think if I were a witch at Hogwarts at the marauder's time I would fall for him. But as Laura said to Mary: "Lily saw him first. And he saw Lily. I'm sorry, Mary, but some things are just meant to be."
I also liked how you discribe the patronus lesson. So Laura's patronus is a dog? Do this mean something ... I mean because Sirius' animagi and so is a dog, too, and as we know you've got almost the same patronus as the person you love. ;-) Not that I think Laura is just yet in love with Sirius but it's noticeable, isn't it?
As always I'm looking forward to read the next chapter. I'm interested what Elvira will do anytime soon ;-)
Love, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again! And I'm SO sorry that it's taken me so long to respond to this review ... I think I mentioned earlier that I just posted my last chapter (before the epilogue) last week so there have been a few reviews coming in. Nothing to do with you, I realise, but I hope it excuses my tardiness.

Anyway. I'm glad you liked this chapter. My memory says it was reasonably popular when it was first posted ... I think it was the Patronus lesson. Yes, Laura's Patronus is a dog. I'll be honest in that I didn't actually intend any connection with Sirius when I assigned that particular animal, more that I just saw Laura as a dog person. But maybe my subconscious was just working overtime and it wasn't as accidental as I thought. In any case, it works well. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by ochalke5 

5th January 2010:
It was another amazingly wonderfully brilliant chapter! I love it. Remus is always popping up which can give one the impression that Remus could fancy Laura, which could later on in the story become rather interesting if Laura becomes invovled with Sirius and because of Charottle. It's surely an interesting read. I really like what's happened so far and I'm sure that I'll love what happens next! I love it Mel, but I am sure I will love what comes! It was great, I cannot say it enough.
10/10
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, Remus. I had a few people ask me about Remus' role in this little drama. I shall of course say nothing - that woudl be a spoiler for later on - but you can speculate all you like.

Anyway, I'm so pleased that you're still enjoying this! And I can promise that more Sirius is coming up - there were just a few things I needed to get out the way before he started popping up regularly. But it's not far now ...

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by desert_oasis 

27th October 2009:
im still loving this story!!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

I'm really pleased that you've persevered with the story and are still enjoying it. And I will say that it does pick up significantly shortly so hopefully you'll appreciate that when it happens.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

14th October 2009:
Great chap. You are probably getting tired of hearing that. LOL. What is Laura's patronus. I wonder? And the relationship with Reguls and Sirius doesnt seemed as strained as you would think it would be. Nice dynamic on that one!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I thought I revealed Laura's Patronus in this chapter - it's a dog in any case. Labrador sized, if that makes a difference. :D

As for Regulus, well I never thought they hated each other or anything. From the way Sirius talks about him in OotP it sounds like he was fond of him but disappointed in the path he chose. So that's what I was going with here.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Singer Of All Songs 

11th October 2009:
Wounderful chapter! I also enjoyed the birthday's and James being the youngest.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reviewing again! :D

I too liked James being the youngest. Peter is actually the only one of the four that we don't have a birthday (or slightly narrowed range) for; we do know that both Sirius and Remus were older than him so I just gave Peter a birthday in January and made James the youngest. It seemed kinda cute, you know?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by pinaygrl3123 

11th October 2009:
HA! I like how two chapters ago I was like they should learn that and that's what this chapter is about! I'm goood! Haha, I kid. But yeah. I was wondering what kind of memory she would have picked... thinking about.. she should have thought about like realizing how Bea being graduated gave her a sense of being free. That had to be a happy moment for her. Or at least a strong one, anyway. Ah, well. And aww, MARY!! I love herr. It's a shame she's crushing on the MOST unavailable guy at Hogwarts. Seriously. Gotta hand it to him - he is devoted. But yeah. I like how Laura definitely has opened up more in the last year - she's good friends with all the girls and Remus now. I think this'll be a good year for her! I have to say, I love the pace of your story. Nobody does a really good background, usually jumping to the heart of the matter. But I love the build up of everything that will eventually lead into the group's seventh year.

Author's Response: Yes, you got it right, they should be learning the Patronus Charm when there is a war on. I thought the same thing! :D

As for Mary, well yes he is THE most unavailable guy at school, but if he'd come to visit you in the hospital wing wouldn't you have got a crush on him?

I'm so pleased you're enjoying the pace of it all, I'm very conscious that these chapters can seem a little odd in an Sirius/OC story when there is barely any Sirius in there, but I thought the backstory was important in this case.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by nire 

18th September 2009:
Before I even begin this chapter, I just want to say how excited I am since Sirius is turning 17. The more he gets older, the more mature he gets and then he will love Laura. haha! Yay, yay, yay.
ďI know,Ē said the first person. ďI just wanted you to know that I did try.Ē
Is that Regulas??? How mysterious! And they embraced too! This is the part where I always cringe coz I sometimes accidentally stumble along slash without knowing Iím doing it. Itís awful.. I always end up gasping coz I just canít picture Sirius in that way and Iím reading something that is making me feel sick. Only sick tho coz I just see Sirius as this masculine guy that only loves girls, you know? Hopefully I havenít offended anyone by this review.
Anyway, Iím very intrigued to find out who this person is!

had swelled rather significantly once term began as it became obvious heíd shot up a bit over the summer. Now at least two inches taller than James, he had grown into his already elegant and aristocratic looks even more than he had previously
I have to say, when Sirius is described as aristocratic and elegant it makes me shiver coz I can just imagine how good looking he is and how debonair he is. Sigh.

ďLadies and gentlemen,Ē he boomed, failing to miss Peter snorting into his Firewhisky, probably at the term Ďgentlemení. ďLadies and gentlemen,Ē James repeated, looking furiously at Peter, ďyou are now looking at the first Gryffindor sixth-year to officially come of age!!Ē He turned around dramatically to reveal Sirius Black who bowed extravagantly, beaming at the crowd and dressed ostentatiously in a Muggle tuxedo. To be wearing that, I guessed, heíd probably lost a bet again.
Hahahahaha! This was fantastic! The muggle tux is very appealing too! Keep it on Sirius!

Out of the corner of my eye I noticed Remus had been listening in on the conversation, half a smile on his face.
Remus is always there when you need him! Hopefully he is jsut going off and telling Sirius all of it. That would be amazing.

Iím so longing for a bit of Sirius/Laura action! Or even James/Lily. No one has really heckled Lily much lately. And James hasnít really done anything to annoy her. Perhaps he has, and we arenít getting told.

It makes me anxious knowing that Mary likes James. I donít like it. I feel like something is going to happen and it isnít going to be good.

Greeat chapter. Loving it! Nearly caught up as well! But then Iím going to be annoyed coz Iíll have to wait like everyone else then!

Author's Response: And yet another brilliant review. Thank you !!!

Okay. Yes it is Regulus - that gets confirmed next chapter anyway (which I think you've now read), so don't panic - I can't see Sirius in a slash relationship either. Just my opinion, of course :)

I'm glad you liked the tux. It just appeared as I was typing and I kinda liked it too. And kudos to you for asking him to keep it on rather than take it off ...

Hmm, more James/Lily action. Now you're testing my memory as to what is in each chapter. You're not far off the Sirius/Laura stuff though so don't panic. :D

And don't worry about Mary. She'll get over it. We all know that James is destined for Lily, and Mary knows that too.

Thanks again!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by notsure 

25th August 2009:
So I had to review this chapter because 1. I remember thinking when I first read it, I should review and 2. I saw some reviews for this chapter and wanted to add my opinion.
I remember seeing some comment on if it was possible for Laura's patronus to be similar to Sirius because they will eventually be together. Well I think maybe in a deep down subconscious level Laura does have feelings for Sirius. I am not saying that she realizes it or anything but maybe there is some connection to that she has yet to understand. Of course Laura being the person she is, without any kind of Sirius reference, it still seems right she have a dog patronus. Maybe it is her loyalty or her personality, not sure but it fits.
But anyway, I really do love your story. I hope you update soon, I have noticed you have been updating on Saturday lately so I can't wait. That is my birthday so it will be like a little present. Can't wait! Laura is such an amazing character, I love how she has turned out, especially how she has grown as a person since Beatrice has left. I can't wait to see how she acts on a date and how her friends react upon hearing she is going on a date. Exciting!

Author's Response: Thanks again notsure, I love your reviews :D

You may have noticed my comments to reviewers for that chapter that I didn't even think of the Sirius connection when I assigned Laura a patronus - I just saw her as a dog person and went from there. After all she does have a dog at home (which I think I've mentioned once or twice). Of course the subconscious thing could be true too, I'm not ruling that out. After all it was probably my subconscious working overtime that gave her that Patronus in the first place! :)

I'm glad that you think Laura has grown as a person since Bea left since, as you have probably surmised, that was certainly my intention. Bea was something that was keeping her back, so having two Bea-free years at school was my way of giving her an excuse to blossom. But it couldn't happen instantaneously, of course - these things take time :) (As does everything else in my story ...)

And happy birthday for Saturday! I hope the chapter is validated then for your sake, though I really don't know how long it will take since they're doing a cleanup so they've got other things going on. But I hope you have a great day regardless :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by mystic05 

26th July 2009:
awesome i loved it much
not much to say really I just really loved the chapter
I love that she's coming out of her shell and that comment about making the grease in Snapes hair glow in the dark was priceless lol

Author's Response: Thanks mystic05! Yes she is definitely coming out of her shell, which if you think about it was bound to happen once Bea left and she could concentrate on herself for a change.

And thanks for the compliment about Snape's hair glowing in the dark, I was pretty pleased with that one myself. Plus glow-in-the-dark was pretty big in the 70s so it seemed to fit. :)

Hope you keep on reading as it goes on.
Mel.


 Report Review

Review #23, by casuallyxobsessed 

22nd July 2009:
I really enjoyed the new chapter. This story is awesome. I can't wait until the next part is out :D

Author's Response: Gee, thanks casuallyxobsessed! It's so great to have new people posting reviews, that really makes my day :)

I'm really pleased that you're enjoying this story and I must say that this chapter seems to be more popular than I had anticipated it would, but hey, I'm not complaining! Let's face it, if you're happy then I'm happy. :)

Anyway the next chapter is in the queue so, assuming no rejections etc (fingers crossed) it should be up in a bit over a week.

thanks for reading, Mel.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Twilight_Princess 

22nd July 2009:
Hopefully Elvira will stop asking Laura so many questions!! And is it possible for a patronus to become something that belongs to a person that the one that cast the charm doesn't realize means more to them?? I hope that made sense 'cause it's midnight and I'm half asleep, but I NEEDED to read this chapter!

Anyways, I do hope you can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Wow, everyone's picked up on the Patronus thing! Which is really strange because when I wrote it (actually, till I started getting reviews for this chapter) I didn't even think of that, I just saw Laura as a dog person and went from there. Though that's probably my subconscious trying to give me messages and I'm just too thick to realise it. (*shakes head in frustration at her own stupidity*)

To answer your question in any case, I don't see why that wouldn't be possible for a Patronus to be that. But then again I'm not JKR so I can't really offer any insight into the matter. We'll just have to speculate.

Anyway, thanks again for reading and reviewing, I really really appreciate it and it brings a smile to my face every time. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by NorahGP7 

21st July 2009:
I loved this chapter!
Does Remus like Laura? I need to know! And I think it's cute that Mary has a crush on James but still... she will only get her heart broken. And Laura's patronus is a dog, what a shock! (being totally sarcastic) haha update soon!

~Norah

Author's Response: Thanks NorahGP7!

I've had questions before about Remus & Laura and I'm not going to answer any of them so sorry, you'll just have to stew on that. (*laughs evilly*)

As for the Patronus, well you're the second person to point that out and to be completely honest, it hadn't even occurred to me! I just saw Laura as a dog person and chose it on that. But I must be better at putting these things together than I thought because it is a bit obvious, isn't it? (*shakes head in amazement at her own stupidity*)

Anyway I'm really pleased that you're still enjoying this and I hope you keep on reading. Next chapter is in the queue as I write :)

cheers, Mel.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>