Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna 

21st July 2014:
Wet dog ?! (squeals)
I have been so waiting for this ! Sirius Orion Black the wet dog,the mangy mutt !!! Seeing the pairing when it said sirius/OC it was kinda obvious.

Author's Response: Of course it's obvious! to us, that is, not to Laura. But that's all part of the fun, right?
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
I'm really pleased for Laura that she did so well in her OWLs that there was no problem her carrying on with the subjects she'd chosen. I felt sorry for Mary, though, because obviously the incident with Mulciber affected her a lot and it's not fair that she should have had to suffer something like that in the first place, let alone with the repercussions it involved. But I liked the normality of them returning to school and receiving their timetables and returning to lessons.

Ah, so the rift between Snape and Lily is just going to keep on widening, I suspect. I liked the fact that you showed he's still trying to remain friends with her and apologise for what he did, because if he loved her then he wouldn't give up easily. But her responding so nicely to James had to hurt him - and she knew it would. At least Laura's got a helping hand in Potions now that she's sitting with Lily, though, who's got a talent for it. And I loved the bit at the end when Laura realised that she felt more self-assured now that she wasn't having to worry about Bea. She's going to grow a lot from here, I can tell!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, Laura's a bit brighter than she realises, but then again with a sister like Bea she was never "the smart one" at home, so she's not really aware of how her mind matches up with other people's. She says she's in the middle of the class, but with the likes of James and Sirius at the top of the class it's not exactly a bell curve. They skew any statistics. But yeah, mary suffered a bit in her exams. It's a shame, but it's true. :(

As for Snape, well of course he wouldn't give up easily. If they lived in teh same town over summer he probably spent half the time trying to get her attention there, too. So she's sick to death of it and is deliberately riling him up to try to get rid of him. But yeah, lucky Laura sitting with Lily. If nothing else it works wonders for her self confidence in Potions. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lucy 

30th December 2013:
I liked the little detail of Snape putting his had up to identify all the potions-except Amortentia!
Haha can you imagine him describing a love potion! lol

Author's Response: I know, right? He'd be all sleazy and staring at Lily, and the whole thing would be really creepy. AT least, that's my reading of it. Thanks for the feedback!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by WoodenFences 

28th February 2013:
*Giggle, giggle* I TOTALLY get the whole wet dog smell thing, and I absolutely love all your foreshadowing!! Amazing chapter as always.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun with that, especially Laura's confusion as to why on earth she might be smelling wet dog. So enjoyable to torture the girl like that! Hahaha. Really pleased you appreciate it too.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Olga 

30th December 2012:
I love that she's coming into her own! And the wet dog amortentia...awesome!

Author's Response: Lol. Wet dog. Yes, I did have fun with that one, I do admit it. Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cortney 

3rd October 2012:
I love this chapter because of how it hints at laura/sirius. When they smelled the love potion i have really wanted to know wut sirius smelled! Thats just me being curious though. :p

Author's Response: What he smelled comes up later in the narrative, since you're curious. Glad you liked this one!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by sarz248 

12th July 2012:
I'm just gonna say this real quick while I reread your story for the millionth time, I love how Laura is completely real and honest with Mary and the other girls. Makes her way more realistic :)

Author's Response: Thanks for that. I tried to make Laura realistic - I'm a bit sick of stories where the OC isn't convincing - and it sounds like I've succeeded so thanks. :D Then again, Laura is remarkably earnest, which may or may not be a fault. In any case, I'm glad you like her.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hattie 

2nd July 2012:
Aha! The first clue as to which Marauder Laura's going to be taming!
"I leaned over and smelled the potion, which did indeed have the most seductive aroma coming from it - a combination of a bacon and onion fry-up, cinnamon, something rather musky and attractive that I couldn't identify, freshly ground coffee, and - hang on, was that wet dog I could smell?"
Also, I love the way you write Mary. How do you manage to write it so accurately?

Author's Response: Lol. You know, the number of reviews I've had telling me how terrible and inaccurate that accent is is huge. However, I've also had a lot saying I got it right. As such I don't really know what to believe, but I quite like the accent so it's staying. (That, and I don't want to go through and edit a 300,000 word story, hahaha.) And yes, you got it - wet dog. Poor Laura had absolutely no idea what that was doing in her amortentia. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lillylover22 

1st March 2012:
I liked it. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thanks!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by singer123 

13th December 2011:
Could that wet dog smell she got from the potion have something to do with Sirius?? hmm.
Anyways.. Looks like Laura is becoming an extrovert.. Gradually..
Even Lily and James have almost become friendly! Awesome!!

Author's Response: Um - wet dog? Sirius? Why would you make that connection?? XD And yes, she's slowly coming into herself. Maturing is a long process but she's well on her way. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by classicblack 

13th October 2011:
Took her long enough to realize it was because of the lack of Bea, haha. Aww, Mary has a crush on James. How cute! It'd be a huge fluff of drama if they dated before he went out with Lily. Great start to what I'm sure will be an excellent year!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yes, Bea's absence is really giving Laura an opportunity to develop into her own person rather than someone who is always referred to in connection with someone else. :)

And yes, Mary has a crush on James. No word on how that works out but I agree, it is kinda cute. :D Glad you liked it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne 

5th August 2011:
Oh no Lily and Snape still haven't made up, even though I know they won't because of what happened in the books I still hope that they can work it out and be friends again :-(
For a moment I was about to mention how Harry learnt this in his sixth year then I realised that they would obviously teach that in all sixth year potions.
OO Laura smells wet dog in the potion! Foreshadowing!!! :-D Love it!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: No, they still haven't made up, and as this story follows canon, they won't. Sorry!

Yes, good old amortentia. You're right in that I used the same sixth year curriculum, especially considering we know it was the same teacher. And I couldn't resist throwing in the wet dog, even though it confused the heck out of Laura. *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Reading about these classes makes me wish Hogwarts was a real place. -sigh-

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, it would be nice, wouldn't it? But then again, not being British I wouldn't have got to go there anyway, even if I was magical, so I can't really comment. I'm glad I made it alive for you though, that's really flattering.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ronnikinschik4ever 

9th April 2011:
Wet dog smell! That is absolutely hilarious! If only Laura knew what it meant! haha.

But absolutely great story so far! You see, I should be writing a paper right now, but I've decided to procrastinate and read this instead. Yes, it is definately time well spent. =]

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, wet dog. Kind of obvious but so much fun to include in a story like this, so I couldn't resist. Glad you appreciated it!

And I can't say I condone using my story as procrastination from studying but I can also say that you're not the first to do it so I won't chastise you. And it's very flattering that you'd rather read this than write your paper so thank you! It means I'm doing something right as a writer.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by theelderwand 

20th August 2010:
Really glad Bea is gone, probably almost as much as Laura. LOL! Querry, tho. I thought James became a seeker in his third year - however, given your eye for detail, I'll trust your writing.

Snape has totally lost it by this point, hasn't he. Now he's on the downward spiral, growing ever more bitter and bending his mind toward revenge. Its hard to see now how he'll eventually become Harry's protector.

Short review this time, as I want to get to the next chapter before I have to sleep.

Eldy

Author's Response: I know you correct this later on, but JKR definitely said James was a Chaser. He was only a Seeker in the first film, which they got wrong. So fear not, it doesn't require a rewrite!!

As for Snape, well he's getting desperate. She hasn't spoken to him since the Mudbood thing and he doesn't know what to do. She thinks she's made it clear that his choices aren't palatable to her, but it hasn't made it through his skull yet so they're at cross purposes. It's kinda tragic that he never gets over it, but really it was his own fault so I have remarkably little sympathy for him. (Yes, heartless so-and-so, aren't I?)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

19th August 2010:
I loved this chapter, I particularly loved the twist with the Amortentia. The smell of wet dog... I wonder who that could be? :) It was particularly interesting and I really enjoyed reading about Snape's reactions, because he is a rather interesting character and it's not very often that we see him being portrayed with human emotions, jealousy etc. I tend to see more of an expressionless Snape while reading, I would like to commend you on your highly realistic Snape!

Your writing is simply flawless and I do enjoy reading it a lot. There is a very nice overall flow to the piece as it drifts from section to section and the dialogue is believable and works extremely well with this story. I've even started to actually get the hang of what Mary is saying now, I must admit I was rather confused to begin with but I'm picking it up now! I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I think it's funny when people write a teenaged Snape as the ice man, because he can't always have been like that. In fact, I suspect that his hatred for people who wear their hearts on their sleeves is in part because he used to do that himself and got badly burned as a result. In any case we know his love for Lily was jealous and possessive so I tried to show that here.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Woohoo! Glad to see that Laura's coming out of herself a bit more, and getting into the action, now that her sister's stopped destroying all chances of her being seen as an individual.

Mary and James, huh? Well, that certainly won't go down well, though it fits all too well with how things used to be at school when I was there - there were the crushes that turned into relationships, and the hopeless ones that you simply enjoyed and hoped would never become public knowledge. For Mary's sake I hope her's doesn't, as I can't possibly seeing it ending well.

One tiny thing I noticed: "standing so as to the most of every inch of height (both of them!) he had over Severus." should this read "standing so as to MAKE the most..." - took me a couple of reads to understand this sentence, and work out what was missing.

As for Laura smelling the amortentia "- hang on, was that wet dog I could smell? That didn't seem right at all." I guess it isn't just Mary with a currently hopeless crush then? YAY!!!

Off to read more, properly hooked since sixth year started!

Author's Response: Edit made. And thanks for pointing that out - the word "make" was certainly in there originally so I'm not really sure where it disappeared to. :)

Anyway. Yes, Laura's really coming out of her shell, as she was bound to once she was free of the ghost of Bea. She really needs these two years of working out who she is, away from her sister's influence, so it's great that I got that across adequately.

As for Mary, well it was bound to happen, wasn't it? With boys like that in your year level it would be unusual not to get at least one crush on one of them. At least, that was what I was thinking when I wrote this. Of course we know that she won't get her man, but this sort of unrequited crush is par for the course for high school, isn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
lily is such a little smartie!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, Lily is a smart girl. JKR established that pretty well I thought - and James would never go after someone dumb anyway - so it was something I had to show.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
I'm really happy for Laura in this chapter. She's growing into her own and it's definitely been a plus not having to watch out for Bea all the time. Now that girl is a troublemaker. Laura's a really lovely girl, though. You really created a great character with her, Mel.

Author's Response: Hi Erica!

It's such a relief that people like Laura, because if they didn't I'd have stuffed something up royally I think. You're supposed to empathise and identify with her on some level. So, if you think she's lovely, then I've done something right so thank you!

And yes, Bea is a troublemaker. Or, to put it another way, a cross to be borne. Laura needed to find herself away from Bea and that's what sixth year was about. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Schnatz 

4th May 2010:
Hey,
I really liked the last two chapters. As I'm used to it your descriptions were very authentic - whether it was the shopping day where the dementors attacked or the teacher-pupil-conversations at the beginning of the sixth year at Hogwarts. Furthermore I liked how you built up this very special tense atmosphere during the potion-lesson. I also liked that over the summer holidays Laura and Mary get closer to the three other Gryffindor girls. So the reader has the chance to find out even more about Lily, Martha and Charlotte.
Hmm, as always I'm looking forward to read the next chapters,
till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Ah, yes, the Dementor attack in Diagon Alley. I wanted the inclusion of the war because I think it would have been right at the forefront of everyone's minds at the time ... after all, it was a pretty nasty time to be around, if you think about it. Glad you liked it!

As for the other three girls, you'll get to know them quite well in the rest of the story I think so fear not. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Crystal Malfoy 

29th April 2010:
You asked us to tell you if anything was wrong because your not British, you could have fooled me!
nothings wrong but there is practically no chance of it being sunny in September at best it would be cold and cloudy thats in England and Scotland would be even colder. other than the weather this story is amazing and I am addicted I started reading this yesterday and haven't stopped but for school

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Well, you know, I've had people pick me up on word usage occasionally, but never on the weather! I admit that I got most of my weather info from the HP books themselves, but thanks for letting me know that I got it wrong. Something to bear in mind when I go back & do my edits! :)

Anyway I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. There's a lot to go from where you are but I hope you keep on enjoying it as you read on.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ronsgirl29 

12th January 2010:
hmmm I wonder if that wet dog smell she smelled from the love potion could have to do with a certain dog animagus named sirius black? (: another great chapter, you're a very good story teller! i hope there's so sirius/laura action soon though! 10/10 as always

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Ah, amortentia. Yes, you're right, of course - it could hardly be otherwise. Why else would she be smelling wet dog?

As for the S/L action, well I'd like to thank you for being so patient thus far! I can promise it's not long off now, there were just a few things I needed to get out the way before he started popping up in every chapter.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by ochalke5 

5th January 2010:
YAY! I tell you better and better every chapter. Honestly, i don't know how you do it! All your chapters are interesting and good but yet each one gets better... i'm amazed. I love this story and i love this chapter. It's really good. Of course as always, i feel that Sirius should be more active in Laura's life but you promise it to come soon so i'll trust you. It was great, i promise, Mel, wonderful! Sheer brilliant!
10/10
Really amazing! Top notch!
Natalie

Author's Response: i Natalie!

Wow, better and better every chapter? That is a lot to live up to. I hope I can manage it! *grins*

Yes, I know that the absent Sirius is unusual in a Sirius/OC story. But fear not, it will all make sense in the end.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Me Thinks you rock 

27th October 2009:
oh, my GOSH!!♥ There are 36 CHAPTERS! ♥♥♥ I THOUGHT THERE WAS ONLY EIGHTEEN!!! I was really dreading coming to this chapter because I thought it would be the end... AHHH!! I'm sorry that was really how i acted about a second ago when i saw the ">>" button which only mans one thins.GO TO THE NEXT CHAPTER! Oh I love this, Thanks SO much. Havent read anything this good in a while. XD XD XD ♥♥♥♥♥♥

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

Ah, yes, 36 chapters. And a new one up every week, too. I'm glad that this has made you happy, I'm rather touched that you were worried you were getting to the end of my story. :D

Anyway I hope you keep on enjoying it as we get through sixth and seventh years.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by ciaran peverell 

24th October 2009:
is james not a seeker?? i could be wrong but ive just always thought that...
If he was a chaser why would he always be playing with a snitch??
great story though

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review!

The movie version of Philosopher's Stone had James as a Seeker, but JKR has confirmed he was a Chaser. He played with the Snitch because it was small enough to fit in his pocket (unlike a Quaffle). Hope that clears things up for you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>