Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Grace 

12th December 2012:
Great chapter! Just started reading and I like it already!

Author's Response: Thanks, Grace! I'm glad you liked the first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by StEpH_M 

29th October 2012:
This is a really good start; I like the way that you brought Lily and James's point of views into the story from the very beginning, it means that through out it, there will be bother sides and individual personalities portrayed and not just one side that imagines what they other is thinking.

I also really like the way you slotted in the hat's song, with it's usual warning which sort of links to everything that will happen later. And that from the start of Lily and James's seventh year they aren't completely bickering and actually trying to get along, it's really refreshing compared to all the other Lily/James stories on the archive.

There were a few spelling mistakes, mostly missed letters nothing too serious. But otherwise there weren't any issues with flow; even with the switch of P.O.V there wasn't any bumps in the flow of the chapter.

I really like this chapter; it's a great lead in to the rest of the story, with laying down James and Lily's relationship and the introduction of both of their friends. It leaves more room for plot in the rest of the chapters instead of introductions.

I look forward to reading more and finding out how Lily and James got together :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for review, and I'm SO (so so so) sorry it's taken me this long to respond! As you probably noticed, I've been on a bit of a long hiatus. I'm really glad you like having both POVs--I certainly like writing both. And it's awesome to hear that there's something a little new and refreshing about my version of their story...there are so many of these stories that it's tough to carve out a little niche for yourself!

I have no expectation that you're reading this reply a year and a half after leaving the review, but hopefully I'm sending out some vibes of gratitude your way nonetheless! Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by WeasleyTwins 

23rd September 2012:
Hello! You were lovely to stop by and review something of mine and I've /finally/ had time to drop by a story of yours!

Can I just say that this is a breath of fresh air? I'll be honest with you and say that this is pretty close to perfect, if not completely so. I'll try not to ramble and be all fangirlish :P

First off, I'd like to applaud you on your characterization. It's so wonderfully in-line with canon, but you've made it your own - that make sense? Readers see the characteristics of James and Lily that JKR gives us in the series and you've honored them, yet expanded them into a full-fledged character. James is flawed, as we expect him to be, but he is maturing and growing as an individual - the chapter shows this so well through descriptions and dialogue. Lily - oh my holy Harry Potter - I LOVE your characterization of her. Many of the fanfictions I've read have made her out to be either extremely temperamental or sweet and perfect. You've created a character that is realistic and that's one of the greatest accomplishments as a writer. I honestly don't know what else to say to you or how to say it - I couldn't help but be completely entranced with your characters. I fell in love with them - their faults and anxieties and strengths and humanity.

Your dialogue is divine. DIVINE. It was like sinking your teeth into the most delicious piece of chocolate cake and then finding it had Oreos baked in. Seriously. It's absolutely commendable and makes me insanely jealous! The only thing I saw that was a bit wonky (to me, at least) was in the following sentence: "Madam Pomfrey is excellent at reversing the effects of any jinxes or hexes, so try and remember where it is unless you get hit by one." - Shouldn't that say "if" instead of "unless"? But other than that, it was pure genius. There are always those writers we love because of the descriptions or the dialogue, but I have to say, I think you're a writer of both - you've got both strengths going for you.

You know, there's about a hundred thousand other things I want to say to you, but this chapter has completely overwhelmed me. I know that sounds ridiculous, but it's so refreshing and almost comforting to read a story that has honored JKR and the series, but composed something all their own, something that seems new. If we knew nothing about James & Lily, this would still hold its own and that's such an accomplishment. Overall, I enjoyed this immensely - it definitely takes a spot on my favorites list! :)

Shelby

Author's Response: Hi Shelby! Thank you so much for coming by to leave me a review. It was really nice of you!

And, um, OMG, all of your compliments just kind of put me into deer-in-the-headlights shock, because you're such a talented writer. Hearing you say "this is pretty close to perfect" is just like...amazing and will likely cause ME to ramble.

I'm so, so happy you like my characterization, and think it's in line with canon. :D I really did try to sit down and pinpoint the different aspects of their personalities that we see in canon, but at the same time, I didn't want to allow those to overly colour my characterizations. Too often, I think people take James or Lily's personality in "Snape's Worst Memory" and use it to characterize their every action and thought. James--I'm particularly glad that you like him, because he did give me some trouble at the start! Characters are what really fascinate me in writing, so it's always a thrill to hear that someone thinks I've done a good job with it. :D

AND DIALOGUE. I love dialogue. Can I just say, first, that I nearly keeled over when you said I do descriptions well? I ALWAYS feel like I struggle with description, so it's just the nicest thing to hear that you think I did well with it on this chapter. Dialogue, on the other hand, always comes more naturally to me and is more fun to write--it's even better when I get good feedback on it. :D (And yes, you're absolutely right about that line. Thanks for the heads-up!)

I'm just so happy and flattered that you liked the chapter. :) It's a huge compliment to hear that you think I've created a good balance between canon and my own interpretations. I know exactly that feeling you're describing; I've experienced it before, and knowing you feel that about this chapter is one of the best compliments I could receive!

Thank you again for the wonderful review! Much appreciated. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ravenclaw333 

11th September 2012:
I'm pretty slack with reviewing, but I thought I might just drop a line or two to say how much I'm enjoying this already - I tend to avoid Marauder stories, especially those about James and Lily in seventh year, because I never feel like writers can pull off their reconciliation and falling in love. But so far this looks extremely promising - the characterisations are believable, the relationship between them at this point seems just right. I will definitely keep reading (even though I have an assignment I should be writing...) Good job on a great first chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It's wonderful to hear that you're enjoying the story! :D

It seems like a lot of people avoid Marauders stories, and I completely understand why. They're by far my favourite type of story, but even I get discouraged sometimes! :P I really hope that as you read, you feel like I've done something good with James and Lily's story. It's one that's been stuck in my head (in various iterations) for probably about a decade now.

Holy crap. That was the first time I actually added that up in my head. O_o

Ahem. Anyway, as I was saying, it's a story that means a lot to me, and I've tried to make their reconciliation and falling in love as realistic as possible. I know it's depicted a lot, and usually it's not the most realistic romance...but I hope mine is in SOME small way. And I would appreciate if there's any feedback that you have--any points where it feels unrealistic or off. :)

I'm glad that so far, it seems good to you! I hope you keep reading, and I'd love to hear your thoughts as you do. No pressure to review every chapter or write big long reviews, though!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by starryskies55 

11th September 2012:
Oh dear lord, I'm in love already. I haven't felt this away about a fanfic since. who am I kidding? I've never felt this way! This is amazing, although I'm sure you don't need me to tell you that. It's a Marauders, that's well-written and doesn't seem to be shaping up with any cliches... cor, what isn't to adore?

I was going to read the sequel to this, and then I realised it was a sequel, so I popped on down and I'm so glad that I did, this is fantastic. I'm most definitely in love.

Your characterisations are superb, I love the dialogue, you've nicely inserted the threat of old mouldy Voldy, and this is so well-written, my jaw is on the floor. Seriously, amazing. The bit about Peter being good at concealment? Oh, that was genius and the reception of James in the dorm- that was priceless. And, I really hope you've done the wedding... that sounds really awesome.

I think I should shut up now. I've got some ironing to do, but I swear on Merlin's knickers I'll be back.

-Jenny.

Author's Response: Oh my god, Jenny, your reviews have made my LIFE. :D I'm so excited that you're loving the story! You're too nice, really. You'll have to be careful or this is all going to go to my head!

I'm thrilled to hear you like the characterizations and dialogue. I love characters; they're what drives me as a writer, so I always feel especially proud whenever someone says I've done well with them.

And what's a Marauders story without some Voldemort and Peter, right? Well...wait. I guess that's not always the case. :P But I don't see why people DON'T include them, because they're really the key to the poignancy of the whole story. I totally think Peter would have a talent for sneaking around unnoticed, based both on his Animagus form and on the obvious sneaking-around-unnoticed that he did as a spy.

I suppose it's not spoiling much to say that the wedding is included in a later chapter. :) I hope you like it when you get there!

Thank you so, so much for reading and reviewing. I have a feeling that your compliments are going to sustain me for ages. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sapphire_Skies 

21st May 2012:
So, this was written a rather long time ago, but I donít like reading without leaving a review, so here it is. Apologies if some of my points arenít really relevant anymore! First off, I love your characterisations. Lily, especially in the first section, was very interesting as I think you showed good and bad things about her personality. I especially liked how she was not at all fussed by becoming Head Girl. Itís not something Iíve ever seen in fanfic before, and while I think it is realistic that she is happy about the title, itís also realistic that she isnít, as well as a breath of fresh air. I also liked how guilty she felt about James and how she had treated him; itís something Iíve only seen a couple of times, but it is a good way to have her re-assess their Ďrelationshipí (for want of a better word) and for her to begin to see a different side to James. I think the part about how Lily feels in regard to the Mary and Mulciber incident is incredibly interesting, as, personally, I donít think it puts Lily in a good light. Maybe Iím interpreting it wrong, but to me it seems as if sheís distancing the event because of her feelings of guilt and not fully facing up to what happened to her friend. Iím sure that she was and is horrified at what happened and very supporting of her friend, but to me, it came across that her feelings might not be as pure and as genuine as they could have been. I think it takes great confidence in the likability of your characters to show them in this sort of light.

However, I think Lily in the second section came across as a bit of a harridan. Personally, I think it would have been better to have told the part where she interacts and finally apologises to James from Lilyís point of view, simply so we see the thought processes behind her behaviour. As it is, sheís rather contrasting between the two sections and there seems to be no reasons as to why she continually snaps at James, even though heís really doing nothing wrong, and I donít think it puts her in a good light. Seeing her thoughts would explain her behaviour and wouldnít paint her so negatively. Also, I think you spent a lot of time working up to the apology in Lilyís mind, but in the end, we donít get to see her do it.

I think youíve also done a great job with setting up Peter in this story as well, even though there are only a few mentions of him, they are mentions that tell a great deal. I like how itís Peter who Ďsavedí Mary from Mulciber, and more importantly, that Lily notes that it is Peter Ďof all peopleí, alluding to the fact that he is not as brilliant as Sirius and James are. I think that Peter is seriously mis-portrayed in a lot of fics, not only because people relegate him to the sidelines. Iíve seen many authors who try to over-compensate and Peter ends up being slightly more brilliant than he should be, but here, youíve done it well. Heís a Marauder, but not as brilliant.

Lilyís friends, also, are done very well, I think. I like Anna as a name; itís pretty, but also in keeping with the era. I like how there are mentions of potential storylines for Mary and Anna, Mary with this Ben Thatcher person, and Anna with her siblings. As characters, theyíre both interesting and well rounded.

Iíve gone on rather a lot about the characters, but I think in Marauder fics, they are important. I always think that good characters portends a good story and I guess Iíll have to read on to see if Iím right!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the review. As I said, I was a bit behind, but I finally got around to replying. Your comments are much appreciated! I suppose there is a part of me that looks back at this story as kind of set--I considered revamping major parts of it at different times, but then I decided it was best to just let it stand. Anyway, that doesn't mean I don't appreciate feedback still!

I'm thrilled to hear you like my characterizations (for the most part, at least). I am a character-driven writer, no doubt about it, so I try to spend a lot of time thinking about their personalities and relationships with each other. I have to say that I am very confident in the likeability of my (well, I say "my", but they're not REALLY mine) characters, but mostly because I think everyone should feel that way. It takes a lot to make a character truly, truly unlikeable, and no one has to work too hard to make readers like a character, I think. Mistakes and flaws just make them more relatable.

So, to focus on the first half of your comments about Lily--I'm glad to hear you liked those parts about her.I think, after being a prefect for two years, Head Girl might not have seemed quite as glamorous, especially because I don't see Lily as being in the mould of a character like Hermione. And as for the situation with Mary and Mulciber, I quite agree that it puts Lily in a bad light, and her guilt about the situation definitely causes her to avoid it. This isn't the last you hear of this issue, either. ;)

I think there's probably some merit in what you're saying about Lily's characterization in the second half. I reread an earlier version of this story, and Lily was quite horrible--I don't know what possessed me to write her like that! Anyway, it could be that some of that wasn't completely erased in editing. On the other hand, I think it's easy for her (in the first half) to resign herself to being nicer to James, and quite another thing for her to actually put it into practice. The fact that Lily doesn't apologize wasn't an oversight, I promise. ;)

I agree with your feelings about Peter, and I'm glad you like my portrayal of him. I see him as being a solid member of the group, even if he is a bit less brilliant than James and Sirius. I'm also happy to hear you like Mary and Anna--as I said, I'm all about the characters, and their relationships with Lily form a good part of later chapters.

I do hope you read on, and, if you do, that you continue enjoying the story! Thank you again for such a thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CypressQueen 

11th May 2012:
Hi.

I have only just started reading Marauders era stories and I'm already enjoying yours.

First of I would like to say thank you for trying to keep everything canon on your story. I hate it when everything is out of character or completly different to what it should be. It myst have taken you a long time to come up with Sorting Hat's song - I know that I couldn't do it.

Looking forward to reading the next chapter.
CypressQueen

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the review, and my apologies for taking a few weeks to reply.

I'm glad you are/were enjoying the story. Keeping it canon is important to me, so it's nice to hear that you think I've done well with that. :) It actually didn't take me too terribly long to come up with the Sorting Hat song--I kind of took the ones from the books as a starting point, and I've also never found poetry to be too daunting. You should try it sometime; you might surprise yourself!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by SiriuslyPeeved 

27th April 2012:
I'm excited to dive into this story after our discussion about James/Lily on the forums. I love your characterizations already, and I think you have given James a measure of self-doubt and anxiety (over Lily, anyway) which make him a more human character than he sometimes becomes in fanfic.

I love your Sorting Hat song -- it gives me a chill, thinking what is coming for these characters in canon. :(

This could be a Britishism of phrasing, but I wonder whether a few words accidentally were vanished:

"I should go. Anna and Mary will be wondering whatís taking me," (maybe it's intended to be "taking me so long" or "keeping me?"

This was fun, I look forward to reading more since I see you are working on a sequel too!

Author's Response: Hey! Wow, thank you so much for coming to read and review! :)

I'm thrilled to hear you like my characterizations. I'm a very character-driven writer, so hearing that makes me feel really good. I see James and Lily as so very human in my mind, and I imagine James would have some self-doubt after years of getting turned down by the same girl.

Oh, the number of times I've gotten those chills, too... :P Their story is really awful, if you think about it too much (which I try not to do). I am glad you liked the Sorting Hat song, though! :)

As for that phrase, I think it is a mistake. I actually sat here for a couple minutes, thinking about whether maybe it was just a Me-ism, not a Britishism, but I honestly can't figure it out just from reading it. (How weird is that? You'd think I'd know what kind of phrases I use.) Anyway, I can see how it sounds awkward, so I'll go edit that.

Hope you enjoy the rest of the story! Don't feel obligated to review every chapter, or anything, but I'd love to know what you think as the story progresses.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Linzy 

19th February 2012:
How did you come up with this? Brilliant... But it sounds kind of American in my mind... If you don't mind me saying. I am a huge Harry Potter fan... HUGE and I loved reading this

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the review! I'm so glad to hear that you loved reading the story. :) No problem if it sounds American; I'm Canadian and lived in the US for a good number of years, so that's understandable. I try to avoid obvious Americanisms, but I suppose I can't eliminate it completely!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by classicblack 

9th December 2011:
Can I just say that I love how you have Lily being not particularly fond of being Head Girl- and not because of James either, but because it's just annoying? I think that's the first time I've ever read that in a story. Also, it's pretty boss that you made up your own Sorting Hat song. Bonus originality/ creativity points.
"...Peter, who had always had a knack for concealment." Do I sense foreshadowing in this line? Peter concealed the fact that he was working for Voldemort, didn't he?
So this seems like a really interesting story and a fresh take on Lily-James. I can't wait to read more.
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: All right, so, first off: you rock. The reviews you left are super-fantastic! They made me grin like an idiot and laugh so many times. And you are so perceptive--you pick up on so many little things I tried to sneak in there like a...sneaky author. (Like the Peter thing you mentioned here.) Thank you, thank you, thank you!

And also, my apologies for taking a while to answer.

I'm glad you liked Lily's attitude! I figure after being a prefect for two years, the shine probably would have worn off a bit. How fun can telling off your classmates be, anyway?

Thanks again, and I'm so glad you liked the beginning of the story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by AngelEyez3954 

30th September 2011:
Happy Birthday-Exchange!!!

This is a really great start to your story. It has action, mixed with just enough background information, so that the reader doesn't drown in the details, but still has an idea about the setting. I also love how you incorporate small bits of canon here and there, such as Mary's (I'm assuming Mary Macdonald, who was mentioned in DH?) run-in with Mulciber, whom Lily mentions to Snape in "the Prince's Tale" as one of his Death Eater friends.

I like the way you're developing the characters, and I am looking forward to reading more. Great job :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And wow, I am SO sorry it's taken me this long to reply. I really appreciate the reviews, especially because you gave some excellent feedback!

It's great to hear this was a good start. I know exactly what you mean about drowning in details, and I'm glad I managed to avoid that. :) It is certainly the Mary MacDonald who was mentioned in The Prince's Tale!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

30th September 2011:
I LOVED it. A lot :) You're a fantastic writer!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really appreciate the compliment, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Noblevyne 

30th June 2011:
I was never sure I ever reviewed your stuff in the first place and thought it best to start from the beginning as I have a memory like a sieve.

Excellent starting chapter. I think you've been able to give Lily a very well defined personality in only one chapter - she's as I would imagine her: feisty, stubborn, proud, but kind hearted and smart too.

Good work with James too - he can be a grown up too! But I like that behind all that bravado he's just a lovesick puppy who is determined to win Lily over.

The sorting hat's song was marvellous as well. And those things are impossible to write.

Author's Response: Okay, first, I am STILL recovering from the double-shock of not only seeing that this story was over 700 reviews (which I thought was going to take a while), and also seeing that you--YOU--were the one to push me over that marker. Seriously, I'm sure this is going to sound really lame, but you are like a Marauders-Era legend, so I'm kind of starstruck, and extremely flattered.

Okay...trying to organize thoughts here. Right. I did spend a great deal of time thinking about characterization before I ever began writing this story. I realize in retrospect that it was an indication that characters are what I find most compelling to write, something I've slowly come to realize the more that I write. I'm always very pleased whenever someone says they like my characters. :) I'm glad Lily and James seem realistic the way that I've written them--so many people write them, but it's not always easy to do (as I'm sure I don't need to tell you :P).

I'm pretty sure I wrote the Sorting Hat song at about 2 in the morning one night, haha. Ideas like that tend to make a lot of sense late at night. :P But, actually, it wasn't half as bad as a I thought it would be. I kind of like writing poems (not that I do it often), so this was kind of like that.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing not only this story, but the sequel, as well. I'm so awed and thankful, and I really look forward to responding to the rest of them!


 Report Review

Review #14, by katebabelovesharrypotter 

3rd February 2011:
I loved it! You're amazing!

Author's Response: How flattering! :D Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by doglover 

20th December 2010:
this sounds like a really good story.

Author's Response: Hi doglover! Thank you for the review, and I apologize for taking quite a while to reply. I'm glad I caught your interest in the first chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlPadfootPotter96 

16th December 2010:
Great story beginning! I love James/Lily fics and I'm looking forward to finishing this! Gotta keep reading :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I see you left me lots of reviews and I was really slow at replying, but I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ellie 

13th December 2010:
Well, I found your story on Padfoot4Ever's favourites and am glad I did. Good start and I'm really pleased you put the sorting hat song in there...
Ellie ☺♥

Author's Response: Hi Ellie! Thanks so much for the reviews. :) I'm glad you discovered the story and you enjoyed it. The Sorting Hat's song was actually pretty fun to write, and it's always fantastic to hear that other people think I did well with it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by girly1393 

8th September 2010:
I enjoy this approach. Serious, determined, and yet with jokes and stunts. I really am going to enjoy reading this.

I also like Lily's attitude about Head Girl. I really never thought she'd see it that way.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Okay, so, I just gotta say...having read every single one of your reviews now...YOU ARE AMAZING! Seriously, I was just smiling from ear to ear with each new review; it was awesome. Thank you so, so, so much for leaving these reviews for me--for reviewing EVERY chapter of my story. It means a lot. :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this first chapter and the tone I set in it. I enjoy a lot of light-hearted stories, but what I really wanted to try and portray was definitely the more serious side of Lily and James' romance--because it's there, in almost overwhelming quantities. And it's kind of incredible, in my opinion, so much so that I don't think I could ever fully do justice to it, but when I get reviews like yours, it makes me feel like just *maybe* I achieved something close to it. :D

I thought that perhaps, having been a prefect and gone through the frustration of giving detentions and that kind of thing, Lily might not be so enamoured with the actual duties of being Head Girl. I think she'd be proud of herself, but I don't know if she would really look forward to the job.

I'm going away for the weekend so the majority of your reviews may sit unanswered for several days, but I promise they're on my to-do list as soon as I get back. Thank you so much (again)!


 Report Review

Review #19, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

26th August 2010:
It's a long story how I stumbled upon this, but basically I was looking for a completed novel to read, because I have trouble remembering stories that are works in progress. Then I remembered you had a nice completed novel, and since I rarely read Marauders anyway, I came over here.

This was an engaging read. It's the kind of story that you click on the first chapter, and it flows so easily and evenly and everything falls neatly into place. You're characters have evidently been well plotted out and are likable, your dialogue is witty and natural, and you include little details that show you've thought this through. As first chapters go, it was great. It's hard to find a story that you slip so easily into, but I've slid here nicely. Usually five thousand word chapters are a drag, but this one flew by, and that's also the mark of a good writer.

The only thing that flicked on a red CC flag was the section around the middle when you described the Sorting Hat's song (good song, by the way, those are hard to come up with) and went through Dumbledore's speech. It sounded like you took the song of OotP and the mashed the SS/PS and OotP speeches together almost. At least, the similarities were so large that I, who haven't read the HP books in a year or two, noticed the difference. That's not a lot coming from the person who knows the books practically by heart anyway, but the similarity was almost bothering. I just didn't want you to lose inspiration and go running off to the books for tons of guidance.

Other than that, great job. Like I said, it was an extremely natural read and I could tell that you put a lot of care and time into thinking things through and planning this out. Nice work.

Author's Response: Hi, Sarah! I'm so flattered you thought of me when you were looking for a longer story to read. :) And even better, you left a great review! Thank you so much for dropping by.

I'm so glad you found this such a breeze to read and get into. I honestly was so worried at the beginning of the story that I was going to bore people to death, so to know that it was easy to get through all 5,000 words is fantastic to hear. :) I did re-write this chapter several times, so perhaps that's why it comes off as well-planned. :P

I think you're absolutely right in that there are parts of this that sound quite similar to the books, especially the Sorting Hat's song. At several different points, I thought of just taking it out, because I didn't feel like the song was very unique or showed anything much different from the books--I guess I was too attached to it to let it go, though. :P The only thing I'll say in my own defence there is that I imagine much of the start-of-term speeches made by Dumbledore would be comprised of the same messages, especially given that the situation with the war would bring out some parallels. Regardless, I definitely know that section was written with the books in mind, though, so I'm not at all surprised to hear you say that you were having some deja vu. :P No one else really brought it up before, but now that someone has, I'm inspired to go back and take a look at that section...I feel fairly confident that I can alter it enough that it won't seem SO similar to the books. ;) I'm glad you took the time to point that out!

Thanks again for coming by to read and review; it really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Abhorsen 

20th August 2010:
I really liked this. You had such a realistic portrayal of the girls in this fic. Everyone has a back-story and everyone has a real life. In so many other stories, the supporting characters just fall completely by the way-side. They don't have anything distinct that they do except hang out with the main characters, so really good job there.

I loved that you brought in the Sorting Hat song, along with its mention of pressures from the outside world. A lot of authors forget how scary a time the Marauder era actually was. You captured that quite well.

Excellent, 9/10

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the review. :)

I'm glad you felt like the girls were very realistic--I did try my very hardest to turn them into good characters, but since I hadn't done any creative writing in years, I really didn't have much of an idea of what I was doing. :P It's very encouraging to hear that they turned out well!

I do agree that the war is such an important part of a Marauders Era story--it does often get forgotten, but for the nature of the story I wanted to write, I really couldn't go without making it a main focus. :)

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by _hedwig_ 

16th August 2010:
Hey! Me again, being a stalker to your story...again...

I felt depressed because I can't find another story that even COMPARES to this one, so I'm reading it again. This story has got to be one of the BEST James/Lily fics in the history of the entire UNIVERSE.

I know, you're like, whoa! But I'm not kidding. Feel proud. You deserve it!

And now, for the ACTUAL review:

Oh, Mary. It's always the quiet ones...

Great job on voicing James! He's such a fantastic person!

Author's Response: Hi hedwig!

Hey, I'm not going to complain about you stalking my story. :P It makes me feel flattered, actually, as does the fact that you're re-reading it. It really does just make me smile so much that you think the story is great. I actually am rather proud of this story, since you bring it up--there are things I would have done differently or changed, looking back, but on the whole, I feel very fondly about the story. :) It just makes it that much better that other people also really like it!

I'm so happy you like my characterization of James, too...writing from a male POV was kind of daunting, and I spent a lot of time trying to dissect his personality, so it's good to know that he turned out well!

Thanks again for the review! I don't know if you've started reading the sequel yet (it's been so long since I updated that I sincerely apologize if I forgot that you already reviewed it), but I hope that I will have a new chapter before TOO too long, so you won't have to just resort to coming back to re-read this story. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by kirsti 

9th August 2010:
great chapter! very well written =)

Author's Response: Thanks, Kirsti! It's always nice to hear when someone is enjoying what I've written. :) I hope you enjoy (or enjoyed) the rest of the story, too!

 Report Review

Review #23, by happy_person 

1st July 2010:
excellent story so far. Your writing style has to be the most polished up and sophisticated i have had the pleasure to read in a long time. i can't wait to read more, i know it will only get better! ;D well done!

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, I'm so flattered that you think my writing is so good. I do think that it improves as the story progresses, and these earlier chapters make me cringe in places...but anyway, if you're enjoying it, that's what matters! :)

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by LoveTomRiddle 

26th June 2010:
I just thought I'd read this story again and again, and again. He he. Marauders Fan Fictions are my guilty pleasures.

I loved Anna calling her siblings, the Ds (Dumb-asses) That was amazing!

Have an awesome day!

Author's Response: Hi again! Wow, I feel so flattered that you're re-reading my story! :) Though I also feel bad, because if this silly writer's block would go away, you could read a NEW chapter, and not just have to re-read this story...

Still, though, I'm very flattered, and thank you so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Isannah 

15th June 2010:
Wow. You should be a writer someday.

Author's Response: Hi Isannah! Wow, thank you for this and for all the other reviews you've left. It's so great to hear from a new reader!

I'm very flattered that you think I'm a good writer. :) I certainly hope I will write in some capacity in my future career, so it's great to hear a vote of confidence!

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>