Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Ugh, exams and revision! I finished my own about a month ago now and reading about their OWLs made me feel sorry for them again, especially when they were all staring wistfully out of the window and wishing that they could go outside in the sun instead of being stuck inside revising things like Potions and Charms. You did a good job of keeping that part of the chapter interesting because I think it could be far too easy just to list everything that's going on. Poor Remus, having his transformation fall in the middle of his exams, though. I liked the conversation the girls had about the nicknames - it made me laugh and it was nice to have a lighter moment in all the heavy revision of this chapter!

Ah, the section at the end was fantastic! I felt like we started to see Laura come into her own a bit here when she decided to stand up to Sirius, who could definitely be scary and intimidating. And like the others said, she was just about the only person in the year who could put him straight on having family reputations preceding you somewhere.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yeah, exams and revision. It's hard to make them interesting but OWLs are such a huge part of Hogwarts life you can't really ignore them. Even Harry had to do them, and he got excused from exams much more than he probably should have. :)

Yes, poor Remus, but I actually used the RL lunar calendar for this and it looked like the full moon would be right in the middle of exams. So I wrote it in. As for the nicknames, well wouldn't you have had that reaction at 16 years of age? I know I would have.

Ah, that bit at the end. I really loved that, to be honest. It's great to see her standing up for herself like that, even if he was rather intimidating - which I expect he would have been.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Britta 

17th April 2014:
I'm german but I really love! your story. I'm 18 and I'm reading it every time I have nothing to do at work. Can't wait to read the other chapters! Sometimes it's hard for me to understand what mary says, but that doesn't matter.
Go on with your writing, your really talented!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And I'm sorry about Mary's accent - I've had some really mixed reviews about it and I confess I didn't think initially about how hard it would be for people whose first language is not English. Thanks for persevering!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Bellatrix la strange 

28th September 2013:
I really love this fan fic

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Olga 

30th December 2012:
Yay Laura! She is ABSOLUTELY right!

Author's Response: Yep, she is. It just took Sirius a while to realise that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by JustanotherHarryPotterfan3816 

26th November 2012:
yay! 3 cheers for Laura! I think that pretty much explains everything. ^_^

Author's Response: Yep, three cheers! I was very proud of her here, to be honest. Glad you liked it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elizajane 

23rd June 2012:
I absolutely love this chapter. Especially Laura standing up for herself. I love how in "The Process of Becoming Tamed," Sirius remembers this incident and has to convince himself that Laura isn't scary. :)

Author's Response: It's a good one, isn't it? I thought it was important that our heroine stand up to Sirius, and this was the perfect opportunity (and something she was more than qualified to do). Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by QuaffleHowl46 

5th June 2012:
"I think I've just committed social suicide."
LOL, loved that :-D

Author's Response: thanks! I thought it was quite a good line myself.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lillylover22 

29th February 2012:
I like that laura stood up to sirius 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Don't you think that someone had to? And who better than our heroine?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by singer123 

12th December 2011:
Sirius really is an arrogant brat...
Laura is finally standing up for herself!
Not "uncool" anymore.

Author's Response: Well, she's still uncool, but uncool with spunk because she's willing to stand her ground against someone like Sirius Black. I quite like that scene - glad you do too! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Stars Dream Lola 

6th December 2011:
Definately the best chapter by far! Adored the fight with sirius! So clever xx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! This was a fun chapter to write, and the fight with Sirius was probably the most fun, hahaha. Glad you enjoyed it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by classicblack 

12th October 2011:
Great job! Maybe the "dodgy potions" thing was a bit too much like the 5th book, but otherwise I love how you stick to canon!
I love Laura putting Sirius in his place like that. Oh, he definitely had it coming. I laughed out loud again at that furry little problem part, by the way. You're such a good writer! Can't wait to see your interpretation of Snape's Worst Memory!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: The dodgy potions thing may have been like the fifth book - that's crtainly where I got the idea from - but why would it have been any different in 1976 than 1996? I would imagine there would still have been students trying to beat the odds to get a decent mark. :) As for Sirius, yes he certaily had it coming. Time he was put in his place, I think. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne 

5th August 2011:
Lily is a bit like Hermione in this chapter with her banning and confiscating items, and the way she studies and picks up tiny facts.
I am loving how everyone has brought the 'rabbit' problem so much that they never question it, and the discussion of the boys nicknames is pure genius!
uh-oh Lauras angered Sirius! that can't be good. Maybe it'll knock down his ego :-p Wow! he apologised? I am amazed!
This chapter flowed so well and it was so great and enjoyable reading, you're timing this perfectly and nothing seems rushed at all, everything seems to be developing nicely.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: I really like Lily in this. We know she was a prefect, we know that she was smart, so this was me trying to combine those facts into a cohesive character. And some people are just inherently good at certain things, so I threw that in too. You're not the only person who's said she's channelling Hermione, though. :)

I liked the rabbit thing, because it seemed likely that that was how it was considered. Odd at first, but then so old-news that no one even thought critically about it any more. As for the nicknames, if you were a 16 year old girl confronted wtih those nicknames for the most popular boys in school, you'd react the same way, wouldn't you? *grins*

So pleased you're still enjoying this!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by GrednForgeJumpers 

27th July 2011:
THIS was utterly BRILLIANT, ( not that any of the other chapters weren't ) , but by far my favorite! Excellent writing !

Author's Response: Thanks again! I quite liked this chapter as well, it covered a lot of things but seemed to work pretty well when it was all put together. Very pleased you enjoyed it as well. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Weasleypuff 

26th June 2011:
Luvvv this I like mary's accent and was surprised when the note didn't sound all Irish of course she doesn't write like that you at perfectly in canon and I luv how I can connect everything to the up series u are writing with the fluency of jk Rowling!

Author's Response: Hi! thanks for the review!

Yes, you're right, Mary wouldn't write with a Scottish accent, she just speaks with one. :) Very pleased you're enjoying the story so far, though, and I hope you keep on reading. Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Yea for Laura! I'm glad someone finally put Sirius straight.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: LOL. Yes, I'm rather fond of the argument scene, and pretty proud of Laura for standing her ground and effectively humiliating him in the process. I think he needed it (and it gives some further incentive for the Snape scene later on, because he wanted someone else to get humiliated so people would forget about him). Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by JayJay 

5th April 2011:
Wow! I'm so proud of Laura! She put that Sirius Black right in his place. haha. And I think he might have been just a little impressed.. ;) Am I right or am I right? :)

Author's Response: Yes, good old Laura. She really surprised him just by talking back to him, so I was rather proud of her about that. He did give it to her on a platter, though, without realising it ... one thing I will say about him was that he wasn't exactly known for thinking things through, was he? *grins*

And yeah, a little impressed. Just quietly, of course. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by theelderwand 

19th August 2010:
It flows brilliantly.

All the flourishes were good. I liked this:


"But Memory Potions are easy," said Lily, her eyes flicking up to us from over The Standard Book of Spells Grade Four, which she was rereading to try to jog her memory from the previous years work. "You just get some Jobberknoll feathers"

Chaneling a little Hermione there. LOL! I like your characterization of Lily - it feels right.

The Marauders flourishes were all good - the cloak, running out to be with Remus, who was thought to be home dealing with the "rabit problem." And the nickname discussion the girls had got me chuckling. Great stuff.

But by far and away, her argument with sirius was just stellar. I never made the connection about personality assumptions based on family affiliation being somthing they had in common. Not sure from your author's note whether that was planned or, when you got to the argument, the muse just smacked you with it, but I'd love to know.

Superb!

Eldy

Author's Response: Ah, Lily. We know she was good at Potions so I thought her being able to rattle off how to make a Memory Potion without even thinking about it would be a nice idea. :) Perhaps she's channelling a little of Hermione - or perhaps Hermione channelled here a bit!

I'm very proud of the nicknames discussion - it was one of those things that once you sit down and think about it, how else were a bunch of 16 yo girls going to intepret something like that? And their blind acceptance of the rabbit story was again something I quite liked, because as Laura said, the first few times it seemed strange but after that you just didn't think about it any more.

As for your question, yes, that was always something they were going to have in common - being different from expectations based around family members. That's one of the reasons Bea exists in the first place - that, and she was a brilliant reason for Laura to fade into the background for the first 5 years of her schooling. But yes, it was quite deliberate. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

18th August 2010:
"Even Peeves seemed to be imbued with the realisation that peace and quiet were needed, so we couldnít even rely on him to pull us out of our OWLs-inspired frenzy." Peeves actually managed to behave himself, I'm shocked. Is that even possible? Although I suspect the Blood Barron must have had something to do with that! I particularly enjoyed the conversation about the nicknames, I guess I had forgotten they were more of an inside type joke, which would make sense, as opposed to everyone openly referring to them by their respective nicknames. Because of course, they don't make sense to anyone else... The chapter actually flowed extremely well in my belief, there was not a dull moment and I can really relate to those almost last minute cramming sessions with friends where the topic on discussion seems to drift entirely away from what you're studying, so for me it was believable and highly realistic and I could actually relate! Well done! I'm on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ah, good old OWLs. I figured the kids needed a break from distractions (or, too many distractions) and just get along with their studying, so Peeves was kept quiet for a little while. I am very proud of the nicknames conversation, though - the way I see it, teh boys would have just started using them and no one else would have had any idea what they referred to - glad you agree! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
"Worth it, though, she wrote back. It's a fair effort putting him in his place like that." - couldn't have put it better myself! Finally, someone points out to Sirius that he is somewhat up himself and self-centred, and even better, it's Laura herself! Deeply enjoyed this bit of dialogue, and was particularly impressed by the way you pointed out how Sirius had handed her a counter argument, thus making it look more natural in the first place.

Also adored the speculation about the nicknames - I had never really thought about how these might be interpreted by the other students of the time, but now I can't imagine them being taken in any other way. Poor Wormtail - no wonder he goes over to the dark side.

Will Sirius ever deflate his ego? Will Lily ever say yes? Off to find out the answers to all this and more!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, the argument during OWLs. Another personal favourite, though I admit I used a bit of creative licence in putting Bea right at that place right at that time. In real life, what would be the chances? *grins* But yes, it needed to be pointed out to him and who better to do that than our heroine, who is the one person who could have used that counter argument?

As for the nicknames, I based that on conversations I had with my friends when I was 16, and of course they were all heavily suggestive, as most conversations are at that age. So how else would a bunch of 16 year old girls interpret those nicknames? In any case, that was my thinking when I wrote it. And yes, poor Peter. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
yay!!! a fight with sirius :) and he apologized! wow!

Author's Response: Yes, he apologised. He realised he'd been in the wrong and fortunately for Laura was big enough to man up about it. Unusual, I'll admit,but I wanted to give him this much credit at least. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by ericajen 

27th July 2010:
Well, just like Lily, I am also very proud of Laura! That was really impressive of our heroine(: I'm glad to see her standing up for herself because it shows that she's not just some pushover that Sirius Black can control. She's her own person.

Also, I thought it was really clever how you tied in Remus's 'furry little problem' as the devil-bunny that's supposedly his pet.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, the fight in OWLs. I liked that one too, but Sirius really did walk right into it, hahaha. But yes, Laura really stuck to her guns and I like that in her.

As for the furry little problem, well that too was just so much fun to work in. That poor rabbit. *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Schnatz 

29th April 2010:
Hey, don't worry about that your answers for my reviews last a little bit. It's no problem for me. Anyway I rather have to excuse that I need so much time reading your story.
It's okay that you didn't want to answer my question intimately. I was only interested if you're a schoolgirl or a woman or so ... and I'm really interested and fascinated by the UK so that was the reason why I asked you where you come from. Sometimes I'm too nosy, sorry for that.
I enjoyed the last chapters and I'm really looking forward the next. I absolutely loved the conversation about the nicknames :)
I'll write you soon,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

Don't apologise for being curious - you're certainly not the first person to ask those questions ... I just felt a bit guilty that I didn't want to answer them. But no, not from the UK, so I'm not the person to ask if you have any questions about it. Sorry :D

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this chapter. I thought it was a pretty strong one so it's nice to have that confirmed by other people.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by ochalke5 

5th January 2010:
I love that Laura just told him off... i actually read it yesterday but the review didn't send, so i really just want to see what happens next! Great chapter darling!
10/10
nataile

Author's Response: Hi Natalie! Thanks for reviewing! :D

Yes, I was rather proud of that little argument scene at the end there. Actually, I'm quite proud of the whole chapter, with the nicknames discussion and all that as well. Good to see you agree with me! *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by make you want it 

2nd November 2009:
I do like the discussion about the nicknames, I can imagine that there would have been some speculation on where those came from :)
Yes I am from Cardiff, Well if all you've used is an atlas then you've done very well. I asumed you were British, are you American..?
Please dont feel bad about depriving me of sleep its been half term for the past two weeks so I havn't slept all that much anyway.
As I said its been half term, and its now over so I'm going back to boarding school tonight, I think this site may be blocked on the internet at my school so please dont be put off if I dont review for a while as as soon as I get home again I shall carry on reading :)

Anyway I'm going to try fit in another chapter before I go :)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

No, not British OR American - I'm from what I think some British people refer to as "the colonies". And that means that the British influence on our language is a lot stronger than it is in America so it hasn't been as hard for me to keep everything approximately right. I also have some readers who tell me when I get a word or a phrase wrong so I can go back and change it. I do like to stay accurate. :D

As for taking a while between reads, well as long as you are reading my story then I'm happy. You're doing me a favour by reviewing at all so whenever you can do that is okay by me.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by pinaygrl3123 

11th October 2009:
I loved that chapter. It was good, all around. I love that bit about how those nicknames even came to be. Haha. It was perfect timing and such. I loved the bit about Fawkes, aw. Phoenixes look soo cool! Ah, I wish they were all real. But man, thinking of examinations is just painfu---OH! OMG. I just remembered a test I have tomorrow! Oh... DAMN! But yeah. Thanks for that, I guess. Haha. Um, Laura blowing up on Sirius was AMAZING I'm so proud of her! She's definitely making an impact on him, that's for sure. Being kind about being dared to dance with her, lying to Snivellus, and now bruising his ego. Go Laura! Haha. (:

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, this chapter is pretty popular I think. I love the nicknames talk and the argument at the end, the first bit because it's just SO 16-year-old girls, the second because I needed to have those two notice each other a bit more (as well as have that discussion). So yeah, I'm glad you liked it. :D

Oh, and good luck with your test tomorrow! ;-D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>