Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DontBeSilly 

18th September 2011:
I liked this chapter because it clearly shows how magic was treated in the Founders time. Which is probably why they wanted to start a school. So that children with their talents would have a safe place to go. I really like the way you tell this story. It's awesome!

 Report Review

Review #2, by spreaddapoo93 

4th December 2009:
Beautiful! I can just imagine that fine, rugged, sexy man we know as Russell Crowe as Godric Gryffindor! Great character sketches, great plot and I am eager to read the next chapter!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Happy Lily Potter 

4th October 2009:
This is absolutely amazing. Great, great story. Love it so much. =D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Erich 

15th September 2009:
I once thought of writing a fairy tale-like story, but I can't form a really good plot. And I didn't worried because I thought nobody would write a fairy tale-like story, but here it is! I'm in love with this story! I wish I'm the one who's writing it!
Your Medieval world really keeps me rapt every night!

Author's Response: I hope you write one! They're a lot of fun and you shouldn't worry about the plot ... just go for it because stream of consciousness writing can be really entertaining and good for you! You never know what ideas can come from it :) You're so kind, thank you very much for enjoying my story.

 Report Review

Review #5, by chiQs09 

11th September 2009:
I'm still awed about your writing, Jules. This was a great chapter. :)
What kind of helmet does Helena wear that her brothers didn't recogize her face? Is it one that covers the whole head/face? Just wondering...
I found her brothers really amusing when they neared the dragon. :) Helena seemed braver than them, and she's a girl!

I could picture the dragon very perfectly. So it understands the human language? Or does Helena have a certain gift? Seeing that the dragon was drawn to her I would guess that she's something special. Or maybe it was just because of her blonde hair... Is this the dragon with the secret that Helena will discover later in the story?

So Godric's now banned and his sword has been taken away... I'm wondering what's this Cynric up to...

I'm excited to read more. Love this story! ^_^

Author's Response: Mitchy! It's so awesome to hear from you, you have no idea :)

Yes, the helmet covers her entire face. I pictured one of those knight helmets that has a kind of grating over the nose and mouth and a small opening for the eyes. And her brothers are all talk ;)

The dragon does understand the human language and it will be explained as to why it was drawn to her and Gideon.

So glad you're loving the story! It means a ton and I appreciate your review dear *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #6, by onestop_hpfan18 

4th September 2009:
I liked the action this chapter had in it. It was like one of those medival historical fictions that are so fun to read because it's from a time when people believed in dragons, sorcery, and enchantments. And the banishment of Godric Gryffindor was jaw-dropping just watching the interaction between the characters; the loathing between Godric and Cynric especially. Great job; 10/10

Author's Response: Hi Leslie! Thanks so, so much for your review :) It's been fun writing this despite the fact that it is not historically accurate whatsoever, but I think that makes it even more fun. I can wildly invent all the kingdoms and situations and magical creatures I want! I'm really glad you liked the Cynric and Godric drama as well; more on that later! I appreciate your review and I'm so happy you're enjoying it so far!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ginny321 

28th June 2009:
Great chapter, I can't wait to read about Rowena and Slytherin!
10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Ginny! I'm glad you liked this story so far!

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday 

21st June 2009:
I actually liked the way you incorporated Godric's story in the middle of this chapter -- I didn't think it seemed abrupt or anything. I would really like to see all four Founders' stories woven together like that.

Godric is very funny -- "We will give all of our children names beginning with 'G.'"

And I'm seriously intrigued by Helena's seeming ability to communicate with the dragon! I definitely can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Oh great! I'm thrilled that you thought Godric's story was woven in okay. I think I'm going to be concentrating on Helga's story with the other Founders crossing paths with her, and slowly their stories will unfold. Glad you liked Godric's humor :) Between the four of them, things could probably get very serious, so we need some fun Founders and I like to think of him as a sort of brash, sarcastic, but well meaning man. Thanks my dear!

 Report Review

Review #9, by JLHufflepuff 

12th June 2009:
I am enchanted and bewitched by your writing style. It's basically like reading original fiction since you've had to mainly create these characters from the ground up with only a few traits you have the liberty to incorporate however you want to.

I think it's great the way this chapter starts off with Helena being "Herman." I thought that was really funny for some reason. I thought the part about her getting to experience the things she's always looked at from the tower as very profound. She's truly at the beginning of a daring adventure... So, when she gets captured, I think that it's pretty safe to say that she is not necessarily 100% upset since she's getting to experience life, including danger. I think you described and portrayed the dragon extremely well. I'm curious about it's seeming intelligence and what that means.

Then, the section with Gryffindor - woo! First of all, I love the courtly setting and the fact that he is a mysterious orphan. That is probably my favorite archetype in the world, and I'm interesting to see if he finds out about his true origins. The threat of Cynric and the way it is actually carried out was very skillfully done and a great set up for what is to come. And he has to lose his sword, poor guy! One thing I was wondering about is whether he was allowed to leave with his wife or not. She was screaming, but was she coming with him or staying there? Based on the teaser you wrote about him, it made me think that she's probably getting left behind.

I'm also loving the names you're choosing. I would be completely at a loss, but you chose some good ones that go with the period as well as reveal a little bit of character...

This is a treat! I love it and can't wait for more whenever you have time! *hugs*

Author's Response: Jessi! You always leave the best reviews :) I'm enchanted and bewitched by your writing style too so I guess we're even! I'm so flattered that you think it sounds like original fiction - it's what I am practicing for! That's why I like to focus on minor characters so I can pretend they are mine :D

So glad you liked Helena and the start of her adventure! I would agree with you - she's not the type to be easily frightened by something like this, since she has been kind of asking for it all along. Way better than sitting in a tower, I'll bet... as long as she doesn't get eaten! And there will be much more on the dragon as the story continues - he's very intelligent as you will see and has a lot to do with how the Founders come together and form Hogwarts.

Oh good, you liked Gryffindor's appearance!! I was afraid it would be too cliche to have him be a mysterious orphan, but I really wanted to create this dynamic of jealousy in the court where he grew up. I need him to be sort of outcast and he won't be if he's some rich famous guy's son. And yes you're right, his wife is getting left behind ... his enemy will see to that!

Thanks my dear! I'm so glad you enjoyed this so far *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #10, by ginnygirl808 

26th May 2009:
i am sad. .. no more chapters. . . amazing. .. . have not figured out where it is going but if u update soon i shall find out. . . amazing i LOVE this story. . . keep up the good work. .. cant wait for the sequal to give up this fight as well!amazing keep up the good work! update soon!

Author's Response: Oh don't you worry, lots more chapters coming soon! I haven't figured exactly where it's going either, so don't worry, I'm with you on that :P I'm very happy that you loved this story and I can't wait to hear what you think of the updates!

Oh me too, I'm very excited to write the sequel to GUTF. That's coming out this summer so stay tuned :D Thank you for all your reviews, my dear, they made me smile!


 Report Review

Review #11, by sworntofun_loyaltonone 

25th May 2009:
This story is really good... nice banner by the way. I'm glad someone finally wrote a decent founders story...

Author's Response: Oh thanks! My friend chiQs09 made me this banner, isn't she a wonderful graphic artist? I'll tell her you complimented the banner :D I'm so happy you enjoyed this story and I hope you'll keep on reading!

 Report Review

Review #12, by siriuslyhockey 

20th May 2009:
YAY! chapter 2. I decided to check and see if you updated and you did! YAY again!

I liked this chapter a lot. Learner about Godric was exciting. Lot's of action in his portion of this chapter. I wonder if he will ever see his wife again and if he will try to sneak back into the castle to get his sword.

Cynric, what an awful little weasel, can't wait until he gets what's coming to him hehe

I love how Helena is so much braver than her brother Gideon, and kinder too. What a great character.

Now I just can't wait to read about the other to founders. Your histories for each of them are so imaginative and I like how each one is different and can exist on their own. Of course, I can't wait until they all get together though, as I expect they will.

Good luck on your next chapter, I know how tough it is to stick to it sometimes :)

~Kristina

Author's Response: Hi K! :) You're wonderful for stopping by to read, thank you very much.

Thrilled that you liked learning about Godric! He's going to be a challenging character to write. (And Salazar as well, actually. Strong personalities are always tough to make realistic, I think, without getting too cliche.) You will find out whether he'll see Gwendolyn and/or the sword again! :)

Who said Cynric is going to get what's coming to him? :D ;)

Oh I'm so glad you like Helena. I know she's still a bit sketchy so far since she's in the early stages of characterization, but you'll get to know her better as we go along and hopefully I can bring her well out of Mary Sue territory, if she is anywhere near.

Thank you! I will stick to this story 100%, I'm having so much fun writing it. It's just finding the time and motivation to do it :) :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Billion 

19th May 2009:
Hi Jules! *hugs*

Wonderful chapter, yet again. I actually don't remember much from the first so I had no idea who Gideon was but that's ok. His loss of composure when facing the dragon was hilarious. I wonder why the dragon took only him and Helena (who can communicate with dragons?)? Now that they're stuck together with no weapons or food I wonder what they're going to do.

I'm glad you introduced Godric in this chapter - at his wedding no less! Was Constantine absent the entire time or only for the reception? I'm surprised Cynric waited till the wedding day to bring his complaints to the king. One of the impetus was the Lady Gwenolyn I presume...so maybe he just wanted to crush Godric during his happiest moment? I was also wondering, even if they grew up as friends/brothers, shouldn't Godric be addressing Constantine as Your Highness/King just like everyone else?

Oh, typo in the second paragraph: tthey.

Do you plan on introducing Salazar and Rowena in similar fashion? I don't remember if you said this anywhere but are the preludes supposed to take place much after Quadrivium ends? I'm also curious about the secondary characters, muggle and magical, and how they'll work in the story.Again, I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter (though you did leave us with cliffies) and can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Hello love! Ahh I get so excited whenever I see of your reviews *happy*

LOL No problem. Gideon is the messenger who brought the news of the dragon to Helena's father. He's going to be my comic relief and actually, he's becoming a bigger character than I had originally planned. Funny how things like that happen...

Helena cannot communicate with dragons, no, but she's much more sensible than her brothers and their men. The dragon took Gideon because his screaming annoyed it and it took Helena because it liked her hair :) Simple as that, no alternative plan.

Constantine was absent the entire time. And you are absolutely right as always - Cynric wanted to hit Godric at his highest point and bring him down low. He's also interested in Gwendolyn, as you astutely guessed. And Godric - well, I'll develop his character more as we go along, but he's sort of abrasive and blunt and almost foolhardy sometimes. He thinks he's above a lot of things, including calling the King with his respective title. He thinks very highly of himself :)

Thanks for pointing out the typo! Whooops :D

The preludes are all over the place. Godric's takes place during his first meeting with Helena, which you will witness during this story. Helena's prelude takes place after the creation of Hogwarts and the splitting up of the Founders. Rowena's will take place sometime before Quadrivium. Salazar's will take place just before the splitting of the Founders.

Thanks my dear! So glad you're enjoying this!


 Report Review

Review #14, by LittleZebra 

18th May 2009:
I love it! I do have some questions though. Does Godric know he's a wizard? How far has magic advanced - I mean, are there witches and wizards that have their own communities, or are they all mingled with muggles? On a different note, Gideon is amazing. In fact, everything is amazing. You've done a fantastic job creating the Constantine's court and setting up the different supporting characters, like the princes and Cynric. I'm seriously overflowing with awe. 10/10

Author's Response: Hi Zebra! I'm so glad you liked this :D

Well, I am learning about the characters right along with you guys to be honest lol! But I think it's safe to say that Godric knows he's always been a little different - just like Helena. I like to think that they began their wizarding careers just like Harry Potter: conscious that something is off, but not quite sure what. In those days (at least in my story) witchcraft is no longer respected, but feared, so they wouldn't be eager to align themselves with something like that.

At this point in time, wizards and witches (the hardcore, conscious ones) have begun splitting off from Muggles and hiding their powers as best they can. You'll see an example with the families of Salazar and Rowena, who are pureblood magical people. That's coming up!

Thanks so much for your kind review, dear *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #15, by Boots 

18th May 2009:
This is an intrigueing start. I look forward to see where you go from here.

Author's Response: Thank you, Boots! I'll be updating shortly and I hope you'll let me know what you think :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by adriaans 

18th May 2009:
Great chapter, I'm really enjoying this story! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story and I hope you'll continue reading it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review