Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by searching4neverland 

26th December 2009:
The heart of house unity (and the begining of its conflict also) lies with the four founders. There isnt much to say about this, the challenge is compleated here perfectly. But truly original was the way you wrote this. The words and the forming of the sentences made the temporal stationing of the story seem more real. There were other things too (like the way you described Godric, or that incident with the man on the horse) but mostly, it was the way the Four talked here that trasported me to their time. It reminded me of Jane Austen, the Brontes, authors like that. And that detail about Hogwarts name being from a plant was something I didnt know. It seems fitting that Helga chose it.
Nice job, loved the dialogue.

 Report Review

Review #2, by lost_in_imagination 

14th August 2009:
I like this story fairly well, but I feel like I've heard it before... It was in one of the sorting hat's songs wasn't it? Well, anyway, I'm sorry, but although it is a good story, it wasn't very original, I felt it was just a more detailed version of that song... But it was great writing, just already told before... Sorry, that's how I feel. Don't hate me...:s

 Report Review

Review #3, by ParkerGirl 

31st July 2009:
Great story! You could really see that this could have really happened! PG

 Report Review

Review #4, by singerhotti24 

14th July 2009:
HAHA.
Incredible :)
I thought that was lovely.
The idea was great, and I love how original the fact is, that you named the school after a plant. Beautifully done. I enjoyed how you had the dialogue about who should be in the school. Simply brillaint :) I enjoyed it very much!

~Greta

 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack 

17th June 2009:
I loved that! When I read it, I kept thinking "so this is how it started!" like it was canon (and the part of it describing how they started the houses is of course). It all seemed so right and it was so well written! I like the idea of how she got the idea of starting the school, by first teaching some and then noticing that there are more who would need to learn. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Aisu Hoshino 

16th June 2009:
Very good Founder's story! I could easily see this happening in the canon, and the characterizations are all very good. It kept with the time period well, with the persecution and all. Very good!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pookha 

3rd June 2009:
Jo, as always you write a canon moment with tact and dignity. Your portrayals of the Founders are spot-on from what we know of them.

I don't have a lot of specifics to say, other than your characterisations show each of the Founder's personalities to their best without being caricatures of their personalities.

Beautifully done as always.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor 

31st May 2009:
Yes, I can definitely see it happening like this. :D You characterized the Founders perfectly, and it was interesting to see how their skills mirrored those of the four Heads of House within the series. I also liked how Rowena came up with this idea by chance - if she hadn't witnessed those peasant girls attempting magic, perhaps this may never have happened.

Helga's choice of a name was quite inspired. :P It's something I've wondered about - why they called it Hogwarts - and what you did here fits perfectly. Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #9, by queen_luna 

18th May 2009:
Great one-shot, Joanne K! I like the way you characterized all four founders. I think my favorite part was at the end...that's a very creative way to explain how the name of school came about. Nicely done! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Celtic_Dreamer7 

17th May 2009:
Interesting. Very interesting. I like the details you entwined about their disagreements. I especially liked the little tidbit about the name of the school. Well done.

~Celtic~

 Report Review

Review #11, by Girldetective85 

17th May 2009:
Jo this was a lovely take on the Founders! I thought your dialogue was very appropriate and all four were in character. How Helga came up with the name for the school was great, and also the way Godric decided that they would tweak his hat so it could become a sorting tool. I also enjoyed the hints that Salazar would someday cause trouble, particularly the way he looked pensive at the end (as though he isn't even paying attention to the conversation but still miffed about letting Muggleborns attend). Great job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

17th May 2009:
Hey, that was really good! Way to go Joanne! It was extemely clever how you found the name for the school from the plant. All the Founders were perfectly canon, and beautifully written. Very interesting way to view the way they started the school. :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday 

17th May 2009:
Well done, Joanne! I really like how Rowena comes up with the idea for the school. She seems very compassionate. I also like how they name the school Hogwarts because they did the planning while sitting around a Hogwort plant - very simple and sweet. I thought you wrote the Founders' dialogue perfectly, and the scene came together very vividly for me.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review