Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Hi there! I really like the fact that you've structured this story as a coming-of-age story rather than something that's solely a romance because I feel like there's more room for character development and it also fits better in a story that's set in this time period, because the effects of the war simply can't be forgotten. So the reminder that Laura has her OWLs and Bea has her NEWTs coming up fits well, in my opinion. I really liked the meeting Laura had with McGonagall about careers - I'd forgotten it would happen but I thought you wrote the teacher really well and she's not an easy character to write. I loved that you included her offering Laura a biscuit too!

The Astronomy lesson was great to include because even though Laura had no idea what was going on - I don't think anyone except the Marauders did, really - the reader does. Clearly they've come back from their Easter holiday having been successful in becoming Animagi. The object of wonder and veneration comment was hilarious though, in the situation!

I feel sorry for Lily having broken up with Lance, but I'm not surprised that it would happen, especially when he had to endure so much at the hands of James - it can't have been nice! Good on Lily getting some revenge on James, though, and teaching the girls the Levicorpus spell; I'm assuming that's how it managed to get around the school!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, this only really works as a coming of age story, I think. Besides, just about all the canon we had from that era was from fifth year, so it seemed silly to just ignore it all, right? :)

I enjoyed that Astronomy lesson immensely. Yes, the boys had successfully become Animagi over the holidays, but no one else has a clue what they're going on about. And the object of wonder and veneration was just too good a line not to use, don't you think?

And yes, Levicorpus. Again, we know it happened -this is my version of how. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by thanu 

1st June 2012:
omg sirius is so full of himself ! he reminds me of a guy who i had a crush on wen i was in school..sometimes i think these guys r total jerks but still they r wanted by everyone :S ;)

Author's Response: Yep, they're very common, aren't they? But still desirable for some reason. It was a challenge to make Sirius mature appropriately in this story, givne the starting point we know he had. Thanks for the review!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lillylover22 

29th February 2012:
Great chapter. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: thanks! Glad you liked it.
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Quilled Crystal 

5th February 2012:
Love it! I love the detail you put into everything, from the lessons to conversations between friends. Very enjoyable reading! 10/10

Author's Response: thank you very much! I quite liked this chapter too. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by PotterFan 

18th January 2012:
This chapter had me laughing!

Author's Response: Very pleased to hear it! WE all need a bit of a laugh every now and then.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by singer123 

12th December 2011:
"Even me? But I'm an object of wonder and veneration!"
LOL

Author's Response: Well, he is, isn't he? That was just too good a line not to use, don't you think? :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by classicblack 

11th October 2011:
Wow, I really like how you're sticking to canon so well: the Marauders becoming animagi in 5th year, Levicorpus becoming a popular spell, Snape inventing it, etc. Really, great job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, it was important to me to be as canon as possible, as the idea was that this would be a story that could fit into the canon that we do have without too much difficulty. Therefore, I tried to fit as much as I could into it. Very pleased that you appreciate that as it means I did a decent job at it. Thanks! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Debra20 

19th August 2011:
I'm really starting to suspect that Sirius is not so oblivious to Laura's presence as much as he tries to make it seem like that. For example in this chapter, when Sirius bumped into her on her way to see Professor McGonagall he looked at her and then away. She imagined he didn't even think she existed, but I strongly suspect it's not that. Maybe he's ashamed? I am starting to feel his attempts of ignoring her are a bit forced. I guess I'll have to wait and see if my theory is proved or not :D

Another excellent chapter! I am finding it increasingly hard to resist this story. I love how the Levicorpus spell has been introduced into your story. I can't remember exactly if it's mentioned in canon that Lily started to spread the word of it, or it was your own tweak, but I do remember when someone in the book said that it had been a very popular spell at some point at Hogwarts. It's also great to see Laura getting more and more involved with the other girls in her dormitory. My dream come true :D

Author's Response: Ah, Debra, I'm sorry to say that Sirius is indeed oblivious to Laura's presence. I'm afraid you're reading far too much into this - he looked at her and then looked away only in as much as, "who's that? Oh, only her," rather than anything more interesting. At this stage he's not ashamed - the feeling of guilt at the ball didn't last beyond that night - and simply not interested in her in the slightest, mainly because she hasn't given him any reason to be yet.

As for Levicorpus, well it's not canon that Lily spread it, but it is canon that it was everywhere at the school, and I can't imagine Snape shared how to do it with many people so that was how I had it spread. Glad you liked it! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne 

4th August 2011:
I'm liking the sly mentioning of animagus talks with Sirius being the dog star and the boys reactions to it.
It would have been funny if Sirius heard Laura talking about his ego, probably would have inflated it more! haha It's funny how everyone just assumes that because Laura and Mary are in Gryffindor they know everything about the marauders.
James and Sirius are quite stuck up and I do like how you've written them.
Oh! they turned Peter into a rat!
Haha so genius!!
You are such a fantastic author! I am obsessed with this story now!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yeah, they are a bit stuck up, aren't they? But then again, boys of that age who have led privileged lives and are sought after by all and sundry would be like that, wouldn't they? (Any damage done to Sirius by his family would be well hidden except to close friends, I think.) And I liked the veiled animagus discussion in Astronomy class, too. Would drive me batty if I was there and not in the know, but it seemed to fit in nicely.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
I can see Laura as a healer. She'd be good at it. She's calm and sweet, and she can talk straight to people.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Yes, I think she'd be a good Healer. Of course, the story finishes before she embarks on any career so I can't say what she did end up doing, but yeah, I think she'd be quite good at it. Totally agree with you there. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

19th August 2010:
Hmmm. How I do relate to Sirius - Canis Majoris/The Elder Wand. We're just both objects of wonder and veneration aren't we? Hehehe.

Ok. Down to business.

Bea. I do hope there's a reconking here. Its just so darned unfair the way she takes advantage/for granted Laura. Its really starting to cheese me off.

Great scenes with the Marauders. I especially liked Evans Levicorpus of that Potter git. I do hope you mature him out of his poisonous ways in the years to come.

Really liking this!

Eldy

Author's Response: Hardy ha ha. Don't worry, I'll allow you your little jokes. :D

Anyway, you can't hope for too much with regards to Bea. While Laura knows she's holding her back, she is her sister and she's just accepted that this is the way things are. Not ideal, but that's the way Laura sees it so she's not going to have any major epiphanies about cutting her loose any time soon. Sorry!

And yes, don't worry, "that Potter git" does mature as the story progresses (as you know). Character development is one of my things so I would be most disappointed in myself if I couldn't pull something that simple off. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

17th August 2010:
Is there anything else I can say that has not already been said hundreds of times before me? I guess not, however I do love the details. Yes, I do absolutely love details in fics. The research you must have done on the Sirius constellation is amazing, and I must admit I did love the line about Sirius being an object of wonder and veneration to many ancient civilizations, I did get a good chuckle out of that and I must admit, wikipedia does have some great lines! The spell tie in with Snape was good, I was wondering whether you'd use it earlier and now my question has an answer, but enough of my almost nonsensical rambling, and onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: You know, I'm astonished that you thought so much of this chapter because to me it's excruciating filler. However, I am perhaps the queen of details so if that's what you like then I guess you're in for a treat, because I just couldn't help myself sometimes. :)

Having said that, I too adored that line about Canis Majoris from Wikipedia. Some things are just too good not to use, dont' you think?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Sirius really is never going to deflate that ego, is he?

Another beautifully written chapter, letting us see the details that canon brushes over. I love the idea that Sev taught Lily the levicorpus spell, and then she slowly leaked it across the school. It seems like exactly the kind of way something like that would spread, and explains why no one knew who had invented it. That's what I'm growing to love about this story - the way canon overviews become real and detailed, as if we are getting to know the Marauders the way Laura is.

Definitely can see Laura going in for becoming a Healer, and her meeting with McGonagall was exactly what I'd expect, though it's sad to see that Sirius is back to ignoring her - she deserves better, but that's what makes this so realistic. Still hoping he'll get some kind of comeuppance, but I'll just have to read on to see!

Author's Response: Sirius deflating his ego? When a whole class is spent talking about how wonderful and venerated he is (by proxy, at least), can you blame him? For a boy of his age, that is. :)

I thought that was a good way for Levicorpus to get spread, especially considering as you said no one seemed to know where it had come from yet it went through the school like wildfire. Glad you appreciated it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by doglover 

11th August 2010:
haha sirius and james are hilarious!!!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, they are hilarious. Or, more to the point, they're 16 year old boys and are behaving as such, which is usually hilarious if you're not the butt of whatever they're doing. Glad you appreciate it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ginnyrocks117 

29th July 2010:
I love Lily.
I'm glad she used that on him.
And I'm glad James got what he deserved.
Love this story!

-Ginnyrocks117

Author's Response: I'm very fond of Lily as a character, I think she has so many possibilities! And yes, I thought James had that coming to him too. Lily can be a sly one sometimes and this was a lovely example of that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by alyosha 

10th May 2010:
How do you think up these things? (The Billygoats etc).

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

And an excellent question. I think the best reason I can come up with is the fact that I have 2 children, one of whom is quite young, and am therefore surrounded by the sorts of things that only kids can come up with on a daily basis. Some of this had to rub off somehow, didn't it? I really have no idea how I came up with the billy goats but maybe I'd been reading The Three Billy Goats Gruff that week, you never know. :D

On a more serious note, I'm actually really pleased that you sound impressed by my imagination, because to be honest that's one thing I've always felt was a little lacking. I can write, but I can't always think of things to write about, so if this means that my imagination isn't as bad as I'd always thought then that can only be a good thing, right?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Schnatz 

28th April 2010:
Hey Mel,
Of course I liked the last chapters. Especially I liked when Professor McG talked to Laura about her career (what is the noun for this in English? I only know that it's called 'Berufsorientierung' or 'Berufswahlgespräch' or so in German ^^)
As always your text was a good mix between humour and daily grind and that certain something ;-)
Well, as always I'm looking forward to read the next chapters.
Love, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi Schatz! Thanks for reviewing again!

You know, I went to Google translate with those words and they came back with "vocation" and "careers talk" so I think you got it right the first time anyway. Glad you liked it anyway! I thought this was a bit of a filler chapter but it's all leading up to the good stuff, I promise you. :) Thanks for being patient!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by ochalke5 

4th January 2010:
Now, you said that Sirius and Laura wouldn't happen until later chapters... but how much later... because i feel like something has to happen there but he won't even talk to her much less look at her... Where they really that be of tossers?

Well, i dunno it was another great chapter. I just wish that someone in that group would notice Laura... But as you said, it would come.

Another great chapter! I really liked this one too! Can't wait to see what happens next!
10/10
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Well, you don't have TOO many more chapters to wait for more Sirius. What you're getting at the moment, though, is a very strong sense of what all my characters' starting points are. I admit it's been a bit long-winded but I wanted to really establish that to show how things can change later on.

As for the boys being a bunch of tossers, well I think it's just a case of not bothering with people they figure they've got nothing in common with. Very common with boys of that age, I hope you'll agree.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by FredAndGeorgeForever 

15th December 2009:
hello there,
i love this story.
i love it. i love it. i love it.
you are a brilliant writer, and I think it was good that you got the wiki description instead of making something up ^__^

will keep reading >.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review! :D

Ah, yes, wikipedia. I admit that I tried to get everything as accurate for this fic as I could, so if something could be researched, chances are I researched it. And yeah, that wording was just too perfect not to use.

I'm kinda floored that you think so much of my story, though! To be frank I thought this particular chapter was one of the weaker ones, and also the main turning point of the story hasn't happened yet, so to have this reaction just at this point is quite astonishing. Great, but astonishing. I just hope that your enthusiasm continues as you read what's to come!

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by sirius'sbaby 

13th December 2009:
uhm, you're ahmazing.
thats all ive got to say. absolutely amazing. its like JK is writing the story =] 10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Gee, really? JKR? That's fantastic! And of course about the highest compliment you can pay anyone on this site, isn't it? I'm so flattered.

Anyway you've still got a while to go so hopefully you'll like where it all goes.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by pinaygrl3123 

10th October 2009:
Seriously.. they're fifth years and they still find this funny?! Oh wait.. then again.. let me think of the guys in the Senior Class.. yep.. they act the same damn way. When will boys ever grow up? Sheesh. But that is definitely a good reason to get out of that class.. but sadly.. I would actually stay in that class for that reason. Boys may be so stupid but they can make your day just by being themselves. Haha. But that's cool.. I wonder what Laura will end up being.. hmmm...

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Boys never grow up. Hidden inside every grown man is a boy with that sort of sense of humour, and the more comfortable they are with you the more likely it is to come out. At least, that's my take! But yeah. I was also trying to establish that this was when the Animagus transformations had been perfected - the dog star thing wouldn't have been nearly as funny before they knew his Animagus form was a dog, would it?

As for Laura's career, well my lips are sealed (of course). All is revealed before the end of this story. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

9th October 2009:
This chapter was fun. I LOVE the way Lily put James in his place!!! Plus I like the way you are bringing in the Prongs and Padfoot nicknames. And was Wormtail turned into a rat or did he do it himself? Another great read!!!

Author's Response: Ah, you're the first person to ask me that, but yes Peter did turn himself into a rat. Laura just made an assumption that happened to be incorrect. She does that a lot. :D

And yeah, I liked that bit with Lily too. I suspect she had a lot of fun doing it as well. *grins*

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Bridie 

3rd October 2009:
Ha-ha! I was pissing myself over the Canis Majoris/Sirius jokes, so hilarious you're an awesome writer and i think it utterly probable that J.K. Rowling would have approved.

Author's Response: Wow, what a flattering review! Thanks so much Bridie! I did try to get as close to JKR's syntax as I could, of course, but to have you say you think she would have approved ... well that's the greatest compliment a fanfic author could have, isn't it? *beams*

But yeah, I thought the boys would have been in fits over the whole Sirius star thing so it was only logical to include it. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by nire 

17th September 2009:
OMGGGOOSHH YOU WON THE DOBY!!! CONGRATULATIONS! :D:D:D:D:D:D

[I had to log out and do this coz I was so excited for you! Connngrraaattsss again! :)]

Author's Response: WOW!

How exciting is that!! I've been dancing around the house all morning. *beams* My 4 year old has no idea why Mummy is so happy but hey, it's not every day you win an award is it?

Thank you so much! I'm so touched that you were excited for me! I'm quite excited enough for everyone though!

*still beaming*
Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by nire 

17th September 2009:
True to expectations, he looked at me and then looked away as though I didn’t exist. In other words, much the same as usual.
Ah sigh... I wish this would change.
And I do agree with Laura, Sirius would be a very good Auror. If it wasn’t for Voldemort, I imagine he probably would have been one as well. I like that she picked up on it, and knows enough about him to think that. It makes me smile... not quite sure why.

the boys had come back from the Easter holidays addressing each other using strange nicknames, most of which seemed to have an animal bent to them
Ahhh yay. They have become Animagi! I think that is such a cool thing. I give them massive props for that. And at the ripe age of 15/16 too! So clever. Look at me, I’m gushing over fictional characters hahaha.

The boys immediately began high-fiving each other amid raucous laughter,
This made me laugh a lot. I love it.

She paused, casting a weary eye at Sirius, who was grinning broadly and had clearly enjoyed being referred to, however obliquely, as both bright and hot.
Another great one! :)

I did like that Lily took charge. As much as I love James and his more mature voice that he uses for her, I never liked that he and Sirius jinxed and hexed people for the sake of it. But then again, I have to remember that they are just boys. And I know that soon he will change his ways :)
And also, it’s interesting that he doesn’t start to hate Lily even though she embarrassed him.

James and Sirius, who had already successfully transformed their owls into opera glasses and back again several times and were therefore most probably bored
Probably something to do with the fact that they can already transfigure themselves, so I can’t see that this would be much of a road block for them.

I liked that you included Snape’s spells. Yay for canon writers! :)

erin

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, Sirius probably would have made a good Auror - I'm glad you agree with that :) And of course you're right, that's when the Animagus thing worked (in my story, the Easter holidays) ... I've made James the youngest though so they're all 16 by now. Don't know if that makes any difference but yeah, they're 16.

I too never liked that the boys hexed people for the sake of it, but Remus said they did so I had to include it. After all, if we can't trust Remus then who can we? And it's another sign of immaturity of course, as you picked up - it doesn't last forever.

I'm glad that you appreciated the introduction of Snape spells. I think I used all of them in this fic at one point or another but yeah, if everyone in the school was casting Levicorpus then it really had to be in there, don't you think?

Another brilliant review, thank you so much!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>