Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

20th December 2009:
Again, you have made the chapter believable. I feel as if I were in the place and time, watching the scenes close by. You're doing a great job! Keep up the good work:)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad it was easy to envision.

 Report Review

Review #2, by alyosha 

26th November 2009:
Blunders? you? never.

I have never read a story with so much beauracracy in it before. And i am not the least of all annoyed for it.

Author's Response: If only. Blunders are always near at hand, but I'm certainly glad to hear nothing was too annoying :) Thanks for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #3, by FannyPrice 

17th November 2009:
Wow! Wow. This was such a detailed, realistic chapter. I mean, I unfortunately can't vow for your depictions of Egypt--but I study science (biology), and this whole part about grants and privatization, you really nailed that. Great job! Do you study a science, as well --or work in research?

Anyway, awesome read. There were a few small grammatical errors I saw, but nothing that detracted from the reading!

Author's Response: I KNOW I already responded to this review, but it seems to have disappeared. Anyway, thank you again for the review. I've been editing a bit (actually, a lot), so hopefully I've fixed some of the mistakes, though chances are I just added in some new ones.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohcrapidroppedmybrain 

31st October 2009:
Happy HPPFSAD!

Woohoo! Now we are going somewhere! Im excited to see that Kate is a strong heroine, and Im particularly fond of Henry. You can tell you put a lot of thinking into your plot, because EVERYTHING is laid out perfectly. The reason why I like Kate is because shes not too harsh but shes not too nice. Shes very mellow about things, and shes certainly likeable. With three years passing by, I can see a significant difference between her. Shes calmed down a bit, and I really want to know what happened to cause this. The C-Man, perhaps?

Henry was a great foil! The whole time, I was imagining him as a bearded little Santa Clause, so it made me laugh. I dunno. And I could really relate to it when he was talking about spending getting cut.

There are so many changes! Are the Death Eaters still out and about? I cant wait to find out! And now that Voldemort is gone, surely nothing will happen to him.

I love the ending of that. I am sooo curious to see what happened between Kate and Charlie. A thousand theories swivel in my mind, yet I do not know for sure. I cant wait to see how their romance plays out and I really cant wait to find out (Im a romance sort of girl =]])

My only CC for this chapter is that you had a typo:

Kate signed, her curiosity and concern outweighing

I think you mean sighed?

Great story =]] You are an awesome writer.

Author's Response: You're absolutely right. I did mean sighed. If Kate speaks sign language, it's news to me. Your comment about Santa Clause was great. That didn't occur to me while writing but it does fit really well. Henry is a character I really like and would love to know so it's great to hear that he's enjoyable to read. Thank you for this review and your participation in SAD. It's so very sweet.

 Report Review

Review #5, by shadowycorner 

21st July 2009:
But once again, you're doing an absolutely great job creating the scenery. Don't worry at all. it doesn't matter whether you've been there or not. :) Honestly, I could perfectly imagine both settings. Your descriptions are vivid, not overdone and overall very good.

Henry is definitely an interesting character. And I liked the style of this chapter. It felt so...real, you know. And you know your stuff. Sometimes when i read fics I feellike reading nonsense, but definitely not this time. :) Interesting topics. I like this entire idea of searching for dragon bones and how the characters talk about it is cool.

I'm favoriting this story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the favorite!! That means a lot. I'm glad the imagery came of well here. I've always wanted to go to Egypt and dig around in the sand, so this was really fun to write. I'm really happy you liked Henry. He's grown rather "real" to me too. I hope I get to work for someone like him one day. Thanks for the r&r :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by RonsGirlFriday 

14th June 2009:
Ah, bureaucracy! I like it when fics use issues that readers can relate to - bringing a real world element to stories set in the magical world - like budgets and land ownership and things like that.

I really like Henry. He seems like an eccentric, and even slightly paternal, older man clinging to his passion and his pet projects because he knows he's doing something worthwhile. He's a lot of fun to read! I like Kate, too - she seems like a down to earth person who does an honest day's work, and that makes her very relatable.

Also, good idea with the wizarding archaeologists and how some other wizards consider it a Muggle pursuit. I think it makes sense that there would be wizarding archaeologists, especially if they really want to learn as much as they can about different kinds of magical creatures. I'm fascinated by things like dinosaur digs, so I like seeing it translated into dragons.

Another great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: I always wanted to be an archeologist when I was a kid, so I'm totally living out some lost dreams here. And I'm glad you found the ideas realistic. I was really trying to ground the story in things I could relate to on some level. I've been worried about Kate being likable, so thank you so much for commenting on her. It seems the other characters, like Henry, are just easier to write. Thank you again for the review. I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by RemusGal 

1st May 2009:
Another great chapter. I love your descriptions of the camp, and the way you jump right into the action, with Henry's mysterious note. Of course I have no idea how the prologue and this chapter will eventually mesh, but your writing is really fresh and makes me want to read more. The clash between the intellectual pursuit of archeology and the desire of muggles and wizards to use the land for more lucrative purposes is really an interesting theme, and gives your fic some weight.

Author's Response: I *hope* over time the connection to the prologue becomes clear and important. At this point, if my very flexible outline develops close to planned, my guess is for around chapter 5, when Charlie returns. I'm really glad the story feels "weighty" and not just wordy. Thanks so much for the continued encouragement. Hope to have the next chapter up pretty soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by daydream_it_to_life 

29th April 2009:
Wow. You have a fantastic writing style! It's so descriptive, I can see these places in my mind, it's absolutely brilliant. I cannot WAIT for more. =) Please update soon!

Clicking the favorite button,
daydream_it_to_life

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm flattered you favorited it. I'm glad the descriptions are coming off well. I'm always afraid I'm giving too much or not enough. Thanks for taking the time to read and review. It means a lot.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review