Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Singularity 

7th August 2011:
You do such a brilliant job of writing Molly and Arthur as teenagers. People's personalities don't just change when they become parents, so it's super realistic for Molly to have so many of those maternal instincts already. And Arthur...oh how I love Arthur. The bit where he decided that he was doing Molly and their relationship a favor by not telling her about his Quidditch tryouts was hilarious. He definitely seems to take that attitude in canon as well :P

I've never really thought of Molly as being so...Hermione-esque about schoolwork, but now that you mention it, I can definitely see that fitting in well.

And I love all of the little side characters. In this chapter, Dunstan was especially endearing. I love the idea that he shows up for tryouts every year on the off chance that he somehow got good :P

Also, I love the introduction of Atalanta. The idea of a pureblood Gryffindor who might end up being a Voldemort supporter (probably getting ahead of myself) would be great. I've always had a hard time with Hagrid's pronouncement that there wasn't a witch or wizard who went bad who wasn't in Slytherin. Of course, we know now that he was wrong (Barty Crouch Jr., Peter Pettigrew, etc) but I think there were probably several sympathizers in other houses as well. Just like not all Slytherins are evil, not all evil is Slytherin.

Sorry, that got off topic, but this was a fun chapter. I loved reading about Quidditch tryouts and look forward (with apprehension) to Arthur telling Molly :)

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Parenthood changes you in some ways, but sometimes it just amplifies qualities you already had. I think Molly in canon shows a big emphasis on her children's success at school, so I think she would have valued it in herself (and tried to push it on Arthur, who isn't as studious). She's so proud of Bill and Percy being Head Boy in their years, and Ron being a prefect, I just thought it would really fit if she was into studying as well - but was never a prefect herself.

Poor Dunstan - he's the Petula of the boys, really, which is why he and Petula wind up best friends. Someone's got to be the duffer. ha. The poor boy is really not cut out to be a Quidditch star.

Atalanta is a pureblood snob. I think they'd be bound to show up in other houses now and then. She's also sort of cold and standoff-ish, but that would have been her personality whether she was pureblood or not. I agree that some of the "bad guys" must've come from other Houses. I think Hagrid was maybe using a bit of hyperbole there.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheWorldISee 

30th March 2011:
Oh goodness, Arthur playing quidditch! How fun! Did Rowling ever elude to Arthur playing? This is bound to be exciting, and I do wonder how Molly will take it. Another wonderful chapter, loved Gideon and Fabian as usual. Well done!

Author's Response: No, it was never mentioned, but he's definitely a big fan - and Molly isn't - from canon, as he takes all the children to the Quidditch World Cup and she stays home alone. I figured though, with five out of his seven children being good at Quidditch (possibly six of seven, Bill's talent or lack thereof is never mentioned), it wouldn't be outside the realm of possibility for Arthur to be pretty good. The Weasleys seem like a bit of a sporty family. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by theelderwand 

23rd February 2010:
I always say its the little things that make a story, Reid's horrid pajamas, Thad being entirely too upbeat, Arthur getting asked to try out for the team. This is good stuff.

I'm hopeful that Arthur's ploy vis a vis Quidditch and Molly will work; it looks like the tactic he's settled into thru the Hogwarts era...but if I were him I'd be worried. LOL.

Funny that Molly hates Quidditch, given that all of her kids (except Percy) are Quidditch stars. And what a nice little cliffhanger: "He was going to have to tell Molly now."

Be afraid. Be very afraid...

Great chapter.

P.S. I do hope your going to reveal where the term of endearment "Mollywobbles" came from.

Author's Response: lol. Poor Arthur. I think he does settle into that tactic in dealing with his wife. Hide it and hope she doesn't find out!

Since Molly stayed home from the World Cup (after talking about it being a once-in-a-lifetime thing to the Dursleys), I assumed that she didn't care for Quidditch. I got this mental image of her with six Quiddtch-crazy sons, wishing she had a daughter to do girly things with, and what does she get? Ginny, who is good at both Chaser AND Seeker and loves Quidditch as much as the boys. Having Hermione around, who also doesn't care, was probably a bit of a relief haha.

Anyway, thank you for reviewing! My theory on "Mollywobbles" is that it's a post-kids marital nickname, so it won't be in this story or even the next. I might get there eventually, though.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Georgia Weasley 

23rd June 2009:
Oh, dear. Molly isn't known for her high tolerance level, is she. I do think you've got her character pegged right, as she does seem to fall for the "it is better to ask forgiveness than permission" attitude rather often. She's all bark, that Molly. Most of the time. You have such a way of telling stories, weaving in small details and characters that make the scene really come alive. I am in awe of such talent. And I love your Arthur and Molly. Well done.

Author's Response: Ayup! No tolerance there haha. I do think she's all bark haha, that's a great way to describe her. Thank you so much for reviewing! You make me blush :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFriday 

3rd June 2009:
Hmm...is it ok to say that Molly annoyed me a bit in this chapter? I like her and all, and your writing is wonderful as always, but the part when she shoved all the NEWT stuff in front of Arthur made me go, "Arrggh! Molly! Controlling much??"

It's interesting, because it's reminiscent of Hermione badgering Harry and Ron about studying, but for some reason it never rubbed me the wrong way when Hermione did it. The only thing I can think of is that Molly is doing it to her boyfriend, whereas Hermione did it to her friends - and by the time Hermione and Ron got involved, Ron knew full well what he was getting into. But I think poor Arthur was a little blindsided by it - it seemed he started dating Molly without full knowledge of what she was like.

I don't envy Arthur's job of telling her he made the Quidditch team. But I loved the part where he decided that he was doing her a favor by deciding to tell her after the fact, rather than beforehand. That was brilliant. :-)

10/10

Author's Response: Yes, she is tightening those apron strings, eh? lol. I really enjoyed writing his internal rationalizations for how he deals with Molly's neuroses haha. I wasn't thinking of it as her blindsiding him, since last year she gave him homework schedules lol. But yes, she's definitely a Scorpio and they can be quite controlling. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

9th May 2009:
Wow! This is the first mention of some serious possible dispute between Molly and Arthur. Interesting. I like how Arthur made the school team. He loved Quidditch so much, and he definitely earned it. Also, I love all the names of the OCs! Atalanta, Francine, Njemile... very creative. Nice work! This is turning out to be just as good as Unsinable! 10/10

Author's Response: I thought he deserved it this year. And it forces me to broaden my writing a bit and attempt some Quidditch. I'm making myself do at least one game from Arthur's point-of-view. Francine and Njemile made brief appearances in "Unsinkable" but Atalanta is new in WIW. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Alopex 

1st May 2009:
Well, I'm flattered that you think I have "refined taste" in reading. I am somewhat picky about what I read, but I've never described it as refined before. I know not all the reviews I've left for you have been overflowing with praise, but most have been complimentary. I enjoy your writing very much (I consider myself a fan), and I was very pleased to see that a second chapter had been posted to this story so soon after I read the first!

I've said this before, but it struck me again: I love all the friends you've come up with for Molly and Arthur and how they interact with each other. I liked seeing the boys' perspectives here. They really do seem like boys, which are entirely different than girls. The difference comes out in your writing.

This chapter seemed a little on the fluffy side, but I assume the point of this story is just to follow Arthur and Molly through their seventh year until their elopement, while Voldemort is gathering strength? (Maybe I should just reread the summary . . .) When I got to the part about Molly marking down Arthur's schedule in his homework planners, I couldn't help but remember with great amusement the year that Hermione gave the boys homework planners for Christmas. Molly talking about the NEWTs reminded me of Hermione as well. I never pictured her as being so concerned about grades (except her kids' grades), but I can totally picture her being strict and bossy about everyone else's grades and studying!

Gideon and Fabian are always good for a chuckle, as well. They aren't exactly main characters, but this story (and "Unsinkable," of course) wouldn't be the same without them. I'm impressed with your OCs, of which you have so many, but I'm also impressed by the way you have taken characters who are mentioned once or twice in the entire series and brought them to life. I always get a kick out of the way they interact with Arthur, and I have a little feeling they might just help him deflect some of Molly's wrath over the Quidditch tryouts.

Author's Response: ;) Good to see you back! This is such a great review, thanks for taking the time to leave it for me.

I've always thought of Molly as being very pushy about schoolwork to her kids and attributed it to her own past as a high-achiever (or wanna-be high achiever). I think she feels she didn't do as well as she could have and wants her kids to do better, as many parents do. I also think Molly and Hermione have quite a bit in common haha.

This story I wanted to explore some wizarding world issues, and bring forward a few things that will happen before the next story, which will be the elopement. So it's going to be about Molly dealing with some issues she didn't realize she had attendant to becoming a Weasley, and Arthur is going to get to some of the issues that characterize him as an adult. You know I like the slice of life stuff more than the big battles and such :) I'm trying not to degenerate into fluff this time, you'd be amazed if you met me in real life, I'm very much a Siobhan and not fluffy at all haha.

Gideon and Fabian are going to get a character arc this time (rather than staying static characters as they did in Unsinkable), so they'll be back :) Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by George Whitman 

30th April 2009:
Bravo! I held off my assessment of this story until a second treatment was put forth and I am pleased to announce that you have my attention for the rest of the book. I love the return of Molly's absurdness and Arthur's humble demeanor. These characters are so well integrated into the Potterverse I almost believe you to be Rowling herself. Finally, the reason that I'm glued now as I wasn't before is because you have set the plot marvelously. The last chapter was cluttered and uneventful. It would work better as a Prologue to the story then disguised as an actual chapter in the story. Well done!

Author's Response: Well thank you :) I like the first chapter, but it is a "previously on Unsinkable" sort of thing. Still, I am introducing themes for the rest of the story in both the first one and this one. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ava Pearce 

29th April 2009:
YAY i loved the unsinkable Molly Prewett, it was awesome. Now the seventh years on! as a matter of a fact i love all your stories.
Kudos for the great writing!

Author's Response: Wow thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by luvjamesnoliver 

29th April 2009:
Gidean and Fabian just keep teaching poor Arthur all these bad habits course I think he learned how to tell when his own kids were trying to pull it on him from them.
Excillent chapter! I'd write more about how awsome your story is but I really should be working on finals stuff.
I can hardly wait for the next chapter!

Alara

Author's Response: Good luck on your finals! Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you're enjoying the story so far :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Thesilentforce 

28th April 2009:
Great chapter! Arthur is so cute. You do a great job portraying both him and Molly!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by madelgranger 

27th April 2009:
oho, cliffie! and what's this little forshadowing with Francine? I smell jealousy in the air! Great chapter, thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll have the next one up soon and you'll see more Francine :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by laughhard91 

27th April 2009:
Haha, have to tell Molly now. Excellent chapter, although I've never really thought about Arthur playing quidditch. Of course that's rather silly of me because Charlie, Fred, George, Ron, and Ginny at least were all on the quidditch team. So they had to have gotten the talent from somewhere. I'm very much enjoying Arthur's justifications. I think that you do a wonderful job writing him.

Author's Response: I thought maybe he had some talent to have all those kids playing for the house team, and he got pretty excited about the World Cup. Arthur seems to be a big Quidditch fan. I had fun writing his rationalizations for lying to Molly haha. Glad you liked it. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Harry and Ginny 

27th April 2009:
interesting chapter u wrote. what's going to be Molly's reaction? what's going to happen now? will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'm still writing chapter 3, but it will be up soon. Thank you for reviewing! -WTM

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review