Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter! The opening section with the Care of Magical Creatures lesson was interesting to read about and I liked the fact that the Marauders were friends with Hagrid too, as it makes more sense then that Hagrid would feel so protective when it came to Harry. The phoenix sounded beautiful from your description! And I liked the fact that Hagrid was giving James and Sirius extra tips which will help them with their OWLs - the Slytherins will get what they deserve for being so disdainful of the gamekeeper :P

Laura's turning into quite the agony aunt right now! She's running around and cleaning up after her sister, constantly having to be ready to calm her down when she gets mad (and makes someone sprout horns, which is quite impressive), and then she has to try and offer advice to people who've been targeted by Dione's rumours. I like the fact that there's still normality even in the midst of the war, with all the tensions and friendships between people at school. The scene with Snape was great too, as it showed a different side to the Marauders from the one that Laura had seen before and we also got to see her prepared to stand up to Snape if necessary!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ah, Laura the agony aunt. People like her often find themselves in this position, I've noticed, even from people they barely know, so that was what I was portraying her. And it comes in useful later in the story, too. :) And yes, I do think Hagrid would have been friendly with that lot, don't you? I confess I've deleted the phoenix from the new version because it doesn't actually achieve anything and I thought it was awkwardly done, but it's nice that you liked it. They would be stunning creatures, wouldn't they?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Bellatrix la strange 

1st September 2013:
Does Sirius and Laura ever get together if so what chapter.?

Author's Response: Yes, and I'm not telling. Sorry!

cheers, Mel :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by emily 

1st April 2013:
I WAS LITERALLY SO CONFUSED THIS ENTIRE CHAPTER UNTIL I FIGURED THIS OUT:
every "ass" was replaced with "eyebrow".
every "girl" was replaced with "bunny rabbit".
every "boy" was replaced with "frog".
every "wand" was replaced with "banana".
JSYK.
good chapter though.

Author's Response: Yep, April Fools Day got a few people this year. Thanks for being understanding. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Olga 

29th December 2012:
Things are heating up!! Loving the story!

Author's Response: thanks! I try to keep it interesting.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lillylover22 

29th February 2012:
I like how laura calms down her sister. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Laura is actually really important to Bea, although neither of them realise that. Her calming nature is useful at a lot of times, though, I find. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by STG Sagmag 

11th January 2012:
Woah, this story rocks! No wonder it came in 'the best of HPFF' list! Even though its hard to determine whether this is a romance story with definite characters or a humour story, I love the chemistry!!!

Author's Response: LOL. Definitely a romance - I'm not nearly funny enough to pull off a proper humour story. But I'm very flattered that you might think I could! *beams*

thanks, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by singer123 

12th December 2011:
Nice chapter...
Everything is so detailed and clear.. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it. This is still in the building-up stage but there are some nice characterisations in there, I think. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack 

9th October 2011:
Well-written, but not much happened. Although, I suppose you can't make something huge happen in every chapter. The dragon liver war was funny :) Nice job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Yeah, I admit, there are plenty of filler chapters in this story. But, as you say, you can't have full-on drama in every chapter. This fic does take in three years and so there are bound to be quieter bits, and this was one of them. Thanks for persevering regardless. :) And I'm glad you liked the dragon liver war, I though that was fun too. Good to see that enjoyment in my writing is coming out.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Debra20 

18th August 2011:
I really am intrigued as to why Hagrid had the Phoenix. I can't remember anything canon related so I'm pretty anxious to find out why did he need the bird.

I have no idea why, or if I'm wrong, but did I detect a mild jealousy in Laura this chapter? What stirred up this idea was the part when Sirius is snogging Dione and they almost knocked into Laura. Her reaction this scene was a little different from how she usually reacted when she saw Sirius with someone. There was more biting in her thoughts. I felt her emotions were more intense than they were other times. Or maybe I am confused because she used the word "bitch' which I haven't heard in her vocabulary until now :P

I really like where this is going. It's the second time we see Laura give advice, so this is bound to lead somewhere. Maybe she will end up giving advice to boys as well. And another 10 points for Melian of Gryffindor for having thought this out so thoroughly. It makes perfect sense that people would start to trust her advice more and more seeing as she is always the one that managed to control her sister's temper. Teenagers notice these kind of things and are always eager to receive an advice, especially when concerning love problems.

Also, I admire you for how you're writing Lily. She is portrayed as being seemingly perfect in this story, and yet we get no feeling of OOC-ness of her. No one resents her for her acts, or being so blatantly Slughorn's favourite, she was extremely good looking, had a nice personality. She has everything the definition of a Mary Sue needs. And yet she is so so far from being one. I can honestly say I like her a great deal. When I put my finger on the reason I am feeling this way towards her, I'll let you know as well!

It just dawned on me that Snape's Worst Memory scene approaches rapidly. I am suspecting you will write about it, being an important part of the James-Severus loathing plot. But I don't want it to come! It might be a little trickier for you to understand my reasons for liking him, since you obviously don't, as you have said before, but I do love his character. I empathize with him on a deep emotional level and as much as I don't excuse him for anything he has ever done, I can't find it in myself to dislike or condemn him. I love your portrayal of him, even though he sometimes comes across as almost paranoid or overly obsessed with Lily. So most of the times when he is taunted or mocked I feel for him a lot :(

Author's Response: First things first - it's not covered later, so I'll just say that Hagrid had Fawkes because the bird had been injured, and he was caring for it in its recovery. NOthing more, nothing less.

As for Laura, well she's not jealous so much as annoyed to have been, well, in the way I guess. She'd rather not be privy to scenes of excessive snogging, be they from Sirius or anyone else, probably because it just reinforces her own feelings of inadequacy on that score. As for that word, well she doesn't use it often, but she figured Dione was a special case.

With Laura the agony aunt, I'm not really sure where that came from except that it really fit the character as I was writing her and, of course, has some bearing on later in the story. Her experience with Bea, as you noticed, only adds to the impression that she knows what she's talking about, even if she herself isn't convinced of that. :)

I won't say anything here about Snape's Worst Memory or my depiction of him throughout this story, for fear of spoilers. I only hope that if you do read that far that you think I've done him, and the events surrounding him, justice. I will say though that I don't think his love for Lily was the pure love so many people attribute to him - I think it was petty and jealous and selfish (anyone who is willing to have the love of their life suffer through the death of a husband and child just so they can be single again has a warped view of love, in my opinion), so that's probably going to come out in my writing.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne 

4th August 2011:
So Laura is the Hogwarts agony aunt is she? Poor her, she doesn't even want to do it haha.
I'm liking how you're making the girls and the marauders begin to talk to each other and interact with each other slowly, You've made it so believable and realistic.
The way you write everyone's relationships with each other seems like genuine friendship and it's thoroughly enjoyable to read. I can see why so many people love this story and recommend it :-D I can't stop reading.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Yes, she's the agony aunt, at least for people in her year group. After all, someone needs to be, so why not my protagonist? Looking after Bea for so long would make her pretty good at it, don't you think?

And I'm very pleased you like how the friendships are developing. It's kinda crucial to the story so if it rings true, I'm happy. Thank you! :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ashley 

16th July 2011:
great story...cant wait to read more of them

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're persevering with this story and I hope you read on - I'm rather proud of it so it would be great to find out if you think I did a decent job or not. Thanks again for the review. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
How James talks so matter-of-factly about Lily is really quite impressive.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: I think James was probably quite an impressive person in a lot of ways, it just took a little while for him to mature enough for Lily to take the bait. I will say though that I didn't purposely characterise him this way - he just flowed from my fingers without me really thinking about it. So I don't think I can take credit for something so purely instinctive. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by theelderwand 

19th August 2010:
"Care of Magical Creatures had dropped its interest since the episode with Charon Avery at the start of the year." Not sure, but you might consider revising this to read somthing like: "Care of Magical Creatures had become rather dull since the episode with Charon Avery at the start of the year." As written its a bit confusing. Ok. Editor's hat is off. On to the good stuff.

It was great to see Hagrid and the little flourishes as to who visits him and who doesn't were quite good.

Dr. Laura? LOL! I like where you're taking this, what with her being the class "therapist" but it seems awfully unfair she gets to solve everyone elses problems. Who heals the healer? Nonetheless, excellent touch, and now I think I know where the tale is going. But we'll see.

I really do like that we're seeing the Marauders/Lily story thru the eyes of a third party. Much more interesting this way. Especially the reveal regarding the level of hostilities between Snivellus and the Marauders.

Good stuff, Mel.

Eldy

Author's Response: Hmmm. YOu know, that sentence makes perfect sense to me, but that could be a cultural thing and if doing that edit will make it read better to a North American then maybe I'll do it. Thanks for the tip!

Ah, Dr Laura. I actually forget where I got that from (perhaps that's the part of me that's in her because I get that sometimes) but it seemed right for her character. As to whether you know where the tale is going ... were you right? I'm not sure that I structured it well enough to have anyone guess from that, but I could be wrong. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by In The Shadows I Dwell 

17th August 2010:
Everytime I think I have an idea as to the direction this fic is heading in it completely changes in the next chapter, that must be one of the most addicting things about this story, the fact that it just kind of keeps you guessing and wondering until your left to form new things to guess about! I must say, I do love your portrayal of Snape, he is very true to character and he deffinately interests me! *to the next chapter!*

Author's Response: Hahaha. Maybe it's because I had no idea where it was going? No, not strictly true, but I do wonder whether some of my "unpredictability" results from the fact that I'm not actually as good a plotter as some people seem to think. In any case I'm glad that it kept you guessing because at least that means my story isn't too formulaic. Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Capella Black 

14th August 2010:
Interesting - the boys might actually have some redeeming qualities. I'm not holding my breath too much though - James is still in my bad books for daring Sirius to ask Laura for a dance (yes, I'm taking this story far too seriously!)

As always, the descriptions in this are lovely, and I particularly liked the name-counting in detention. It's so unusual to see Hogwarts from the point of view of someone who isn't incredibly well known and popular, as both JKR and most fanfic writers concentrate on such characters, so we never get to see things like this.

Enjoying seeing Laura's world expanding, as she gets to know the Marauders better, and starts her new role as agony aunt. A great development of someone at this age, which once again leaves the reader wanting to know what happens next.

Off to read more!

Author's Response: Oh, Ella, you are definitely taking this far too seriously if you're dirty at the boys for that dare. They've barely thought about it since and have been focusing their attention on other things - like having a go at Snape. :) But yes, they do have some redeeming qualities, otherwise we wouldn't be so fascinated with them, would we?

I'm very pleased that you liked the name-counting after detention because that was something else I was pretty proud of. If the teacher cant' be bothered learning your name, then what else to do but make fun of that fact? A defence mechanism on Laura and Mary's part, yes, to stop them getting upset about it, but still fun.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by doglover 

10th August 2010:
snape has a really hard life.

Author's Response: Yes, I suppose he does. At this stage he's still got Lily's friendship though so don't feel too sorry for him - save that for later on when she casts him adrift. And I think a reasonable amount of what he suffers is also self inflicted but that's another matter entirely, I think.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ginnyrocks117 

29th July 2010:
I hope James and Lily go out soon.
I'm glad that Sirius is doing better.
Laura's sister is really starting to annoy me.
She should really stop what she is doing!
Loved it!

-Ginnyrocks117

Author's Response: Soon? James and Lily don't get together till seventh year, according to canon, so there's a bit of a way to go yet. But yes, Sirius is doing better so that's something at least.

As for Bea, well she's blissfully ignorant of the problems she causes. She means well, she just has no idea how society actually functions. Some people are like that, hahaha.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by PrincessPadfoot 

16th June 2010:
hmm a lot happened during this chapter!!!

Bea and her friends kind of terrify me!! If I was that girl that grew horns I would be sooo mad!!! But then again they are wizards and witches...so magic is a given :)

I like the interactions between Laura, Mary, and the marauders. Even though those few incidents were small, they told us a lot more about the character of the lot of them!

Hahaha I like the talk Mary and Laura had about accents :) I too love accents of all kinds (minus my own because that sounds normal to me).

Well I guess i can stop pestering you now!!

Bye dear!!
Robyn

Author's Response: Hi Robyn! And SO sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this ... the House Cup has kinda distracted me lately, to tell the truth. But I'm here now and I'm responding, and thank you so much for the review!

Yes, I think I might be scared of Bea and her friends if I was at Hogwarts with them too - not because they're nasty (because they're not), but because they're just so unpredictable. You'd never be sure if you'd end up in the firing line or not, like this poor girl was.

I'm glad you like the little marauder interactions, too - they get more frequent as the story progresses (obviously, or you could have me up for false advertising) but I thought it was important to really establish everyone's starting points. I probably went too far down that path, but then again it's my story and I can write it how I want, right? *grins*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by nikki 

27th April 2010:
wow best chapter yet, your writing style is amazing and the details you put in make the story great. Good plot so far, well done=)

Author's Response: Hi Nikki! Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked this chapter - I appreciate that this story takes a little while to get into but I do hope you find it worthwhile. And yes, there are some nice touches in this chapter I thought, so it's nice to have other people agree with that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by ochalke5 

3rd January 2010:
It was good. I really like this story but i wish something would happen with Laura and Sirius again. It was a great chapter and i can't wait to see what happens. Amazing story so far.
10/10
Natalie

Author's Response: Hi Natalie!

Now you're testing my memory as to what's in each chapter! I will say however that there's not a lot of Sirius/ Laura interaction in fifth year so you might have a couple of chapters to wait. It's something that's strange about my story - a Sirius/ OC fic that for the first X number of chapters (not telling how many) has bugger all Sirius in it. Something to bear with, I'm afraid, if you want to keep on reading.

Having said that, I really do appreciate that you've taken the time to leave a review for each chapter and I really hope that you keep reading and enjoy where it takes you.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by pinaygrl3123 

10th October 2009:
.WOW. Her sister is freakin' crazy! But luckily she knows how to calm her down. That'd be such a travesty if she didn't know. Amazing what it took to calm her down. I find that funny that people are coming up and talking to her like that. I'd be really creeped out like that.. And that was such a beautiful fight in Potions class, haha. Great way to get Severus out of the way for the Marauders. And I could imagine a little slimy teeneager running around trying to get other people in trouble. And that was funny as to why he wouldn't hex Mary and Laura - but true. Shocking how Lily hasn't caught on just yet...

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading on! :D

Yeah, Bea is a bit of a handful. She's been an important influence on Laura's life so far and that's not necessarily a good thing, but it worked for this story. And I'm glad you liked the fight in Potions, it did seem about right for a bunch of 15-16 year olds didn't it? It's certainly the sort of thing I would have wanted to do when I was that age. :D

As for Lily with Snape, well I think she just doesn't want to see it. That and you get better at picking up on that sort of thing as you get older and she's still only 16 so she may not be as au fait with it yet.

I'm so pleased you like my characterisations, that's really important to me. *beams*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD 

9th October 2009:
I do feel bad for laura. I think if she let go of the i am ugly and not worthy to talk to things might turn around for her. She need to open up a little bit and see that her dorm mates really are her friends and do like her. Great Chapter. You have got me hooked!!!

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Yes, Laura has real self esteem problems, most of which were brought about by being the younger sister of someone like Bea. However I have given her two Bea-free years at school so you can see how she responds to that when you get there. :) But yeah, you're right, she does need to let go of all that before she can really develop into her own person.

Thanks for the review,
Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by saffy 

24th September 2009:
this is one of my favourite chapters excellent style really flows well and i love the inclusion of mary as a scot makes me feel at home you really got the whole hogwarts isnt just a english school thing working a detail most pople would iover look or not even consider well done !! sorry for spelling mistakesect dsylecix tried my best to check this little review

Author's Response: Thanks, saffy! I thought this was quite a good chapter myself, the stuff with Bea was so much fun to write. :)

And thanks for your comments about the school not just being for English people, because I thought that was important. So my 2 main OCs (okay, technically Mary is canon but you know what I mean) are Welsh and Scottish, just for a change.

No worries about your spelling in the review either, it was pretty good and easy enough to understand so I wouldn't worry too much about that if I were you. :D

Thanks again!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by nire 

16th September 2009:
I wish the boys became a bit more self aware and aware of others in their house. Iím glad Remus is a little. I hope that changes as they get older. People not acknowledging others is definitely one of my pet peeves. It really drives me up the wall when people are a just too focused on themselves that they just donít see others. Sigh.
Itís interesting to see that Flitwick trusts her enough to handle her sister appropriately. I really like that she is so trusted by the teachers to do that for them.

I liked that Laura was a bit angry when she found Sirius snogging with that girl. I think that is the first sign of her getting a little worked up over the girls. Perhaps this is where she begins to have something for him, but doesnít realise that she likes him? I could be just being absurd?

Laura is very wise. I like that people come to her to listen or to ask advice. I think itís a heaps good trait. I wish she could see that she is a great person though, who doesnít need to worry about her appearance or the fact that she doesnít have a guy. Sheíll get one, Iím sure of it.

Awww I love that he calls her Lily. I serioussly love James and I love that he loves Lily. I was a bit disappointed that Sirius didnít get to speak, but I canít have everything! :)

Loving the longer chaps! I apologise that this review isnít that long! Iíll try do better!
10/10

Author's Response: Ah, Erin, another lovely review :) You do know how to make a girl's day.

Yes, the boys are a bit self-absorbed at the moment, but again that's quite common of 15-16 year olds. They're in the middle of trying to establish who they are and things like consideration of others fall by the wayside a bit. But don't despair, they do grow out of it (mostly).

Flitwick trusts Laura to look after Bea because he's seen her doing it for the past five years and she's been successful. Let's face it, it's something she's been doing all her life. But yeah, it's nice that he acknowledges it.

Ah, Sirius and Dione. I was quite proud of that pairing really, it's so fitting in its own little way. However I'm not answering any of your questions about her feelings ... but there have been hints about that since chapter 1 actually so you can draw your own conclusions. *another evil grin*

And yes, she does have the sympathetic ear. I like that as a trait which is one reason I gave it to her, as well as the fact that conversations like the one with Veronica are a great way of giving the reader information. But yeah, she's still got pretty low self esteem. Don't worry, that does pick up later on. :)

I'm pleased that you like my James. I understand you're a bit of a James nut so it's important that I get him right from your perspective ... and it sounds like I have (pretty much, anyway).

Anyway, another brilliant review! And it's okay that it was shorter - you're the one reviewing so you're in charge of how long it is, and I'm just happy that you're reading my story and enjoying it. :) Hope you keep on liking it as it goes on.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by burnt august 

21st July 2009:
increased interaction... sounds lovely heh

Author's Response: Hi again :)

Yes I know it's moving rather slowly but there were a lot of things I wanted to cover before I had the boys chatting away in every chapter. And besides, who doesn't want to read about Bea? (Okay, probably lots of people, but she does have one or two fans out there amazingly enough ...)

thanks for reading and reviewing so much, I really appreciate it :)

Mel.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>