Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TenthWeasley 

5th April 2013:
I'm so happy to be reading a story of yours again! After I made that status asking for reading requests, I tried out a Harry/Luna novel, but I couldn't make it through the third chapter because it just didn't feel right. I couldn't explain what it was, but I decided to stop reading and pop back into the Unsinkableverse. Whatever was missing in that novel I tried reading, I found here.

On the contrary, this first chapter wasn't slow at all for me (and I've just seen the word count after having to make my way here again due to shutting down my computer, and that did NOT feel like nearly five thousand words). Opening this and reading about Molly and Arthur and Hattie and all the members of this group of friends... it feels a bit like coming back to old friends of my own. ♥

I love that you're actually addressing the rise of Voldemort here, too, because that's something that's so lacking in this era of fic writing. People very much undermine the influence he had on the wizarding world, but that doesn't make sense to me. He had whole communities afraid to speak his name, so knowing that you acknowledge that and are having Cosmo bring up the newspaper, and Cecila's dad working overtime for it, bring a really fresh and welcome layer of authenticity.

Also, just throwing this in there: ARTHUR AND MOLLY ARE TOTALLY ENGAGED. I defy anyone to think otherwise! ;)

I think this is going to be much like my reviewing style from TUMP, and that means that I might not leave reviews on every chapter as I'd prefer to. I wish time constraints dictated my life differently. But I definitely am going to continue reading, and I'm already itching to hit the next-chapter arrow! And you'll hear again from me at the end, if not sooner than that. I can promise you that.

Thank you for writing these stories. This is totally my own headcanon now, too -- I love this so much!

Author's Response: Harry/Luna is an odd ship to me. It doesn't entirely make sense, I guess. I can kind of see the logic, but I don't see the attraction, I suppose. I'm glad you stopped by and started this story though! I hope you enjoy it :)

I'm glad it didn't seem too lengthy/wordy. Re-introducing a large cast such as Unsinkable has is a bit of a pain. Voldemort's rise is a huge plot in this novel, as you said it was the major social issue in this subset of society at the time. There was no avoiding it. Setting up the culture of fear that would result in "people eloping left, right and center" because they were all hyper-aware of their own mortality pretty much ensures a great deal of Voldemort activity.

They really are, and just never make it official haha. It's true. XD

I do understand about getting time to do everything, so no worries, I won't be mad at you for not reviewing every chapter ;) I appreciate any reviews you can send me! Thanks for this, and I hope you like the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Singularity 

7th August 2011:
I read the Unsinkable Molly Prewett several months ago, and was terrible about reviewing it, so I'm going to try to do better this time around.

The pacing of this chapter was really good for me. It reintroduced the characters in a way that helped trigger my memory about who each of them was and what I knew about them. I loved the idea of Siobhan's tattoo. It definitely seems like the type of thing that she would do. And a nice, sweet, Hufflepuff boy seems like a perfect match for Petula. She could use something positive :) I'm a bit concerned about Hattie...

I'm really interested to see how you tie in the nearing war with the everyday challenges of seventh year, and how that affects their future plans.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I completely understand, as I am normally not the world's greatest reviewer myself. The House Cup is great for nudging us all to do better that way, though.

I'm glad you're liking this so far - I tried to make the opening chapter a bit of a re-introduction to everyone, which a few reviewers said they didn't like but I thought was useful if someone came to this after having a break between reading the first story and this, kwim? Petula needs someone to love her, since she's so often odd man out.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheWorldISee 

30th March 2011:
Wonderful start to the sequel, I didn't find it slow at all. I love that the girls had a council meeting first night back. And I hope that Thomas fancies Petula as well because that poor girl needs something positive in her life! I'm feeling incredible sorry for her. Siobhan's tattoo is awesome, I love it and it totally fits her character. But the more I read and think about it the more I'm a little worried for Siobhan's future... Alright I'm surprised I could make myself wait for the next chapter long enough to write this review so on to the next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. I find writing beginnings most difficult. I like to jump right in. Siobhan's definitely the tattoo type. And Petula needs somebody to love her :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Renegade Niffler 

29th March 2010:
Wizard tattoos! Brilliant! I think it's a true testament to the quality of your writing that I read "Unsinkable" so long ago yet remember your OC"s so clearly. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you still remember them, it's been a while since Unsinkable ended :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by theelderwand 

23rd February 2010:
No need to be worried, a very solid opening chapter. Y'know, I got spoiled reading Unsinkable; since it was finished it was instant gratification. I almost waited till this was completed to read and review, but I just couldn't help myself. LOL. Glad I didn't wait, its quite good. the flourishes with the tatoo, the bet on whether Molly got engaged and the subtle build-up of the coming war. Good solid story-telling.

I'm worried about how you'll resolve the future of the OC's. That is, will they die in the war or will you find a way for them to still be around during the canon time period?

Maybe I don't want an answer to that question...

Author's Response: I tend to do that with stories, too - it's harder to read when the chapters are all spread out. And I tend toward large casts of characters, too, so I never begrudge anyone forgetting who a character is when it's been a month since the last chapter, kwim?

I do have the futures all planned out. All in good time ;) Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by letters 

4th September 2009:
I love the start of the squeal. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by slg 

4th June 2009:
I was so excited to see that you'd started a sequel to 'Unsinkable'... I think I might've squealed a little bit when I saw it :)

Looking forward to more chapters!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday 

3rd June 2009:
Sometimes it's ok for a chapter to be slow, I think - particularly in the beginning of a story, it's nice to ease into it, and this chapter was a great reunion of all the characters from Unsinkable!

Your author's note got me all excited for the Molly/Arthur elopement fic! I'm sure that will be amazing. Off to catch up on the next few chapters!

10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, it had been quite a while since I finished Unsinkable so I wanted to sort of catch up a bit. Anyway, yes, I'll be doing that one next, it's going to be called "Over the Anvil", so keep an eye out ;) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Alopex 

26th April 2009:
Ah, it was really nice to read about all these characters again. And yes, the chapter was a bit slow, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Besides, the pace and overall feeling seemed very similar to how I remember "Unsinkable" being. You've given us a lot of information here, and I have several ideas about where this story might be heading.

I know I commented on this a time or two with "Unsinkable," but I really do think you've created a fantastic group of friends for Molly (and Arthur). I always enjoy the way they all interact with each other. I like the way you worked in how Voldemort is increasing in power and then tied it in with Arthur's fascination with Muggles.

Also, I never made the connection that Cecilia Fletcher might be related to Mundungus Fletcher! I don't have a concrete reason for having done so, but I always assumed Fletcher was closer to Molly and Arthur's age, not a generation above them, though. The tattoo scene was quite funny, as well. A friend of mine recently got a tattoo and I experienced a scene much like that one.

*Gets back on topic* I'm so excited that you are writing a sequel to "Unsinkable!" You portray Molly so well, and I always love to see new material from you. This story is off to a great start, in my opinion, and I am definitely looking forward to reading more of it.

Author's Response: Wow thank you very much! I was worried when I knew you were coming by to review, I know you're a reader of refined taste and I always get a bit nervous of what you'll think :) In a good way, of course!

I picture Mundungus as being only a few years older than Molly and all - maybe in his early 20s here. Not more than 10 years older than them, so really the same age range even though he is cousin to Cecilia's father. Cecilia calls him "old" in an affectionate sort of way, not a literal comment. He seemed to me to be a bit older than them in the books, but not by much. I had to throw in a tattoo, I love the idea of wizard tattoos. I have five tattoos myself, but sadly all Muggle ;)

Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate your comments, and I hope you like the rest of the story. Just posted chapter 2 :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Angharad Lledrith 

23rd April 2009:
I've missed Molly and Arthur so much! I love all the characters you've created and the story flows great :)
Can't wait for the next chapter!

Angharad

Author's Response: Thank you! I just posted the new chapter :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

20th April 2009:
Ah, I love the little world you've created with Molly and Arthur and their friends. It's my dream to write something with such nicely-developed characters, then write a sequel and everyone rememebered them perfectly. That's what happened here, anyway. I slid right back into the life of Molly, remembered everything frmo Unsinkable, and enjoyed it. And the first chapter wasn't slow at all. It was nice catching up. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad people remember the cast, I was worried about that. It's been a while since Unsinkable ended. It's lovely to see you back in the review box again! Thanks for stopping by, I hope you keep reading :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by blithering_humdinger 

14th April 2009:
I didn't know you were going to write a sequel. Its very good, if a little slow, but I can deal with that. And its nice to see Reid and Cecelia together :).

Author's Response: It is a little slow, sorry about that. Next chapter I'm trying to make not as slow, I hope. Good to see you again, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by luvjamesnoliver 

11th April 2009:
YES!! We have a squel to Unsinkable!!(one of my personal favorites)
Aww. I'm happy that Cecilia and Reid and Molly and Arthur are so happy together. And Siobhan got a tattoo. Though I'm not too surpirsed she does like rebeling against the norm.
I'm so excited that you posted another chapter in the history of Molly and Arthur! I absolutly love your writings and your charaters.
I can't wait for the next chapter.

Alara

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! You are too kind :) Next chapter will be coming soon, so hang in there.

I think a tattoo on a woman in 1967 was a much more unusual thing than it is these days (I have five, myself). I wanted to play with the wizard-tattoo idea, and throw in how Cecilia is related to Mundungus (who I picture being in his 20s here, he seemed to be a bit older than Molly and Arthur). Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by beca 

11th April 2009:
you have no idea how happy i was when i saw that a sequal was up. i bounced up and down for a while. :] thank you for making my day. i need more though so update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad some people are excited to read this :) I'll have the next chap up sometime this week. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by laughhard91 

11th April 2009:
Excellent chapter. It really helped remind me who all of the different characters were and such. A good sort of introduction. I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was trying to make it a "previously on Unsinkable" without it being totally a "previously on Unsinkable", if you know what I mean. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Georgia Weasley 

9th April 2009:
YAY! I didn't realize how much I'd missed Molly and
Arthur until I had the delight of reading them again. You know, I have now gotten the idea in my head that this IS canon. I have to stop and remind myself that JK didn't invent Hattie and Petula and Cecilia, or my favorite Siobhan. Gideon and Fabian are not really known to be twins, but since that is the way you wrote it, they ARE when I think of them. I am so looking forward to the rest of this story. You have such a way with your characters and the details that you use to develop each one. So glad the gang is back.~GW

Author's Response: Aw thanks! It's canon in my own head, I have to admit. The more you write a character, the more real they seem. I'm somewhere between a third to half finished with chapter 2, so it'll be coming along soon. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Draco_ron_Lover 

9th April 2009:
I am so happy that you finally posted this! It took me awhile though to remember who is who and what they are like. I can't wait to read more! Update soon, please!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry it took me so long to get back into writing again. I'll try to get an update up next week. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Harry and Ginny 

8th April 2009:
Great start 4 the 1st chapter. what's going to happen now? will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'm working on chapter 2 still, but I will post it as soon as it's done. Maybe next week sometime, I'll do my best to get it finished quickly. It will be an Arthur chapter, and there'll be Quidditch involved, but that's all I can say ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review