Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

7th July 2014:
Hello again!

It was really interesting to get the background between the beginning of Martha and Sirius's relationship at the start of this chapter so we could see that the prejudice to do with blood type and family background isn't limited solely to Slytherims and Death Eaters at this time, since the tensions of the war are overspilling everywhere. I think my favourite part about this chapter was the clever way that you mingled the effects of the war and the terror it causes with the everyday life of school, exams and gossip. It really shows how much these people were affected by it. And then the part at the end, when poor little Lenny Dodderidge goes missing and he's being tortured by Avery... It's so horrible to think a student could do that to another but it's very realistic for the time period and all the tensions. It's kind of surprising Dumbledore doesn't expel him but it fita Dumbledore's personality well and in a way it's good if it stops Avery joining the Death Eaters for a few more years!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Sian! No, the tensions due to blood type aren't only for Slytherins and Death Eaters - everyone who's grown up with it has it to a limited extent (sometimes VERY limited, sometimes not). And yeah, poor Lenny. He got the short straw there through no fault of his own. As for not being expelled, well I figure if Sirius wasn't expelled (and while it's not officially canon I believe he wasn't, as i think it would have been mentioned) then Dumbledore really was pretty lenient. Which we see in HBP when he knows Draco is trying to kill him and doesn't stop him. So yeah, that's my take on it. Glad you liked it!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mel 

15th February 2013:
Hello, now I'm just going to say that I have a bit of a trouble over here... You see I'm searching for a new fanfiction to start reading and here I was stumbling across yours. At first I can tell you that I didn't want to start reading it because of me being way to picky, but then after this second chapter I'm starting to believe that I really should give this fanfic a chance... AND then I saw that your name was Mel, which mine is too, so I thought, hell this must be destiny and now I'm so going to contuine this story. Sorry for my rambling and this really full-of-nonsens-comment but you know... I had to get it out of my chest.. :)

Author's Response: Ah, destiny. Yes you should defiintely keep reading, if for no other reason than we share a name! Hahaha. Or maybe I just like people reading my stories. Anyway, I'm super picky as well so don't worry about that, and if my fic doesn't meet your standards then I'm fine with that. If it does, though, then that's extra flattering. See how you go and let me know. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jane Doe 

10th February 2013:
I like it just the way it is!

Author's Response: Thanks again. So pleased you're enjoying it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by WoodenFences 

4th February 2013:
this is really good. and I know some people may not, but I like all the descriptions and stuff. it may not get straight to the point, thus making it longer, but I like it that way!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you like it. I'm aware it does drag a little at the start but it's heartening that this hasn't turned you off.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Olga 

29th December 2012:
I like how relateable Laura is:-)

Author's Response: Thanks. I did try hard to make her relateable without being too boring.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by hanna 

28th December 2012:
it's good but mary's accent is hard to understand at times

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. As I've said before though I don't really feel like going through 62 chapters to edit it out. I understand that it gets easier the more of it you read, so if you choose to keep going you might find you understand it better. THanks for the feedback though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by bubzi 

4th November 2012:
hey it's really good!!
Although Just want to state, that Scottish people do not talk like that :P x

Author's Response: You know, I've had feedback (from Scots as well as others) saying that the accent is incredibly accurate, and others saying it's totally wrong. I suspect it might be a case of where in Scotland people are from, though I'm glad I never gave Mary a definitive region. Anyway, I'm glad you're enjoying it despte that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by katie 

14th April 2012:
I love how Laura is so average and content with it. Awesome story so far. And very nicely detailed :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you're enjoying it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by ILoveYouChristopher 

29th March 2012:
That chapter was kinda boring! sorry but it was. There wasn't much action or anything in it! It was very informative which is good, I just thought maybe there would have been some more suspense or something in it. Anywho, I love the story still though and I am reading onto the next chapter! PS. Sirius Black is my all time favorite Harry Potter character!

Author's Response: Yes, I know it's kind of a slow chapter. In fact, there are a lot of slow chapters in this, I'm afraid - the result of me wanting to keep as much in as possible. Glad you're enjoying it regardless though.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ebbers 

18th March 2012:
Hm, this is a nice chapter, but doesn't have much happening in it. The background is well researched and interesting but I'm wondering how it helps the plot of the main story?

Author's Response: Lol. There is probably a lot in this that doesn't help the plot of the main story all that much. Because it was something that could never be published I'm afraid I just included everyting I wanted to include. One day I may come back and turn it into a properly structured novel, but for the time being it's staying like it is, simply because I'm feeling self indulgent. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lou 

15th March 2012:
I love this story, but on another note, a British Person would never use the word spunk as a descriptive word as it is basically slang for semen, so when you say Lily is known for her 'spunk', that begins to mean something completly different. Just thought you might want to know. xx

Author's Response: Ooh, thanks for that! YOu know, out of all the British people who have read this, not one person has brought that up? Looks like I'm going to have to go back and re-word a few things then. Thanks for the heads up.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by cate 

3rd March 2012:
it was so very awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you! So pleased you're enjoying it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Quilled Crystal 

31st January 2012:
I'm really enjoying this story so far - you've set up each the characters so well and have clearly done some thorough research concerning the subject matter and dates! Is the year you said it was here (1975) the same year it would have been in JKR's books? Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: James and Lily were born in the first half of 1960, so they would have started fifth year when they were fifteen, ie September of 1975. So yes, it fits in with
JKR's timeline. Thanks for the review!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by PotterFan 

17th January 2012:
Hey, I just read two chapters and I love your work- particularly your amazing detail and attention to the "minor" characters in the HP books. (Avery, Slughorn, etc.) It really gives the effect of this story fits into the HP world. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I did try to make sure that as many minor characters were included as possible - we don't have a lot of canon for the Marauder era so it would only be logical for me to try to put as much in it as I could. Thanks for recognising it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by dark_sky 

12th January 2012:
I love this story already and I've only just begun!

If anyone feels like being nice please read my story, it's my first one, but hopefully not that bad!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by prettylittleliar 

12th January 2012:
In continuing reviewing every chapter, I want to first say how well written it is. You know just where to stop the 'scenes' (I don't know if that's the right word) within the chapter and the style is great. I did find this chapter very strung out (not sure if that's exactly what I mean, but close enough) and all these different things were brought in which obviously are important to the story having read further into it, it still wasn't my favourite chapter but you did a good job with it considering the different subject matters. I loved hearing Laura's opinions of the classes that were on offer, but I did feel that maybe it was extended too much and you felt the need to describe every class instead of just her favourite and least favourite ones. I really love how you bring in all these canon things like Voldemort being referred to as you know who and he who must not be named and also the student's thinking that the defence job is jinxed, plus some other things and explain them within the story (if that makes sense), by giving it your own definition. I'm not sure if this is coming out right but what I'm trying to say is that within the story you give more in depth explanations to some of the canon things that are mentioned by JKR in hp that make you think 'Oh is that why that happened/ why they did that', which is exactly what makes your story even more believable. I'm sorry I'm not very good at explaining myself in an articulate way so please try to bear with me. I love the introduction of Dione and her 'Turpin Tales' as well as the petty drama that comes along with it. I can't remember if it's explained later on but I would have thought that using an unforgivable curse on another student, whether it failed or not, would have made Dumbledore expel the person responsible. I'm still not entirely sure why he kept them at Hogwarts where other students could be harmed. Was it just because Dumbledore could keep a closer eye on these students while they were at Hogwarts and at least if they were there they wouldn't be able to join the Death Eaters? Still slightly confused on that, but all in all a fairly decent chapter, which gives us a lot to think about.
I'm not sure if you read these reviews, considering this story was written so long ago and you've already completed it and you won't change it (and to be honest I don't want you to) but I just wanted to voice my opinions and let you know what I think of the story. I hope it's appreciated :)

Author's Response: Oh, that darned Unforgiveable. I'll tell you my theory on that - because you are by no means the first person to bring that up. The thing is, I think Dumbledore is
a really forgiving type,and less fussy about the Ministry's laws than one might think. Harry wasn't even suspended when he used Sectumsempra on Malfoy, even though it might have killed him. Malfoy wasn't suspeneded, either, on the Katie Bell incident in HBP when he was trying to kill Dumbledore. I am therefore of the opinion that even if somethign like this was going on, he would be more likely to have the student counselled and punished in whatever way their Head of House thought appropriate. No idea if I'm right or not, but that was my reasoning there.

And yes, I do appreciate these reviews. It's wonderful to know that people are still reading and enjoying my story. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gigi 

2nd January 2012:
Hi! I was looking for marauder stories and I saw this and I thought it must be a MUST READ. I'm looking forward to the next chapters. But it pains me to read the Mary dialogue. I can't stand it! Please make her talk normally.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I've had a lot of feedback on Mary's accent, some good (including from some Scottish readers) and some bad. I understand that it takes some getting used to, but also that the more you read the easier it becomes, and anyway with the story completed and 300,000 words long I have no desire to go back and change it all. If you are able to put up with it, I hope you continue with the story.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by MichaelTurpin 

11th December 2011:
Why must Turpin be evil @@ :-)
Well, I'll admit I'm biased there. Oh by the way, great story.

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about that. I just had to choose a name from canon and that one drew the short straw. Nothing is implied about anyone else with that name, of course! :)

Glad you like the story otherwise. Thanks for the feedback!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by 10PointsFromSlytherin 

22nd November 2011:
Don't be so negative, it's a lovely chapter, it has such a good opening, and as a reader I'm beginning to feel attached to all the characters and everytime I read Mary's words my head makes it like the accent, much to the help of you. I'm loving this!

Author's Response: Ah, the author's notes. I forgot they might sound odd to someone reading them for the first time. The thing is, these early chapters used to read rather differently, so halfway through posting this novel I took a week off and re-wrote them. These notes are my thoughts on how they've been edited and re-written, rather than for the chapters as a whole. Guess I should go in and remove them, hey? Thanks for the reminder.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by classicblack 

2nd October 2011:
I love this chapter! But I never got why a person would not be expelled for using an Unforgivable Curse, in any of the fics I've read where it happened. This is probably the first fic where Sirius isn't a complete player. It's refreshing
Until next chapter,
classicblack

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

I take your point about expulsion, but then again Dumbledore was really very lenient towards his students in the HP books. After all, Harry barely got punished for casting Sectumsempra on Malfoy, and Malfoy himself wasn't even reprimanded for trying to kill the Headmaster. Dumbledore always liked to give people the benefit of the doubt and focused on rehabiliation, so I think he would have been lenient even in these cases. At least, that's my reasoning. :)

As for Sirius being a player, well I never really saw him that way. I'm aware that this isn't how he's usually portrayed but then, who's to say (aside from JKR) which is the more accurate?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by RavenclawGryffindorHufflepuffSlytherin 

9th September 2011:
you seem to talk as though things happen in the past and that your retelling a story, not as though your main character is currently 'going through this'

Author's Response: Thanks for this. I think that a lot of this chapter IS retelling of previous events, but if the current ones are coming across like that as well then clearly I have to work on that. Thanks!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne 

4th August 2011:
This story is quite enjoyable and I am loving it already.
I am really enjoying the way you describe Hogwarts, it's actually helped me remember where things are (hehe)
I also love how you make it sound just like an average high school with the right amount of drama, such as Dione Turpin.
Wow I think this is one of the only marauder story I've read that's included mentions of the war and you've made it fit in really well. This is getting to be a great read.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: LOL. I'm glad you liked my Hogwarts descriptions because a lot of people find them superfluous. However, when I wrote this I didn't know where I was going to post it and thought that a refresher might not be a bad idea. :)

As for the war, well it really irks me when it's ignored in Marauder stories, because if it wasn't a huge part of their consciousness then the boys and Lily wouldn't have joined the Order straight out of school, would they? So I made it an ongoing threat in the background. Glad you appreciate it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Weasleypuff 

18th July 2011:
3rd time reading this!!! This is one of my favorite stories bEcause it's in canon, is believable, and always keeps me hooked. I was wondering if you could right a novel on what happens right after the Battle of Hogwarts. I can trust that you will keep it in canon and and an amazing twist of your own :)

Author's Response: Third time? Heavens. You probably know the story better than I do right now. But thanks, because it 's a huge compliment. *beams*

As for writing something post-Battle, well I'm afraid that's not on my to-do list at the moment. My next (fanfic) novel will be about Neville's experiences in his seventh year and end at the Battle of Hogwarts, and after that I was going to try a parody. But we'll see what happens. Thanks for the suggestion!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lillylover22 

6th July 2011:
your story is great but you describe things in so much detail that at times it gets a bit tedious. but other than that this story is great. 9/10 =]

Author's Response: Sorry you found it a little dull! I know that there's a lot in this chapter which is probably assumed knowledge, but then again when I wrote it I didn't necessarily think that everyone who read it would know HP as well as I do. ANyway, thanks for persevering. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by girly1393 

5th June 2011:
Those damn Slytherins. I appreciate that you're bringing the dark in; it's so important to the story.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Hi again! Yes, I thought it was important to bring the war into the story because it had such a big impact on these characters' lives. That, and I'm sick of Marauder stories that don't include it because, as far as I'm concerned, that's just AU. Glad you appreciated it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>