Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luness 

16th July 2012:
I have not finished reading this book yet, but it
is certainly quite promising so far! I had not
read any fan fiction about the 4 Founders
before, but you have really intrigued me!

 Report Review

Review #2, by DontBeSilly 

18th September 2011:
I really like the sort of fairytale spin you've put on Helena. It is so neat!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Scar_Face 

31st May 2010:
Great beginning! Cant wait to read the rest of the story =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by anozira 

21st January 2010:
This is a lovely beginning. I'm excited to see how you have incorporated all of the other Founders.

 Report Review

Review #5, by spreaddapoo93 

4th December 2009:
Wonderful beginning! Caught me right at the very first sentence~

 Report Review

Review #6, by Erich 

11th September 2009:
This is an extremely wonderful setting! I wish I could live in your story! Even as the messenger's son, that would be great!

Author's Response: Thank you, Erich! I would love to live in a fairy tale too and I would also like to be a supporting character like Gideon :) The main characters get too much drama! LOL. Hope you'll enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Memory_Dust 

3rd September 2009:
OMG! great story. i cant wait to read on!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday 

21st June 2009:
Jules! *shakes fist* I've been sucked into this story already, and now I have yet another fic to keep up with! *grumbles about seriously addicting stories*

I adore the way this started out, with the narrative sounding like a fairytale being told to a child at bedtime. I love Helena (Who is the mystery princess, I wonder? Surely not Helga? I suppose I'll have to keep reading...) And I'm a total sucker for stories about princesses locked in towers wanting to be free. One moment I really liked here was the bit about her sister telling her that dragons would lock her in towers, and she wondered how that would be any different from her current situation.

I love how your writing just flows naturally and takes on a life of its own. This is terrible for my time management...probably going to spend the next three days reading every fic you've ever posted -- haha!

But really, this is excellent, and I'm going to shut up now so I can proceed to the next chapter...

Melanie

Author's Response: Teehee! Aw I am SO happy that you found this addicting, you have no idea! :) I'm so glad that you like the bedtime-story theme. That's exactly what I was going for - sort of a Princess Bride type of story within a story. Good guess on who Princess Helena is because you're right! It's no secret, Helena is Helga Hufflepuff but how she gets there is what the story will tell you. I'm a sucker for trapped princess stories too and I'm really excited to be able to weave that into Harry Potter.

You're so sweet, Melanie, thank you very much for this review! It made me smile :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by Wierdy 

5th June 2009:
Your character is amazing. I love your plot. Normally I wouldn't read a Founder Era story, but this is good. :]

Author's Response: Thanks Wierdy!! I'm so happy that you tried out this story even though Founders isn't your usual favorite era. Hope you'll enjoy the rest of it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by JLHufflepuff 

4th June 2009:
I really loved reading this. It's your same fluid, dreamy style yet with different characters. The introduction is just perfect for setting the tone of what follows - noble and stately yet kind of humorous and ... cleverly witty.

I really like the way you have described Helena's world. She's not satisfied with the status quo and doing what has been prescribed for her to do. Her kindness to the messenger says a lot about her ... I hate it that she is betrothed to marry gross-old-whats-his-face that she's never met, but I'm glad it's spurring her on to seek for an adventure of her dreams. I like it that she's not a helpless pawn and is willing to take control of her destiny.

I really could say a lot more, but I want to read as much as possible - fast! :) I'm so glad to be reading this.

Author's Response: Hi Jessi! Sorry for the delayed response! This review is so nice and it's such a day-booster to read it on a Monday morning :) I love fairy tales and I like the idea of a princess who is stuck in that kind of mindset and that time period, yet she breaks out of it and finds a way to make a life for herself. Spunky princesses are so much more fun than the ones who sit around and wait for Prince Charming. I'm glad you like Helena and feel that she is someone who is in control of her own destiny. Thanks dear!

 Report Review

Review #11, by whacked 

31st May 2009:
interesting start. by helena, do you mean helena ravenclaw, or rowena ravenclaw? you said it was a founder's story, so i was execting rowena ...

Author's Response: Hey thanks, whacked! :) Yes it is a Founder's story and no, Helena is neither Rowena nor her daughter. You'll see how it all comes together in the end :) Thanks for your review and I'm glad it was interesting to you so far.

 Report Review

Review #12, by sworntofun_loyaltonone 

25th May 2009:
Sounds interesting... I like Helena, this version of her is much more interesting then the usual

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope you'll like the rest of the story too and I'm glad you like Helena!

 Report Review

Review #13, by inkscribble 

5th May 2009:
I don't know why, but I kept thinking it was Rowena who was Helena, but then I thought about the teaser one-shots you had put up and realized it was Helga. Well, at least that's what I think. I suppose I'll just have to wait and see, haha.

I really like Helena, and that she wants more than just sitting in a castle. I think your writing is great too, it really works well with the time period this was set in and you do a great job with the characters fitting into what many of them were like back then. I'm really excited to see where you'll go with this, because I can't wait to read more. Fantastic story so far!

Author's Response: Haha good guess! You are right, this is Helga and not Rowena ;) Even though I always get Ravenclaw when I take sorting hat quizzes, I'm sure that I am equal parts 'Puff and I love Helga as a character. She's interesting because she seems to be above the conflict that the other Founders like to brew - she seems to be the one who holds them all together even when things are falling apart.

So, so glad you like the writing and you feel that it works with the time period. I'm not going for authenticity, just for plot and entertainment, so that means a lot that it doesn't detract from the story! Thank you very much for all your reviews so far, you're a sweetheart. Hope you'll enjoy the rest when I post it this weekend! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lady Fluff 

29th April 2009:
Oh wow. I started looking for Founder's fics and I stumbled upon this and I honestly could not be happier. I am in love with the fairy tale feel of this chapter. I mean, you had me at 'princess'. xD Helga is so cute and she is the perfect heroine for this story. I cannot wait until you update.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for stumbling on my story and giving it a try! :D Founders fics aren't very common on the site but the ones that are already here, are very good, so it's wonderful that you decided to read mine :) I love fairy tales as well and since no one has tried it yet with the Founders era, I decided to go all-out fairy tale with this story - princesses, knights, castles, and dragons. I'm excited to see what you think about the rest of the story ... second chapter should be up soon! Thanks for your review dear!

 Report Review

Review #15, by siriuslyhockey 

10th April 2009:
YAY! i really like Helena. She is such a well developed character. I really hope she doesn't come back to the castle when she leaves, she needs some adventure!

The guard crossed his arms lazily. "Don't wet yourself. What on Earth is it?"

I liked this line it was funny hehe

Good luck with your next chapter.

Author's Response: Hello dear! I'm so glad you liked Helena! I agree with you, this lady needs some serious adventure and she'll get more than she asked for. :) I hope you'll enjoy the next chapter, it won't be too long now before it gets posted. Thanks for your review *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #16, by Urvi 

25th March 2009:
As always, I like reading your stories. I really liked this chapter, it made me think of Beowulf with the dragon attacking and everything. It's too bad that Helena has to marry that guy but I have a feeling you'll make her get out of it.

Author's Response: Thanks Urvi! I've actually never read Beowulf and I've been meaning to for some time. I have a feeling I'll make Helena get out of marrying this guy too :P I appreciate your review, I hope you'll like the next chapter when it's posted!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sorcha 

21st March 2009:
Beautiful!
Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, Sorcha! Glad you enjoyed this and I'm working furiously on the next chapter after a long dry spell. Sorry for the wait and hopefully you'll enjoy the update when it comes :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by ginny321 

25th February 2009:
I really enjoyed this!
The guards were hilarious, and Helena sounds like a great heroine.
10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks Ginny! I'm glad you liked this so far and you thought it was funny. :) I'm excited to hear your opinion on the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #19, by chiQs09_II 

21st February 2009:
Aww... that. was. a great start! I love the beginning and the writing style you used! I love stories like this. I'm currently reading a book that is like this but only without dragons and magic. Your characters have always strong personalities, wanting to be independent individuals, and completely refusing the life they 'have to' live. (I've just re-read Bittersweet and Strange, this is why I've noticed it. LOL) I'm excited to read about Helena's adventure, hunting a dragon with her brother. But remembering one of your one-shots, I think Helena was all by herself. *unsure*

Anyway, I'm glad you've finally posted this story. :D

Author's Response: Hi Mitchy *huggles* Hmm good point about the strong characters who want to fight against the lives they "have" to live. Maybe it says something about me? LOL Thanks Dr. Mitch :D I'm glad you liked this so far! And you'll see why Helena was all by herself in the one-shot. I'm glad I've finally posted this too, it was gathering dust in that Word document I hid in a folder somewhere.

 Report Review

Review #20, by LittleZebra 

20th February 2009:
I'm intrigued. It's been a long time since I've read any type of story that has knights and runaway princesses. I must say, it's very enjoyable. I look forward to reading the chapters to come.

Author's Response: I don't think anyone ever really gets too old for knights and princesses :) I'm 23 and I still love this stuff. Glad you're enjoying it so far and I hope you'll enjoy the rest if you keep reading! Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by confusedlover 

20th February 2009:
very lovely.

this was amazing. i loved the plot and the setting and things seem to be very realistic with the way that you are settling things in. your flow is intact and your descriptions are utterly perfect. well done.

i thought that this was very interesting. founders have always interested me somewhat and even though i have never actually began writing a story revolving around that era i am glad that you started this. it will really attract many readers and even though this is just starting out, expect a tone of feedback. readers will love what this story has to offer.

it also pulled me in. from the first word i felt attached to this story and things just seemed to improve from there. you do not have to worry about anything that you have written so far. this is absolutely fantastic.

overall, i thought that you did an amazing job with every aspect of this story. this is a great start to whatever more you have planned to come next in this story. the whole royal setting is really appealing. wonderful job.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for your kind review :) I really like the Founders era too and this is my first attempt at it. I hope you're right about the feedback! I would love to help introduce this era to people who may not have tried it before. It's not a very popular time period to write about, but I think it's going to be a lot of fun for me either way.

 Report Review

Review #22, by onestop_hpfan18 

19th February 2009:
Oh, I like this story so far. You did a great job with composing this chapter and showing your style in this genre of writing. It's a nice, developed founders era story, and it looks like it'd be a believable and interesting historical fiction, too. I like how Helena is going against her father's wishes by posing as a knight that will be playing sick to get out of the dragon hunt; it kind of reminds me of Mulan and how she posing as a man to be able to fight in the war. Anyway, great job and I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks Leslie! I'm happy that you like the story so far. I've always had an affinity for older time periods (both in reading and writing) and I've always wanted to try this era. The idea of the woman who disguises herself as man for freedom has definitely been done before, but I wanted to try putting a new twist on it and we'll see how that goes. Thank you dear and I hope you'll like the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #23, by AnnaKay 

19th February 2009:
What a wonderful chapter! I love Founder stories, and you have a real gem on your hands. What a great plot so far, with enough happiness and drama on the hands for a great novel. It is very interesting.

I'm so glad that she is not a typical princess, and that she has what it takes to do what she wants to do.

A great first chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, Anna :) I like Founders stories too and I'm really grateful that you enjoyed mine so far.

 Report Review

Review #24, by SiriuslyPeeved 

19th February 2009:
The tone of this story is wonderful, an engaging fairy tale beginning and nicely paced. You have me hooked. It has a nice Princess Bride quality without being too similar. I liked the touches of Helena's accidental magic, too.

Gideon's aside that the dragon was not possibly such a bad thing, because they could make money off it somehow, made me laugh! Thanks for the fun read! I've got this on my updates feed :)

Author's Response: Hi there! :D Thank you very much, I'm really glad you liked this so far and I'm happy you mentioned the Princess Bride because that's the feel I'm going for. I had intended to write an angstier, darker Salazar-betrays-his-friends type of story but I decided to go with a how-they-met type of story. Haha I like Gideon and I'm glad he made you laugh! I will have to figure out how to keep him around for a little while. Comic relief is always a good thing. Thanks, dear!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Billion 

19th February 2009:
Hey there, Girldetective85! I have come (finally) to comment on this chapter, so here we go!

The introduction - it gives a sort of fairy-tale feel to the story, which is appropriate in that the Founders are so legendary they're not really seen as real people. However, it seems a bit too lighthearted? Are you planning on going in that direction or something a bit more serious? I'm not sure how to explain it but I think it's because the narrator himself is not introduced? Or maybe I just don't know what I'm talking about. Don't get me wrong, I like it - it's a good method for giving all the background info at once without getting bogging down by it later.

Back then didn't people marry in their teens? I'm kind of surprised that King Richard waited so long to marry her off - especially because it seems he doesn't care much for girls.

You have a gift with dialog, my dear:
"I suppose it flies too?" King Humphrey interrupted, laughing at his own wit.
Gideon pondered this. "Well, it has wings, but I have yet to see it fly..."
I was simultaneously diverted and impressed with how much you were able to convey in those two sentences. The same can be said of Helena's conversation with her sisters - we get all the information we need about them in that one scene. Does that mean we won't be seeing much of them? I liked Catherine though, she seemed a bit sharper than Geraldine.

About Helena, she's a very likable heroine with spunk and charm (traits usually associated with Gryffindors) and I think its wonderful that you're doing the story from her pov. She's a muggle born, right, since no one in her family can do magic (unless her mother did?). If so, it'd be real interesting to see how Salazar takes to that with his belief in pureblood superiority. He seems to really care for her though from the first prelude. Also, is Helena's family name Hufflepuff? Somewhere down the road she drops her given name completely it seems so I'm thinking she makes he house name up, only keeping the badger.

The story so far starts of as a typical fairy tale - princess in disguise as a knight, etc. but it really can't be that typical since how many princesses end up starting a magical school? Hopefully we'll learn more of Helena as it progresses - especially her shortcomings, they'd probably be more unique than Godric's and Salazar's which could be inferred from canon. Speaking of, How long do you reckon before we meet Godric?

I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

-Billion

Man, I think I just wrote an essay...

Author's Response: *squeal* I love your reviews, they're always so long and thoughtful! You were kind enough to be excited when you read my preludes and I'm so, so glad this lived up to your expectations :)

Aha good point. This story is going to focus primarily on how the four Founders meet (seen through the eyes of Helena, although I'm not sure whether I'll be switching POVs - very possible). This is way before Godric and Salazar get all angsty and emotional, so I will be keeping the tone of this story very light-hearted. There might be darker themes when I start getting into Salazar's story (he is a very dark kind of guy, no?) but all in all, this is going to be a lot lighter than most fics because it's not homed in on Slytherin's departure.

The narrator will never be introduced because he (or she) is me :D I wanted the opening to feel like I am sitting in a rocking chair handing you a plate of cookies and telling you the story myself. I won't be doing that first-person thing too much, but it may appear occasionally.

Yep, people married in their teens back then - but I gave some hints that Helena is a little ... strange compared to other girls. I imagine that rumors spread and King Richard had a hard time marrying this particular daughter off, but struck a lucky bargain with someone who would have her (i.e. King Humphrey's son who has never seen her before).

Hee hee glad you liked the dialogue! I'm pretty fond of Gideon; he is my comic relief :)

Hmm that is an excellent point about Helena and Salazar. Good catch ... more on that to come!

Godric is coming soon! I'm still not sure whether I should do too much jumping back and forth between each Founder's storyline, because I have SO much for each of them. I might start doing it slowly so you could potentially see him in the next chapter and what's going on with him.

LOL I just wrote an essay too. *huggles* Thanks for this brilliant review!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>