Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Toujours Padfoot 

9th December 2012:
I LOVE THIS. WHERE HAS IT BEEN ALL OF MY LIFE.

Crack and parodies are two of my very favorite things, which were both expertly combined into a story in which the stately ladies run to MAC counters for their make-up before a ball and gentlemen are compared to men from future eras just for the sake of painting a picture for the audience, even though it makes no sense to the characters whatsoever.

I snorted when Hermione burst onto the scene looking for a Sirius or Remus to fall in love with. Wouldn't it be something if she fell in love with Peter instead, thereby preventing Peter's deflection to the dark side? It makes perfect sense that Hermione, the brilliant young girl that she is, would find it absolutely necessary to stop everything, go back in time, and frolic in the Room of Requirement with Sirius while he resolves to ~change his ways~ because of his ~deep and abiding love for her~ (or, in a twist of events, seduce Remus for a while before he declares that he loves his books and chocolate much more and gives her permission to go back to Sirius and have lots of teenage pregnancies with him). Never mind that she could use the timeturner for saving lives and killing Voldemort, etc. Those are small potatoes in light of Sirius's eyes (which are the color of fog rising off the ocean in waves of steam and smoke and the sparkly residue of old Christmas tree ornaments).

Salazar-Jonas's proportionately evil eyebrows were a marvelous detail. One cannot be truly evil without the perfectly plucked eyebrows that signal to the world that he is indeed a villain. A villain who pouts that he must have his "monster room".

ULTIMATE DEATH ARENA. OMG I CAN'T. Their arguing. I love their arguing because in context it is so childish but they speak so formally and it's delightful. Of course Rowena only turns down the monster room because basilisks don't teach people anything. And Helga, well. Helga exists to have blonde ringlets and sing back-up. She can't have a bigger role than that because her name sounds like she should be wearing a Viking helmet.

But I do believe I have found a massive plot hole in your story. I regret to say it. But I'm boggled about how Helga recognized her at the very end after Rowena slipped a mask out of her bodice and put it on. Everyone knows that a mask (even if it's so small that it literally only covers the pupils of your eyes and nothing else) renders the wearer totally unrecognizable. One cannot possibly tell who you are based on the rest of your face.

lol

Hilarious chapter! I am definitely going to read the other two.

Author's Response: DUDE THIS STORY IS EPIC. I'm glad you liked it ;)

Parody HP is just so much fun. This is a crack-fic, isn't it? Never really thought of it that way. But it pretty much is. As much random stuff as I could pack in here. I wedged queue cliches in with a crowbar!

You need to check out the next chapter, when the characters ask about the site rules and TOS. That's my favorite bit haha. I was writing with no idea of where to go and suddenly it just happened. They really did write themselves.

Hermione should totally fall in love with Peter! But of course Sirius is more interesting ;) Teenage Hermione/Sirius pregnancies are totally NECESSARY TO OUR WELL-BEING. Saving lifes? Defeating dark lords? Piffle. TEENAGE HORMONES. NAUGHTY TIMES IN THE ROR.

I can't believe you called Sirius's eyes "eyes". They are orbs. Silvery orbs, the color of fog rising off the oceans if fog were sparkly and sexy. Orbs.

Thin eyebrows are the hallmark of every true villain. I bet Darth Vader gets his waxed twice a month, so even under his helmet he'll still look appropriately villainous.

OH MY GOD THE MASK. I can't believe I missed that. Of course no one would know her any more! No one can recognize someone they've known for years if they cover up the two square inches around their eyes! *shakes fist at past self*

Thank you for reviewing ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by ANP 

23rd January 2011:
"singing florid organum music and a goliard sneaking through the crowd singing slightly less elevated and therefore slightly more interesting poems set to lute."

Best line ever! Hilarious story of course : )

Author's Response: lol! I do love my obscure medieval references. ;) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ravenclaw333 

18th November 2010:
You are awesome.
That is all.

Author's Response: *teehee* I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Arethusa Got Lucky 

2nd July 2010:
This sketch was far too silly indeed. It was rather amusing, though. I could definitely feel the Terry Pratchett influence (especially in the self-referential humor), and I caught the Mel Brooks and Monty Python, but I think I missed most of the rest.

Speaking of the Mel Brooks reference: "She is in fact your grandfather's uncle's brother's grandson's niece"
I had to pull out a piece of paper and work this one out.

This was really funny. I think I'm going to enjoy the next couple of chapters, once my brain stops hurting from the inanity.

Author's Response: Consanguinity ftw! ;) Mel Brooks is brilliant, as is Sir Terry Pratchett. The rest were mostly brief references thrown in to make things even sillier than they already were.

I aim to please, straight for the inanity lobe of your brain. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by butterbeergal 

30th April 2010:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

I wasn't expecting this to be set in the Founders era so that made it all the more hilarious. You've got cliches, anachronisms, pop culture (Salazar alias Jonas totally cracked me up!), the works! I love parodies and like I mentioned in Twitter, anyone who can pull it off is a winner in my books.

In the planning, I loved how you made Godric into this jock-type person and Salazar into a whiny kid. Win!

He raised an eyebrow that had been expertly plucked to appropriately sinister dimensions.
^ This line killed me! Genius!

This was highly entertaining, and even though I wasn't able to pick up on all the references, this was very funny all the same. Fantastic job. Thanks for sharing this! I'm off to the next chapter now.

Author's Response: I never write Founders, so I thought it would be fun to slap ridiculousness into them XD I really loved writing Salazar and Godric, and everyone's changing personalities. My favorite part is Salazar throwing up gang signs in chapter 2 haha. It was really fun to write this whole thing. I'm glad you liked it! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by WeasleyTwins 

7th September 2009:
Hello! I'm here to review for TGS's Frantic Frenzy!

Buhaha, this was just hilarious! I'm home from college for the weekend, so I had to stifle insanely obnoxious snorting. I can just see my parents waking up to hear me laughing over such a delightful parody! You've done an excellent job crafting this parody into something worth reading. Were it not filled with obvious cliches that surely travel through the queue at the speed of a turtle, it would be worth a grander title than parody. I love the ridiculous run-on sentence, also known as the first paragraph.

Overall, you've just made my day, well, morning. A great read and even greater at 3 in morning. Too rich.

10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Heh. This chapter is just a few of the cliches that make me roll my eyes when I see them! There were just too many to cover in one chapter. I'm really glad you liked it and thought it was funny. It makes me happy when I can make someone laugh with this story :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hermione's Quill 

5th September 2009:
I have never left a review before but enjoyed this excellently written yet ludicrous chapter so much that I simply must say thank you :) I'm moving on to the next chapter with great expectations...

Author's Response: Well thank you very much! I feel very flattered when someone who doesn't review leaves me one :) I'm very glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Shelly 

5th August 2009:
Gosh that was funny especially the first section. And Helgazar and Godwena in your summery lol.

Author's Response: lol. Yay! I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aether 

25th July 2009:
Hah, hah! That was hilarious. I love parodies... :) I'm in comedy heaven right now. Thanks for the great read! 10/10!

Author's Response: lol. Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by moony101 

11th July 2009:
That was an awesome chapter... I loved Hermione's line about the Marauders, Salazar's monster room, Godric's sports in general, and Helga's descrtion. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday 

18th June 2009:
Just the title cracked me up. "Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball." LOL

I started to make a list of my favorite quotes, then realized that this review would be 10 pages long if I included all of them. So here is a small sampling...

"Why should I thank Merlin? The bugger owes me ten Galleons."
--This reminds me an awful lot of Rufus in the movie Dogma. Hahaha.

"Apparate to a MAC counter to have my makeup done"
--You are too funny! Studio Fix, anyone? I'm NW20. :-D

"being an evil genius and therefore well schooled in systems of kinship"
--Oh, you mean he's a lawyer who handles estates and wills? Heehee.

"If we're adding a multipurpose room, then I'm building my monster room"
--Funny!

"It's just as well, anyway, this sketch is getting far too silly"
"Well then, I think now might be time for something completely different?"
--Ahhh! Squee! Monty Python! *falls off chair in excitement*

Zangelbert Bingledack... giant squibs... Ultimate Fight Club death arena... I was cracking up through this entire thing! This is amazing.

A million/ 10

Author's Response: Monty Python ftw! And Studio Fix too, I'm NC15 during winter and NC25 in summer lol.

He could be an Evil Anthropologist. An Evil Lawyer would be redundant, especially an Evil Probate Lawyer ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jianne 

1st June 2009:
Woo, this is brilliant. I was laughing so hard.
I love how you write.
Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by SiriuslyPeeved 

9th April 2009:
Great chapter! I'm dying laughing at the mental picture of Giant Squibs.

Author's Response: *teehee* Attack of the 50-Foot Squib! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by blithering_humdinger 

15th March 2009:
Brilliant! This is good comedy! Loved the Jonas/Montana references at the beginning, but they were all amazing!

Author's Response: lol. Ah yes, I have to admit that I've never actually heard a Jonas Brothers song, because I'm 30 years old and my kids are only four. I can sing everything from the Wonder Pets, though. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sanitariumescapee 

12th March 2009:
hahahaha, i love one-shot parodies! this is so full of funny quotes i can't pick a favorite. well done

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by nimbus1973 

12th March 2009:
Hooray for cliche parody! Glorious!

Author's Response: lol thank you! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by gryffindorseeker 

3rd March 2009:
Oh my God, I can't breathe. *asthma!attack* This was absolutely brilliant and insane and hilarious, and I can't possibly catch all of your hilarious references. (Jonas brothers! Hannah Montana! Gregorian and Julian calendars! And, of course, MAC makeup!)

Favorite line: "Well," Rowena said obligingly, "Due to an interesting and amusing mix-up with a time-turner, she is in fact ten years my elder."

In conclusion, this was magnificent and a joy to read. Bravo! 10/10

Author's Response: Wow! I'm so happy that you liked it. I greatly admire your comedic skillz, so it means a lot that you thought this was funny. Whee! I'm working on a Part Deux for this *snickers* Hint: Wizard Feud.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Georgia Weasley 

24th February 2009:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! "And now for something completely different!" I had to cover my mouth to keep from disturbing my students while they took a test. I nearly had a seizure, I swear, trying to hold it in! This was hilarious, and I think anyone who has ever had the distinct pleasure of reading through the queue can truly appreciate the amount of thought and effort you put into this! Thank you so much for that wonderful laugh to brighten my day.

Author's Response: Heh. I've been writing a second chapter.. Must finish it. I'm glad you liked this one. Yay! Whee! *frolics in the grass*

 Report Review

Review #19, by PrivetDrive 

21st February 2009:
Completely and fabulously hilarous.
I enjoyed every second of it.

Author's Response: heehee. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by madelgranger 

14th February 2009:
heehee i love this! particularly the run-on and hermione's ridiculous time-traveling. the whole thing was hilarious. thanks for writing!

Author's Response: lol Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Girldetective85 

12th February 2009:
*laughing hysterically* You wrote it, you wrote it! YAY. I was giggling from beginning to end. I love the way you take the Founders era (which is always very serious and dire and all that) and inject every known cliche in Harry Potter fanfiction as well as hilarious pop culture references. I didn't get all of the inspiration sources you mentioned but I definitely picked up on the Men in Tights allusions! The part where Godric was singing "The Night is Young" made me laugh so hard because I was picturing Cary Elwes' sword slowly rising behind the canvas and all of the men in tights watching with popcorn. *wipes eyes* The first sentence was all kinds of awesome. This whole story is all kinds of awesome. I'm going to be going back to read again and again.

I do have one complaint. WHY THE HECK is this a one-shot?! You need to write a full-length novel about what happened at the Superfluous Masked Ball and what happened when Broomhilde caught Helga and Salazar necking in one of the broom closets ("no ding-ding vithout a vedding ring!").

In the words of the wise: OMG!!!11 lyk dis is awshum!!!

10,000/10

Author's Response: Hahahahaha! I was going to do a scene where Helga mysteriously becomes pregnant with Godric's baby, even though they've never been alone in a room together, and someone will have to call Rowena a seductress. And of course, somebody has to be a sex god. Possibly both Salazar AND Godric! I think I'll add more later, and I will definitely have Broomhilde pop up regularly!

Whee! So glad you lyked it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by hogwarts_author_cs 

12th February 2009:
wow. that's all i can say.
this was hilarious.
i absolutely loved it. so much.
one million out of ten.
it was very, very funny.
wow.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad it was funny for ya. I went a little crazy writing it lol.

 Report Review

Review #23, by hsw/Alopex 

12th February 2009:
I haven't checked your page since January, and the day I chose to check is the day you put something new up. What luck! And I'm so excited to be the first reviewer! (Unless someone sneaks one in while I'm writing this long one.)

That first sentence/paragraph really threw me for a loop! About the third line I was thinking, "Gee, this is REALLY long, flowery, awkwardly phrased sentence." I was wondering if you were trying to sound Old English-y or something, because some writers of Founders stories try that. I was prepared to be unimpressed, but then the last part of that sentence (in which you write what a long sentence it is) absolutely floored me! I sat there gawping like a fish and had to read it over again to be sure I wasn't imagining it! By the time I got to the end of the second paragraph, I was practically howling in laughter and disbelief.

This is a very interesting and unusual story idea. I must admit it took me completely by surprise. I wasn't sure what to expect, based on your summary, but it wasn't this. I was definitely amused, as I have been by a good bit of your writing so far. I can't say this is a great story, plotwise, since it doesn't really have a plot to speak of, but it is very unusual and amusing.

It's amazing how many weird and random things you packed into this one-shot. It's incredibly creative. It is definitely the most ridiculous thing I have read all year and certainly is contending for the most ridiculous thing I have read EVER. Although I'm not sure I can say I "like" this story a lot, I definitely enjoyed it, and I kind of like it at the same time, if that makes sense.

I did catch some of the puns and references, though certainly not all. There were a few places where I knew you were making a joke or reference but that I didn't "get." I really love how you're sort of making fun of so many things here, both with references in the writing and with the writing itself. Thanks for the most interesting thing I have read in a long time. This really spiced up my day.

P.S. "Inkhornism" is an archaic word that refers to a pedantic word or expression or excessively flowery language. Just a couple of days ago, I was reading a short passage some man wrote (in the 1800s, I think) that was making fun of inkhornisms, of course by using inkhornisms. That came forcefully to mind while I was reading your first sentence/paragraph in this one-shot!

Author's Response: I love that word! It's perfect. I have to remember it. I hate pedantic and overly flowery stuff.

I put this up late at night, but I'll put a little disclaimer on the summary so nobody else gets blindsided lol. It's total parody, without purpose or plot, just poking at some of the cliches on the archive that annoy or amuse me. The point was to be ridiculous, random, and all-around silly. It appears I have achieved a measure of success! lol

That first paragraph nearly killed me haha, it took me forever to add in enough subclauses to make it an insanely long sentence.

I am very glad you liked it, despite the ridiculous silliness :) Thanks for reviewing, and for sharing the word! Definitely adding that to my favorite vocabulary.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review