Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyPotter 

30th July 2013:
That is the most adorable thing ever! Your very well written as well!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

12th December 2012:
Awww; this is so sweet and just really lovely!

Most of the fics I've read about James and Lily (post-Hogwarts) have been about the night they died, so this was a very refreshing! It's just a perfect little moment out of Lily and James' short time with Harry, and the "normalcy" of it (for lack of a better word), really helped me to connect with it.

The thing that stood out to me the most was James' characterization. I love, love, LOVE that, even though he's a grown man and a father now, he's still a tiny bit immature. That's just SO realistic and just classic James (at least in my head-canon, that is :P).

The line "James had never been to a carol service before" was a nice touch; great attention to detail, there! But my favorite line of the whole thing was, "Have we had enough proper Christmas yet?"! I laughed out loud when I read that!

I really don't know why, but I got really wary for some reason when Bathilda showed up. (Probably because the last thing I remember about her was DH - and we ALL know how scary that turned out!) As I kept reading, though, I thought it was really nice to see her um... pre-snake?

Okay, enough about the snake! :P This really is just adorable and lovely, and perfectly written! Amazing piece! 10/10!

Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I don't see a lot of Lily/James stories set at this point in their lives, but it's an interesting time to me because they're really still so young and their happiness as young parents was just so brief. That makes me super sad, and I process sad HP feelings by writing drabbles like this ;)

He's definitely still immature I think, he's only 21 here. Still very young. I loved giving Bathilda a cameo as her real self, though I wasn't sure how to write her since the only thing we see of her in the books that's really her is Lily's brief mention in the letter to Sirius.

Thank you again, and thanks for the review! Happy review holiday!


 Report Review

Review #3, by writeyourheartout 

18th July 2012:
This was so sweet and simple and lovely and I now wish it were Christmas! Although I am unfamiliar with the song you used, it fit perfectly with the tale. ^.^

These kinds of stories are always so bittersweet for me. It's such a wonderful idea - the happy family of Potters doing normal things like attending service during Christmas, watching the Nativity Play, thinking about the days when their own son will be up there delivering lines that he barely remembers. But it's hard to think that none of these things happen past this point! This is their only Christmas, Harry probably never steps foot inside a church again, even.

It was so nice that you thought to set them up in this situation where they would use the church that we come across in Deathly Hallows when Harry and Hermione visit their graves. I know that the entire story was laced only with the happy simplicity of a family's first Christmas together, and I love that you didn't foreshadow things to come or anything, but allowed us as readers to connect back to that if we so chose to. It's just really cool how this story can be completely innocent and also entirely sad! haha

I really love it when people bring canon facts into a story, so when Bathilda showed up I was like 'Oh, yeah, cool, that was really from the story!' LOL I must be easy to please or something... haha

I thought James and Lily's relationship with each other and with Harry was all so realistic, it was almost like reading a snippet from JK Rowling herself if she decided to give us a slight insight into what Harry's life was almost like.

Also, I just love your descriptions. You paint a very clear picture with your words, which is not always something I can do, and you make even what could be a very mundane activity seem enchanting. The walk to the church was one of my favorite moments: The snow-covered path, the music growing louder, James arm around Lily and Harry. Idk, it made me smile. :-)

Simple, lovely, bittersweet and very enjoyable. You're so talented. I hate you.

No, no, that's just the bitter envy. Ignore that. ^.^

Author's Response: I think this is a less popular carol these days - it's an older one, and you don't hear it much. It's nice though, sort of peaceful and calm.

It's sad to think of the Potters during the period when they're happy and content with their little family, knowing how little time they have left together. Dreaming of days that will never come for them.

I adore bringing canon in as much as possible. I especially adore obscure canon. I don't think Bathilda counts as obscure, but I do love it. Anyway, I'm glad you liked her appearance here!

Poor Harry. The life he almost had. Well, did have, until he was a year old, poor little thing.

Thank you so much for the compliment on description - I always feel like that's my weakest point in my writing. I'm so pleased that you thought it was good! And aw, you silly. You're so sweet :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #4, by Flower n Prongs 

7th August 2011:
I'm not quite sure why I decided to read a Christmas story of all of the fics that you have up, but I did and I must say I'm very happy I did. I'm a big James/Lily fan and them spending Christmas with Harry was very cute. It was very bittersweet when Lily glared at James for laughing at the children and mentioned that Harry would be up there in a few years, since we know that by the following Christmas he was with Petunia and Vernon.

This was a very cute little fluffy story. I quite enjoyed it. =)

Lily Flower (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Christmas in August, why not? lol. I love Christmas, it's my favorite holiday. I'm glad you liked this story - this is my one and only take on Lily/James, and I kind of liked writing them. It's sad to think of their one year with their son, isn't it? Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyCullen 

26th April 2011:
As always I enjoyed this so much!
For your first time writing James/Lily I think it went fantastic. James does seem the kind of person who would rather listen to a game rather than go to his sons first Christmas. I love how you added Bathilda into the story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I do think James wouldn't be much into the whole "first Christmas" thing, but Lily would. I'm glad you liked it, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Singularity 

30th December 2010:
I'm a fan of stories like this that show Lily, James, and Harry as a family. Granted, they are always bittersweet because we know how the story ends, but I still love reading them.

I think you wrote this beautifully. Lily and James seemed very in character to me. The idea that Lily wanted to give Harry a 'proper first Christmas' especially seemed very much like something Lily would do. She always seemed like a bit of a perfectionist to me. (That line also made me really sad, thinking about how long it will be before Harry has another 'proper' Christmas).

I also really liked the idea of tying in the church in Godric's Hollow that Harry and Hermione pass in Deathly Hallows. When I read that part of the book, I always just thought of it as a normal Muggle church, but it makes sense that some of the witches and wizards would attend as well...especially on Christmas.

I really enjoyed this. I thought the addition of the song lyrics added a nice touch. It was really sweet.

Author's Response: Ah, but Godric's Hollow is an all-wizard village. Any church inside the village ought to be a church populated with wizards. No one ever said wizards couldn't be religious. In fact, JKR specifically said that wizards run the religious gamut just like Muggles: agnostic, atheist, Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, etc. And I do think a lot of people turn to church at Christmas, even if they aren't otherwise terribly devout. I imagine the church is Anglican, since that's the most common religion in the UK.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it :) I agree that Lily's the perfectionist type who would want things done "properly", as it were, and get Harry the whole experience. It is sad to see them as a family - part of why I don't normally write Marauders era - since they have such a short time together. Thanks for reviewing, and happy New Year!


 Report Review

Review #7, by AndrinaBlack 

20th December 2010:
That was very sweet! I loved it! I've always loved the Godric's Hollow part in DH (before they go to Bathilda's house, which is quite different) with it's bittersweet Christmas feel and how the village seems really lovely with its normal Christmas things going on while Harry and Hermione have quite a different Christmas. I like how you related this to that. It could be a similar carol service going on in the church at that later time. At the same time it's a bit bittersweet as we know that Harry won't be in a nativity play and that this is his only Christmas with his parents there.

I really think somehow that Lily would be into keeping Christmas traditions even if she wasn't that bothered about traditions in other situations. She would probably insist that James teach her and Harry some of his childhood traditions too.

You managed to mention some typical or important things in the way that I was thinking "oh I know that!" about some things: children being cute with a nativity play and looking half lost while doing it and babies starting to cry in the church (not that Harry did).

Author's Response: Oh wow five new reviews from you? I'm so happy! :D

I think Lily would like to have the traditions going, yeah. She seems like the type. And as I've thought about this more, I think it's likely James actually would have gone to this kind of service before. The church is in an all-wizard village, after all. I was thinking of the service in that scene in DH when I wrote it, yeah. Good eye ;)

It's kind of sad to think Harry never gets to do a nativity play, and they never get to see him. Maybe Harry's kids did them, and he got to watch his babies up there :)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by FreddieKat 

13th March 2009:
aww, that's cute. Lily and James are so adorable :D

10/10!
-Kat

Author's Response: Thank you! Good to see you again in a review :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by MoonNRoses 

31st January 2009:
Very sweet. I love the idea of the new family and them strolling along holding hands. It makes for a pretty picture.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by hsw 

11th December 2008:
I guess "Christmas fluff" really is the best way to describe this, so I'll just repeat you for that bit. This was a cute story. I thought the part about Lily treading on James' foot was amusing. Overall, though, it was just very, very fluffy. Not much going on to comment on.

Author's Response: Yeah these are pretty much pointless, they were the ones I didn't enter into the actual challenge (that hasn't been posted yet) because I didn't think they were as good, but still wanted to share them.

 Report Review

Review #11, by I_LOVE_love 

6th December 2008:
Ah man, while I was reading this I was also watching POA on tv. It was like the two extremes almost, a happy joyous Christmas on the computer screen and a wizard struggling to fight a dementor on tv! ;) But on a more sirius note, your story was so cute! I, personally, can't wait for our real Christmas to get here and reading happy Christmas stories by a great author is GREAT!! I, also, think that you wrote Lily and James really well for your first time writing them! :)
10/10
*love*

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. I can't wait for Christmas too!

 Report Review

Review #12, by fanwright19 

5th December 2008:
very good for your first try I love it. it is always nice to read stories that have james, lily and harry together because those moments are so unique.

Author's Response: Thank you! I know, it makes me sad to think of the three of them together, they had such a short time.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Georgia Weasley 

2nd December 2008:
Very lovely. Being Muggle-born, Lily probably spent many Christmases in Church and singing carols. I imagine it was a bit different for James. I love the interaction you wrote between them. It was very realistic, and adding in poor Bathilda was sweet. I can't wait to see what's next.

Author's Response: I wanted to give them a little peace in Godric's Hollow. Poor Lily and James, they are the ultimate tragedy in a series that's full of tragedies. I'm glad you liked it! I just posted the next one, a very fluffy Teddoire. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review