Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Guest 

21st February 2012:
@Ashley
No, the author is correct. Remus was prefect but James was Head Boy. Hagrid mentions it at the beginning of the Sorcerer's Stone.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ashy 

18th February 2012:
James wasn't Head Boy, Remus was. But other than the fact that I'm sure they would have been in trouble much more, and have been in Dumblesore's office, this is the most amazing story vie ever read. It's so well written and thought out, keep writing stories! :-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HartOfARebel 

7th July 2011:
"Be sure to tell your mother that this was your idea." haha.
I like the way you've catagorised everyone, like Pete being jealous but still not leaving or saying anything, knowing he would never find anyone better. I've had this story bookmarked for a while to read it but I've only just gotten round to it now, looking forward for what's coming. =]

 Report Review

Review #4, by girly1393 

10th May 2011:
How terribly frightening, signing up for your death.

And in the end, Voldemort is the cause, indirect or direct, of each other their deaths.

Bravo to you.

 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 

6th July 2010:
I really enjoyed this chapter; the story just keeps getting better as it delves further into the plot. Also, excellent characterisation of Sirius... the way he was brought up, mannerisms, and personality are all very well woven together. And Dumbledore's last line at the end 'Be sure to tell your mother that this was ///your/// idea' made me laugh as I'm sure James will be in trouble when his mother discovers he's joined the Order with his friends. Anyway, great chapter. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by spangles 

13th February 2010:
Another great chapter (why do I keep using great? All right, another superb chapter then.) I loved Dumbeldore's last line, having humor just tunes up the whole story, even one this dark. 10/10

Author's Response: I always used to be afraid of writing Dumbledore, but he has proven himself to be a pretty fun character to try to get into. Still stressful, but also enjoyable (and rewarding, if you feel you've gotten him right!)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Casey 

21st January 2010:
I loved the playful banter in the beginning. They seem like such cool people. Honestly you can only act like that around people you care about and love. Although I thought it was quite weird that Sirius and Peter were drinking whereas Remus and James were not. I think the only real reason Peter did it was to be close to his friends and feel apart of something although I guess Sirius did it in order to be with James as well. And Sirius offering Remus to stay with him, it sounds as though it was something I would do but I understand that Remus doesn't want to feel like he's some sort of charity.

Dumbledore being scared of James's mother haha. I wonder if Dumbledore knew all along whether or not they would join his Order and if he had been counting on it. He didn't seem all that surprised underneath it all although I do get thoroughly annoyed with him smiling all the time. If he wasn't such a great wizard, he would be creepy.

Author's Response: I like writing the parts where they do nothing but hang out (though for some reason, it's difficult, and they always end up with small talk it seems..) Remus and James were both drinking as well while they played their card game - its just that Peter and Sirius were doing bets, and I never mentioned a drink in the hands of the other two. But of course they all were. (Sirius was the only super drunk one, though, after falling victim to Peter's dares).

LOL Dumbledore isn't necessarily scared of James's mother - but he does know how she is going to react. I never thought of the prospect of Dumbledore knowing they'd join him, but I suppose it is possible! He may not have seemed surprise because I'm just not that good at writing him lol.


 Report Review

Review #8, by breezieair 

25th September 2009:
I haven't left a review yet, but I absolutely love this story! The thing I like most is how you give sirius the "funny handsome guy" but you also put the depth into him of his dark past and I always believed ( as you have written) that he was always brooding on something. even if he never cared to show it.
I also agree with exactly how you portray his and James friendship! you said it perfectly a couple chapter ago (chap. 2?) "James was Sirius's whole world. and would do and be where ever he was!" (or something to that extent!
wonderful! I'm going to enjoy the rest!

breezieair
10/10

Author's Response: I love Sirius to death. I try to make him really likeable, the kind you could totally imagine as popular. I try to keep him the way JKR wrote him as a student at Hogwarts, with all the girls watching him, but he does have bigger issues. I'm glad you liked him! JKR said that James and Sirius were closer than brothers, so that's what I tried to do. Sirius really didn't have anyone else so important to him unless I am forgetting somebody!! I'm glad you like it, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by InvisibleWitch19 

23rd September 2009:
Haha, I love how you portrayed Dumbledore. You make him the exact way J.K.R. did and that's really awesome. Even I had a sore attempt to characterize him well once; it turned out a bit awkward. And his last line! That made me laugh out loud; he was scared of James' mother.

Sirius was also funny in the first part; he was drunk! Haha, Peter was slightly annoying though but I know he just wants to have a point in what he says or something. I also feel really bad for Remus being a werewolf and not having a job so I believe James and Sirius are so loyal by helping him out!

Love your amazing story,
-Bree-

Author's Response: I think Dumbledore was a lot of fun to write. I actually had to go into the books and look up his parts to try to find some key phrases that he uses often. I'm glad you found his portrayal accurate! Makes that research worth it. He is definitely a difficult character to nail, and everyone loves him so you don't want to screw him up.

Ah, drunken Sirius :) Who can resist that. I think Peter can definitely have a tendency to be annoying when he's trying too hard to fit in, but then, who doesn't? I'm just trying to keep him totally normal :) I really hope that, in the end, a lot of people might realise that Peter's only human and not so bad (despite his horrible decisions in Harry's time, though by then, it was all he had left.) Of course James and Sirius are loyal enough to help out Remus! They would never leave a friend in need.

Bree, thank you so much for continuing to review this story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by allie_0608 

20th July 2009:
Ha! Cause Mrs. Potter will just love the fact that her ONLY son has joined the Order, lol.
That last statement reminds me of Mrs. Weasley a bit. ^.^

Author's Response: Exactly! Even Dumbledore fears a mother's anger :P I think she is a bit Weasley-ish too, but then, Molly kind of embodies everything that most mothers are :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dellacqua 

6th July 2009:
This may possibly be my favourite chapter, I have no idea why but I really did enjoy it :)

It was great to see the Marauders all together again and to see how much they genuinely mean to each other. Iíve read a ton and a half of Marauder fics, most of them not worried about canon and more well... fluffy I guess.

In those the ďmaraudersĒ has always been a childish name, a way for teenage boys to feel macho and like gang, a way for them to seem formidable and famous. What I liked so much in this chapter is that the title of ďMaraudersĒ is SO much more than that. It isnít just some way for them to look like a group and seem powerful, itís about them all relying on each other.

As I believe both Remus and Peter said or thought in this chapter, together they were all stronger. Itís not just boyish friendship itís a whole lot more, a real bond which exists between them which Iíve never seen portrayed so well in fanfiction before. There is something so poignant about it and something so...sad... really.

They were so close once and sooner or later for numerous different reasons they split either out of choice or tragedy. Usually I always think how Peter betrayed James most of all, Siriusí arrest was just a lucky result of that. But that wasnít really it, it wasnít about Peter betraying James it was about him betraying all of them and everything the Marauders had every built in their reputation and friendship.

Well blimey, sorry I got a bit deep then!

As ever I think your characterisation is spot on with all four of them. I especially enjoyed Remus and his reactions and emotions surrounding what they were talking about. In particular his worry over what would happen during his transformations now that school was over. This once again highlights both how close they all are, James and Sirius always have an answer to everything, and also how really shattering it must have been when Remus lost them both later.

I really like how you include things in context of the time, mentions of Daily Prophet articles, Ministry of Magic reactions and the general goings on in the Wizarding world. It creates such a realistic backdrop to it all and shows so well everything that is happening at the same time, leaving the reader to draw similarities to Hogwarts era happenings.

Dumbledore is perfect as ever, his reaction to Jamesí preposition is exactly as I thought it would be, somewhat reluctant. But I always thought that if he saw somebody had a real passion for something, he would never try to stand in their way. This was a monumental chapter in that way, a turning point in the lives of the Marauders as they really start to embark on a life of fighting Dark Magic which will eventually determine their destiny. Heavy stuff!

The way you always tie things up and pay attention to detail, as ever, impresses me. Sirius still showing some of his family traits for example as you showed in Mischief Managed (I believe that was the name, but my memory isnít great!). Everything always happens for a reason.

I liked that the first meeting is taking place in the Hogs Head which again highlights that link between Albus and his brother and seems to so sweetly foreshadow and remind me of when Harry later uses it as a location for the first meeting of Dumbledoreís Army.

This fic continues to stun me by how well written it is. I really am enjoying is immensely even if I am getting through it very slowly, which Iím very sorry about!

Author's Response: I understand that. It was a fun one to write. It really is the first time they are together again outside of school.

I think you understand what the Marauders are all about. I tire of reading stories that are as you described. Marauder is more of a status/popularity thing, and their real motives are to win women. I hate it. Sirius never even looked at the girls in what JKR wrote of him. I wish more stories gave greater focus to what they did, what they sacrificed, what it all meant to them.

I agree that it is terribly sad, and at the same time, it must have been like heaven, to have relationships like that. I could see why Peter acts the way he does (in this story, anyway), because how terrible would it feel to be a part of something so great, but always on the outer edge, a little left out. He knows exactly what he is missing out on at times.

He did betray them all. He ruined it. No wonder Sirius is mad with the desire to end him in Harry\\\'s time, he\\\'d risk everything.

Go deeper, go deeper :) I enjoy it thoroughly. Never hold back :)

Remus really shouldn\\\'t have had to wonder about his transformations! he should have known they\\\'d still be there. But they never really talked about it, so I guess he\\\'d have reason. I always picture James as the leader of the group, and he certainly always has a solution. He\\\'s the smartest and I think he\\\'s got the most heart. I feel so bad for Remus after it was all over. I once had a one shot about it. It was depressing haha

I\\\'m glad you like mentions of the world around them. I can\\\'t just ignore that stuff, or it wouldn\\\'t seem very realistic! I hope that when this is over, I can go back and add to some of that.

I think this is my best Dumbledore, in this chapter, though he appears in others. I\\\'m really happy you liked him, because I\\\'m most proud of him here. And as for Sirius, I love showing the bits of him that come out from habit that he absolutely loathes, but can\\\'t seem to stop. There is a darkness within him that he is afraid of.

I\\\'m so glad you are enjoying reading this. I felt bad for laying such a burden on you by requesting, but sometimes I get review hungry :) Its nice to know you like it enough to be unbothered. Take your time, as always, I am thrilled that you like it. I can\\\'t tell you how fortunate I feel to have found a reviewer as good as you.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Violet Gryfindor 

5th July 2009:
Your Dumbledore is so perfectly Dumbledore-ish, from his speech patterns to his little jokes. It feels as though you took him directly out of canon and plopped him into your story. :D It's hard to come across a really solid characterization of Dumbledore, so I'm glad to have found it here.

What I love most about this story are the little details. Like how Peter feels that "he always felt untouchable when they were together" or how McGonagall has a little soft spot for the Marauders. It's simple things like that which often get missed in fanfiction, and by including them, your story is so much more plausible, as though this is what happened in the Marauder era.

I'm still really enjoying this story, even though I take huge breaks in between reading chapters. It's so well-written, which makes it a fantastic read. ^_^

Author's Response: I spent a lot of time looking through HBP for certain phrases and wording and the way Dumbledore says things. It was fun. Not really, but if he came out canon, then that makes me happy. I suppose Dumbledore kind of plays an important part in this story, being the leader of the Order and all.

Hehe, I think Peter could only feel untouchable with his friends. I don\'t know if he has many redeeming qualities on his own. I like him enough, but I dont think he has it :) And McGonagall, I could totally see her as the super stern teacher that secretly really misses them around the school. I\'m glad you liked those things, and I have to agree. I like the tiny details in stories as well.

Glad you are enjoying. I take huge breaks too. I\'m probably the most lazy reader in the world. I have a really tough time reading off a computer screen. I could probably read anything off paper :) I am only glad that you come back to continue at all! One day I will get back to reading yours, but I will probably have to start over from the beginning, it has been so long.

Thank you for the lovely review, Violet. I doubt it is half as well written as your fics :D ...btw, you know...the slashes with the apostrophes. Sorry...


 Report Review

Review #13, by Moonylupin 

31st May 2009:
Ha, I love that last line of Dumbledore's. I love the way you wrote him, he sounds like the way JKR has made him, especially with his pleasantness that can really just get at you. James reminded me of Harry during the interaction, Harry wasn't always sure how to respond to Dumbledore and it seemed James wasn't either.

The first scene was funny - drunken Sirius... Peter bugged me a bit, trying to show up Sirius and everything. He sounds like he's always trying to one up his friends and does it in such childish ways. It's good to see they've gotten through to Remus that he doesn't have to kill himself over trying to find a job, knowing he won't get one. I feel so horrible for Remus sometimes, he should have everything going for him, yet just because he's a werewolf he can't get anywhere.

I liked how Dumbledore made sure to ask if they were ready to fight in the war and his reaction to being spied on by James. You can't really blame James for doing that. I can't wait to see what it's like when they really join the Order.

Author's Response: He was a lot of fun to write. Normally I have a really difficult time with him, but this time I actually went through the books in search of his parts to find phrases he used a lot. That's probably why he came out well! I don't think James would have known how to respond to Dumbledore at ALL, until later on when they get to know each other better within the Order and stuff. I doubt he had any 'special' relationship with the headmaster like Harry had, so prior to this, James was probably just another student. He probably only spoke to Dumbledore now and then during 7th year because he was head boy, and probably not at all prior to that (unless he was in trouble.)

It was fun writing the scene in Sirius's flat. It's the first time I got to write them all together just hanging out and having a good time. I'm glad you saw that in Peter, even if it bugged you. I kind of want to show a little competetiveness in Peter. He's fighting to stay in the group, to not be left out. Childish is good :D It is Peter, after all.

I think Dumbledore would have wanted to make it really clear to all of them what they were getting themselves into. I see a lot of fics where Dumbledore actually approaches the Marauders asking them to join - and I just dont see that happening. I dont think he would ask people so young to sacrifice everything, to not go after jobs and careers. So I wanted them to approach him. (Sorry I got carried away and blabbed.) But I don't think he would let them join until he knew they were aware of what they were getting into.


 Report Review

Review #14, by rachm34 

28th January 2009:
As always, another great chapter! I aplogise if my reviews keep on getting shorter and shorter. I promise you I am reading! I'm not finding anything to critique upon- that's a good thing mind you!

I like the fact that you had James and Sirius overhear the conversation, I think it shows they still are a bit mischevious, still are young, and everything and last but not least they still are Marauders!

a great chapter! I'm reading on!
- Cheers-
Rachel

Author's Response: I certainly don't mind short reviews! I am just so thrilled you are taking the time to read so much of this! And of course, I'm always happy to hear there is nothing to critique upon :)

Oh yes, they are certainly Marauders! I liked the idea of them huddled up under the old invisibility cloak at night, listening to dark, scary things about Voldemort from the safety of the Potter home... good times.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Labby 

24th January 2009:
Wow, I never meant to get this far behind in this story. Oh well, at least that means I have a lot of chapters to read. I enjoyed this one. I can distinctly remember reading the similar one before, and I love the idea that James and Sirius overheard the conversation, probably on purpose on Dumbledore's part. I'm glad Remus now has a place to stay and a purpose... of course his friends are helping him out. If only they'd be better to Peter.. well, I guess you can't really change the past. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm just glad you came back to continue it :) Thanks so much!

I was so torn on what to do with Remus. I remember even making a post on the forums asking for opinions on where he lived. Somebody said that JKR stated James supported him, so it worked out pretty well.

I've been trying so hard to include Peter in this story! I think they could probably be better to Peter too, but I dont think they even realize he gets a little left out. I dont think they mean to do it, he just doesnt seem to have the same bond they have.


 Report Review

Review #16, by spaghettiemandolino 

21st January 2009:
I love Sirius when he is drunk.
So they're all in! I love how they stick togheter, it reminds me a bit of some of my friends and it makes me warm inside. If I were remus I would have brust in tears...but we know boys won't do that!

Author's Response: Yes! Finally, after five chapters, I have finally gotten them into the Order. Of course they stick together - they are the Marauders :) I was pleased that James used that to guilt Remus into it. I thought it was one of my better ideas :D

Ah, Remus. He is probably on the verge of it... but not, boys don't do that :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by the__5th__marauder 

5th November 2008:
Another chapter already! Well I know they were already written but its awesome to get quick updates.

I just love the marauders!.. lol. Well as you can see from my name I wish I was apart of their group. They're just so much fun!

I love the ending there ďBe sure to tell your mother that this was your idea.Ē I love funny endings that stay in your head like that, it makes an impact.

And I have to say you've written Dumbledore, exactly how he's supposed to be, you can't tell the difference. That really shows how good you are at characterisation. I'd expect Dumbeldore to be one of the hardest characters to write. But then I guess everyone has a different opinon.

Did you change this chapter a little bit? I'm not sure if I'm dreaming here or not but originally did James suggest the idea of Remus living with Sirius ? And was there more with McGonagall in the story when she took the boys to Dumbledores office ? *shrugs*

I was just reading through an old favourite story of mine and was wondering if you've ever read My Deliverance? It's a story that reminds me of yours because it's written about the war and it's also really good. But yours is more about the marauders while that one is about Lily and James. You might like it I don't know.

Anyway great chapter very entertaining. Characterisation was fabulous as usual. Oh and thanks for your praise on my reviews, I wasn't sure if you'd actually be bothered by my constant comments every chapter. lol. It's the only story I've reviewed as much as I can and it's because I like it so much.

And now my rambling is done.. that was long.

Author's Response: Yeah... it is really hard to hold off and try to space out my posting of them when they're already written and waiting! lol. And I agree, I would love to be one of them as well.

Thanks for the Dumbledore compliments. He's really hard to write indeed! He says things differently and he always seems so dreamy... yet so mature. LOL it's a thin line. I think I did pretty good with him in this chapter, but in the other chapter that involves him (in the future), I'm not so sure.

James did suggest that Remus live with Sirius in chapter 3 at the end, if that's what you're thinking of. But it was always Sirius who offered it in this chapter. I never went into conversation with McGonagall, though I think I left it where people could assume they obviously chatted on the way to Dumbledore's office.

I've never heard of that story, but I'm definitely going to look for it now that you've said it. I've stated several times that I've seen very very few Marauder/war fics, which is why I decided to write my own. In fact, I've only come across ONE other fic on the same subject that was novel length, and its not even on HPFF. But it is nothing like mine ^.^ So I'm definitely excited to read another, even if it is J/L more than Marauder.

And I could never be bothered by reviews, especially thoughtful ones like yours. They're fun to respond and gush to :D The only reason I even post this story, rather than keep it private, is to hear opinions.

Thanks for the longest review yet :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by auror_snape 

5th November 2008:
Dumbledore's afraid of James' mother? Sweet!

He said he's seen children do marvelous things. I'll bet those marvelous things pale in comparison to Harry Potter, when he's born.

Author's Response: hee hee, that'd be something else. Actually, I think he just doesn't want to disappoint her ^.^ He knows she won't take the news well that her son and adopted son are going to be risking their lives fighting Voldemort!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review