Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by beyourbest 

25th November 2014:
First of all, this is an excellent story. Here are some of my insights about this story and what it means:
This story is about what it means to truly love someone. In the beginning, Merope doesn't truly love Tom, although she thinks she does. Her "love" for Tom is more about his own happiness than his. In the end, though, both Tom and Merope realize what it truly means to love. Sadly, their child, Tom Marvolo Riddle, never truly loves anyone.
I loved the ending. It was beautiful, moving, and suprisngly happy for such a tragic story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Marien 

30th June 2014:
I love this so much!! I can't even express it. I love how you have added new dimension to this story, especially with Tom. Beautiful job (:

 Report Review

Review #3, by MuellerKim 

24th April 2014:
This story has completely enraptured me for the past three days. Your loyalty to J.K's limited portrayal of Merope and her miserable life and the way in which you have told it has been incredibly moving and accomplished and has made this perhaps the most addictive thing that I have read in a long time. I honestly fear that my Spanish A level will suffer slightly as a result. The ending for we was particularly poignant and harrowing; it's almost ironic that a boy born from a history of artificial love has Brown to be the coldest human being in existence. I can only hope that Tom and Merope were united in death and that is what the closing paragraph is alluding to. Either way, it was a very bittersweet closing moment. A very well written and composed piece and and an even more excellent read!
Good job!
Olivia

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sybil 

29th March 2014:
Amazing! Really enjoyed this, please keep writing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Chuchi 

17th December 2013:
Thank you so much for writing this book. Even though it is the first fanfiction I've read so far, I want to read it again and again.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BellatrixisFred 

5th July 2013:
I loved it. I simply loved it. Couldn't stop reading it. I spent the duration of the novel wishing that Merope just wouldn't die. I didn't want it to follow canon, I was really praying for their happy ending. But alas, instead we get earwax. It was very well written though and I enjoyed it immensely.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ozzie989 

6th April 2013:
Amazing! I never thought of these 2 like this but is awesome. Thank you for the great story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by someone___1 

14th November 2012:
Glorious glorious glorious!! I just loved this so much. It was incredibly sad though. But, it was really nice to see the pre-history of Voldemort. It was really well written, as if JK Rowling herself planted this into your head. Well done Girldetective!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyLunaWolf 

10th November 2012:
Wow! What a cool story!
I think you ended this story really well. You are a very good writer.

 Report Review

Review #10, by luna_lovely 

23rd January 2012:
This was such a sad but beautiful story :) i thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Charlotte 

11th August 2011:
I feel so compelled to review after reading the whole story...

Anyways, hi :) I've always been really interested in this pairing, and happened to chance upon this fanfic just 2 days ago (unfortunately I'm so late). Since then, I couldn't take my eyes off it haha.

I just want to say that you're an incredibly talented writer, and your story has truly touched me. I love the minute details here and there e.g. Marvolo said Anabelle could take the violin for 'free', just like how Tom unknowingly paid his price for the 'free' violin from Merope. I was happy to be able to pick up the Salazar Slytherin reference quickly too. I too love writing and your story has really inspired me.

 Report Review

Review #12, by xXmissGrangerXx 

2nd June 2011:
ive been hooked on this story for ages! it is really beautifully written, and the plot has been developed amazingly!! Its so original to do that of merope's story and you really made her come to life. it was a very sad ending that made me cry a bit but the end was inevitable all the same :D throughout the whole story you managed to keep it interesting and professional, never wavering off your usual style of writing. You must have done a lot of research just on the time period. tom was actually not that bad in the end. you put so much effort into this. beautiful story xxx

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sam 

15th March 2011:
This story was truly amazing. Thank you so much x

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sincerely_Snape 

12th February 2011:
There is no way of telling you how many emotions soared through me when I read this story. Hope, fear, and regret were just a few, but the one that I felt the most was the contentment when Tom said, "Welcome home, Merope." I literally wept at this, and it made me feel that Tom had gone to the same place once he had died and that it was actually him and not just the image of him in Merope's mind. I loved this from the beginning to the absolute end.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hailey 

27th December 2010:
I've just recently returned to HPFF and looked through some of the archives, trying to find a story that caught my attention. This one is beautifully written and kept me going until the sad, but fulfilling end.

I think it's sweet that Tom Riddle is no longer a heartless man who abandoned a helpless girl and that Merope Gaunt got a happy ending. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #16, by enchantments 

11th December 2010:
I really loved reading this story, thank you so much for writing it! The ending was so sad, but so perfect. Your writing is amazing and you've really inspired me to actually finish writing a story of my own. I'm going to have to read the rest of your stories now! Hopefully they're as lovely as this one was.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Adria 

1st September 2010:
WOW really nice job! i greatly enjoyed this story...
the plot was well written and thought out, the characters were well defined and it all made sense to the original HP novels! thanks for writing it, congratulations on a wonderful story!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ember75 

27th August 2010:
My god, this story is an absolute TREASURE. It brought Merope and Tom to life, created a wonderful, believable but still friendly character in Beth, and was absolutely addicting. It usually takes me a while to get into stories, but reading just the first paragraph got me hooked straight away - compliments to your writing style. Not too detailed, beautiful, utterly compulsive. It was heart-wrenching reading this, knowing what would happen to the characters, groaning when Merope took the love potion, when she left the house... And the epilogue was so emotional it made me tear up a bit.

I cannot say how glad I am that you wrote this, or that I found this story.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Kestrel Songwood 

10th August 2010:
Wow. I only joined HPFF two nights ago, and I picked your story from the list of Dobby Award winners. It was absolutely brilliant! That was easily one of the best fanfictions I have ever read (on any site), and at least as good as any published novel. Thanks for such a good read, and for bringing Merope's story to life. I hope you keep up the writing :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by CBella 

4th July 2010:
Well, I must say, this story was absolutely fantastically captivating. It most definitely should've won that Dobby award for most addictive (:

I was really, really delighted to read how you basically kept to the plot that JK designated, with the incorporated quotes and what not from the book itself. The whole twist on things, and how Merope and Tom may have really had something together was really enjoyable to read, and I'd like to think of their relationship as that, rather than one between a highly desparate girl and a completely fooled boy. Now its more of a tragic love story that keeps you wondering what if? What if Tom had found Merope during his search? What if she never gave him the love potion and they fell in love all on their own?

All in all, it was amazing. Thank you so much for chasing that plot bunny down. The ending scene (in italics) really made it for me, and I'd like to think of it as Merope's afterlife, with the big boat full of departed souls.

Lovely 10/10 ;D

 Report Review

Review #21, by couldyoureallyknow 

21st June 2010:
that was one of the best stories i have ever read on here possibly because you had nothing to work from except a little knowledge from the 6th book about merope gaunt
i found this story floating around more than 2 years after you actually finished and its absolutely brilliant it was so addicting to read so thank you for that lovely take on merope gaunt's life

if you don't mind i love if you read my story its a draco/hermione if you dont mind that pairing
so just go to my author page and click on the story called torn
thanks!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hermaine 

20th June 2010:
This is just amazing novel!
I hope that you keep writing and we, readers, could get more such great stories. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by kayoko 

5th September 2009:
Absolutely amazing. I didn't really know what to expect from the story, but I can see how it captured everyone's hearts and won all those awards. Eloquently written with such an addictive plot, I couldn't stop reading this story!

Thank you for writing and sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words :) I'm so grateful you decided to try out my story and even more grateful that you enjoyed it! I feel very lucky to have had as many wonderful readers as I did. I really appreciate your review and hope you'll try some of my other work if you feel like it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by HereLiesDobby 

15th August 2009:
I loved the ending! It was so so so so...incredibly sweet. And for the first time, I was actually rooting for Voldemort to kill his father...I still felt a bit of pity for Tom Riddle Sr.but I felt more on his son's side for the first time.an odd feeling isn't it? Sympathizing with Voldemort? Anyway, completely excellent story.original and wonderful!

Author's Response: I'm happy that you enjoyed the ending :) It was sort of my way of giving them a happy ending without going AU. I was rooting for Voldie to kill Tom too, to put an end to his misery. I hear you, I feel bad for Voldemort sometimes too - he's the way he is because of so many things against him. I just want to say thank you for all the lovely reviews you've left me. They were a pleasure to read and I'm so glad that you enjoyed my story!

 Report Review

Review #25, by itsmidnighthere 

9th July 2009:
I don't get the ending, "Welcome home, Merope." I was confused but I really loved the story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed the story! The ending was my way of making Tom and Merope get together without cheating :) It's sort of a dream sequence type alternate ending that shows how things might have been for them.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>