Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
7 Reviews Found

Review #1, by NataliieW 

12th February 2013:
Very good! :O this was my favourite in the collab

 Report Review

Review #2, by darker side of happy 

15th October 2011:
I saw where you had entered this into my Malfoy Men Challenge. I have to say bravo! This is an extremely well written piece. I believe you portrayed Lucius in a way that was right on the mark. I enjoyed reading the struggle he seemed to be having within himself, the Dark Lord or Draco.

I feel that no matter what Draco would have won out as he did of course. Lucius is a complex man not to be taken or written lightly. He has both good and evil within him and you captured this so perfectly. The transition he goes through in his memories are wonderfully pieced together. From a young wizard anxious to prove his mettle and bring what he thought would be honor to his family, to a tired worn man who with time begins to realize what a mistake this may have all been. Because in the end it was not worth his wife, his son and his home.

I truly enjoyed reading this, and thank you for writing a phenomenal interpretation of Lucius Malfoy.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your comments.

I always thought the Malfoys were complex, interesting people and that Lucius in particular has a full and distinct arc. I do have a tendency to, perhaps, write him "softer" than the stories warrant -- maybe because I'm influenced by Jason Isaacs, whose characterization is a nuanced one.

Anyway, thank you again for taking the time to read this story and for your review. BP


 Report Review

Review #3, by Anda 

27th August 2009:
I always thought that Lucius Malfoy was more than just a Death Eater like Bella and this is exactly how I would have pictured him. Wonderful. Simply wonderful. I have not yet read the other stories (or shall I call them chapters?) but I will soon. Very beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It seemed to me that Lucius had a pretty complete character arc -- from prince of the world to near-untouchable. I tend to view Lucius as a demonstrably softer character than Bellatrix, which, in some ways, is his downfall and in others, his salvation.

I hope you do read the other chapters, because there is some truly wonderful writing in here.

Best regards,
B_P.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jane_Volturi 

6th August 2009:
That was utterly FANTASTIC!
Ok, so i know i said that about the previous Dumbledore chapter but i have to say, despite the fact i despise many fanfictions told from Lucius malfoy's point of view, this is a clear winner among this callaboration, it was genius.
Characterization was amazing, everyone, everyone was in character. Lucius Malfoy, i could sense his cowardice yet you showed his determination to save his son, to save his family. So determined he would go to the lengths to finish the Dark Lord himself, brilliant. And Narcissa was her same worried self, just as determined to protect her son. Bellatrix was written very well also. I really enjoyed how you wrote her, her devotion and love for the dark lord just leaked off of the screen. I really hate the fact JK decided to kill her off, i don't know why, i just get the feeling it shouldn't have happened, not the way it did, her character was too layered and disordered to be killed off, she should have returned to Azkaban. I really enjoyed your characterization because everyone was so in character and i could really grasp the emotions running through the words you wrote, understand every thought and memory Lucius had so easily and you know what, i'm ever so shocked this hasn't got the right amount of reviews it deserved because this was truly fantastic.
The plot was outstanding, obviously JK's ideas but you made this your own, i really enjoyed this chapter, i can't find fault with it at all. Your writing was outstanding and your description was perfect.
10/10
Katie

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
I wrote this chapter several months or a year ago, and I remember it being quite a challenge to write. I tore up a lot of drafts. The idea of "encapsulating" a character this complex in a one-shot was -- sorry to repeat myself -- quite a challenge.

I was fortunate to have received many more reviews (which I wish I had backed up). However, there was a computer meltdown that caused me to lose a number of them. (That isn't to say I don't wish I had more; and I really appreciate the thought.)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this chapter, and for your very kind words.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Labby 

16th October 2008:
I just love your style of writing. It's so addicting and captures me into the story. I always enjoy everything that you write.. the depth you go into is wonderful and I love the description as well. Lucius's character isn't thought of much, and I think you've created more of a Lucius that people can relate to. I love how he was protective of his son and just how that affected him. My feeling of him before I read this was not so good, but I think you've made him more human.. and lesser of an evil here just by showing that quality of his. I enjoyed this!

Author's Response: I know this is very late and repetitious (meaning: I think I wrote one before, but it was lost in the great motherboard debacle). I appreciated your review very much when I first read it, and I appreciate it very much now, that I am reading it again after all these months. Thank you so much, Labby, for your review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Girldetective85 

16th October 2008:
This is probably my favorite chapter in the whole collaboration because you actually make us sympathize with a character most people love to hate. Lucius is really misunderstood, isn't he? He just happened to be on the "wrong" side and the books are written from Harry's point of view, so automatically the reader is biased from the very beginning as to whose agenda is what. Lucius is usually written as arrogant, evil, and conniving, but here you've actually given him a soul - he's a tormented man forced to choose between losing everything he cares about and doing the right thing. I really get the sense that he loves Narcissa and Draco with every bone in his body, something that wasn't ever explored in the books. Having fallen from grace and seeing firsthand what can happen to even the most loyal Death Eater who had screwed up once, Lucius's eyes are finally open to the truth and he has summoned the courage to do what he should have done ages ago. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this chapter, it was brilliantly written as always. 10/10

Author's Response: As you know, the computer ate a lot of reviews and responses. This is an attempt to replace the original response -- 6 months after the fact. I was thrilled by your review, not only by your kind words but by the great esteem I have for your writing. I think I do tend to write Lucius softer than is, perhaps, warranted; but he does have one overarching virtue. Thank you, once again.

 Report Review

Review #7, by evil little devil 

10th October 2008:
Wow, I really loved this! Reading from Lucius's pov was really interesting. You wrote him so well. his desperation to find Draco was so real, you captured his emotions brilliantly. I just loved the description and the characterization of Lucius, you did an amazing job with this! I really enjoyed reading it :)

Author's Response: This is a 5/7/09 attempt to replace the reply that that the computer ate. I didn't want your kind, wonderful words to seem unacknowledged! I actually did try to do a good job, just so my story could fit into in with the rest of the excellent stories here. I really appreciated your review -- then as now.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review