Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Harry_Potter_Mom 

8th March 2009:
I don't know how you do it... your flair for words is greater in one finger than what courses through my entire body...

This is such a perfect sentence: "He lay in the darkness with his eyes wide open, seeing nothing in death as he had seen nothing in life." That could be used for so many people...

And I just noticed... Tom passed along his arrogance and tendencies to steal from those who anger him along to his son. I can't believe I missed that the first time I read this chapter! Very cool! :)

Yet again, my heart breaks at Merope's decision... there's no easy answer, is there? Perhaps 1/2 a drop... wean him off of it? But it's not going to be that easy. I love this story and as I rush off to the next chapter, I'm painfully aware that it's getting closer and closer to "the end." :(

Thank you!!!

Author's Response: That is so not true! I will never agree to that :) You could write bestselling suspense novels in your sleep.

Yep I definitely tried my best to make Tom Riddle Senior as "Voldemort-like" as possible, to imply that he passed these traits on to his son. The sense of entitlement, his arrogance and confidence, even the way he likes to control Merope and everyone else around him - these things went on to Voldy who made "good" use of them in the future.

I hate having to make Merope choose, too ... I wish she could have kept the potion going but there is no way someone could live a life like that. Imagine loving your husband so much but knowing that he didn't really love you ... or being unsure that he really loved you because of the potion. Most people would go crazy and I think Merope realized that. It would have been more in keeping with her character to continue the potion for years until she couldn't stand it any longer, but in the interest of story length, I made her a lot stronger and had her quit while she was ahead.

Thanks my dear! Your reviews always bring a smile to my face. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by rosie_sirius93 

22nd January 2009:
Who killed Marvolo, was it Ralph??

What a sad chapter, I feel so sorry for Merope! She did steal Tom away from everything but she is feeling guilty for it and is going to stop giving him the potion which makes it so much sadder. And the fact that the first time in her life that she is completely happy is fake in a way and is going to end...

Fantastically written!
10/10
;D

Author's Response: Yes, it was Ralph who killed Marvolo. He got his revenge in the end but it's a little bittersweet for him, as you'll see. :)

I know - Merope has finally realized that the one glimmer of happiness she had was completely false. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unwritten Curse 

16th December 2008:
I completely forgot that Marvolo was killed! Was it Ralph? I'm almost certain that it was. Annabelle is already dead, so it can't have been her. And Morfin wasn't released from Azkaban yet, right? It had to have been Ralph... I think.

What a sad chapter. Poor Merope. I mean, I know it was cruel of her to steal Tom away from his life - and she knows it, too - but I hate seeing her this upset. She truly does love him. Unrequited love is such a terrible thing, and then she feels so guilty on top of it. I feel so bad for her, but then again, she did do this to herself. Ah, as you can see, I'm torn at the moment. You wrote her character wonderfully. She's pitiable, which is good for a main character. But she's far from perfect. Morally ambiguous. She loves Tom, and although she wants him for herself and has stolen him away from his family, she is willing to give him back. I could go on and on about how well-crafted this story is, but I'm eager for the next chapter.

10/10

Author's Response: Yes it was! Marvolo met justice at the hands of Ralph, who had always known that he would grow up and avenge the destruction of his family. You're right, Morfin has not been released from Azkaban yet. In the timeline, I think that Marvolo remains in Azkaban for a few months while Morfin stays for considerably longer than that.

I think that's one of the greatest compliments I've ever gotten about my interpretation of Merope :) I love that you say she's morally ambiguous. She totally is! She wants so much to be loved and her intentions are so pure and so understandable, yet the means by which she goes about getting her desire aren't so good. She's a really interesting character and I just wish JKR had written more about her. I almost like her even better than Voldemort, and her story was told in one simple chapter.

Thanks Gina, you're a sweetheart for leaving these amazing reviews that make me smile ear-to-ear. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #4, by sazel_c 

27th October 2008:
Aw man, this is really sad. Sorry I didn't review the last chapter first, but I was so interested to see what happened next! I'll go back and review it.

Author's Response: No problem! Thanks for reviewing so far, sazel :) Glad you like this story.

 Report Review

Review #5, by savagebeginnings 

25th October 2008:
Hello again! This was such a good chapter! I'm glad that she is finally making a decision as to what she is going to do. I feel so bad for Merope though. She wants so much that she can't have. I liked that Merope knows that Bethe is nearby! Hopefully they'll meet up and resolve everything. I would hate to see the end of this and they still aren't speaking.

Overall, I thought this was a great chapter. It really showed the maturity that Merope has gained through her experiences and I liked that!

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked this chapter! Definitely a pivotal one for Merope, as she is forced to make a decision - she decides to give it all up. It's a huge turning point for her because she finally realizes that it's really the only thing she can do...

 Report Review

Review #6, by chiQs09 

22nd October 2008:
The last week they've spent together was wonderful. But even though Merope tried to be happy, to enjoy every moment with him, she couldn't put aside her worry when she has to tell him the truth. It's sad... it's like knowing you'll die, and you want to spend the remaining time of your life with the one you love. And yet you can't completely enjoy.
Then she finally told him the truth. And of course he won't believe it, thinking she's gone mad. :'(

Author's Response: I know - their time together is coming to an end, and it's like she can't enjoy it because she knows this is the last time they'll have together. :( Poor Merope, all she wanted was to be happy. And yes, she did tell him the truth - something Marvolo could never have done!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Tor Petty 

21st October 2008:
This chapter was just sad. I feel so sorry for her!

Author's Response: Glad you liked this chapter! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Billion 

20th October 2008:
Oh poor Merope! It's so sad that the only happy time in her life were brought about by delusion. And Marvolo was just a horrible person to begin with. Though maybe it would have been better if Ralph confronted Marvolo about his actions? Then again that wouldn't have accomplished anything, but at least he could have known why he should die. Maybe I'm just being cruel by saying this but Avada Kedavra seems like the easy way out, Marvolo never got to pay for his sins.

Author's Response: I agree, it's so tragic that she was never meant to be happy. After having suffered through that terrible childhood, you'd think she would find some happiness at last :( It's true that maybe Ralph should have talked to Marvolo first - but he was so bent on killing him and accomplishing his life goal that he offed him without a second thought. In Chapter 16, you'll be able to hear from him again because he writes to Merope about this. No no I totally agree, death is a little bit too easy for Marvolo. Thanks so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Labby 

13th October 2008:
Wow, I didn't even notice the title of the chapter until this time around.. how appropriate. Not that I doubted it, but I'm glad Merope finally gave up on the love potion. She finally got to see through Ralph's story just how terrible it was what she was doing. I do think it must have been someone else who inspired her to stop giving him the potion, and the locket, along with that story seems really realistic. I guess the realities of the whole situation will be coming up soon. At least she got a little bit more time with him, getting to think of those memories, before the potion wears off. Again, what a tragic story. I love the way you write this and the way you show Merope's character.

Author's Response: I'm glad she gave up on the love potion too! It happened in canon, but I think it's just so appropriate - like a hard lesson learned. She knew even before Marvolo's story unfolded that this was wrong, that it couldn't last forever, but this story convinced her to give up her fight to be loved by Tom. The locket will play a much bigger part as we go along ... I'm still working on Chapter 16 but there's a big scene between it and Merope where everything comes right out! Thanks, Jamie :) :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by shadowycorner 

12th October 2008:
The quote at the beginning is truly incredible.

And so was this chapter once again. I thought this chapter would end with Tom leaving her, but once again it took this turn. One last time, just one last time...it's always like that when it comes to both love and obsession. Even if it's wrong, one can never get enough. Even if they're so close to finally going free, something always holds them back. It takes a great deal of strength to break free of dreams and illusions grasp. The emotion and intensity between the characters is astounding. The story's been really picking up on pace lately and it's near the peak and it breaks my heart just like I knew it would.

Also, you pay attentiont to these details. i really liked how you mentioned Tom felt really thirsty after Merope stopped the potion for that one time. It's something I'm sure would happen as I'm using it in that dreaded Tom/Merope plus freakish chocolate frog one-shot (so silly and weird!). And then the way you play with words. Some of your phrases should be quoted. I swear I will quote you one day. In this chapter I liked the last line in the part where Marvolo died. It's pure magic what you do with those words.

Merope is trapped. I can see how she can't help but cling to the last bits of their fake happiness. The love between them really seems more and more fake with Tom always talking of his undying love for her. It's so clear sometimes that he's really as if in a trance. But still there's that little shadow that in the briefest of moments it sounds true and honest. I guess that's what's keeping Merope still afloat. But yeah, it has to end. It always had to end. I just can't quite believe it's finally come to that.

~Elizabeth

Author's Response: So glad you like the quote! This song inspired me to write the story. "Morning will come and I'll do what's right" just resonated with Merope's story so well, I knew I HAD to use those lyrics somehow!

I totally agree - Merope is in too deep, she's way over her head in this. She needs just one last week, one last night, one last whatever ... it's like she's trying to wean herself slowly so it'll be easier for her to accept. I think she always knew he would leave her; it was obvious that he would be furious and shocked and scared. She had to live in her pretend world one more time before she could end it for good.

HAHAHA! I'm so excited to read your chocolate frog one-shot, please let me know when it's up! Yes, I agree ... I think thirst for the potion would be a side-effect. The love potion is a drug - quitting cold turkey would give Tom some tough consequences for sure. I knew I wanted to incorporate thirst as soon as I thought of how I would write the potion ... I hinted at the thirst in one of Bethe's dreams, the one where Tom is wandering around by the sea begging for water. (Can't remember what chapter *blush*)

Your reviews are always so wonderful and insightful. I can't tell you how amazing it is to have a reader catch on to every little nuance I wanted to put out there. If I could bake you an enormous chocolate chip cookie, I would - you deserve one. Thanks for being so kind and coming back to review again, Liz! *hugs you*


 Report Review

Review #11, by Potterholic 

9th October 2008:
Aaww, how sad! I love how you described her emotions and how she was trying so hard to tell him about the truth, but he wouldn’t believe her. Their last moments are sweet too, I love how he showed him that cave. Somehow that made me think of Voldemort’s cave, or is it the same cave? =P I love how you wrote Marvolo’s death. It was spine-chilling and made me hold my breath. Great work, keep it up!

Author's Response: Yes, I intended that cave (HA I typed "Cake" the first time around) to be THE cave that Voldemort first comes across on a school vacation. I wasn't sure how accurate that was, so I went back and looked in the book to see exactly where this cave is located. There's no mention of the specific location so, yes, it is! I'm glad you liked Marvolo's death - I thought it was a long time coming but I hadn't even intended to kill him off until I began writing Ralph into the story. Thanks for your review! :) :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review