Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by someone___1 

13th November 2012:
Well, question answered! It's sad to see Merope making the same awful mistakes her father made :(

 Report Review

Review #2, by Harry_Potter_Mom 

8th March 2009:
Hello again! :) Another amazing chapter!! It just keeps getting better and better. I find myself so immersed in the flow, I tend to forget it's a fanfiction and near-expect to turn the page.

Some major foreshadowing here perhaps: "Merope felt a bit sick, but she thought that it might have less to do with the turbulent journey and more to do with her lack of sleep." I'll have to read on to find out! :)

Oh, I remember the ruins! And it begs to question that perhaps this was the home of Salazar years ago? Wouldn't that be a cruel twist of fate, would it not?

Ah, and Ralph is her half-brother - very nice! I'm so glad we got to see that side of Merope's story... but how awful for her to realize how like her father she really is. I wonder if this will be the end of the potion-giving. Is her love for Tom any different than her father's lust for her mother - perhaps - but the means are the same, are they not?

I eagerly run to the next chapter...

Author's Response: Oh Teresa you are too kind :) Thank you! Yes that was some foreshadowing that you picked up on ;) I definitely meant the ruins to be Salazar's home. I just thought it would be so fitting that Tom and Merope would come there, and for their son to later return and begin torturing Muggles there. I *almost* had Voldemort conceived in that cave ... I was considering it but decided against it, since how romantic could it be with all the rocks and evil and everything around them. :D

Yes, Ralph is a whole other side to Merope's story and she needed to be told about her father's marriage. I think you're absolutely right that Merope's love and Marvolo's lust are two completely different things, just obtained by the same means. Exactly!

Thanks a million for your review *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #3, by Misty_Rey 

15th February 2009:
Well Jules, you outdid yourself once again. I know you'll continue to do so in later chapters but I just thought I'd mention it. ;)

The first part really felt like something one would see in a period movie. As I was reading the words, my mind couldn't help but see the sweeping landscapes and sceneries of what you were describing. Add to that fact that you used medium-sized paragraphs for description really enhanced the imagery of the scenes. It was astounding, Jules. Hmm, I could be mistaken but is the cove Tom Snr briefly mentioned the same one the young Tom Jnr took those kids to and did Merlin knows what to them? Oh, and I'm very sure that the ruins belonged to Salazaar Slytherin simply because Merope felt such an uneasy familiarity to it. Besides, it's just the sort of clever tie-in that's synonymous with you and your writing. ;)

Speaking of clever tie-ins, what an awesome twist! I always knew Marvolo was a dirtbag but to think that he could sink so low as to destroy not just a woman but two families as well. His conversation in the shop with Annabelle was especially chilling, the way he kept refering to her as 'beauty'. My gosh... It must have been devastating for Merope, to know she's going down the same path as her horrible father. The resemblences are uncanny, what with the violin and the potion and the deceit and so on and so forth. I think I've mentioned before in another review my suspicions of the magical properties of the violin. Funny how it became such a large factor in the cycle of destruction that was to follow. The revelations revealed in this chapter was astounding, I was gripped from the moment Ralph starting speaking to Merope's faint. Ralph is a great narrator. He had such depth in his character even if he isn't featured as heavily as some of the other characters. What makes him interesting is that what few appearances he does make, they leave this impact that you just can't shake off. He's driven by revenge and yet his rage and bitterness is subdued, subtle which somehow makes the emotions all the more raw and tangible. You took a risk introducing him into the story but it paid off enormously. It enhanced the story, adding more layers to an already deliciously intricate plot that is still easy to grasp and follow.

Also, I found the Marvolo returning to the village scene hilarious. The shamelessly eager anticipation of the villagers awaiting his reaction at Merope's disappearance was a nice humourous touch in an otherwise sombre chapter.

I could go on and on but I'd just be rambling. Simply put, this was a fantastic chapter. An absolutely fantastic chapter. 10/10 obviously ;).

P.S: Happy (belated) Valentine's Day!
*hugs*
Misty

Author's Response: Misty dear! I thought you had finished this whole story already :D I'm so happy that you liked this chapter. It was one of the ones that I worked hardest on because it was nearly AU. Thanks for the compliment on my imagery, darling! Description is something I really enjoy writing and I've been working at getting better; I try my best to picture a place in my head, get the faces and the houses and everything in my mind's eye, and then I just write. That seems to help me a lot instead of just being like, hmmm what adjective can I stick in now?

I'm so, so glad you liked Ralph and thought he was a good narrator. He's kind of this shadowy character whose motives are good, yet he's driven by so much hatred and revenge ... I wish I'd had more time to expand on his character but I didn't feel that it would add to Merope's story very much.

I loved writing Marvolo's return to the village. I could see it so clearly in my head, the way he imagined that his daughter would be there waiting for him with a hot meal. Poor sucker.

Thanks dear and I hope you had a wonderful Valentine's Day as well! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #4, by rosie_sirius93 

22nd January 2009:
wow! did not see that coming at all, fantastic idea to have it all tied in together and to explain what convinced Merope to change her mind abotu administering the potion to Tom!
10/10
:D

Author's Response: Yes this was definitely the turning point for Merope. She'd been considering it before, but now there is no going back - she doesn't want to do to Tom, what her dad did to her mother. Unlike Marvolo's story, Merope really is in love with her husband.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Unwritten Curse 

16th December 2008:
Oh no! Marvolo is back, and Merope isn't there. I can't help but think he deserves it. Haha. Now he's got to do things for himself...

I wonder why Merope thinks that the ruins are familiar. She's never been to Ireland before, right? I know she said that she hadn't been, but is there any chance that she just doesn't remember it? I'm so curious.

Yes! I was so looking forward to re-reading this scene with Ralph. It was wonderful. [: Really wonderful. I can't explain what power you have in your words. It truly pulls me in. Your descriptions, not only of the setting but also of your characters' emotions, are inspiring. And just the flow and pace of the scene (and all other scenes) are perfect. I keep using the word perfect. Haha. It really is, though. And now I'm rambling. What I really wanted to say was that the scene was a pleasure to read. My favorite in the story, I think. So far, at least. The combination of Ralph's story and the memories he's collected. It just all makes sense, and although it's terribly upsetting for Merope, I truly enjoyed every word.

10/10, again. Next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha! Can you imagine Marvolo cooking for himself? It was suggested in the books that one of the reasons he died was because he simply starved, sitting there waiting for his daughter to come back and serve him. I thought that was pretty funny :) But I came up with another way to explain his death...

The ruins are pretty important and you'll see why she feels this weird connection with them as the story ends. There are some faint but lingering ties with something in her family background.

I'm so happy you liked Ralph's story! That was one of my favorite parts to write - actually I loved writing every part of this story - but that was a fun section for me. I had planned Marvolo and Annabelle's story from the start and the character of Ralph, and the idea of his coming to explain to Merope, popped out of nowhere and just seemed so fitting that I included it.

Thanks, love! I'm so happy that you liked this chapter!


 Report Review

Review #6, by savagebeginnings 

25th October 2008:
Hello again! This is definitely interesting! It seems that Merope and her father have much more in common than she would like. What an interesting twist this is. The man that abuses her and treats her like dirt did the exact same thing that she is doing to Tom. Hopefully this will be a big reality check for her. And, we finally find out who this mysterious Ralph Elliot is. The name Ralph Elliot sounds like it could be a fashion line to me. It's just one of those names I guess. Overall, I thought this was a great chapter that gave us a nice in depth look as the history of some characters!

Author's Response: Exactly - Marvolo and Merope are basically doing the same exact thing to their significant others, with specific differences. I'm glad you liked this twist! I saw this as an opportunity to write in a little more backstory for Marvolo Gaunt, another minor character of whom we know nothing - and Merope's mother is never even mentioned in canon, so it was fun to invent her.

HAHA! Ralph Elliott does sound like a fashion line - maybe we're both thinking of Ralph Lauren. :D

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gryffindor Witch 

23rd October 2008:
Woah! i havent reviewed for ages! I have a lot of catching up to do! As always, it was written perfectly and you're building up suspense fantastically! Aww poor Merope imagine being told that in the middle of the night. And it must have made her feel so guilty about Tom. I'll have to read the other chapters soon, but I promise I will! Sorry I havent reviewed for ages sorry sorry sorry
Sally xx

Author's Response: Hi Sally! :) No problem at all, I'm just so grateful that you came back to review! Thrilled you liked this chapter and you're right, it must have been one traumatic story to hear about in the middle of the night. Definitely built up her guilt even more about what she's doing to Tom. And don't worry, take your time with the rest of the chapters since the story is finally finished!! Hope you enjoy it and let me know what you think! *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #8, by chiQs09 

22nd October 2008:
She met Ralph, her half-brother. And oh my, how horrible it must be witnessing her father doing something immoral like that. And Merope just saw herself being like her father. There is just one thing that differs her from him: she loves Tom. So her conscience will not let him live like that. She won't let it happen to him too, he already lost everything: his family, his friends, his home... Yeah, she'll end it soon. I can see it coming... :(

And Mr Gaunt definitely gets what he deserves!

Author's Response: Yes, she finally met Ralph who is her mother's son, and Marvolo's horrible deed is so similar to what she's doing now that it completely freaks her out. I'm so glad you pointed out the difference between them, because what Merope is doing is for love - which is why her story will end differently from Marvolo's. I agree, Marvolo Gaunt will only get what he deserves!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Tor Petty 

21st October 2008:
RALPH ELLIOTT!! HE's the dark red-haired man! WHOA!

Oh wow, love potions run in the family, then, don't they?

Oh my. This is a thick plot indeed. Two families ruined. And Ralph wants to kill him.

Author's Response: Yes ma'am! (Or sir ... I'm sorry if I got your gender wrong, I always tend to assume my readers are female because of the content) That is Ralph Elliott all right... and love potions do run in the family, apparently, except Marvolo's circumstances are very different from Merope's as you will see. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Billion 

20th October 2008:
Wow, what a backstory! Very creative I say. It makes perfect sense why Merope, after the first attempt, finally decided to stop giving the potion to Tom.

So, just to clarify, Anabelle was given at least two potions, a love potion and a memory potion? And together they messed up her mind due to prolonged use.

Author's Response: Hey Billion! Glad you like the backstory :) It was suspicious how little information we were given about Marvolo and his wife in the books ... well, suspicious to me anyway because I nitpick everything. :D But definitely not complaining, as it gave me a ton of room to do with as I pleased!

Yes, Annabelle was given those two potions as well as a variety of others - basically Marvolo didn't know what was enough, wasn't smart enough to know when to stop, and his successful drugging of her led to even more drugging until he completely messed up her mind. That's what I intended, anyway.

Thanks so much for your review! Hope you'll enjoy the rest :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Labby 

13th October 2008:
It doesn't surprise me to see Marvolo's hidden secret about his life.. how he tricked her and never even thought about stopping the potion, until such a late stage. He really did ruin two family's lives, but again, that's not really so surprising. I'm sure that opens up Merope's eyes to see what he did and how she may be doing the same thing. She has somewhat of a conscience, but Ralph's revelation shows how similar family can be.

It does make sense here, one thing I've never thought about before, how Merope came to take care of her father and whatnot. I don't remember much on canon at this point, about how much the revealed if anything about Merope's mother, but it seems to make sense that she'd leave at a certain age, where Merope would be old enough to care for Marvolo. This was one of the favorite chapters!

Author's Response: Yes I bet you could see Marvolo's story coming! It parallels Merope's story but it's not completely the same ... although they were both being selfish, Marvolo only lusted while Merope loved. Definitely an eye-opener for his daughter, but one that she needed desperately.

Merope's mother is never mentioned in canon; I made her up because I thought it would be interesting if she had left them for some reason, rather than simply dying in childbirth or something like that. Annabelle left when Merope was about three or four, so the little girl had to learn quickly how to take care of her father and brother (since both were pretty useless at life without a woman). Thanks Jamie!


 Report Review

Review #12, by shadowycorner 

12th October 2008:
*bows down* You are officialy my hero. Just when I think there is no way for you to get more brilliant, you come up with this. This story-line is so wide and interesting, with branches laced within and throughout. It has so many factors and elements it never gets boring. I remember beginning on this chapter a few times but never getting past the first two paragraphs because something always distracted me. Well, finally I've been able to settle down and read the whole chapter. I have to say I was surprised, because I thought Marvolo's real story wouldn't interest me as much, but it did and I read all this in one breath. Besides the story, however, what strikes me as the best thing is the effect this will have on Merope. The fact that her father had done the very same thing she's doing might be pretty strong for her. Perhaps it is the initial factor in Merope stopping the potion for good. I loved how Ralph phrased it at the end with justice always coming back to right what is wrong.
Even though I still pity Merope and understand in a way, Ralph is, after all, right. No one has the right to force people into love and take their life away. Not under any price. Not even for true love, because if it's true, it would never do such a thing. But I know Merope's love for Tom is true, which is why she sets him free in the end. I hope I'm right. It doesn't matter though, what matters is that this is not some random well-written fanfiction. Jules, it is absolutely fantastic and so outstanding...one of the best novels I ever read. This story truly deserves all those Dobbys. I can't wait to read more now, though if you don't find my review for your next chapter, don't despair. My internet just died again probably.

~Liz

Author's Response: Oh ... wow. Thank you so, so much Liz - I can't tell you how much it means to me that you enjoy my story! You're always so encouraging and I appreciate it very much *huggles*

I'm so grateful that you like Marvolo's backstory! I thought it would be the clincher - the final piece of information that sends Merope over the edge and forces her to make her decision. I absolutely agree with you - no matter how much she loves Tom, it's wrong to force someone into a relationship with you. I think doing so would kill a part of someone. Wouldn't it completely crush your self-esteem to only have this person love you through deceit? That's the lesson Merope is forced to learn - but she does the only right thing that she can do, and that is to admit that she was wrong and set him free. Although it's too late to fix anything...

Thanks a million for this amazing review, I'm just overwhelmed by your praise!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Potterholic 

9th October 2008:
Great chapter! I love how you explained Ralph’s identity, along with the mystery of Merope’s mother. It was awful, how Marvolo tricked her, and it’s ironic how Merope went down the same road to win the one she loved, though I think her love is far more sincere than Marvolo’s. The description was lovely, and I like how Ralph was an Unspeakable. I wonder if he’s among the first who learn to use the Pensieve. ^_^ Anyway, I love that ending and I’m looking forward to see if Ralph would really avenge his mother. Good job! Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hey hun! Thanks so much for coming to review :) :) Good, I'm glad you enjoyed the Marvolo storyline - I agree that while there are a lot of parallels between it and Merope's story, Merope's love is definitely much more sincere which is why she will be able to let Tom go. I think you're the first person who mentioned that Ralph was an Unspeakable! That he is :D I thought it might explain how he was so good at spying on Tom and Merope, as well as provide a good rationale for his pursuit of his mom's deadbeat husband.

 Report Review

Review #14, by onestop_hpfan18 

8th October 2008:
Another great chapter. It's awful how low Marvolo Gaunt went just to gain the woman, Annabelle, that he lusted after by drugging her with various potions to deceive her and a love potion. Merope will not take this news lightly as she's deceiving Tom by giving him a love potion so that he'll love her just as she loves him, she's sure to fall into a downward spiral of depression after a while when this news really starts to sink in. I'm sure she feels disgusted and upset from how her father tricked her mother into marrying him and will start thinking that she'd become what her father did and get bored of Tom just as Marvolo had grown tired of Annabelle. Though, it seems slightly different in how she's feeding the love potion to Tom so that he loves her as he already liked her as a friend before and the two cared for one another like friends so (though Merope cared for Tom more than he did for her), and Marvolo was just thinking of himself when he started feeding the various potions to Annabelle. Great job so far! 10/10

Author's Response: I agree - this news about her father and what he did to her mother (what he did to all of them, actually, not just Annabelle - the kids, Ralph, Ralph's dad) will clinch the deal for Merope. It's a very tragic parallel of her own story and it'll really open her eyes a bit about the entire situation and what will be the right decision - to keep going on selfishly and keep Tom for herself, or to give up the fight? You're absolutely right that what she is doing is different, however ... what Merope did started out as selfishness, just like Marvolo, but she's different from him because she's actually grown to love Tom. Because of this love and compassion, she'll have the strength to do what Marvolo could not for Annabelle - to tell the truth. Exactly right! Thanks so much for another wonderful review, hun :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review