Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sue Clover 

2nd January 2015:
Well, that was really good. I still am in love with it. I am also in love with Remus; he is like my ideal man, especially the way you write him. If Kerri ends up breaking up with him just because of her father, I will be really really mad. I know it wouldn't be permanent, because they end up getting married and having kids, but honestly she just CAN'T put him through that.

 Report Review

Review #2, by CleverElf 

15th April 2014:
I did not expect to like this story. The summary at the beginning sounded a bit too weird, but i ended up really enjoying it.I have always wanted to see the harry potter story form Snape's perspective. This wasn't quite that, but i think it did a good job with the complicated and intriguing character. Only complaint: it was a bit too long. A few chapters and scenes were just unnecessary. Good story though, definitely worth the read.

 Report Review

Review #3, by knicoles 

28th July 2013:
Great first novel (I see I have three more to read which I'm very excited about!!)!!!

I like your writing style and how richly you have rounded out your characters. The humor and camaraderie you put into each character. How you have so thoroughly intertwined the fates of characters in Potterverse to that of you own original character is pure genius.

Please keep up the good work!! You've ONLY 3 books to go, hahaha. I'm with you all the way, too.

 Report Review

Review #4, by knicoles 

28th July 2013:
Dawww, love that Hagrid was so shy about admitting he sees Kerri like a daughter :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by OCQueen 

2nd April 2013:
This story was FANTASTIC. Searching for a story to rekindle my long-forgotten love of fanfiction, I stumbled upon your story and was absolutely entranced. Moving on to the next few!

 Report Review

Review #6, by amalia 

5th January 2012:
Nice story!!

I really liked Basil and the other members of the band!
But. I think you got Quirrells name wrong :) His name was actually Quirinus Quirrell :D
I got very bound to this story as I red it, and I think you have done an amazing job. Keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by hpfanno1 

9th December 2011:
ok, so i was howling all over the floor at the "Are you sure he isn't just a...dried up old fogey?"
i dunno why, but i couldn't stop laughing! :D
you've done a great job on this story, and you haven't disappointed me in any way-- yet.
i look forward to reading the next year, where hopefully kerri will find out a hell lot more about her mother's side of the family and snape's past with lily than she known right now..
anyway, i like what i've just finished reading and i'm looking eagerly forward to the sequel. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by kestral14 

4th November 2011:
I love this story. It's amazing, interesting, and well-written. But I think the thing I like most about it is the characters. They're so real, so believable, that it's almost like I actually met them. Please, keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ruby_slippers 

12th October 2011:
I know you probably wont ever read this but this story was incredible!! Fantastic writing!! Thanks heaps

 Report Review

Review #10, by OneBlackRose 

11th August 2011:
Hey there! I've just finished reading this and I really enjoyed it!

I particularly loved your characterisation of Snape. I thought you wrote him really well, his speech sounded great and his behaviour was all well explained and rational, just as I like it :D

I have to say, my favourite minor characters are Ryann and Jill, not really sure why though. I'd love to read more about them, anyways :D

I love the letters between her and Charlie, and how little references of them pop up in later chapters and in different places. I had a few little giggles reading them, which is always good.

I had a great time reading, can't wait to get onto the second year! Thanks for taking the time to write.

:D x

 Report Review

Review #11, by the_other_potter 

12th April 2011:
I love this so much, your so talented. I stayed up all night to read this and now its on to the sequel (L) Remus and Kerri (L)

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dluechilipepper 

25th February 2011:
So frikin great lived it so very much and I can't wait to read the next three. I read the whole first book in about 2 to 3 days I kind of lost count cause I spent so much time staring at the computer screen wondering how a such a genius could make such a fantabulous story. Oh and by the way you are now my new favorite author!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks. Reviews like these always blow me away.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Matthea 

11th February 2011:
Just finished reading your story, haven't read anything like it. So I'm going to read year 2 next.

Author's Response: Thanks. I hope you enjoy it too.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Billion 

11th October 2010:
I read this story a few months ago (most of it at work lol) and I've finally come to leave a review about my overall perception.
First up, you're an amazing writer. This ranks among the best fanfictions I've ever read. I loved everything about this story - the characters, the plot, the ORIGINALITY. You took what we knew of the HP universe and expanded it in such a way that Kerri's story melded seamlessly into Harry's, making it seem canon. Kudos, because that's really hard to pull off! I really appreciated how you gave importance to the entire cast - Basil & the boys, Tonks, Gildroy, her mother, etc. Kerri has important relationships with all these people and you didn't weight one more than the other. I see lots of fanfic focusing just on the romance and such but Kerri has a life beyond her affections with Remus and I'm glad you included that. There's a lot of other things I enjoyed about this story but I don't remember them all. Besides, it's probably unnecessary to have a list since the story is overall amazing! I'm definitely going to check out the sequels (I hope you're planning to do all the books!).

Author's Response: Thanks.

The idea for this story was in my head for a long time before I decided to write it. I was disappointed in DH and that's when I made the decision to start actually working on this story. I've had a lot of time to figure out my OC's and how to make Kerri relate to them and to the canon characters as well. Lots of time too, to figure out ways to insert her into the action. Much of that comes from thinking about how I would react if I were there in various scenes --- Kerri is very much like me. Sometimes it scares me how much of myself I've given away through her.

Glad you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Reuben 

12th August 2010:
I finished Year One! I really like your story so far, Kerri is a wonderful and completely believable OC :) I'm really impressed by the way you told the story. You tied it all together and really made it seem like this could be happening behind-the-scenes in the first year of Harry's schooling.

Also, your portrayal of werewolf life is great. You really bring to life the desperation of these people and how unfairly they are treated. It really draws the reader into the story, a sure sign of excellent writing!

By the way, I'm sorry to hear your grandfather has been in the hospital :( I hope he feels better soon.

Author's Response: Thanks.

My grandfather is out of the hospital now but still needs attention. Sometimes we have to go down and say with him when my grandmother needs to go out. He's feeling very weak but then at 92 years old, I guess he's entitled.

When I began this story I knew that Kerri would spend two years away from Hogwars so I'd better come up with some strong original characters since the canon ones wouldn't always be present. Hence the werewolves and the werewolf subculture. Much of that is also based upon personal experiences. The werewolves have no money, I have no money. The workhouse was directly based upon a factory where I worked for several years. Like the werewolves in my story, I know what it's like to be down at the bottom and not see too much hope of climbing out. So much of that ends up in my story. Sometimes it actually alarms me how much of myself I've put into it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Miekka 

10th May 2010:
I really enjoyed reading your story. You definitely deserved those Dobby's. I can't wait to read the rest of the stories.

Thank you so much for the time and effort you put into this wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you liked it.

The Dobby Award I was proudest of was the one for Best OC because most people turn away at the very idea of "Voldemort's daughter" stories. I've actually asked for reviews and been turned down because of it. Winning that award was especially gratifying.

There are two more stories which you probably already know. Year 3 is almost complete and I'm starting to think ahead to Year 4.


 Report Review

Review #17, by artemisia 

9th March 2010:
I loved it... Most people don't handle the oc very well but your story was amazing From start to finish. Hehe!! I even brought it up in my English class when talking abot point of view (hehe!!!) I can't wait to keep reading. Keep up the AMAZING work!

Author's Response: Wow, this is the third compliment I've gotten on my OC's for this chapter. I love when people tell me that they like them. It was a real honor to win the Dobby award for best original character. (Especially since 'Voldemort's daughter' is considered a cliche and the story has been insulted occasionally because of it).

I think I have the best readers in all of hpff. I've had people tell me that they've drawn pictures illustrating scenes from this story, sat up till two in the morning on workdays reading it, and sat in class at school reading it. Bringing it up in an English class discussion has to be one of the biggest compliments I've had yet.

Thanks.


 Report Review

Review #18, by FluffyBunny 

23rd November 2009:
I really love this! I took me quite the time to read it but I'm finally finished!
Thank you!
Lara
10

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by lilyjames 

16th November 2009:
Wow...to be honest I usually shy away from this type of story (journal/diary stories) but I decided to read this and just couldn't stop. I reallly like the way you started out the story as if you were a friend of the Lupin's and had been given the journals personally. It really adds to it and although I know they are fictional characters, as your last reviewer so kindly mentioned, it still leaves the reader with a sense that the people being discussed were real people with real stories. Kerri is such a unique character and is loads of fun to read about. My favorite chapter had to be when she was escorted out of the room and suspended for asking the minister about the frequent dementor attacks on the werewolf communes. I especially loved her response when she was asked where her wand was.

I can't believe her schedule. I too am a college student and am taking almost as many classes as I'm allowed to. There is no way I'd have time to coach Basil and his friends and be in a band, and have a paper route. lol I really shouldn't have read your story until the semester was over but it's a really nice break when I get tired of trying to reduce my ever growing pile of homework. I wish this story had more reviews because then people would be more likely to give it a chance. After reading just one or two chapters they too would be hooked.

Okay I'm rambling. I'm sorry I didn't review the previous chapters but if I get time I'll go back and do that, if only to raise the review count. You're an excellent writer and it's nice to read something that isn't littered with spelling and grammar errors. I loved seeing a new side of Snape and your explanations for his ever present sour attitude toward Harry.

Finally, I think once Kerri does finally tell Remus about her parentage he will feel the same way she does about him being a werewolf. She isn't her father and shouldn't be judged as such and Remus isnt' a monster and should also not be judged as such.
Sorry for such a long review but there's so many things about your story I wanted to put in. Can't wait to start reading the next one but sadly it may be a while as finals are coming up.

P.S. I absolutely loved scenes with Gilderoy Lockhart, He really is an idiot. His books are good for entertainment value only. What kind of moron puts in side notes about the state of his hair than goes off on a tangent discussing his wonderful hair products when he's writing about a fight with a supposedly extremely dangerous creature. I hope he comes back in the second book if only for the added entertaiment it'll be sure to give! Okay I really am done.for now.
10/10 for an absolutely amazing story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review.

So you saw that odd review I got the other day? I couldn't decide if the reviewer was serious or not and took a while to answer because I really didn't know what to say. In the end I figured it was best to just keep it short and simple.

I almost deleted this story at one point because of the letter/journal format. This type of format is just almost illegal on hpff. The letters and journals aren't supposed to take up more than 1/3 of the story. I wasn't aware of it and the staff validated the first eight chapters before anyone realized it. We ended up compromising. I removed the headings, "Excerpt from the journal of." from the journal entries. That way they qualify as plain narrations (even though it's understood by my readers that those narrations take place inside a journal entry). I'm so glad I didn't just give up and delete. I've been working on this series for more than two years now and it's been very time consuming, but also very rewarding. I've learned a lot and improved my writing through it.

I was a college student too when I began this story, but I've since dropped out because of my finances. A lot of Kerri's financial problems and those of her werewolf friends are inspired by things going on in my own life. And actually --- I do have a paper route in real life. It's alarming sometimes just how much of myself I've given away in this story. Much of it is very personal. (Unfortunately, I don't have a Remus in my life though).

In year two, Kerri does eventually tell Remus about her parentage. I won't go into details about that now until you've read it. But yes, Kerri and Remus are well matched because they both have issues in their lives that wound their self esteem. They recognize the goodness in one another and are beneficial to each other's egos. I never understood why Rowling paired Remus with Tonks and that was part of the inspiration to write this story. I didn't think Tonks really had what it would have taken to deal with Remus's emotional issues caused by his illness.

Lockhart is in the next story. Snape complains about him a lot in his letters and Kerri does run into him face to face on day when she visits the school. I was kind of sorry when I had to send him off to St. Mungo's at the end. He was just so much fun to play with.

By the way, are you aware of Elderly Harry Potter Fans? If not, type it into Google and come visit. It's a forum for Harry Potter fans 18 and up. There are a lot of college students there and many writers from here. I'm there under "Aurora Dawn" but I'm spending more time on my Twilight website these days. (I write Twilight fan fiction too). Anyway...maybe I'll see you there.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Sarah 

28th October 2009:
So my sister has been reading this story for a while now and keeps on talking about it, so one day I decided to try it out.
I just finished year one and i must say, this is one of the best fan fics i have ever read. no joke.
You write very well and the plot is also awesome!
I really like how you expose the rest of the world outside of hogwarts, and in a realistic way. It's nice to see everything in a different point of view, and i am really excited to read the rest of the story!

Author's Response: I think your sister might have reviewed last week and told me about getting you started reading this. Between the two of you I've gotten some very nice compliments.

When I began this story I was afraid people would get bored with the action being outside Hogwarts but they seem to have liked the world I've created beyond it. It's really hard now though because I have all of my non-canon characters to keep up with as well as the canon ones since the action has moved back to Hogwarts. It's hard to keep up with it all.

I'm glad you like my story.


 Report Review

Review #21, by SephoraThae 

19th October 2009:
Amazing story so far, I can't wait to read the next. ^.^
It's so easy to connect with the characters, especially Kerri.
I was listening to Iris by the Googoo Dolls through the last chapter and the chorus seemed fitting. Made me a bit melancholy, to be honest x3
Thanks so much for an amazing story!

Author's Response: I think I've probably heard that song but I don't really remember it. I'm not fond of that band. Must have been back in the 90's?

And thank you.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Aalyiah Elddir 

14th October 2009:
If it weren't for the fact that J.K Rowling probably wouldn't allow it, I would urge you to publish it. It's really really really good. :)
I'm glad you've written more, and I hope it continues for a long time.

Author's Response: Thank you.

I intend to write eight stories total, one for each of Harry's school years. Considering that so far each one has taken a year to write, it will definitely continue for a very long time. It really is a huge commitment on my part but as of now, I have no intention of quitting.


 Report Review

Review #23, by natureismagic 

24th May 2009:
Wow! That was so amazing! I loved how you were able to tell a new story using the framework of the original. Harry's story is still there, unchanged, but there's a whole new layer now! Congratulations on a job well done.
15/10

*runs off to read sequel*

Author's Response: I'm trying to keep the story as close to the original as possible, with the exception of a few changed relationships. I won't change Harry's part of the story at all. The challenge here has been coming up with original characters that would interest readers as much as the canon ones do, and so far people seem to like mine.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Orabella 

30th November 2008:
haha i actually re read the whole thing. wow im proud of myself haha. this story is so good and like i said in my other reveiw you really have improved a lot. i cant wait for your next chapter in the second book. :)

Author's Response: Wow, the whole thing? It's long too. I have a feeling that the sequel will probably be longer though I am trying to hurry it along a bit. I've done a lot of work this weekend but it's all hand written and I need to type it up.

 Report Review

Review #25, by SunnyRae 

11th October 2008:
Kerri will NOT break it off with Remus! Why else would it be Cerridwyn Lupin as the title? XD
How do you say Cerridwyn anyways?
Okay, I feel a little like Basil and them at their scatter brained worst, coming from topic to another like that. "Do dementors have an ass?" Though at least I'm not like that 24/7 like them... mostly, just 2:00 in the morning X )
Speaking of Basil and co. Do they ever learn of Remus' nickname? I have a feeling that if they did they would never let Moony live it down. I think James and Sirius gave him that nickname for more of a laugh then it relating to his "furry little problem" I wouldn't doubt it XD
I like how Kerri sees Hagrid more as a dad. I wouldn't have thought that unless you pointed it out like you did. I guess I saw their relationship more of older brother younger sis type. Or uncle. I don't know why I didn't see it... It's sweet though. Very nice for Hagrid!

Author's Response: You know I thought that the title should give away whether or not Remus and Kerri end up together but you're the first person to mention it.

I'm pretty certain.not 100 percent sure because I did get her name from a book and have never heard it pronounced, that you say it Ker-i-dwyn. Short "I" sound in the middle.

Cerridwyn is a Welsh goddess associated with death and regeneration among other things. Death and regeneration being such polar opposites, I thought it fit someone who feels pulled in two directions between her own better nature and the darker side of herself.

I'm not sure if the boys will ever learn Remus's nickname. Maybe, but I don't have it specifically planned at this point.

I never thought of Hagrid as a brother figure for Kerri, probably because of his age. He must be fifty at least.

Thanks for all of your reviews. I hope you follow the story into the sequel.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review