Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jane_Volturi 

5th August 2009:
Wow, i think this is my favourite chapter so far. It's probably because Charity's not had much of a scene in the Harry Potter series, she was only briefly mentioned in the order of the phoenix and had a scene in the first chapter of the seventh book. I like the story you've set for her and the way you describe her thoughts, i can grasp her emotions without any difficulty at all. She seems brave and certain. wanting to do what she beleives is the best. She seems quite kind hearted and secure. A very interesting character you've chose to write about.
The Plot wove into the story better than i'd have expected, i just really liked how you made her your own character yet everything was so perfectly realistic. I'm ever so glad you chose to write a chapter from her point of view, fanfictions including Charity are scarce on this website.
Descriptive language was phenomenal, i've already explained in previous chapters you provide the chapter with the perfect amount of detail and description and i really admire your writing style, you seem to now what you're doing which is good.
Spelling was brilliant, as was punctuation and grammar, usually people alawys manage to make mistakes somewhere along the chapter but this was perfect, you have good Beta's.
Overall i really enjoyed reading this, it was different, original and enjoyable. Favourite chapter so far.
10/10
Katie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Princess Of Hugs 

7th March 2009:
Wow. Good job!! This is amazing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pookha 

23rd November 2008:
Another chapter I reviewed that must have been eaten by the server crash.

I've said it before, but I find your writing absolutely amazing. You take minor characters or characters that I don't care for and you expose them in ways that make me care. Your depictions of Snape made a Snape/OC believable to me in your other stories and your depiction of Charity here paints a picture of a witch who stands up for what she believes, even if it exposes her to danger, a very important them to the HPverse.

The backstory with her sister and her problems being a Squib add depth to your story that helps to expand the view of Charity. You have a gift for characterisation and description that I envy as it makes your writing flow and seem effortless.

And you're welcome for the beta-reading. It was truly an honour to beta-read your piece. Thank you for betaing my work as well.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so very much for such a nice review of my chapter! I'm pleased that you enjoyed it and my other stories.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ButterflyRogue 

9th November 2008:
Now that I'm re-reading all of the chapters we have in the collaboration so far, I just can't help it but to be absolutely amazed by the quality of every single one of them. This chapter was no exception.

I love how you've given an entirely new dimension to the character we know so little about. You've given Charity a character and a backstory and you've done an amazing job with it. I love how you've described her relationship with her sister, the circumstances that made them drift apart, but also their special connection that brought them back together eventually. It was great how you've made a foundation for her affection for Muggles and her motive to become a Muggle Studies teacher - her love for Paul and for the way of life her sister was forced to live, a life Charity grew fond of and the life she secretly wanted to live herself.
It's beautiful (although sad, when I remember what will happen to her later) how her wish to secure a better future for her nephew gave her the courage to write and post that letter. Despite it foreshadowing her death, this chapter gave away the feeling of tranquility. It was very refreshing and amazingly written.

This is truly wonderful, very poignant piece of writing. It was an absolute pleasure reading it.. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and I apologize for being late in responding to your lovely review! I've always found Charity to be a fascinating character and I'm pleased I was able to give her some dimension in a relatively brief chapter. I'm especially gratified that you enjoyed reading it because I certainly value your opinion highly! I appreciate the time you took to read and leave a review. It made my day!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bella_Portia 

26th October 2008:
I am re-reviewing, to make up for the Lost Review.

I liked, and I like this story enormously. It is really well plotted.

I like the almost painful irony of it -- because we know the horror and tragedy that that letter will lead to. It is doubly tragic, because you paint Charity as a woman of uncommon integrity and guts -- a person whose death will be a tremendous loss. And yet again, you laid on the -- perhaps tragedy is a better word than irony -- by having the triggering event (that enhanced her motivation to send the letter) be the birth and baptism of her nephew.

I like the relationship between the sisters. The flux in their "getting along" was very true to life. The similarity of names struck me as really well chosen -- the sort of thing families do.

And the final line -- remembering that her words would come to pass, but only after she endured a particularly wretched martyrdom -- had a memorable and bittersweet tinge.

This story is really good.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review this chapter again. I was devastated to lose the original reviews, especially yours. When I read Deathly Hallows, Charity was never a throwaway character to me. I was intrigued by her, wondered what made her such a target, and wondered why, even after she likely heard the rumors about Snape, she would call out to him by name, pleading for her life? I think there's even more to her story, somehow, but it will remain for another writer to delve into it. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Labby 

16th October 2008:
I really love how you were able to create such vivid descriptions of a character.. well actually a family... that was barely mentioned in the story. I just love how you created them and how Charity had a sister who was a Squib, especially because Faith seemed to get along better than Charity. I love that Charity got to teach about Muggle relations.. I never imagined it would be because of a Squib sister that she'd be able to do it, but it makes sense and I like that she learned about Muggles through her sister. The description and details you placed in this story worked really well. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Girldetective85 

15th October 2008:
This is a wonderful story and an amazing contribution to the collab. I didn't know who Charity was before this, but she felt so real and so human in this story that I can't believe she didn't have a bigger part in the books! I liked that this was kind of a reverse of my chapter for the collab - I wrote about Petunia, the sister who didn't get to go to Hogwarts, while Charity is the sister who DID get to go to Hogwarts. I could feel the family's pain and disappointment that Faith was born a Squib, but I also love the way they banded together to support her. She must have been a very strong woman, putting aside any envy or bitterness and becoming a success at her Muggle school. And she was so supportive of Charity too, offering to take her out and spend time with her. I can see why Charity chose to accept the Muggle studies position as it's so personal and so dear to her. The ending paragraph was gorgeous and a perfect finishing touch to this story. Amazing job! 10/10

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you so much for your kind words! I appreciate the time you took to review my chapter again. I'm thrilled that I was able to make Charity seem real to you; I've always found her an interesting character.

 Report Review

Review #8, by evil little devil 

9th October 2008:
Wow! That was stunning. I'd never much thought about Charity before, and I just think it's amazing how you managed to paint her life so amazingly in one simple chapter. The backstory behind her becoming a muggle studies teacher is brilliant! Your writing is amazing :) I loved reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I don't know why I have such deep feelings for Charity, but I grew to love her while writing this chapter and I'm pleased you enjoyed the chapter as well. I appreciate the time you took to read and leave a review and I am especially grateful for the kind words about my writing. It's very encouraging!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Georgia Weasley 

9th October 2008:
So beautifully done! I love how you bring this obscure character to life, and have us falling in love with her spirit. I do miss reading about her in your story. I find it amazing that you could take one or two lines from a book and create an entire person with a life and history. I grew very fond of her here, and felt so sad knowing what would become of her. I think she must have been in Gryffindor, showing the bravery she did in posting that owl knowing the way the world was turning at that point. That took serious courage and strong belief in her position. Lovely writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! A lovely review from you means so much to me because you're one of my very favorite writers! :) I'm pleased that you found yourself growing to like Charity over the course of the chapter. I'm very fond of her, as I'm sure you know. I always imagined Charity to be in Hufflepuff for some reason, but then again, I think everyone has a little bit of all the Houses in them. I appreciate the time you took to read and leave a review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

6th October 2008:
Oh, wow, that was AMAZING!!
I've been slowly, chapter by chapter, reading this collaboration. And time and time again I am astounded by the talent and quality of the writing.
This was magnificent. I loved it. And you didn't just go out and say: She was writing to the Daily Prophet to explain about Muggles; you eased into it, leaving room for imagination. I loved it.
The writing was spectaular. I loved it. I can't stop saying that. I loved it.
This was a really good read, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for such a nice review of my chapter! I'm extremely proud to have participated in this collaboration with such a talented group of writers and I greatly appreciate the time you took to read and leave reviews for us. I'm so happy that you enjoyed my contribution!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review