Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jane_Volturi 

5th August 2009:
Wow, interesting second chapter, again, the title really defines Luna's personality, she chooses faith over fact so the title really matched this chapter.
Characteriation:
Luna: Well, we all know about how Luna lives with a carefree manner to her life, even in the darkest of times she's positive and isn't really attentive to the facts around her. I really enjoyed the way you showed her personality through your writing, i could truly grasp her thoughts and emotions without any difficulty what so ever. Even in her dialogue she remained in character, you did a perfect job handling Luna in your writing and i really enjoyed reading this chapter.
Plot: Again, the plot is woven cleverly into the harry potter books, it's like the missing part to the series, fantastically written, you've stuck to the facts and with it captured Luna's true personality. Really well done.
Grammar: This was brilliant, definitley spot on and everything made the perfect sense.
Punctuation: This was perfect as well, there were no mistakes and no errors, everything was spot on.
Spelling: Again brilliant, no errors or slip ups, all spot on.
Descriptive Langiage: Pretty much the same as in the last chapter, you had the right consistency of detail and it made you writing flow easily.
Overall an inteersting chapter, i felt very sorry for Luna and i enjoyed reading this.
10/10
Katie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Princess Of Hugs 

7th March 2009:
Aw! *Sniffling as tears start to fall* Poor Luna!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pookha 

23rd November 2008:
Now, I know that I reviewed this and it must have been lost in the server crash.

This was the chapter that I looked forward to the most, as Luna's by far my favourite character and I also have written the scene with the death of Luna's mother (although in a quite different way).

It clearly has Luna in character, which is actually quite difficult to do without going from the ridiculous to the sublime. What I mean is I think that Luna is truly the hardest character to keep in character without making her a caricature. You write her very well, particularly as a younger child. I can clearly picture the younger Luna that you write developing into the sweet adolescent that we see in the books.

I absolutely adore the ending with the thestral. Luna's total lack of fear in meeting such a beast is very Luna. I can see her picking up her artwork again after such an event and having it shape her life in ways that she herself doesn't understand until she looks back on it with the fisheye lens of age.

I hope that this review lived up to the one that was lost in the crash.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ButterflyRogue 

31st October 2008:
Oh, this was such an endearing chapter!! You wrote Luna so well!
Her thoughts seemed to flow so naturally, you've really managed to get into her head.

I loved the Moonshine parallel, it was a very nice touch. As well as her mother's name being Sol. The Sun and the Moon. :)
I also loved all of the descriptions you've included. Luna's special connection with nature through her mother was so wonderfully described and, in a way, it left her with a sort of a connection to her even after she died. I love the way you've started and finished with a motive of a forest - it really brought things back full circle.
Speaking of her mother's death, it's a great choice of a defining moment! I don't think you could have chosen a better one.

And the ending is so bittersweet and optimistic in such a "Luna" way... :) It is so like Luna to find a bright spot in such a tragedy and embrace the thestrals even though most people are prejudiced against them because of their looks and because of what they represent.

This was an amazing chapter and a wonderful contribution to our collab. I enjoyed reading it very much... :)

~Vedrana (Rosie Nymphadora on eHPF)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bella_Portia 

26th October 2008:
I really liked this story. The ending, with the threstral (my favorite creature in HP) rifling her pocket for the meat, was lovely.

That horrific experience - the loss of her mother -- that seemingly made Luna the person she became, is the core of her "defining moment;" and you did a beautiful and very imaginative job writing that moment. I think you captured Luna -- the childlike, boyant creature but with an undercurrent of sadness.

I also liked the people with which you surrounded her. I came away with a very clear picture of her mom and dad.

I am rereading -- so as to re-review; and it is a total pleasure.

 Report Review

Review #6, by JLHufflepuff 

26th October 2008:
I love that Luna's defining moment is her finding the thestrals and learning to move on in life in her typical Luna way. You show a depth to her, tempered by the heartbreak of her mother's death, yet at the same time she is Luna - learning how to deal with things in her own way. Even in grief, Luna is refreshing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley 

19th October 2008:
This is such a poignant look into the making of "Looney" Lovegood. I love the little peek we get into who she is and the people and events that shaped her personality. Now we can see why she clings to her oddities and peculiar ways, as they came from her beloved mother. They are the way she keeps her alive in her heart. That, and the appreciation of the forest and its inhabitants. Now that she has found that again at Hogwarts, the connection with her mother she'd lost is found again. This is so sweet, and so well done. Great addition to the collab.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Labby 

16th October 2008:
Another perfect moment here. It's sad that a lot of Luna's defining moment is from when her mother died, but it makes sense. I guess she would change a little bit, but I'm glad a lot of her character remained the same. I really like the idea of connecting Luna with the thestrals and showing her moving on from her mother's death a bit from them. That seems really true to Luna's character. You did do a really good job overall of staying true to her character.. I really loved the Luna-isms you used. The description in this was very good as well. Great story.. I enjoyed it a lot!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Girldetective85 

15th October 2008:
Ginny, this piece never fails to make me smile :) It's just one of those beautiful, feel-good stories, plus Luna is one of my personal favorite characters. You've captured her family wonderfully here. Her mother is exactly the way I imagined her - just as dreamy and kooky as either Luna or Xenophilius, but there's a strength in her too. Her death was so sudden and I felt so horrible for Luna who was too young to really know what had just happened. And then it began to dawn on her in the next two years and she began giving up things she had once loved :( You ended on a really hopeful note, however - I like to think that the horse was almost like a reincarnation of her mother, come to comfort her and assure her that all would be well. I really enjoyed this, Ginny! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil 

9th October 2008:
I love how you wrote Luna! I think you captured her personality perfectly. I really like how close they all are at the start, and the way you wrote Luna's grief as simple things like stopping her drawing. The ending with the thestrals was really neat, great job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

4th October 2008:
I saw this story lost a ton of reviews and I had to come change that. This is SUCH an awesome collaboration! I loved this chapter on Luna, it captured her perfectly. And her mother. A very good description of what happened the day Sol died.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ron_Hermione_Forever_246 

3rd October 2008:
No problem for beta-ing! Anytime you need it, just ask. I don't recall what I said in my last review, but here goes.

I loved the closeness you showed between Luna and her parents. So many of the Harry Potter characters have either one or no parent(s), so it's a really nice change for the beginning of your story. I also LOVE mother/daughter relationships because I'm so close to my own mom, so this made me get teary.

I loved that the earrings Luna always wears were given to her by her mother - nice touch! When her mother first died, I thought you captured her grief and innocence very well. It's so horrible to lose someone you love, especially so young, and thought you did it justice.

My favorite thing about this chapter is that it took something as quirky and unique as Luna to bring her back to herself. Great addition to the collab!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review