Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MoonAndStars 

27th December 2013:
Great story! I've always wanted to know more about Merope and this is extremely interesting. I don't know if this sounds ridiculous or anything but is there any chance that the red head who called himself Ralph Elliot could be Dumbledore. Guess I'll just have to read to find out. Thanks for the great story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HereLiesDobby 

15th August 2009:
you are amazing! this story keeps gettting more and more intriguing! just when you think you've got it figured out, BAM, you put in another cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Haha :) I'm glad you're enjoying this story! Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Harry_Potter_Mom 

8th March 2009:
Wow... what an amazing chapter. That word (wow) is so insignificant to describe the movement of the words and the story - you truly are gifted!

I can't believe I haven't reviewed the rest of these chapters yet - I'm so sorry! I love the twists and turns as Merope's future and past unfolds... the man - Ralph - very interesting. I can't wait to learn more about him.

My heart aches for Merope as she ponders whether to give Tom the potion anymore - how I wish the ending could change. But even though I know the 'end' of this relationship, I'm consistently amazed at the journey you are taking us on.

Bethe continues to be a favorite character of mine - I LOVE the dream sequence! It sheds a nice amount of light onto Merope's mother... I'm wondering if that same woman ties into Ralph.

Onto the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: Hi Teresa! Thanks for coming back to review :) I'm so glad you find Ralph interesting! He is sort of a shady character but very important to what's going to happen next. You will definitely be learning more about him and you'll see how his story ties into Merope's and eventually, Tom's. I was wishing the ending could change all through the story too :( But I had already promised to stay as canon as I could, so... but I hope you'll like the ending anyway because I did what I could with it. So happy you like Bethe and her dream sequence, which will turn out to be important as well. Thanks for your review dear!

 Report Review

Review #4, by rosie_sirius93 

22nd January 2009:
Fantastic! Loved how well you showed how she is starting to think about removing the effects of the potion! Now I'm looking forward to reading on even more than before (if that is possible) with the mysterious stranger and the dream/vision Bethe saw! Brilliant writing!
10/10
;D

Author's Response: Merope is definitely starting to have second thoughts about that potion of hers. And you will be seeing a lot more about Bethe's vision as the story goes on, and how that ties into Merope's story :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Unwritten Curse 

16th December 2008:
Finally, I have time to come back and re-read these chapters that lost reviews. It's wonderful to read your writing again. It's like being reaquainted with an old friend. I fell right into the story again. Your words have a flow to them that is irresistible. I just love every last bit of this story. [:

I really enjoyed seeing Merope's internal struggle at the beginning of this chapter. She's starting to doubt, and that's only natural. She doesn't see herself in Tom's life, and truth be told, neither do I. Although I love them together, they just don't fit (without the potion). They come from two entirely different worlds. This was especially obvious when they were at the ball, and Merope was off by herself. It was heartbreaking, but it's just more proof that they are too different. Sad...

I'm so happy for Bethe in this chapter. She's reunited with family! And I love Theo's character. Such a happy man, haha. I just remembered what she's about to discover through her research, and I'm so anxious to get to that part. I loved reading Ralph's story of the past the first time through, and I know it'll be just as good the second time around. Bethe's and Merope's stories are about to intertwine.

10/10 of course! Off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hello darling! I really appreciate you coming back to replace the reviews I lost :) I don't think any of us will ever get over that trauma, so sad!! But this really helps and I'm beyond thrilled that you got right back into the story. You know I adore your writing and it makes me so happy and proud that you like mine.

I think this story is depressing because of what you mentioned - the fact that Tom and Merope were never going to be together forever. They're just two different people thrown together by chance and who are drawn to one another, yet the circumstances that surround each of them will keep them from ever being happy. I like tragedy and Merope's story seemed very attractive to me to explore. Why is this character doomed for unhappiness from birth? Why is she destined to never really be loved, why is she meant to die alone from a broken heart?

I wanted to have Bethe and Merope's stories intertwine despite the fact that they were no longer together in person. It was fun to make up a story for my OC, which also provided yet another different perspective to look at the main story of Tom and Merope.

So glad you liked this chapter! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #6, by Misty_Rey 

15th November 2008:
Hiya Jules!

Well, if I were to be completely honest, to me, this isn't one of your better chapters. In fact, it took me quite a few reads to finally warm up to it.

The beginning where she first wakes up to find him gone was a nice, subtle teaser for things to come and plants the first seeds of doubt in her mind of whether or not what she's doing is right. I liked how she was contemplating what to do with the potion and almost did drop it in surprise. You write the Merope/Tom 'love story' so strongly and wonderfully. I found it especially interesting that not only do you explore the magical and non-magical differences between Merope and Tom but also their social standings and class, especially when bringing in outsiders to make Merope feel even more inadequate about herself. It gives the readers an oppurtunity to look at the 'romance' from different angles and not just from a magic/nonmagic sort of way (I feel like I've mentioned this before but what the hey ^_^). The way you portrayed Merope's uneasiness and difficulty in fitting in had a good balance of envy and bitterness. You showed her insecurity in a relatable light. I found Theo adorable!! He reminded me so much of one of those flamboyant, boisterous, obviously magical wizards that JKR likes to randomly sprinkle around her books. Every piece of his dialogue was so cute and funny! Ralph Elliot was an interesting inclusion, introducing an important OC this late in the story. I did like his short, enigmatic answers to Merope's questions. You successfully established an air of mystery that surrounds him. You and your ambiguous dreams ^_^. Having already read ahead, I know the meaning of the dream but it's definitely cleverly written.

The main problem I had with this chapter is that at some parts, the plot moved too slow and it felt draggy. It just felt too long without being all that exciting and eventful. It could be just me though..

But of course, your writing is still great. I just personally felt that this chapter wasn't one of your best. 8/10. Please don't hate me *hides*.

~Misty

Author's Response: That's okay. I did try my best to keep the plot moving at all times, but I understand if you really didn't like this chapter. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by sazel_c 

27th October 2008:
Wow, I really love these origenal ideas...

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you like them :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by savagebeginnings 

25th October 2008:
Hello again! Another great chapter! I like how Merope is starting to see some truth in what she's doing and that it's not this fun little fantasy illusion that she has made it out to be anymore. And there's a new guy! I wonder where that will lead to.

And we got to see Bethe again! That's always good! I find myself waiting to see what will happen if Bethe and Merope meet again! I think I'm going to like it very much! Also, I can't wait to see what turns up from Bethe's research! Overall, I thought this was a really great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey again! :) I'm glad Merope's starting to see sense, too. She's not a stupid girl for sure - she was only so happy that all her dreams had come true that she didn't really think things through very well. Yes, and there is a new guy ... you'll see exactly how he comes into play as the story continues.

As always, I'm grateful you're still liking Bethe and you will be seeing more of her as she researches the Gaunt family history!


 Report Review

Review #9, by chiQs09 

22nd October 2008:
Aww...I can't believe how many reviews you lost! *gives extra big hug* :(
It's really frightening when one morning the one you love isn't there beside you when you wake up. Especially if you expect them to leave any moment. Merope knows she can't have Tom forever... that's really sad.

Oh that rider, actually her stalker since they left Great Hangleton. But how did he find them? And he's not even telling Merope how he tracked them...

Bethe, oh... she's having that dream of a dancing woman and a guy with something in his hand made of glass. And a baby lying in the snow! Was she actually dreaming of Merope and Tom? (Okay, stupid question.)

Great chapter! :D

Author's Response: Hi sweetie! *hugs back* Thanks for coming back to re-review :) I really appreciate it!

It is really frightening, isn't it? Merope is one scared girl and she can never really be happy because her life isn't real. She's living a lie and at any second, it could be taken away from her. No one who lives like that can ever be truly happy, which is very sad and tragic for her.

Yes this rider is pretty good at tracking people - you'll see why when you discover his occupation and his reason for following the Riddles.

And Bethe's dream is, as always, significant and you'll find out much later what it really means.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tor Petty 

21st October 2008:
I'm glad things are moving along nicely with Bethe. It's good to focus on her a bit.

And another deeply symbolic dream! Are those going to occur a lot in this story? They are quite intriguing!

Good chappie. This is such a great story; thank you for posting it, honestly.

Author's Response: I agree, I like to switch around to different characters instead of settling with one. It keeps the perspective fresh I think. I have noticed that there are a lot of dreams in this story, but rest assured they all mean something and will become clearer in the end. Aw, sweetie - thank you for reading. :) I'm so grateful that you like this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Labby 

13th October 2008:
I really like going back to read this, back to the times where Tom and Merope were happy together. I guess the bad times are coming up, but I loved just reading about their leisurely horse ride. Your details and descriptions and the scenes you portray are just wonderful. I love the relationship you've created with Tom and Merope and it'll be interesting now with Ralph coming into the picture again. He'll certainly stir up some trouble. And I forgot about what was going on with Bethe here too. Hmm.. I guess that was just a dream about Merope. I like her trying to find out more information.

Author's Response: Hi Jamie!! Thanks so much for coming back to read :)

I know what you mean, I feel the urge to write a happy ending but I can only satisfy myself by remembering how happy they once were... I'm so attached to Tom and Merope, I don't really want them to break up! Yes, things will be interesting now that Ralph has decided to come into the picture. And Bethe's dreams are always significant to the Torope (borrowed that term from genius Liz!) storyline.


 Report Review

Review #12, by shadowycorner 

12th October 2008:
That dream still makes me shiver. It is so well executed and perfectly adding up to the story it's amazing. The descriptions are as good as ever, just as the characters are. I loved the scene with Merope and the mystery man. You wrote it so well! The moment was so intense and created a lot of mystery. It also showed how different Merope is from these rich and snobbish people. It's apparent she doesn't belong between them, yet still is willing to withold it all for Tom. The fact that she loves him so really breaks my heart.

Author's Response: Hey Liz! Thanks so much for coming back :)

I'm thrilled you like the dream. It's taken me a while to realize how many dreams I've written into this story, but they're always fun because I get to do things like foreshadow and confuse readers and introduce ideas :D I'm so glad you pointed out that Merope is vastly different from these people. She's forced herself into a world where she doesn't belong and she'll have to accept that if she stays with Tom, there's a part of him that will always be too different from what she knows.


 Report Review

Review #13, by onestop_hpfan18 

8th October 2008:
Hey, I thought I'd help you out by giving you my reviews for ch. 11-15 back, and it'd be nice to read it all again while waiting on ch. 16. I really enjoyed this chapter with Merope and Tom being sweet and mushy together. And then what really pulled me in was the appearance of Ralph and then Bethe's vision; both really picked up the mystique of the storyline. Great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: Leslie, how sweet of you! Thanks a million :) It was very sad losing all of my wonderful reviews, but I'm so excited to get these new ones. I'm glad you liked the mushiness - I tried to make it romantic without being too sappy, but you never know ... I get so caught up with the whole Tom/Merope love story sometimes. And I'm very happy that you enjoyed Ralph's appearance. Bethe's visions are always significant so this one has a lot to do with what is coming!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review