Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gremlin 

12th September 2010:
Very amusing with sneaking the flower leaves in gustavs' tea. I feel bad for Luna that she doesn't know what's going on though.

 Report Review

Review #2, by FeyFan 

1st August 2009:
I love the picture for Rolf!

 Report Review

Review #3, by fatmermaid 

6th May 2009:
Goodness! Thickening the plot now eh? Love, jealousy, and confusion abound in this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Twinsmom 

27th February 2009:
Rolf showing his nasty side. Hoping he doesn't make a habit of that! Luna will not be impressed.

 Report Review

Review #5, by weasley_gang 

12th November 2008:
LOL! that was so funny! sorry for not reviewing the other chapters, but im just so eager to read! =]

my fav bitwas this::

“Gustav,” he whispered to himself. “If I’m not enjoying this trip, then neither shall you…”

LOL, its so sadist! i know u prob didnt aim for him to be sadist-like, but just that like, its so funny!! great chap!! =D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review:) They're always much appreciated regardless of the number. Rolf is not a sadist, but what can I say Gustav was messing with the wrong person:D Thanks:)

 Report Review

Review #6, by C D johnson 

7th June 2008:
Hello Again Roe,

This was a wonderful chapter, I reall did enjoy it! Your writing stlye is perfect once again, it seems to bring the story to life!

So Rolf seems to be green with jelousy! He really is determind to have Luna to himself isnt he. He is so determind to haver to himself that he posions Gustav with Iris leaves.now that is somthing I didn't expect! Butnevertheless it certainly shows that there is a bit of rivalry between Rolf and Gustav!

It was extremely interesting to read about the Iris Phoenix! I really loved your description "a scrawny looking bird, very much resembling a vulture, with greenish-black feathers and a large beak." I thought it was a great way to describe such an unsual creature. Such as the Irish Phoenix!

I'm giving you a 10/10 for this chapter - cause your ideas never cease to amaze me!

Reading on now, oh by the way Congratulations on becoming a TA! I'd love to be a TA you know lol! You really do deserve it Well Done!

Yours Magically,
Craig

Author's Response: Hello again Craig!

I'm so glad that you liked this little showdown between Gustav and Rolf. Indeed, Rolf is getting a bit posesive and doesn't really like the fact that Gustav is showing an interest in Luna. It's not that he doesn't feel up to the challenge... but *Rolf puts on angry face* he just doesn't want people messing with HIS things:)))

I loved skimming through the Lexicon and finding about all sorts of animals and out of all those creatures the Augurey/Irish Phoenix really caught my eye. I'm really glad that you found them particularly interesting.

Thank you so much for the rating and for congratulating me on becoming a TA. Merlin knows, trusted authorship has been an ideal of mine for so long along with becoming a prefect on the forums:P

Thank you again so much. You're far too kind!

Roe


 Report Review

Review #7, by obviously394 

6th June 2008:
I loved this ... Rolf being all sentimental with the earring, and Luna confused about Rolf, and the Rolf / Gustav thing- talking over each other ... Rolf 'poisoning' Gustav's tea ... And just the fact that Gustav has to prepare his own drinks ... hilarious. Lovely chapter image as well.

~obviously

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I was a bit nervous about this chapter because well, it's another side of Rolf that people are not that accustomt with but I'm glad that it was entertaining:D And indeed, Gustav has his awkwards yet so hilarious habits:D he sort of reminds me of Percy now that I think if it, bar from the pompous words:D

The showdown, indeed, it was meant to be very much funny, I'm so happy that you liked it but Luna certainly didn't see it as that, it just confuses her more.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by jkrowling_fan 

4th June 2008:
Oooh...well, what can I say.except - MORE?

you can two options, Roe, for Gustav-Rolf showdown -

(a) a fistfight (my personal choice)
(b) a battle of words about luna's character

the (b) part is lame, i kno : so my advice is to go for the (a) one. And thank you so much for the simmering romance! I was nearly squeaking when Luna's arn brushed Rolf's!

You said your graduation is on the 20th, right? That's FOURTEEN years to go...

Author's Response: Hello dear!

A fist fight you say? hmmm, Luna wouldn't like that and would most probably lose her interest in Rolf as soon as he started acting like a baboon:)) but I would like it:)) Luna is a bit different from us, the mortals:D

Indeed, the romance... I love it!

Yes, *gloomy eyes* graduation is in fact in the 15th so that's really close!

Thank you so much for the review and for being such a great friend!


 Report Review

Review #9, by queen_luna 

2nd June 2008:
Hello, I'm here to review again :) Sorry it took so long.

I really liked the Rolf/Gustav rivalry. Haha, poor Gustav! Rolf is used to getting what he wants, I can see. And Luna's just dreamily in the middle of it all.

I was disappointed but only because I wanted to see more Luna/Rolf action after their romantic night with the unicorns! Anyway, well written as usual. You know, you have a really unique style of writing. I've never come across a story with so many Luna-like musings and descriptions :)

Good job and keep writing!

~queen_luna

Author's Response: Hello!

Oh, don't worry about taking long... you didn't in fact, if I remember well:P Anyway, it doesn't really matter. I love your reviews!

Yes, Rolf is quite used to getting whatever he wants and he feels like Luna's his and Gustav shouldn't be even in the picture!

Well, the reason why I didn't have an interaction between Luna and Rolf is because I'm reserving the next chapter only to them... so you'll get your wish:)

Thank you so much for this review! I'm so happy that you like it even after seven chapters:D

Hugs,

Roe


 Report Review

Review #10, by crazy4fred2 

1st June 2008:
Aw. I thought there was going to be a fist fight XD

Oh well.

Wonderful job, per usual. I find Rolf, more and more intruiging after each chapter.

I can't wait for the next chapter 10/10

Author's Response: Hello!

Well, I initially wanted them to get into such a fight but then it struck them that Rolf wouldn't go that far because Luna would completely hate such behaviour. So I went for something much subtle yet as effective:)

I'm so glad you like Rolf more and more:D

Thank you for the review, you're far too kind as per usual:D


 Report Review

Review #11, by PixiePower 

1st June 2008:
Dear Roe,

Greetings from a person knee deep in homework who really shouldn't be on the internet, but is anyway.

Let me start by saying that this chapter was one of your best yet. I loved the Gustav/Rolf interaction here, and I also liked the bit of background info of their rivalry. It was really well done how you showed the other side to Rolf, the mean (ish!) side and the side that Luna didn't like.

And by the way, iris leaves? Absolutely ingenious.

I also like the transition between Rolf and Luna's points of view, I know from experience that it's not easy writing from multiple points of view, but you do it so well. Put it this way, the original story I'm writing at the moment is from four different POV's and it's killing me.

I like how in your story, it's not all action all of the time, there's a great deal of insight into the characters' thought processes, and that's really well done.

And my last review was short, at least by my standards. I'm still hanging out for the kiss, it will be spectacular if your past writing is anything to go by.

Oh, and I forgot this on my last review but congratulations on becoming a Trusted Author. Well done!

-Pixie

Author's Response: Thank you Pixie! You're a love as always:D

I'm so glad that you thought that this chapter was my best so far because *blushes* I've had some, how do I say this? Some self esteem problems lately and I was constantlt thinking that people hated it:) silly me!

Anyway, sorry I'm taking you away from your homework:) that's not my intention but I'm still happy that you've taken some minutes to write this absolutely lovely review(which by my standards is anything but short).

Yes, the iris leaves... I looked for quite some time on the net for plants that were harmful enough but not as in killing or hurting him really bad. The Iris was the best one:D I'm not sure if it's native to Scotland... but, a minor slip is allowed I suppose?

I'm so happy that you like this story so much and I can assure that the transition between POV's is really giving me a headache at times. The kiss, oh I'm pretty sure you'll like it...and it's very very soon.

Thank you so much for congratulating me Pixie, it's lovely of you!

hugs,

Roe


 Report Review

Review #12, by ButterflyRogue 

31st May 2008:
Hmmm, for some reason, my review was not displayed entirely... Here's the second part:

--- And the little backstory about Rolf's and Gustav's rivalry going back from their childhood is a very nice touch! It will sure make things around Luna interesting... ;)
The tea thing was mean... :D
I enjoyed the twist in this chapter --- starting out all gentle and romantic and the turning point in Rolf's jealousy. Also, the detail with the earring is so sweet... Rolf sure has something Slytherin-ish in him, but that little gesture shows his more tender side. Very nice.

Once again, excellent work! I'm looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Not sure why it didn't appear either... but anyway, I really felt like there was a need to point why Rolf and Gustav don't get along and what is it with this rivalry of theirs. I'm happy that you liked it.

Yes, it was mean of Rolf but it wasn't that intentional... well he meant it of course, but he didn't see it as something that big. It was just an indigestion in his mind, enough as to ensure that he won't be getting in the way anymore, at least for a while.

There's a Slytherin in there for sure. In fact, in the next chapter Luna will acknowledge this fact as well. I always thought that my Rolf would have been in Slytherin if he had ever been sent to Hogwarts. That's exactly what I wanted the readers to see that Rolf is a man of contrasts: he can be really sweet, romantic and gentle but also terribly fierce and not as much mean, but certainly passionate about defending his goals and Luna has transformed into a goal for him indeed.:D

Thank you so much for this sweet review. I loved it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ButterflyRogue 

31st May 2008:
Another great chapter, but I never really expected anything less from you, anyway... ;) I very much enjoyed both Rolf and Luna's thoughts about the preceding night --- I really like how you dedicate equal amount of time to both of them, not only Luna.

"She was the unknown quantity that threatened to blot out the entire mathematical equation in which his life had transformed." --- Oh, boy, the poor man is completley and desperately in love... There's no help for him now... Wonderfully said, though! I love the words you use!! Your vocabulary in general is amazing!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much!

I'm glad I've managed to live up to expectations so far. Indeed, I'm looking for some balance in what concerns Luna and Rolf. They are both the main characters of this story and I want them both to get equal space in the chapters.

Oh yes he's completely smitten with her but he fails to see that for now. He just thinks of himself as pleasantly infatuated and nothing more, nothing less. Thank you so much for the vocabulary bit:D I'm always excited to see people praising that aspect because I'm not a native speaker and sometimes I fail to express in English what I really want. But most of my thoughts are there and in the exact form that I wanted them to be expressed.


 Report Review

Review #14, by evie_doherty - not logged in 

31st May 2008:
i know i already reviewed, but i just read your response and had to re-review.. .

i know luna must choose and looks are not everything, but... if it was me. *blushes* i would want them both. on a roster basis. *sighs, sighs again.* and yes, the poor man is in pain, and the least i can do is to help him. these english men are so beautiful, i just cant control myslef around them.. expect a pm very soon darling. XXX

Author's Response: Oh thank you again darling... yes, I'd get them both and engage them in some sort of rotation programme. You know one week with James and the next one with Ioan. Life would be good:) English men*sighs* Oh I hope I can get my hands on one of those when I move to London... gosh the impatience is killing me!

Anyway thanks again and I'm looking forward to your PM:D


 Report Review

Review #15, by bring_back_sirius 

30th May 2008:
this was awesome!!! i do enjoy a good love triangle.
but what does luna think of gustav, is he just a friend or does she maybe like him a little as well? she seems to be very smitten with rolf. its so sad how she interpreted his quietness as disinterest. i hope they get to talk soon and straighten things out. your last line, "Little did she know, that from that moment on, nothing related to Rolf would come easily…", worries me alot though. some new plot twist i to be expected, i guess?
does gustav like luna? or does he just want her coz rolf wants her? men. *shakes head*
sorry about the short review. ive seen the thesis you got from hp_aficionado for your last chapter, im afraid i wont be able to top that :(

Author's Response: hello!

Thank you so much! I was getting a bit worried about this chapter, thinking that people were going to hate because... well, it was too good to be true to get so much appreciation. But I see that indeed I was exaggerating:)))

Luna is caught between two men, but her heart has made the choice, her mind hasn't because Rolf, well he's sweet and caring like he had been that night with the unicorns but he can also be confusing as a person, i.e. him ignoring her all day. So she's caught between making a choice with her heart or her mind, which is really problematic for Luna because she's never been faced with this possibility.

And that last sentence does have its meaning which I'm not going to reveal just now. You'll see in time. It was a sign:D

Gustav likes Luna, but not quite as Rolf does... of course, he's a smart guy and he noticed that Rolf likes her as well so he's counting on every opportunity to tell something like "I'm here too" to Rolf. So it's a bit of manly pride as well in there. I know... men!

Oh don't feel like you should top any review. I love every single word of every review I've got so far and you don't have to write this very long review to tell me that you like it. For me just taking the time to write two lines makes me happy. No, don't feel sad about that. I love your reviews in fact! They're really great and they are not short!

Thank you a million!!! You're a wonderful person!


 Report Review

Review #16, by evie_doherty 

30th May 2008:
OH MY GOD! IOAN GRUFFUD! *melts into chair*. how could you make her choose! HOW?! he is so damn handsome it hurts. and both of them, on a chapter image, together. that should be illegal, either illegal or made a law that every chapter image has to contain james and ioan. together. smouldering. *loves those smouldering angry glances that both of them are giving the camera*

1. if you read my review of last chapter first, you'll see that i was talking about all your lovely eccentric word choices and i smiled to myself aat some of the things you said this chapter too, they were so wonderful! contumelious, cogitation, 'fluttering scarf estranging from her' that last one was great. i could never have written something as wild as this...

2. some of your similes/metaphors were particularly good this chapter, like this one made me laugh at first, and then struck me by its cleverness; She was the unknown quantity that threatened to blot out the entire mathematical equation in which his life had transformed.

3. Rolf is so mean! but i love it, really i do. james was so cute when he's angry on the chapter image, and angry rolf is cute too. i cant believe he would do that to poor gustav, i know he doesn't sound like the worlds greatest guy, but putting iris leaves in his tea *spares a thought for ioan curled up in tent in pain, thinks perhaps i could go and help him get better*

4. yes this was a quick update, so quick that i didn't even know six had been posted and by the time i got around to reviewing it, this chapter had been updated. im not complaining, im just worried im going to get so far behind one day that you'll have posted 5 chapters or summat and i'll have to just read them all... though, if your chapter images continue to be this enticing, that might not be such a bad thing hehheee.

5. in conclusion, loved this chapter, loved the 'showdown' between rolf and gustav, and hopefully gustav gets his own back so rolf can have a taste of his own medicine.

evie .X


ps. how are you for free time? feel like making me some drool-worhty images,???

Author's Response: Yes, Ioan Gruffud:) Well, she does make a choice and easily so to speak because Luna is not the type to look much in appearance - as we are:)) - so she's more interested in mysteries and riddles to uncover. She finds so much more than just that in Rolf... Gustav is more easily revealed as a person and she'll come to this conclusion soon enough:D And the smouldering glances is exactly how I imagined them to look at each other during the showdown:D

Thank you so mcuh for all the praise, really I find myself at a lack of words to explain just how happy you make feel by writing this review.

Well, yes, Rolf is a bit mean but he doesn't really realises that. He's some sort of a blend between outright evilness and cute innocence. He's just a kid and you'll see later on just how childish he is sometimes... in a cute way of course.

If you want you can Gustav with me, though:D He will need your attention in the tent... because he's in pain...*sighs* What are we going to do about those English men that just keep getting better and better?

As I said in my previous response, I've only updated that fast to celebrate my becoming a trusted author but now I'll slow down a bit and wait for my wonderful beta to finish correcting the 8th chapter. Thank you so much for the praise on my graphics, you're always such a sweet person.

In conclusion, you're a wonderful person!:)) and yes I feel like making some images:D drop me an owl on TDA mentioning a bit about what you'd like and I'll get down on my laptop to do them.

loveXXXX



 Report Review

Review #17, by shadowycorner 

30th May 2008:
They are extremely proud creature, --> i think an s is missing here. :) And after this, your work was once again flawless. I adore your rich vocabulary. I admit to double-clicking some words and finding out the meaning, writing them down. ^_^

I loved the other half of this chapter. Rolf's jealousy and the way he dealt with it was hilarious and in the character you created for him earlier. Tricky little Slytherinish boy! The insight into his thoughts of Gustav was great. I also enjoyed the talk about the creatures. Is that about the Augurey really canon or did you make it up? It was a nice addition. And Wrackspurts made an appearance. They're my second favorite Lunaish creature after Nargles.

Note: I adore the little detail with the earring Rolf carries around with him. Somehow that's really, really tender and lovely.

Hee, and we had a foreboding at the end of the chapter. At the beginning when we had another long view of Rolf's thoughts, didn't some of his observations and feelings repeat? I think I've read about the way he feels about Luna numerous times in different forms.

Roe was it? Wonderful nickname. And yes, you can call me Liz. *shakes hand enthusiastically* Also, Ioan Gruffold as Gustav? Are you kidding me? Speaking of jealousy, i'm jealous of Luna, being in the midst of these beautiful men, lol.

Another great chapter. I can't wait for the moment Luna breaks out. Oh and something I didn't mention in my last review of the previous chapter...I was really glad Luna and Rolf didn't kiss in the forest. It would just ruin the entire magic of the moment, this way it was much more poignant and lovely.

xoxo Liz

Author's Response: Thank you Liz for the wonderful review... I was getting a bit tense in here because I only had one review and I was getting kinda depressed because I thought people hated it... but now I feel so much better!

Onto the review now... it was so long and detailed and sweet. And I love you!:))) yes, he does have a Slytherin in him, in fact in my opinion if he had been in Hogwarts he would have made either a fine Ravenclaw or a fine Slytherin. Luna herself acknowledges that at some point... The Augurey is in fact canon, it appears in Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them which JK wrote under the penname, Newt Scamander. So yes, it's canon. As you'll notice later on there are only a couple of situation in which I stray from canon and it usually relates to the characters(such as Ginny and Harry getting married). Oh, the Wrackspurts, we'll be hearing about those quite a lot over the story...

Yes, it's Roe. Slightly borrowed from evie_doherty(thanks for the inspiration dear!) although in my family they sometimes call me that too.

Indeed, Ian Gruffud makes a good Gustav in my opinion, doesn't he? She has a difficult choice, indeed, but I'm still sticking to Rolf in the form of James McAvoy*sighs*

Thank you so mcuh for appreciating this chapter and overall my work and I can't wait for the next chapter to be posted because it's really... exciting!

Thank you a million times!

Roe


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jacqueline Noir 

30th May 2008:
"In her habitual ignorance regarding the obvious."-Now, this sentence describes all we need to know about Luna. How come you guess her so well?
Great chapter, again, sweetie and, Thanks God, you updated fast!
Gustav/Rolf interaction... You know, I see them as two cousins, who lived in different countries, only saw each other with the occasion of holidays, and now have to bare each other presence... I really liked the interaction between then and I keep falling for Rolf's character. I understand his hesitance, his lack of knowledge in what to say to Luna, or how to act towards her. He is just as dreamily as she is, just that in another strange way.:)
And, of course, his ego is more obvious than Gustav's ballet shoes, but I do know that in his heart, there's a whole big place just for Luna.
And I can't wait for that kiss and for Luna's reaction...
Oh, jealousy and what it does to us...

PS: Sorry about the shortness of this review, but I'm in a dreamy state after reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you dear!

Yes, Luna strikes me as that type of person that see what is usually concealed for others but lacks to see the obvious. If that is a good thing or a bad thing, only time can tell:D

Well, Gustav and Rolf aren't related but they should have been more or less friends. They aren't, though...*sniggers* why is that? Well, they have always been and will always be in some sort of a competition to prove who's wrong, who's right, who can and who can't... and so on.

I'm so glad that Rolf is winning hearts around the site, because he sure did win my heart quite a while ago. And you certainly nailed him when it comes to hesitance and his lack of knowledge regarding how to approach Luna.

Yes, he does have an exggerated pride but he's not ill-intended like Draco is for example. He was really pampered as a child and behaves exactly the way in which he has been brought up:)

Oh, the kiss is coming... soon, very very soon!

LoveXXXX

Roe(as you might have noticed I go by this name nowadays)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review