Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by knicoles 

27th July 2013:
"When they invented the phrase 'fall in love' they chose the words well. I'm falling alright...and I know I'm going to splatter all over the place when I inevitably hit the ground. There's romance for you !"
Amen, Sister! And what lovely imagery, too ;D.

I do so love how well Tonks and Kerri interact even when annoyed with each other. You're written them so well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Orabella 

23rd November 2008:
""My father has this expression.I think it's a Muggle expression. Something about a silk purse and a sow's ear." said Tonks, lips twitching"
. i dont get it haha. yay remus and tonks are going to the ball. i had forgotten that tonks was the reason that they went together. her and her big mouth haha. i now like basil a lot too. streak and basil are my favorite of the werewolves.

Author's Response: The saying is that "You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear."

Applied to Kerri here Tonks is saying that you can't turn a tomboy into a girly girl.


 Report Review

Review #3, by morgana67 

1st June 2008:
Oh, things are progressing a little bit more once again. I'm dying to see what dress Kerri choses in the end. It think Tonks probably realises that her and Remus have feelings for each other, hence she is playing match-maker.

It's getting very exciting. Ah, Snape is his usual miserable self. Now, you do make a reference to him always knowing what to tell the Dark Lord, is he talking about the past because I thought he's not spying any more since Voldy is supposed to be dead.

I take you have put Tonks in Gryffindor on purpose since your story is slightly AU?

Very nice chapter and a bit of a cliffhanger.

Author's Response: Actually, Tonks is clueless at the moment. She just thinks it's the perfect solution to the problem.

Snape is referring to the past but also probably thinking about what will happen if Quirrel succeeds with what he's doing. Of course the irony is that Voldemort is listening in on all his contact with Quirrel, which will certainly involve some very fast talking some day.

I put Tonks in Gryffindor because she seemed like the Gryffindor type to me. Only after I began the story did someone point out that that was incorrect. But was that actually stated in the books or did it come from Rowling in one of her interviews? I'm notorious for ignoring the interviews and only counting what is actually said in the books as fact.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Shellee 

30th May 2008:
See, I knew Snapey was being the big protective brother. A bit late to be inquiering about it, though. Ehehe, at least he's trying now, better late than never, I guess. Sorry to say, yeah, nothing has happened yet. SOMETHING SHOULD! -coughs- Yeah. I don't like Valentines that much either, but that's probably because I'm single. Then again, I don't expect much different on that day, I just want cuddles all the time! I vaguely remember that Valentine isn't all about love and it has a colourful history but I can't exactly remember what it was again. He's got a good point though, about not pretending, though he does come over as an emo hormonal teenager, ehehe. Poor thing is so displeased with his life, he could do something about it! Ah, yes, the Quidditch match, Snape to the rescue! Him and his evil mind with wanting to catch evil people. Hagrid is such a cutey. I love mice too, only tame ones though. I had two of them, they were such adorable pets and their squeaks are so sweet!
Ah, good that Remus joined them for dinner and good that Tonks talked about the ball. See, I knew he would ask her. He's such a gentleman, they'll have fun. I like how she's not wanting to outdo Remus or anything. It's so nice and such, I love it.

Author's Response: I think Snape's biggest problem is that he has chronic depression. It came up today in the thread dedicated to him over at elderlies. He's very bright and he could make something of himself if he wanted to, but he's lost all hope. It's like he carries a dementor along with him everywhere he goes.

Those are totally my views on Valentine's Day. Kerri and Snape both have a lot of me in them. Kerri is the part of me that remains hopeful, Snape is the pessimistic part that doesn't. I love writing letters between the two of them. I'm learning a lot about myself through the process.

I've never had mice, but I did have a guinea pig....but now I'm getting totally off topic here.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #5, by ButterflyRogue 

30th May 2008:
Hello! Firstly, I'd like to apologize for not reviewing the last chapter. I did read and had every intention to comment, even wrote down a couple of things I wanted to mention (of course, at the moment I can't find the paper I wrote on in the nuclear bomb landing that is my desk *frustrated sigh*), but things have been a bit hectic lately. Final exams in college are starting in a week and a half and, yeah... I kind of forgot... :(
Anyway (you can tell I like to digress, can't you? ;p), back to the point...

I very much enjoyed Kerri's thoughts in this chapter. Also, I need to mention this as well, the progress of her emotions towards Remus was very evident in the last one and I love it how you already have her knowing she's in love with Remus, but making her realize it all over again in each chapter --- each time on a different level. Wonderfully done!
I am looking forward so much to the ball!! Such slow progressing of relationships are my favorite kind since I enjoy reading about the development of feelings and I find the dynamics prior to a relationship much more interesting than the one during the actual relationship. I am also aware it is not a very easy thing to write (since I bet you're eager to put Remus and Kerri together as soon as possible as much as us readers are eager to finally see it happening --- I know you've already written that part and I seriously can't wait until you get to it), but you really do it very good.
Also, I am absolutely impressed with your dialogs!! The three-way interaction between Kerri, Remus and Tonks was absolutely outstanding!

Once again, great job! :D

Author's Response: Well, I have been very patient about pacing myself with this story. I know there won't be an actual wedding until between the 1995-1996 school years so I have plenty of time to develop things. On the other hand, I cheated a bit today. I was telling Morgana that I'm a little nervous about the love scene being posted soon ( just a small one) and she offered to look at it. Consequently I sent her the entire chapter containing the ball. So I guess I haven't been quite as patient as people think.

Bella Portia complimented me on my dialouge for this chapter too. Teachers have told me that I write good dialouge. Maybe it's because I do a lot of story planning in my head, imagining out conversations and things as I go through my day. I did that for years with this story before I actually started writing it. Some of the dialogue has just been written in my mind, waiting to be put on paper. I'm glad people seem to be enjoying it so much.

Good luck with all your exams.


 Report Review

Review #6, by FullMoon 

29th May 2008:
AH! *Screams and runs into wall and dies* KERRI IS GOING TO THE BALL WITH REMUS! I ALMOST PEED MY PANTS READING THIS!
Just kidding, but it WAS amazing...
What was that saying Tonks was talking about? I don't think I've heard it before...
HOORAY FOR KERRI!

Author's Response: The expression was "You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear." It means that you can't make something nice out of something that isn't. She was being sarcastic. Kerri is a tomboy so Tonks thinks it's going to be difficult to get her all prettied up for the ball.

And thank you.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Bella_Portia 

29th May 2008:
Ah-ha. So, Severus was being the overprotective brother. An asshole, absolutely; but with mitigation. You have convinced me that back in his schoolboy days, Snape must have been Slytherin's go-to guy for the absolute best/awfulest Mudblood jokes that none of his fellow Slytherins would dare let faculty, or even their head of house (after all, it was Slughorn back in the day) know about. Maybe he was in love with Lily, but if anyone could compartmentalize, he surely could.

The letter from Hagrid was hilarious and so perfect. A king cobra in a bad mood would be an interesting creature, perfectly appropriate for a petting zoo as long as the children were respectful.

As for your heroine and Lupin: well, finally. An evening of torture or delight: which will it be?

On that scene with Tonks: I so admire your dialogue.

Looking forward to those Dementors getting mooned. (As in Kiss my ass -- does it have particular meaning to a Dementor?)

Most enjoyable; most appreciated.

Author's Response: You know I wonder...how popular was Snape with the other Slytherins? I doubt he was anything like little Prince Draco strutting around Hogwarts like he owned the place, but he probably did have his merits. I'll have to think about that.

Kerri and Remus are setting themselves up for a bit of both really. It's too early yet for a happy ending....it's going to run about fifty chapters so they still have some ups and downs to go through yet.

I've had teachers compliment my dialouge and it's always nice to hear. I practically write stories in my head via dialouge before they're ever actually written down so maybe that''s why. It's true of this one especially.

Poor dementors...probably they've never been treated in such a humilating fashion before. Leave it to these guys....

Thanks for the review !


 Report Review

Review #8, by crazybibliophile 

29th May 2008:
Yay!! She's going with Remus to the ball! That's so incredibly sweet... thank you SO MUCH for updating so quickly. This is one of my favourite stories of all time, and I love how the chapters come so fast...no pressure or anything, it's fine if you take ages to update, but I just adore this fic. =D

Author's Response: I could post one chapter a day if I really put my energy into it. The story has been completely written, but the majority of the chapters require cleaning up. Still, I don't want to rush and have them all posted and then have a gap between this story and the sequel. (Three chapters of which are complete).

And thank you very much. It took months before I got even one review on this story. I was starting to think it was so horrible that no one could think of anything nice to say about it. Then all of a sudden, out of the blue, I gained some loyal followers and the reviews just took off. I really appreciate you guys.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review