Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomnickname 

27th September 2015:
Mah. It DOES come out of the blue a little, her love for Remus. She doesn't name him once in the chapter before! I think you could have hidden more hints here and there. E. g. Quirrell flashback: the warm feeling she got from him then => quite like Remus actually, although she doesn't have a crush on Remus does she? something like that.
So it's not that convincing, even if I like this idea of the unidentified "something" missing

elsewise as pleasant read as ever

 Report Review

Review #2, by knicoles 

27th July 2013:
This was a lovely chapter. No action really, but I liked being able to delve into her mind, and of course this is where she admits she likes Remus finally.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dreaming of Remus 

7th July 2010:
I LOVE it! I'm glad she figured out that she likes him. I'm excited for the next chappie!

Author's Response: Yes, eventually she had to figure it out.

 Report Review

Review #4, by funkynat 

28th November 2009:
absolute truth what you said about percussions and sensuality.. Its supernatural

Author's Response: Who knew that responses have to have a minimum of ten characters? I just found out because my response was going to be, one word, "yep." Well, you learn something new every day. And now I've used up ten characters.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hunky Dory 

3rd June 2008:
I absolutely love this story. I like it so much better without the letters!

Author's Response: Really? Out of curiosity, why do you prefer the chapters without letters? I have one reviewer who loves them.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Shellee 

23rd May 2008:
I think it would be very weird to have a warm Christmas. I've always had a cold one and I doubt that's ever going to change. I think I'd miss it too much, certainly cause I hope to have a white Christmas one day.
It seems that even though they love eachother, Kerri's mother isn't all that nice. I mean, it kind of seems that she blames her daughter to be reminded of Voldemort so much. If she can't even accept that Kerri's a witch and making the most out of it, it's weird and I really don't like it. In a way it seems that her mother is being like Voldemort is, in the whole denying thing and probably not wanting to know her, then again, I doubt he even knows he has a daughter, hm.
Aw, I love it how she already feels a part of her is missing and that it's Remus. Then how she finds out about it, so subtle. Romantic too. I wish she didn't think of it as having to forget it all. That furking Chihuahua is amazing! Hahah.

Author's Response: I live in Florida and I'm used to warm Christmases. The setting in this chapter is what I know in my actual life, although I've never actually said that Kerri's mother lives in Florida. It could be Louisiana or Mississipi too.

Kerri's mother is very weak in some ways. I'm going to have to get her to toughen up because I have an important job for her in one of the sequels. She and Kerri squabble like any mother and daughter but there's that added bit of tension too. The really do care about each other though.

(That Chilhuahua lives next door to me too).


 Report Review

Review #7, by ButterflyRogue 

1st May 2008:
Ah, finally here... :)

I liked the interaction between Kerri and her mother and the doubts she has about Kerri becoming like her father. It is a very real fear that sometimes can't be helped but makes a person feel horrible.
"I love my mother very much but we don’t agree on many things. We live in two totally different worlds and neither of us really understands the other."---> very true

The nature descriptions are marvelous, I just have to say this again... It made me want to lose myself in a place like that one you described.
And Kerri finally admitted to herself that she indeed likes Remus. :D I like the way you slowly developed that realization --- from the feeling there was something missing to the associations that led to her "discovery" and the full acknowledgment that followed. I can't wait to see how their next meeting goes by... ;)

Now I can finally say I can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: The descriptive portions of this chapter are taken right out of experience. It's a local trail near a scenic area that locals call "The Loop", which is an undeveloped forest area. I love it there.

I think all my life I've been pursuing the descriptive style of L.M. Montgomery who wrote the "Anne of Green Gables" series. I model them after hers but they don't even come close.

And now that you mention updating....that's what I logged on to do.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Bella_Portia 

30th April 2008:
I loved the mother-daughter interaction. It had a very familiar ring, as I expect it will to many readers. Your treatment of Slytherin was really thoughtful and interesting; it seemed you had a clear picture of the person who wrote the book that Kerri was now reading.

Also, the way she came slowly and intuitively into full knowledge of the thing that was depriving her of sleep, her suppressed feelings about Remus -- that was very well done.

It sounds like Sweetie may have a much happier life as a chihuahua.

Author's Response: As far as the thing with Slytherin goes, I'm always interested in the motivations of some of the darker characters. Slytherin himself is minor in the series and yet he's there throughout every single book. Many times villanous characters became that way out of some sort of conviction that became twisted somehow. I think that over the years, as things start to get ugly with Voldemort, that that's what Kerri needs to be careful of the most. She does have those tendencies in her genes, but she has the choice to become a hero or a villian.

I think Sweetie is better off now too, and so is the rest of the neighborhood. We have a dog like that next door which is where the inspiration came from.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Bella 15 

29th April 2008:
hahaha! she realized at last! i have been waiting for this moment forever. : ) lol i like the excerpt from the next chapter. so another parseltongue. she already knows that she got it from her father though right?

Author's Response: Yes, she knows that she got most of her unique talents from her father. Everyone who reviews keeps looking forward to the part from the excerpt. I only added it on as a last minute way to lengthen the chapter.....you just never know which scenes are really going to appeal to people. I like that part myself, though....I just gave it it's final proof-read and tomorrow I plan to do the corrections. Should be up some time Thursday.

(And if you were excited to see Kerri realize that her feelings for Remus were not strictly platonic, just wait until the Valentine's Day scene. That's when things get really fun).


 Report Review

Review #10, by morgana67 

29th April 2008:
This chapter is really deep actually. Your descriptions are getting really, really good (not that they weren't before) but there is a lot of detail and I can picture where Kerri's mother lives. If anything you may have overdone the things that are wrong with the house a bit but I live in an old house myself and everytime I try to do decorate or do things like polish the original floor boards (and remove the old carpet) I find woodwarm or something, so yes, problems like that do happen.

I feel very sorry for Kerri because her mother (understandibly) is so frightened of magic. Yes, obviously she just expects her to get a well paid Muggle job (or three badly paid ones, as you said). It worries me that she might have been right and that she may have reservations about her own daughter. I'm glad they had a nice Christmas after all.

So, she is now admitting her feelings but believes that she will be able to supress them. That's going to be interesting.

Now, the beginning of the next chapter is great. The conversation with the rattle snakes is pure genius! The male and the female bickering about females liking to talk and males to sleep! That got me in stitches.

I look forward to some more!

Author's Response: This is one of those chapters that stongly includes things from my own life. You write what you know, I guess, and I used settings that I'm familliar with. And actually, your comment about overdoing it with the house made me laugh, because that's what my house is like -- I didn't make any of it up !

This is one of my favorite chapters because it lets you see Kerri's home life and brings her mother directly into the story. Her mother may seem weak in some ways but I do have a big job for her to do a few years down the line.

No, supressing feelings for Remus will not work....does that ever work? She's inexperienced enough with romance that she really thinks it will. The next stepping stone in the romance part of the plot takes place on Valentine's Day (of course) and is another of my favorite chapters.

The snake part in the next chapter is yet another part that I really love and had fun with. (The chapters from the time Kerri goes to Hogwarts during her Christmas holiday to the time she returns home after, include many parts that I love and am especially proud of. To be honest, the snake part wasn't planned. As I remember, I was looking for something to fill out the chapter to balance the narration with the letters. It was a total last minute thing but is still one of those parts that I take a lot of pride in. I hope you guys all like it as much as I do.


 Report Review

Review #11, by crazybibliophile 

29th April 2008:
Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!! Update soon please, I love this story so much!! Seriously, it's SO good... looking forward to her meeting up with Remus again too. =D

Author's Response: Thank you very much !

 Report Review

Review #12, by thedarkpoet 

28th April 2008:
another good chapter. love it! like the excerpt especially.

-nat

Author's Response: The first review for this chapter! Thank you so much.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review