Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by A Pleased Reviewer (and new fan). 

9th August 2017:
Perhaps I am a little late in reviewing this lovely work of yours, but hopefully not the last to do so. With the recent release of Fantastic Beasts, I find it entertaining to compare the characters from your story and the movie, often finding amusing similarities. Luna has always been a favorite character of mine because of her unique personality and thought process, and I feel you've really captured this well, something I wasn't able to do back when I still wrote fanfiction. The persona of Newt's grandson is intriguing, seeing as how most of the Scamander family has a great love for magical creatures, and perhaps a little cliche, but not overdone to the point where I can't stand him. As the story grows on, I expect he will develop further along with Luna's assistance, although I feel they clash so much that only a curt greeting seems appropriate at this point. You've really outdone yourself, and certainly more good things will come from you. Bravo!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Patience 

3rd December 2010:
Brilliant chapter.I love the omniscient third person you used

 Report Review

Review #3, by Abhorsen 

21st November 2010:
It seemed so in character for Luna to remark to herself about him not even saying goodnight when he left. I also liked that she got to make her room her own. I wonder how many apprentices Newt Scamander has had in the past, if he has a set thing he does for them.

I liked his grandson's change of opinion about his famous family. It rang so true. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #4, by gremlin 

11th September 2010:
I really liked this chapter too, rolf and luna were starting to watch each other and start to want to know each other. I'm interested to see where you go with them really interacting together.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Liz 

15th August 2009:
i just wanted you to know that the plural od hippocampus is hippocampii. and i am enjoying the story so far. thanks for mentioning Arnold. i don't know why he cracks me up. good luck to you

 Report Review

Review #6, by dollface 

22nd June 2009:
loving the story so far, the only thing is i think you mean "determination" not "determinacy"

 Report Review

Review #7, by sam 

10th June 2009:
ur writing is good but it carries on too much. about the war and how she/everyone feels. Again great writing but i found myself skimming lines and missing paragraphs because i could sense it was just more writing on the same thing
Keep up the awesoe writing though

 Report Review

Review #8, by fatmermaid 

5th May 2009:
This chapter is very interesting. The loss of so called "knowledge" of self and the musings of a new person in a new world of self.

 Report Review

Review #9, by whisky 

29th April 2009:
pretty name. i love ur story, and i know u know that, cuz i ALSO added u to my faves!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Twinsmom 

27th February 2009:
Loved Luna stupifying that niffler. Too funny!

So, Rolf is in actuality like a shadow of Harry; dark hair green eyes, famous for his family and doesn't want his fame thru them. But, as of now he's a bit spoiled. Kind of a bad boy with all those women and such. Well, they always say a reformed bad guy makes the best man. and nobody has the ability to affect a person than Luna!

 Report Review

Review #11, by uhhhh... guest? 

29th November 2008:
where did you find the niffler idea?
great story, by the by.
very odd...

Author's Response: The niffler is actually a magical animal featured in the handbook to magical creatures that Jk wrote in real life. So one might say that it exists within the parametres of the HP realm.:D Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by AndrinaBlack 

20th October 2008:
I really love this story so far! Stupid of me really to not come back to it earlier as it was quite long ago I read the first chapters. Your descriptions are really good and make an atmosphere in the story. I also really wanted to enter the Scamander house and grounds!

I liked it that we got to see what things Luna has that are important to her and at the same time what she thinks about her past and how she has changed and not changed.

It was also great to get a bit more of Rolf. You've described his problems already so well. He seems quite dashing though! :) Oh and I really loved the ending with the scarf drifting away. Made me too wonder why Luna let it go like that.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Padfoot36 

11th June 2008:
Hey it’s Padfoot36 from the forums and here is the review that you requested ages ago. I’m so sorry it took so long, and I can tell now you have even more chapters up. Anyways I will do this one chapter but I’d love to do more. All you have to do it stop by my review chain and I’ll do the next three chapters done. Just make sure I have a spot open first though. ;) Congratulations by the way on becoming a trusted author. Now on to the review:

Things I Liked: You just find the coolest and funniest quotes. Just had to point that out real quick. I love the idea of Luna having a trunk full of memories. There just simple items too, so it makes it more meaningful. I love that she writes diaries as well and you explained beautiful how the diaries continued so much. “to stand up and fight a deadlier enemy than Voldemort.” – I thought that was a beautiful way to put how everybody was after the war. I loved how you didn’t go overboard with Luna’s clothing description but gave enough so the readers could see it. I love how Luna sees pygmy puffs when she looks at the carpet. Only Luna =P I love when Rolf looks out at Luna, it was just so sweet.

Things I Would Change/Don't Get: This is a real quick note but in Luna’s diaries I would except to find doodles as well. It seems to me at least she would express herself perhaps with doodling upon her notebooks absent-mindedly. That’s just an idea though. When Luna is looking at the photograph of Ginny, Neville, Harry, ect. I was a little confused of when she actually picked up a photograph. Now I’ve noticed that when Luna speaks she sometimes doesn’t think of the same. Like with the nargles at dinner. If this makes any sense you never show her thinking about trying to find nargles or perhaps knowing that those things do exist even though nobody believe hers.

Character Analysis: I love the whole part about how she feared that the war would change her from who she was so when you saw how she matured but kept the Luna within her. I thought that was absolutely amazing and it makes sense for Luna to mature but still remain Luna. So I’m not sure why but every time Rolf comes on scene I just sigh in happiness. I’m not sure why, it’s just… I think it’s the way you wrote him. You can’t help but love him. I love when we found more about Rolf, it made him more then just a moody cute teenager.

Possible Clichés: None

Overall Rating: 9.5/10

There you go, hope it was worth the long wait. Again I’m sorry, with vacation and school ending I found no time to sit there and do long reviews.

Author's Response: Oh it was more than worth the wait, I didn't mind anyway:D

Thank you so much for congratulating me, it's perhaps the best thing that has ever happened to me since I started using this site. Now onto the review,

I find myself at a lack for words because your review really means so much to me. Thank you for your kind words and I'm really happy that I managed to mantain Luna in character, as well as making Rolf a lovable person even though he is somewhat a difficult person.

You know, your suggestion sounds like the type of thing that Luna would do...:) I'm really happy that you like this story and that you would like to read more, so when I find an open spot in your thread I'll sure add this story.

Thank you so much and don't worry about taking time, we all have lives of our own so I don't expect miracles. This review however, was very close to it:D


 Report Review

Review #14, by rozen_maiden (not logged in) 

18th May 2008:
Lucretia *sighs*
Well, I loved this chapter even more than the last. Where should I begin, though?!
I definitely adored the way you described Luna when she was reflecting on the "good times". It was just so ... Luna-ish! She's so in canon--I know I've told you that, but I am so, so amazed by it! I particularly liked how she kept her DA jeans. That was funny, but always slightly sad to read. It really expresses how alone she must of been feeling. You made me feel really sorry for her, which I haven't ever, I think.
I also like the whole "she's grown up but still Luna" attitude and stance you've put on her. If JKR wrote a book about the older Luna, I would picture her like this.
Oh no, I have to go. I would write so much more, but I'm sorry sweetheart. I'll review and reply to your owl asap. Until next time, so much love and kisses,
Lia .x.x

Author's Response: Oh thank you Lia, for reviewing yet again! Such an honour really for my fic to be seen(and especially by you) like something that JK would write. That's just... amazing! I mean, I've constantly looked for support regarding this fic but I never thought that people would ever see it as such a natural sequel of the books.

The canon Luna is a wonderful character and I've really tried my best to make her justice in this fic because I don't think she gets appreciated as much as she deserves. And yes, Luna always seemed to me like the type of person that grows fonder of these peculiar things like the jeans she wore in the first DA meeting or her diaries. I'm glad people find that appropriate.

Well, Luna just like Rolf and every teenager on his way to adulthood is afraid of changing so she will hung tightly to what characterizes her but somehow she will evolve as a person. But Luna will always be Luna, slightly more mature of course, but there will be things that will never change. Like her oddness that makes her so delightful:)

Thank you so much for the kind words, you really made my day:)

Love from me, sweetheart!


 Report Review

Review #15, by obviously394 

17th May 2008:
I meant to read this yesterday, but I keep getting interrupted-gr! Hopefully, I'll get to read the next chapter tonight.

Yet another wonderful chapter! I like how you had Luna keeping diaries, it seems like something she'd do. The one thing that I didn't like so much was the dialogue/narrative ratio. Lots of good character development, but I'd rather you show us, with dialogue and actions, who they are, than just tell us. But everything was very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

It's lovely to get such positive feedback and constructive criticism at the same time. I promise you that the next chapters will get to that dialogue-narration ratio:) particularly the sixth one, I guarantee you that.

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback!


 Report Review

Review #16, by evie_doherty 

14th May 2008:
um, so that bit about rolf staring out at luna when she was wandering on the edge of the cliff.. so totally SQUEE! it was lovely, really lovely! it made me fall in love with rolf/james again. and again. and a few more times. definitely my weakness, that he is just SO DAMN FINE. can he and luna get it on already??? hehehehe

this was a really good chapter, i enjoyed it, and youve posted another so im off to read it. i liked the bit about the niffler, i thought that was quite clever, and all this ring stuff.. well, where is that going to go, hmm?? all the way down the aisle perhaps?? ah we'll see.

keep up the good work! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi sweetheart!

Yes, Rolf staring at Luna was a bit romantic wasn't it it? Sometimes, when I think of James I think of Rolf and vice-versa, don't you think that McAvoy makes a perfect Rolf for our Luna? If Rolf would have ever featured in the movie, I would have voted everywhere to see James in it:D

I'm so glad you've enjoyed this chapter, as you know that you're one of my role-models around the site and I'm always keen on seeing your opinions. The niffler, well yes, it does a bring a trip but not towards the aisle...at least not now:D

Thanks and hugs from me!


 Report Review

Review #17, by ButterflyRogue 

13th May 2008:
Gustav is a bit of a show-off, isn't he? Another competitor for Luna's heart, maybe? ;)

A very nice insight in Rolf's thoughts and feelings following the little incident with the niffler. I liked that part very much.

Sorry this review isn't longer, but I'm really eager to read chapter four... ;)

Author's Response: Yes, Gustav is definitely a show-off and the reason why I created him was because I wanted him to be in contrast with Rolf. Luna sees them as these two different guys, one is adventure and thrill and the other one is a balance. So she doesn't really has a hard time deciding which one but for her is essential to see that there are differences and big ones for that matter.

I'm glad you liked the insight I offered into Rolf's mind and particularly after the niffler incident. He really is confused about Luna and her capacities in that field and feels like there are people who could do much more better than he would.

Don't worry about the length of this review, I'm so glad that you're actually reading and enjoying this story. In fact, your reviews are one of the most delightful I've got so far.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Meeeeera 

11th May 2008:
Hey!

It's Meera from the forums, here to review your story. Sorry it took so long, though :(

Firstly, wow. You've got a great story idea here, and I think you're going at a great rate. Luna is such an interesting character, and you've characterised her very well. As for the Scamanders, they seem just as I imagined them when I read your story summary. I think that it'll be great when Luna and Rolf get together, because they're such interesting characters :)

Now, onto grammar, as you asked. I didn't actually see very many mistakes in the three chapters you've written. There were just a few sentences that could have been reworded, just to make them a little less awkward, but apart from those, I really couldn't find anything drastic in terms of grammar.

On the whole, I really like your story, and I'd love it if you could post in the thread when the next chapter comes out. I'd love to read it!

- Meera :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for the review!

Don't worry about taking long, it's not a big deal...:) I'm glad you actually reviewed.

Thanks for the praise, Luna always seemed to me as this brilliant character and I really wanted to make a story about her that showed a pertinent side of her. I'm thrilled I managed that, more or less. And indeed, Rolf is quite the character as well so they'd make a good match don't you think?

I'm so relieved that there aren't any major mistakes in the third chapter, because I was really worried about that. I'm not a native speaker so it does happen to miss a letter or something of that type.

Thank you so much Meera for stopping by and leaving a review and rest assured that I'll return to your thread when chapter four is out, which should happen these days, I guess.

Hugs:X


 Report Review

Review #19, by dracoslover1 

10th May 2008:
I like how you have your description here in the story--it has us as the readers be in the story as well. I like how you develop Luna and Rolf's characters and make them believable. I like the story.

Author's Response: Thanks!

I feel like it's essential for the reader to be drawn into the story and feel like he's right there, next to the characters, living along with them. Descriptions always help with that...

I'm glad that you liked it so far:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by dianap00 

7th May 2008:
Wow. I enjoy this chapter immensely; I must say that you have a marvelous tendency to explain things, although I'd love to hear more of Luna's thoughts on critters.

Rolf is incredibly lovely. I can hardly believe how thoroughly convinced I am of his awesomeness. =).

Cheers.

Author's Response: Thank again!

Wow, I'm so glad you liked this chapter because as you might have noticed it marks the beginning of the real adventure between Luna and Rolf:)

I like Rolf as well, he's exactly the type of guy I'd date without any second thoughts. You'll see Luna's thoughts on him and well, mostly on anything in the chapters to come. I've struggled to show the feelings and the emotions of both so I can only hope that you'll keep on enjoying this story:D

Hugs:X


 Report Review

Review #21, by crazy4fred2 

7th May 2008:
Ok, I'm in LOVE with this story. Seriously. Here are my notes:

Once again your description is fantastic.

I love how you mention her past, which we all should hopefully know, at Hogwarts with Harry. It serves as a refresher of sorts.

Ha! I found her staring at a carpet detail that looks like Arnold hilarious.

Hmm... Rolf wanting to be a nobody is very interesting. But I can see him wanting nothing to do with his family.

Overall, you captire all of the characters beautifully, and Luna is undoubtedly in character. :)

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for dropping by to leave a review!

I'm glad you're in love with this story, because personally(not necessarily because I wrote it) but I'm quite taken in by their story as well. I mean, Luna is a delightful creature indeed and Rolf has its own charm that can't really be placed in a category. I always enjoyed contrasts in a relationship and I must say that Luna and Rolf are the embodiment of that... I wish they were real, because they'd be so cute to watch.

I think Luna is very fond of her past and thinks of it quite often, so i should believe that it's only appropriate to keep on bringing it into the story, at least every once in a while.

Yes, it was supposed to be hilarious. I always thought Luna stared at the most unusual things and that carpet detail sounds like one of those things to capture her eyes.

Well, Rolf is like every teenager/young adult is... He wants to be himself, but at the same time preserve a bit of his family traditions... he just doesn't know what to be, yet. Hopefully, one Miss Luna Lovegood should clear that out...:)

Thank you so much for the rating and for sticking with this story for the past three chapters. I hope the next one will bring the same excitement, because I must warn you... something major happens!


 Report Review

Review #22, by GryffindorGirl007 

5th May 2008:
I'm back :)

Sorry this is going to be short but I don't really have anything to say except for that this story keeps getting better and better. I have really enjoyed reading it so I hope that you'll let me know when you have another chapter up!

Excellent work :)
GryffindorGirl007

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back and for taking the time to leave a review. It doesn't matter how long it is, what is really important is that you like the chapters:D

And rest assured, I'll let you know when the next one is up.

Thanks and lots of love:X


 Report Review

Review #23, by xXLuna_LovegoodXx 

5th May 2008:
PS Thank you so so much for the mention!!! xD

Author's Response: No problem, dear! You've earned it! Hugs :XXX

 Report Review

Review #24, by PixiePower 

5th May 2008:
A lovely chapter. Whimsical on Rolf's part, I really enjoyed it. The writing was fluid and the sentences were strung together well. I really enjoy reading this story, it makes such a nice and refreshing change from all the other stories with lots of swearing and hard emotions. Put it this way, a lot of stories are harsh reds and blacks, but this is a palette of soft pastilles, and I really like that.

Keep up the excellent work, I'm really looking forward to reading the next chapter.
-Pixie

Author's Response: Hi!!!!

Oh, thank you... I swear, I just can't get enough of people telling me that they enjoy the story because I guess, that's the aim of it: for people to read and look forward to the next chapter.

I'm glad that I've managed to bring a breath of fresh air around here. I know that not many people really enjot stories that basically centered around romance, but I can only hope that people would look at it not just from that point of view, because in my eyes it's got many more layers than just the love one.

thanks pixie and lots of hugs from me:X


 Report Review

Review #25, by jkrowling_fan 

5th May 2008:
I was reading someone's - ahem - SOMEONE's review at the moment and - trust me - it doesn't really matter whether you call trousers pants or even knickers, for that matter.

BAD THINGS with the chapter

1. The flow of language - that good writing is strictly NOT allowed
2. Description of inner turmoil of Rolf - it made me identify his character perfectly - very bad, child ...
3. The ending was perfect ... *frown*

If you continue writing like this, I can tell that your secret societty - kids book may even become a bestseller - you won't want THAT , wouldja?

Anyway - great chapter as usual but please please please have a bit of Luna/Rolf crash in the next chapter - maybe in the corridor?

You write such good summaries - would you please write one for my story ?

p.s. How can they chase Crumpled Horned thingys if Rolfy is not into zoology much?

Author's Response: My darling:D

Oh I don't mind people pointing mistakes to me, I actually enjoy them because there's a positive thing to it. I grow as an author you see...

Thanks for the praise, as always you're extremely kind:) I'm glad you liked the ending, which actually is a beginning for their little romantic adventure:D

I sure hope my book will be succesful, although I'm planning on rewriting everything I've done so far and make it better. But the plot, you see, will be the same:D

I'll write a summary for you, of course I will, which story?

I can't really tell you that much about the whole Crumple-Horned Snoarkaks thing because it would spoil the plot. You'll find out in the last chapter what I meant:D

Thanks dear

hugsX


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>