Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by knicoles 

26th July 2013:
'I knew then what I was dealing with and my odds did not look good. Weasleys -- sugared up, hyperactive, out-for-the-holidays, red-haired, card carrying Weasleys. I think Id rather face Fenrir on a full moon night.'
Bahaha, yeah, probably me too.

'It was something Id never experienced at Hogwarts before, a primal, instinctive feeling of imminent danger.' Creepy. Very creepy. She heard her father whisper!

 Report Review

Review #2, by noname 

18th February 2011:
This is AMAZING. I could never write like this.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by funkynat 

28th November 2009:
ah, its really inserted in the cannon story now. Great art!

Author's Response: This section from here through Christmas was one of my favorite parts to write because things are starting to get interesting.

 Report Review

Review #4, by JLHufflepuff 

12th November 2008:
I really love the fact that Kerri gets to meet Harry and start judging his character based on her own observations rather than on the opinions of others in letters. It was a sweet little scene with Harry and Ron, and I think you characterized them both wonderfully.

The scene with Snape was perfect as far as him relaying all the important information to Kerri. I love the way you envision his apartment, and the touch of the students having their house color on their scroll for organization is a nice touch.

I'm interested to see what Kerri finds out. :)

Author's Response: Hi!

This is Harry's brief cameo. He shows up one other time, but that's it. Nothing personal against Harry but I had too many other things going on here to focus on him much. But as you say, at least she gets to decide about him herself now as opposed to just taking Snape at his word.

I had fun describing Snape's living quarters. I try to put a lot of character personality into the places where they live.

Thanks for reviewing.





 Report Review

Review #5, by Shellee 

23rd May 2008:
Ah, she's finally at Hogwarts! I'm sure she'll have fun, in a way. Great start already, teaching the twins a lesson, hehe. Such a ingenius plan! She's an awesome character, really. She can get along with about everyone.
Aw, Snapey all excited about seeing his sister. I do fear that talking about Quirrel at times will pretty much put an, uhm, something on the mood and pull it down. Though she'll figure things out now, she might understand things better. I love it. Oh my. Flying a broom in a skirt, that must bring forth some adventures! Hehe. I hope Snape doesn't get all, meanish, she was friends with Quirrel after all and such.

Author's Response: The next few chapters are some of my favorites. This is where Snape and Kerri start to really pull together and I get to do a lot of character development.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ButterflyRogue 

1st May 2008:
"Weasleys -- sugared up, hyperactive, out-for-the-holidays, red-haired, card carrying Weasleys. I think I’d rather face Fenrir on a full moon night." ---> haha, what a way to start a holiday... :D

Hmmm... I haven't read SS in ages, but I think (and please do correct me if I'm wrong) I have a vague memory of something being mentioned about Fluffy biting Snape? Was it the reason the Trio suspected him trying to steal the Sorcerer's stone? *can't remember*
Anyway, I'll once again mention how much I like your way of amending canon to fit your original plot. It gives a feeling of familiarity, of in a way knowing what is about to happen having read the books and all, but at the same time keeps me on my toes with not knowing what's Kerri's role in it going to be...

I also have to say, the description of a snow-covered Hogwarts grounds and the sunset above Hagrid's hut were marvelous... So detailed I almost got the urge to paint them...

I also liked the way you made Kerri sense somethings wrong with Quirrell. Are her instincts something that will be developed further on in this story? While her uneasiness in "The Lair" could have been overseen, I know now it can't be accidental... Can it have something to do with the fact that she's Voldemort's daughter so she can sense something as pure evil? Not to mention the fact that she was practically just a reach away from Voldemort himself (or at least what was left of him...). Does it make it relevant to the fact that it's mentioned several times she can read people well?? I know I'm asking many random questions, but I'm pretty much completely caught up in this story... ;)

Uuuuh, speaking of Hagrid and Voldemort and Quirrell and everything, I just remembered the unicorns you mentioned in the first few chapters... I never gave it much thought, but I just remembered now that Voldemort was drinking unicorn blood to survive during the first book (I told you I've read SS ages ago... :/) And now if only I could remember all those "tasks" the trio had to complete to actually get to the room where the stone was hidden... *makes a mental note to check that later*
One of the reasons why the first two books are my least favored ones is because I could never completely relate to the plot told entirely from (little) Harry's point of view (even though I was pretty much his age when I read it for the first -and only-time). Basically, the first HP book I really enjoyed was PoA because the plot was just so much deeper, more complex, darker, almost a step towards something for "grown-ups". You gave more depth to the events of the first book (as I'm sure you will do for the second) and you have awakened new interest for them in me. Thank you for that... :)

Author's Response: Fluffy had bit Snape on Halloween when he tried to head off Quirrel when he knew he was going to get a look at the security measures. I think the main reason they thought Snape was the one after the stone is that they didn't like him. There were other "clues" along the way though, like the bite mark, Snape threatening Quirrel, Snape appearing to be jinxing Harry at the match.

I try to adhere to the canon as much as I possibly can. It can be a fun challenge sometimes coming up with creative ways to push my characters into different parts of the story.

I think part of Kerri's good instincts for scenting danger come from her rambles through the woods with Hagrid. She's learned to pay attention to instinct. Some of it is also hereditary, especially her ability to judge personalities. Voldemort was always very good at that.

You're right that the unicorns will be important later on. Thats another clue that I've thrown into Kerri's path.

Thank you for your compliment at the end. I was purposely aiming to add that sort of depth to this story. It's the first of the series so it's the one that captured our attention, but it's lacking in many ways for an adult audience. Kerri's version of events is seen from a grown up point of view which is really fun to do.

* POA is my favorite too. (Remus !)


 Report Review

Review #7, by morgana67 

25th April 2008:
Oh, your adding very many humourus touches to this story, which I think it's great. I loved this phrase, for instance: “I’d like to request safe passage through the war zone as I’m not dressed for combat.” I really like how you introduced her to Harry and she is really concerned about his safety.

The meeting with Hagrid should be interesting.

I need to go now but I'll try to review the rest tomorrow.

Author's Response: This section of the story is the start of what I call "the Christmas segment." It's a part that I really enjoyed writing and am very proud of.

Finally she's met Harry, and yes, she cares a lot about his safety. She's overly hard on herself at times but she really is a good person...like Snape.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Bella_Portia 

21st April 2008:
This is getting better and better. The dialogue in the scene between Kerri and Snape was fantastic. (Question: can we expect her to break out the guitar and have music night with Severus?)

The scene with Quirrel, short as it was, was truly scary.

I also liked the way you handled Harry. The litle bit about the snowball fight was charming.

So glad to finally see that mop.

Sorry to be so brief. This was great.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Actually, Kerri and Snape sitting around playing music together is kind of an amusing idea. I'm not sure he's quite ready to sacrifice that much dignity -- he'll start teaching her chess soon though.

Good. I'm glad the Quirrel scene was scary. That's the effect I was going for.

Ah yes...the imfamous mop. I don't know if I'm going to continue that into the sequel yet or not. It's fun to annoy Snape. Who knows? Maybe it's McGonagall doing it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Bella 15 

19th April 2008:
lol i love the excerpt. i can completely imagine ron and harry saying that then glaring at eachother

Author's Response: Ron and Harry are under the impression that they're being clever but they don't realize that Kerri is using them to piece things together. Silly boys.

 Report Review

Review #10, by celticbard 

19th April 2008:
Another good chapter. I simply cannot wait for the next one. Update soon!

Author's Response: I've done the final proof-read and plan to do the corrections Sunday. Assuming I stay on schedule, the next chapter will be up some time Monday.

Thanks for your review.


 Report Review

Review #11, by FullMoon 

17th April 2008:
KERRI IS AMAZING!!! Is there anything she can't do? Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you. The next chapter should be coming out some time Monday

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review