Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rosie_sirius93 

22nd January 2009:
Another thrilling chapter, plenty of action! I see Tom is becoming a bit like Voldemort, demanding and possessive of what he 'owns'! Very clever! I thought it was sad having her lose her friendship with Bethe!
10/10
;D

Author's Response: Tom does give some of his Tom-ness to Voldie and I'm glad that you see that :) Yes, the Bethe break-up had to happen because Merope is getting too crazy about Tom. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by sazel_c 

27th October 2008:
Oh wow, this is really going to be painful.

Author's Response: Hahaha ... yeah this story isn't going to end very happily but at least Merope has this time with Tom. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

25th October 2008:
Oh wow, I knew meeting the parents would be hard, but I had no idea it would be THAT bad! It was nice though. It was better than anything else, which would have been boring. You write the lives of rich people very, very well. As I've said before (and I bet it won't be the last time either) you write Tom's family and lifestyle as if you lived with him yourself. This is such an enchanting story. DEFINITE 10/10!

Author's Response: Hee hee I know - this is probably the worst meeting of in-laws anyone's had in Little Hangleton for a long, long time. Poor Merope. I guess I can understand the Riddles being a little reluctant to accept a girl from the wrong side of the tracks, so to speak, but they're just so incredibly snobby they don't even take the time to know her as a person before they judge her.

Haha thanks! I'm glad you like the way I write the lifestyle of a rich family ;) I do wish I lived with the Riddles myself, but I'd probably make off with some of their money and buy my own house so I wouldn't hear them bickering all the time :D

Thanks for your review, dear!


 Report Review

Review #4, by savagebeginnings 

25th October 2008:
Hi again! Oh a very intense chapter! I feel so bad for Bethe! She's one of my favorite characters in this! I'm not really liking the way that Tom is acting though. Who is he to say who Merope can and cannot befriend? That was going too far on his part! I loved the little meet the parents scene! Very interesting and exactly how I pictured they would react! And Tom is so different now! I love the way you've made him change after the love potion! Overall, I think this was such a great and vital chapter that captured everyone perfectly!

Author's Response: I'm so glad Bethe is one of your favorite characters :) I agree that Tom is acting way too dominant and overbearing, but this is part of his personality as well as being under the influence of the love potion. He's very spoiled as well as being an only child, so he's used to having his own way and getting everything that he wants, when he wants it. Merope, blinded by love and overwhelmed that everything she'd ever wanted is here, agreed.

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tor Petty 

21st October 2008:
Bethe is so sweet to apologize and think herself in the wrong with this whole mess. I love her character so much.

YES! "We are going to elope." WONDERFUL ending sentence. How very romantic of him to sweep her off her feet like that, even in the midst of being angry. I do hope the next chapter is about the wedding!

Author's Response: Oh thank you for saying that :) I'm glad you like Bethe! And the ending sentence made me laugh when I wrote it ... it just sounds so funny somehow, even though it's not meant to be. I guess it's because Tom is so drugged, he doesn't know what he's on about half the time. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Potterholic 

17th May 2008:
I love this chapter! It was interesting to see that controlling side of Tom. I can’t wait to see if that would show up again in the next chapters. Despite that, it was very cute to read the way he treats Merope. ^_^ Bethe’s part of the story is interesting too. I can’t wait to read about her time with her family. Anyway, I love how you wrote Merope’s meeting with the Riddles. I could feel the tension in the air, and I like how Merope felt like she was losing control. Keep up the good work! ^_^

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you liked it :) Yeah, I think it's safe to say that side of Tom will come up again in later chapters! It's a big part of who he is - he likes more than anything to be in control - which kind of puts him into a Catch-22 position when it comes to Merope. He's in love with her yet can't seem to control it. You can only imagine how he'll freak out when he discovers why.

Bethe's off to Ireland to visit her family! You'll be seeing more of her, too, although there are some parts of her storyline that I still need to work out.

I'm glad you liked the scene where Merope met her future in-laws. :) Thanks for the review hun!


 Report Review

Review #7, by severus_lover 

13th May 2008:
Whee, Tom and Merope are officially an item *dances* whoo. I get get over how wonderfully developed Bethe is for an OC. Probably one of the best I've ever seen. The Riddle's reaction to Merope was brilliant! lol and now they're eloping wow. Cant wait till you update again. :D

Kay~

Author's Response: Yes, yes they are! *dances with you* It's taken nine chapters to get them together (*wipes brow*) but together they are! At least for the time being...

So glad you like Bethe! And the Riddles meeting Merope is probably any daughter-in-law's nightmare. Guess she won't be inviting them to Christmas dinner any time soon.

Chapter 10's in the queue as we speak! It'll be a bit of a wait but hopefully you shall have it by the end of next week. :) Thanks darling! So happy you're enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Misty_Rey 

12th May 2008:
Of course I'm enjoying the story so far! =D Hehheh. Anyway, on to the review.

Tom under the effect of the love potion is, well, scary to say the least. I couldn't help but think that with the mixture of Merope's insanity lineage and Tom's unstability, it's no wonder Voldemort came to be! What really stuck to me throughout this entire chapter was the transformation undergone by Tom Snr. Before, he was this shallow, pompous, weak, typical sheltered rich kid. I know you gave him some somewhat redeemable qualities and all but let's face it, he was essentially what he was brought up to be. But from the first paragraph, his unstability was very apparent and hooked me in. From his gushes of love to the unreasonable demand of Merope dropping Bethe as a friend was incredibly intriuging. What really sealed the deal for me was when he demanded confirmation of Merope's promise to abandon the friendship. Just the domination that was behind it was simply frightening. You brought up the notion that, like it or not, Voldemort inherited traits from both his parents. To see it in absolute full swing in later chapters will be captivating to say the least ^_^.

Oh Merope. I really enjoyed the deep hole of denial you dug out for her =). Clinging on to something so unreal, desprately convincing herself that it is in fact real.. On one hand, I want to dislike her for the lengths she going to in order to hold on to Tom but one the other hand, I sympathize with her just a bit. I think your quote at the beginning and Bethe's pespective on the entire tangle sums it up best. That Merope chose this and went into this with her entire being and it's entirely her destiny. Another thing I'd like to mention though. I was quite surprise that the love potion didn't make an appearance in this chapter. I'm guessing that Merope is still feeding him the potion at this point but I don't know, I just had this idea that maybe she gave him an extra dose of the potion which made him much more volatile. -shrugs- But that's just me of course. Thought I'd mention it ;).

It struck me as interesting that just as Cecilia packed off, Bethe is leaving as well. This will provide an oppurtunity for the readers to see more into the lives of Tom and Merope at its barest form. With Tom having no distractions and Merope having noone to turn to, the relationship will be subjected to scrutiny ;). But since you mentioned in your review response that everyone will, at some point, make an appearance, yay! That should be fun! ^_^

Absolutely brilliant imagery descriptions, m'dear, especially of when Merope first gets into the carriage. The Mansion was also wonderfully portrayed. Again, well-used and well-chosen words without being over the top. You got your point across as well as the scene becoming clear as day to the reader. Dialogue, especially in the argument between Tom and his mother was amazing as well. The lines spoken by his mother were wow.. spooky much? ^_^.

Overall, I give this chapter a 9.5/10 just because I wanted the love potion to make an appearance, however brief ;p. Ooh, can't wait for the update, it should be soon ay?

*Hugs*
Misty

Author's Response: Hello Misty :D Yay you caught up with the story, good for you! I'm really glad you liked the descriptions in this chapter ... I just went back over it today and cleaned it up, and I shaved it down by about 1000 words, I just thought I used too many unnecessary words here and there so it should be shorter and sweeter now. :)

Yeah Tom is pretty crazy under the influence of the potion. I didn't mention it in this chapter, you're right, but I just wanted to show the effects of it. If we kind of forget about the potion, it won't be too much of a stretch to have Merope kind of forget about it too - which is important. This is a trap we're all falling into.

Tom's pretty bossy, isn't he? I want to say that it's mostly because of the potion (it's making him obsess over getting rid of everyone in his way to Merope) but he's always been like that - we saw it with how he treated Cecilia and John in previous chapters.

You're right - now that there's no longer any distractions in the form of Cecilia and Bethe, we'll get to see Tom and Merope's relationship stripped down to essentials. I did promise a lot of people that Tom and Merope would be happy for at least a little while before the end comes, so it might get fluffy. Be prepared! :P But this isn't the end of the other characters because we'll continue to see familiar faces.

Yay thanks Misty! Another great review! :D Glad you liked it dear, and the update is cookin' in the queue ... which is currently 10 days long. Can't wait til I become trusted so I can just pop em out!


 Report Review

Review #9, by shadowycorner 

10th May 2008:
Another gorgeous quote at the beginning, but didn't Octavia Butler said that? Yup, here on wikiquote it says the quote is hers with the beginning line "Sometimes being a friend means mastering the art of timing".

Aw, only six chapters left? *pout* But at least I've finally caught up, and now I can follow the story just like the rest of the readers. :D This has been another great chapter. I like how you worked out the change in Tom. Before the potion he was this strong and independent man, but now you can litterally see that the potion is clouding his mind and his infatuation really shows.

So this is the breaking point, isn't it? Wow, the road here was wonderful and now it's going to be even more exciting, dramatic and all that. I can't wait! Oh and will we see Bethe even now that she went off to Ireland? I hope we will. :)

Oh and just because I adore your language, here's a little tidbit I really liked: 'intimidating in its splendor'. I don't know, wording and phrases like this are really fancy and lovely and fit your story perfectly.

Now I'll be patiently waiting for your update. :) 10/10

xoxo Elizabeth

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the quote! I don't really get it, because two or three other websites I looked at said that it was Gloria Naylor, not Octavia Butler - but it's the same exact quote! I Googled both women and they both got credit for it, which is really odd... I'll give credit to Ms. Butler too, just in case. ;)

Haha only 6 chapters left! There will be two epilogues, but I haven't decided whether they will comprise the last chapter or whether they'll be chapters themselves. But there will be plenty more and I've actually gotten a huge plot bunny for a sequel. If people like this story enough, I might consider a continuation into the childhood of Tom Riddle Junior. We'll see! :)

Yes, I'm really glad you can see how the potion is affecting Tom Senior. It's very subtle, so subtle that you can almost think that he really is in love with Merope, and that's really key in this story because it's so easy to be fooled into thinking it's the truth.

This is the breaking point, yep! The story is going to be kind of fractured from now on since all of the characters have left Little Hangleton. We will be seeing Tom and Merope on their honeymoon in France and Italy, Bethe on her journey to see her family in Ireland, and of course, we'll be visiting Marvolo and Morfin in Azkaban. Little Hangleton will return at the end of the story.

Thanks darling! I love your reviews and I can't wait to read your work. I'm going to go check it out tomorrow! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unwritten Curse 

5th May 2008:
Finally, I have time to sit down and read this! (: Wow, I really have missed this story, haha. Every time I sit down to read more, I'm surprised by how amazing it is. You'd think I'd be used to the fact that you've got loads of talent, but I'm impressed all over again. Just fantastic work.

I love that Tom is so careless in his love for her. When his father asked about the Gaunt cottage and Tom told him that that was where Merope lived, he seemed so convinced that his parents wouldn't mind at all, and that they would love her just as he does. You've done a wonderful job with his personality now that he's under the effect of the potion. I also really liked the very end of the chapter, when Tom was fighting to get his parents to see from his point of view. That was a great scene. There were a lot of things happening, but you wrote them all so well that I didn't have any trouble visualizing everything that you wrote. (:

10/10 for this chapter, of course. I can't wait to read more, and I definitely want to see how Merope handles what's to come. I'm guessing she'll start to feel guilty about everything, and that's when she'll stop administering the potion. And I hope that Bethe and Merope make up, because I miss their friendship. Update soon!

Author's Response: Hello dear! :) I know, Tom isn't using his thinking cap because I suspect that without the potion and without his prior acquaintance with Merope, he would probably be disgusted that she even set foot in his house. The love potion is warping his mind and his obsession is convincing him that everyone else will love Merope as much as he does. It's a sad shock for him not to get his parents' approval, which he's had so much of all his life.

Guilt is going to play a strong role in Merope's decision to stop the love potion, you're right, but there's a lot more to it as well that you'll see later on.

Thanks so much for your review! :) I always love reading your feedback and I'm excited for your update too.


 Report Review

Review #11, by ButterflyRogue 

4th May 2008:
Wow! So much action here!! You've developed Tom so well!! Poor Merope... Her meeting with the Riddles was nothing like she had hoped it would be...

I wonder, will we see more of Bethe? And will Merope stop giving Tom the potion because she hoped he had started to love her for real or simply because she had ran out of the one Bethe had given her?

I am so caught up with this!! I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: I know! lol The whole time I was writing this chapter, I kept thinking about Ben Stiller's movie "Meet the Parents" and I was really tempted to make some references to it (maybe have the grandmother's ashes be in an urn on the fireplace mantel ... LOL). But yeah, Merope's got her work cut out for her with in-laws like that. They're not too psyched about having their son marry a girl from the wrong side of the tracks.

You will see more of Bethe! I'm nearly finished writing Chapter 10 and she's gotten a pretty sizable chunk of it. And Merope will stop giving Tom the love potion eventually for a mixture of reasons - you hit the nail on the head for your first guess (fooled into believing his love is true). There's also a much bigger reason, mostly to do with something that she discovers later on...

Thank you my dear!! I appreciate all of your amazing reviews and I can't believe you read the story in pretty much one go! You're awesome. *hug*


 Report Review

Review #12, by momotwins 

1st May 2008:
bwahahaha I love Tom's father. "Carry on, then!" Awesome. Tom was a little naive about how his parents would react, eh? Poor Merope - I sympathize, my mother-in-law is evil too. I can't wait to see where this goes next, and see how Bethe plays in the rest of the story.

Author's Response: Ahaha oh Thomas Riddle, you stupid fat being... :P He's pretty clueless about everything.

The love potion definitely had a part to play in Tom's absolute confidence that his parents would love Merope as much as he did. The real Tom Riddle Senior would be shocked to even bring such a girl into the house aside from employing her.

Haha I'm sorry about your evil mother-in-law! But I guess as long as you didn't use a love potion on your husband, she ain't got nothing on you. :D

Thank you, thank you for your wonderful reviews and for reading my entire story! I appreciate your comments and I'm so grateful that you've enjoyed reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by queen_luna 

29th April 2008:
Hello, this is queen_luna from the review forum!

I just read through about four chapters (because for some reason, I stopped) and this story just gets better and better. I really liked how Tom started sort of liking Merope before the love potion. And I love Bethe's character. I feel kind of sorry for Mrs. Riddle & Cecilia though! Anyway, great writing, no grammar/spelling errors, and a well-deserved 10/10 :)

~queen_luna

Author's Response: Hey Luna :) I'm really glad you like what you've read of the story. Thanks so much for your kind words and for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by madgal 

28th April 2008:
First off i want to say that i swear that i posted a review 10 minutes ago and i cant find it now so if you see it floating around, sorry if you hear the same thing twice.

Once again you have done it, another amazing chapter! You really have a talent for tapping into a characters and making them come alive. I am starting to think that you are JKR or maybe you are tapping into her thoughts and writing the story of Tom and Merope that we havent heard of yet.

I love this story alot and i am constantly coming back to see if you updated and i am happy to see that you have.

I have no idea how you are going to finish this up in 6 more chapters, but with your beautiful writing, i am sure you will figure it out somehow!

madgal

Author's Response: Hi madgal! It's okay, this is the only review I see so it's all good! :)

HAHA I promise you, I am not JKR. Wishing on a star did nothing, throwing pennies into the wishing well on campus did nothing, none of my lucky charms worked - otherwise I would be giving you a very different answer :D Thanks for the compliment though, I'm glad you think this story could've been the way JKR wanted it to be - I sure hope so!

Thanks for being so nice and leaving such a lovely review. :) :) I really appreciate it and I'm glad you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #15, by chiQs09 

28th April 2008:
Oh gosh, Tom can be so funny but still can stay serious.
-You will grow fat and contented and give orders to an army of servants... ...we'll have nine children..." - hehe Was he serious when he said that? Though it was realistic considering that people in the 1970's had a dozen of children. Gaah, imagine all of them have the evil traits like Tom Jr.? x_X

Bethe did the right thing when she warned Merope of the consequences of the Love Potion, she really didn't deserve to be treated like that after all by Merope. Tom asked her not to see Bethe anymore, and she gave her promise to him, gave up on her friendship to Bethe for Tom's love. Understandable, but still... You really did a great job, it's so realistic. ^_^

Wow, Tom somehow reminds me of Draco, being the only child in his family and being so much loved by his mother. Tom's so deceived now by his "false feelings" for Merope that he ran away with her. Oh my, oh my, I wonder what happens when he realizes that his feelings for Merope were not real. Will he regret that he turned his back to his parents?
Love this chapter! As always! :)

FAVORITE QUOTE:
-"We are going to elope."

Author's Response: Hahaha I love that you picked that for your favorite quote, it looks kinda funny out of context. :D

Yeah the nine children thing was a joke (hopefully) - we don't need nine Voldemorts running around now do we? ;)

I agree with you, I think Bethe did the right thing in warning Merope about the effects of the potion but seriously, she shouldn't even have made it if she had so many misgivings. I guess she cared too much about her friend and wanted her to be happy, and it sort of blinded her because the guilt and regret are definitely setting in. And Merope was very quick to throw her off for Tom ... her obsession with him is rising to a new level and his is too (except he's LUI ... loving under the influence ... LOL).

Tom is kind of like Draco, I suppose, but I never meant to compare the two of them. In Tom's case, both of his parents adore him and would do anything for him - except, of course, approve of him running off abruptly with some peasant girl from a crazy family. :D

Thanks for your review my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gryffindor Witch 

28th April 2008:
wow! beautifully written as always! no questions for once! Well, please update soon!
Sally

Author's Response: Thank you Sally! :) I'll try my very best to update soon.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Bella_Portia 

27th April 2008:
"'Promise me that you will never see her again.'" -- controlling little so-and-so, that Tom Riddle. Perhaps the apple didn't fall quite as far from the tree as it at first seemed.
You tend to forget that Tom is UI of the love potion, as this plays, actually, quite realistically. I felt sorry for his mom, and yet she was indeed mean and insensitive, saying out loud things she should have said in private. You can certainly see where Tom, Jr., gets his sense of entitlement from.

Really nice job with this chapter.

Author's Response: Yeah he is a controlling little so-and-so! :D He has his issues. I've had some complaints that Tom Riddle Senior seems too perfect, but honestly this man has a lot of problems. He's sheltered, spoiled, controlling, fickle (with regard to the whole Cecilia debacle), and could use a good anger management course.

No worries, I haven't forgotten that the love potion is pumping in his veins; in fact I wrote the entire chapter with that in mind. The love potion is actually an obsession potion and it's made him act crazy to the people he loves most, all in pursuit of this almost complete stranger of a girl.

Thanks so much for your review, glad you enjoyed it :) :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Labby 

25th April 2008:
Yay, I've finally found time to read this! Great chapter as usual! I love how this chapter opened up with Merope feeling sorry for her talk with Bethe, but as soon as Tom comes she forgets that and promises not to see her again. I guess I'm starting to realize now how Bethe isn't going to be able to know about Tom Jr. or to see him. Merope really is deeply in love to forget about Bethe who's helped her so much so far. I hope Bethe's character doesn't disappear... she's a great addition to the story!

Your characters are so tragic, but the love story in this is great. It's probably going to take Merope awhile to realize just what she did to Tom and how terrible that was. He's so sweet now though... I guess at times. But it's so obviously because of the potion. Merope has to figure out that she just can't do that. Poor girl. Poor Tom. Poor Tom's parents. Even though I don't like them very much, their own son just abandoned them and started going crazy.

I'm definitely looking forward to more! What's going to happen now that Tom's run away? And they're planning on getting married? Hmm.. I wonder how far Merope's going to take this thing and I'm looking forward to finding out! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Jamie!! :) I know, at this point Merope is willing to do anything just to keep Tom. She's giving Bethe up but it won't be without a lot of regret, now and later on. You'll see more of Bethe, I can promise you that! Thanks for your support of her :D

Yes, everything Tom does now is because of the potion. His entire life and his every action is being controlled by it, but it's pretty hard to tell. He seems genuine ... but that's the trap that Merope falls into.

Thanks so much for your review, I always love reading your feedback! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by JLHufflepuff 

22nd April 2008:
So I'm finally getting to read your chapter. I really love the quote at the beginning, which I think could almost fit for Bethe's entire role in this fiction.

There were so many important things that happened in this chapter. I can definitely tell how Merope would be swooning over getting to hear Tom say words that any woman would die to hear. I felt the tone shift irrevocably when Tom demanded that Merope never see Bethe again, though! It just seemed that her having to make that choice started shifting everything toward darkness... It was creepy to see a darker side to Tom.

I also really enjoyed the way you incorporated Bethe into this chapter. I stand by my thoughts that I like the idea of you keeping her around, especially if you're going to do with her what I think.

And the meeting with the parents - the perfect tension that I expected yet I couldn't help feeling a bit sorry for them at losing their son so unexpectedly. It's like neither of them win - she has to give up her one true friend, and he has to give up his family so they can be together in a love that is an illusion.

AND - Tom's furious anger that she would later grow to recognize - so foreshadowing for later in the story and for Voldemort! Creepy and chilling, as I can only imagine that is the seed of little Voldy's anger as well.

I really enjoyed this chapter. One thing that really makes your fic stand out on the whole is that the diction is so appropriate to the time period!

Author's Response: Hi Jessi :D

I love that quote too! I was so excited when I found it because it was perfect for this story - a time to let Merope go be crazy and then have everything inevitably fall apart and someone will have to clean it up. *sigh* Haha!

Yeah Tom has some control issues - I thought it might make sense for two reasons: number one because he's been spoiled and has gotten his own way forever, and number two because of the potion. It's made him obsessive to the point that he would probably cause serious harm to anyone who comes between him and Merope. He needs to CALM DOWN sometimes especially at the end ... he pretty much chucked a teacup at his mom and even though it was deserved, it was a little drama-king.

Merope's too naive to understand that a potion can have so many consequences, it's not always clear-cut and other people's lives and feelings are involved as well. Didn't think that one through too well, did she?! lol :) His parents are jerks but they are losing their son, you're right about that - it's happened so abruptly and everything.

Nope nobody is a winner in this one! Lost love, lost friendship, lost children, lost lives ... I think I need to write something really, REALLY happy after this. :)

Thanks for your review Jessi!! I'm glad you still enjoy the story. :) :) And Bethe is staying put!


 Report Review

Review #20, by onestop_hpfan18 

19th April 2008:
This chapter was nicely written. I'm liking the way you're writing Tom now. You're making it very believable that he's under a love potion. Nice job with the whole meet-the-parents part also. I'm looking forward to seeing Tom and Merope elope and then of the fight that ensues between the two of them when Merope stops giving Tom the potion. Are you going to also write Merope giving birth to her spawn, Tom Marvolo Riddle, in the muggle orphanage? Anyway, great job and keep it up. Happy writing! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi Leslie! I just had to laugh when you referred to Voldie as Merope's "spawn" - LOL but that's actually the perfect word for him. I'm glad that it's believable that Tom is under a love potion. He's not acting quite rational and I think if he didn't have the love potion, he would be much more likely to side with his parents. I mean, Merope is a nice girl and he liked talking to her and felt drawn to her, but when it comes down to it, she's poor and a peasant.

Yep, the elopement and the honeymoon and the fight and the pregnancy will all play out in good time. I have only five or six chapters left to go so those will all be happening soon! And yes, I will be writing about Voldemort's birth and there will be a couple of epilogues at the end, one of which that goes a little further than that. Thanks very much :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by greylady_Ravenclaw 

19th April 2008:
I actually feel sorry for Toms's parents, even though I can't stand them. They think Tom has betrayed them but he is only following his hear,well what he thinks is in his heart. This was kind of a sad chapter.

I feel sorry for Merope for what the Riddles, not Tom, put her through. It had to be embrassing to state that your father is a peasent and your brother is mad and then having it be basically thrown up in your face.

I can't think of anything else to say about this chapter except, Tom is scary when he is angry. 10/10

Author's Response: I agree, I feel bad for Tom's parents too. They're snobby and narrow-minded but they did love their boy and it's hard to lose him to some girl they don't even know or approve of. It would be even harder if they knew he was leaving against his true will. Yeah they did treat Merope like crap though! They are not the nicest of people. Tom does have a temper, doesn't he? I guess he doesn't like not being allowed to have what he wants. *pouts*

Thanks for your review! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by hermione_weasley_angel 

19th April 2008:
Sad Chapter! Poor Bethe!! :( Loved it!
10/10

Author's Response: I know :( She feels really bad about everything but sometimes you can't go back and change things. And now Tom has a vendetta against her. Thanks angel, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by inkismyworld 

18th April 2008:
This was intense! Poor Merope, I wish she could catch a break :( Anyway good chapter :)

Author's Response: I know, I'm afraid she leads a very stressful life! And there's more to come, as we all know *sigh* Thanks for your review, glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Harry_Potter_Mom 

17th April 2008:
I'm breathless... this was an amazing chapter.

Tom Sr. does have quite the temper, doesn't he? Here, we thought it was all Merope, but Tom is a bit more than demanding.

I'm so sad that he's the one that made her promise to never see Bethe again... but that was incredibly realistic... scary. He reminds me a bit of her father... controlling and manipulative... cold to those who do not agree with him.

I do hope you'll continue to mix Bethe into the story (or a side story of her own)? She is a lovely character!

Surely they aren't going to live in the Guant cottage? Tom is much too spoiled for that! :)

Perfect chapter and I'll be watching for the next one! :D

Author's Response: Hi Teresa! :D

Yeah Tom Sr. does have his moments, doesn't he? But granted, I think he had a good reason to freak out because his parents were being such turds to Merope. And yeah he has a control problem too! The fact that he always gets his way, coupled with the obsessive love from the potion, combine to make him over-jealous of anyone who tries to stand between him and Merope. He is a little like Marvolo, isn't he?? Look at all these "wonderful" genes that baby Voldie is going to get some day!

Thanks for saying that about Bethe :) I will definitely continue to keep her in the story - she's got a big scene coming up in Chapter 10 with another minor OC and I'm excited for that. :)

Haha nope, you're absolutely right - Tom Sr. can barely survive without five servants let alone live in a tiny cottage. I think they're going back there to plan and regroup before making a move. After all, the Gaunt cottage still belongs to Marvolo who is currently shooting the breeze in jail.

Agh thanks for another brilliant review! I thrilled that you've been enjoying it and I'm planning on updating soon (to try and make my goal of completing the story this summer)!


 Report Review

Review #25, by ginny321 

17th April 2008:
Poor Bethe.
10/10, as always.

Author's Response: I know :( Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>