Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anonymous 

14th December 2014:
So confusing, good story but I have to say I did not quite
understand

Author's Response: I can sympathize - a lot of things went wrong with the plot because I was caught between keeping the story canon and following through with my original idea, and in the end, I went with the first (bad, bad decision).

 Report Review

Review #2, by harronhermy 

23rd April 2012:
So, so amazing. You have no idea how much I enjoyed reading this story. It's magnificent, every bit of it. You've even given me a whole new perspective on Snape.

This is one of the best fanfictions that I've ever had the pleasure of reading -- romance, darkness, lust, action, everything had a perfect balance to it. You are a very creative writer and I can't wait to check out your other works. Keep up the good work! xoxo.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It means a lot that you've enjoyed this story so much, but it means even more that it's made you see Snape in a new way. I've always found him a really interesting and complex character, and this story allowed me to explore a great many aspects of his personality - it was one of the best things about writing this story for me. :D

Your compliments are overwhelming, and I can do nothing more than thank you for them. They're amazing and have left me speechless. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #3, by Evanna Adams 

27th December 2011:
Hi!
I think this story is... Amazing, for the lack of good words. I thank you as I learnt a lot from your writing.
But I wanted to know... Does true love really hurt this much?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It means a lot that you were able to take something from this story and learn from the writing - the whole novel shows a lot of how I developed in writing and writing it taught me a lot. ^_^

And yes, it does hurt that much. *hides*


 Report Review

Review #4, by EmilyChristine 

10th December 2011:
So, I've been reading this story every spare minute I've had for the past like three days and I finally finished! First of all, simply amazing job on Emma's character. She was the perfect mix of good and yet not perfect. I'm not going to lie, I was shipping her and Sirius pretty hardcore for a while, but in the end I accepted that they didn't end up together haha. I honestly love how true you were to the character qualities in all the cannon characters. I feel like a lot of fan fictions kind of mess them up, but you definitely captured them perfectly :) this was an amazing story and I hope you will never stop writing because you have such an amazing gift. Thanks for writing this lovely story!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! Three days of reading this story - you're a brave one for getting through it all, not to mention so quickly too. I don't know what to say, actually, except to thank you very much for your compliments - they're fabulous and very uplifting (this story always makes me cringe - it fell so far short of how I'd wanted it to go, so these positive reviews for it leave me shocked, but pleased - it's just me, not the story :P).

It's funny that you mentioned shipping Emma with Sirius because that was the original plan - to write one of those love triangles between her, Snape, and Sirius, but I started shifting away from that, first because it could have made the story more cliched, and second because DH forced me to include Lily in the triangle instead. So there was Sirius/Emma slowly developing for a time, and that's probably what you caught onto in the story. It would have made things a lot different. ;)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! It means a lot that you did enjoy this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cassius Alcinder 

5th December 2011:
Review tag!

So seeing as how I actually read the entire story a couple months ago and neglected to leave reviews, I definetly owe you one:)

First of all, what an original plot! I loved how you managed to create your own very unique OC and seemlessy weave her into the canon information we know about the Marauders. I especially have to commend you for being able to adapt they story when JK threw you a curveball with the whole Prince's tale thing. That obviously interefered with how the story seemed to be going, but you managed to play it off really well. Although it was a bit darker than JK's writing style, I could definetley see this filling in some of the gaps in our canon knowledge, and fitting perfectly into what we know of the era. Although the end was very sad, it definetely had to be that way because you just can't give snape a happy ending and have it fit his character. Most of all, I really enjoyed reading the depcitions of the beginning of the first wizarding war, and how well you captured the confusion and violence of the times.

Characterization was excellent as well. Snape has to be one of the most challenges characters to write as he is so complex and layered, and I think you nailed him perfectly. I also really enjoyed your depiction of the marauders, you showed just enough of their fun loving antics while mostly focusing on the serious back drop of the looming war, something I feel that is missing in most marauder era fics. the OC's were very interesting as well, Grimm was such a great character, and Sejanus was interesting and layered. nd obviously Emma was a very complex MC with a lot of depth to her. I have to say of the many "Lily's best friend OC's," she's the first one I've seen that didn't seem really cliched and wasn't solely there to be paired off with Sirius or Remus.

I think another thing that really made this story were the descriptions of the settings, it really created the aura of mystery around the events. Btw, the chapter with the estate on the moor I was totally thinking about Hound of the Baskervilles, and then you mentioned something about a hound and I thought that was awesome.

Great job on an amazing story!

Author's Response: Many apologies for taking so long to respond - it's a fantastic review and I'm very thankful that you took the time to not only read this very long (and rather pondering) story, but also that you left such a detailed review. I do have a general dislike of this story, so responding to reviews for it is difficult because I often can't understand how anyone could enjoy it. However, having someone of your calibre be complimentary to it makes me second-guess my dislike. It's perfectionism that plagues me and nothing more. ;)

Anyway, first know that your review has left me with a loss of words. Not many people actually mention the characterization of Snape, not that I can remember at least, so hearing that he was well-written in this story is wonderful news - the problem I had was in making him show emotion without actually showing it, if that makes sense. He's the kind of character who is brimming with feeling, but has forced himself to repress it utterly, even to the point that Voldemort can't "see" his "true" feelings, which is very impressive. But it also makes Snape a strange character to write, and maybe that's why many writers have trouble writing him. At times in this story, he feels very distant, while at others, he is anything but, and I worried that it made him too erratic, so to hear the opposite is fabulous.

I'm also very glad to hear that Emma's characterization was successful. She teetered on the edge of Mary Sue for most of this story, mostly because she was my first OC, but also because, like you said, the Lily's friend cliche, or even just a female OC in the Marauder Era cliche threatened disaster. It helped to take the characters out of Hogwarts and let them "grow up" on their own terms - that was where Girmm's death became a turning point for Emma, and for me, she became a more interesting character (for me, at least).

That scene on the moor was heavily inspired by the "Hound of the Baskervilles" - it's one of my favourite Holmes stories because of the atmosphere. The same plot and characters without the moor couldn't be as captivating and terrifying. The moor is a wonderful setting for Voldemort - all doom and gloom, rather like the Riddle Mansion in GoF.

Thank you again for your review! I can't fully express how fantastic it is! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by torahosk1 

10th November 2011:
I could write a lot about this story, what I liked and disliked, how many feelings I had when I read it ( how pissed off I was when things did not work out for them, how I cried when someone died, how I loved when they were happy and angry when they weren't ) so I'm just going to have it short.
You are an amazing writer, the way you describe the characters and emotions really inspires me so please continue to write. Best of luck and thanks for letting me inside your world, T.

Author's Response: Oh wow! This is a fantastic review to receive! It means a lot that this story was so affecting - that it made you angry and sad and was able to draw you in to such an extent. Thank you very much for taking the time to read this story, and for offering such lovely compliments! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by miss_emmz 

30th August 2011:
this story was amazing!
i started reading it and sat there and read 15 chapters in one go..
then all i could think about at work was what is going to happen next. everything that happened i didnt see coming. this is the best fan fiction that i have ever read! fantastic!

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed it and found it so addicting. I wrote it over a number of years, so I often forgot things I'd mentioned in earlier chapters and was constantly editing, so I never really got a feel for the story as a whole, like it would be from a reader's perspective. It means a lot to hear such positive comments, and I'm just speechless that you thought so highly of it. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Atomic 

11th August 2011:
I have so much to say for your story, and yet I have no idea how to say it. While reading it, I was never really sure how I felt about it. It got completely cannon-shafted by HPB and DH but you tied it in so well even then, and you refused to give a happy ending, because that's not an ending Severus Snape could ever really have. And even though I so desperately wanted it to end happy, I'm glad it didn't.

This is the type of story that will remain with me for a long time. I'm not sure if it's the kind of response you're looking for, but it's honestly the highest compliment I can give.

Author's Response: Totally canon-shafted! Haha, I still haven't forgiven JKR for it (as she's done it again with Pottermore and McGonagall, but I won't go there now :P) because it made this story a lot more difficult to write. It was always going to have a sadder ending because I would have had to remove Emma from the scene anyway due to canon, but the introduction of Snape/Lily threw me off course into AU-range. I'm glad to hear that you were able to follow your way through, nonetheless and you even liked the ending! :')

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! Even though I shudder to think about this story most of the time - the weaker parts standing out a little too clearly in my conscience - it's still a wonderful compliment to hear from someone who enjoyed reading it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anonomys 

2nd August 2011:
I loved your story, but I still have no idea what happened in the end, starting with Em finding out she was prego until the end. Could you write a simple summary about it in plain english so I could understand it Better?

Author's Response: lol, it would help if I knew what happened, but even I find it confusing. She apparently goes back to "canon" time (as opposed to the alternate universe where she and Snape were married), and this change makes her go insane, so she goes to an asylum where she has the child and dies around the same time as the Final Battle in DH. That's the most simple way of describing it, though it doesn't cover everything.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Salem 

30th July 2011:
I know this fic is old and later books in the series contradicted certain events you portrayed here, but because I feel this was so masterfully written I really didn't mind any of that so I won't bother nitpicking. Instead I'll just give my thoughts overall.

I have to say, I steered as *clear as possible* of Snape/OC fics before I had a go at reading this, since Snape/Lily is an OTP of mine and I feel the majority writers who pair an OC with Snape just tarnish his character and pure love completely (you did neither of those). But I told myself to give this story a chance since the first chapter so politely requested doubtful readers to give it a try. And the result of that is that now I really, really just adore your deep writing style and how your characters and their interactions are so well developed that they just come to life from the text--ugh! I never get this attached to original characters, but I teared up when Grimm died--and that turned my initial skepticism into great fondness. I read this story *twice* in the span of one week and I still loved it as much the second time.

I also love how you didn't force a relationship between Snape and Emma and that they didn't get a happy, cliched fairytale ending. The bittersweet ending was a much better fit in my honest opinion, since they are both rather tragic characters. And on that note, I'm glad you finished this story and saw it through to the end because if it had been left unfinished I'm not sure I would have been able to adore it as much since it's easier for me to feel attached to completed stories than abandoned or unfinished works since I usually tend to wander away from and lose interest in those types.

I'm sure if I don't stop somewhere I'll end up ranting like a loon about what else I liked, so I guess that's the end of this review. I'll definitely be checking out your other works!

Author's Response: To put it simply from my end, the last two books threw very large wrenches into my plots and characterizations and made finishing this story very, very difficult (because I'm a stickler for canon unless one is writing explicitly AU material). I should have finished writing before HBP came out, but instead I slow down and get further put off by DH's revelations. *sigh*

As soon as I read DH, I leapt onto the good ship Snilly once and for all, so I can understand your trepidation regarding Snape/OC. I miss the innocent days of Snape/OC stories, but I can't read them anymore, unless one came out that cleverly and plausibly fit into canon.

Anyway, I'm stunned by this review. To be honest, until I received this review, I despised this story with every ounce of my creative being - so many things went wrong with it and it's far from the ideal I kept dreaming it would be. But after I read your thoughts, I went back and read through the ending chapters (and my favourite earlier chapters with Grimm and Minerva - that part of the story, at least, was a success), and I can see what you mean. There is depth and character sympathy and the writing's better than I thought it was (can I say that?) - those chapters with Snape and Emma may be ridiculously plotted, but the feeling there is strong, and that's what counts. Thank you for shoving me back into this story - it's always good to go back to one's roots and to see that they're not as rotten as one imagines them to be. I hated this story for so long, but looking back, I don't quite know why.

Thank you for reading and reviewing this story. It means a lot to hear these things from someone, especially one who enjoyed the story, and took the time to read it multiple times - that's got to mean something, and I appreciate it. There's no better compliment you could have paid. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #11, by serena_lilian_snape 

5th January 2011:
Ok, WOW. This is probably my favorite story I have ever read on here! This last chapter did confuse the heck out of me, but i kind of get it. It is so sad what happened to Emma, but even with an ending that isn't all cheerful it still is an excellent story. Amazing job, and I look forward to future stories from you!

Author's Response: Is it? Wow! That's brilliant to hear, and I appreciate you taking the time to let me know!

I'm sorry about how this final chapter came out, as the story did deserve better, but at the time, I really hated the story, how it had turned out, and how much the new canon of HBP and DH had "messed up" my ideas. That's my usual excuse for it. :P Though I do like the idea of the heroine ending things badly like this, in an asylum of all places.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by praiya 

15th October 2010:
I admitted i'm still pretty confused by the end of the story.
Maybe its because i'm seriously sleepy right now,
but i didn't want to stop reading. sigh.
brilliant plot! so much 'plot inside plot inside plot' that i found it hard to follow sometimes :)
Lovely lauguage as well:))
thanks for sharing this nothing-short-for-amazing story with us!

Author's Response: It's more likely because it's a pretty confusing story. XD I'm very sorry for confusing you! And for causing you a lack of sleep while you read this. It means a lot that you enjoyed reading it, though, so thank you very much for reading and reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by madness 

7th August 2010:
I think this was very well written, but I have to admit that the complex plot had confused me a little.

Author's Response: Don't worry, even I was confused by the end. The plot ended up being a huge mess, and I'm very sorry about that. Even with planning, it didn't work out, though that's something I'm working on now.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad that you thought it was well-written. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by ShadowChanger 

12th January 2010:
*cries softly* beautiful. absolutely stunning in its entire length.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for all your comments and reviews! It means a lot to hear from you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #15, by isabella 

30th August 2009:
i have to admit the beginning wasnt that good but man this is one of the best stories i have ever read

Author's Response: lol, really? That good? o_O I agree about the beginning, though - it's very cliched and the style is not one I'm proud of, even though I've rewritten some of those early chapters once or twice. XD

Anyway, thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rynnie 

29th August 2009:
Whoa-oh, I had to create an account here just so I can tell you how ridiculously awesome this story was.
I stayed up till 2 reading this and by the end of it I was a sodden crying mess. Your characters really sucked me into their lives and I hurt when Emma hurt, laughed when they laughed and.. Well, cried when she died.

You have the markings of a true genius ^^ haha, no, you'll definitely be able to write your own books one day if you so wish, and I have to say, those banners are all incredibly beautiful. :)

Loved the ending (that was SUCH a good description of the funeral), beginning, and everything in between. -two thumbs up- :D

Author's Response: Oh wow, you did?! That's quite a compliment, thank you! It's amazing that you've enjoyed this story so much - it's not one of my personal favourites, but readers seem to like it (which is why it's not been deleted yet). That it made you cry really means a lot - I wasn't sure that it could create such a response anymore. ^_^

What I am especially glad about is that you liked the funeral scene. I wrote it a few months before actually finishing the story and it made up for the mess I'd made of the plot. ;) Thank you for taking the time to read and review this story! I really appreciate it. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by criscatlover 

16th June 2009:
I should be studying because I have exams tomorrow, but I couldn't help but read this amazing story...
Believe me, you have a talent for writing!
I must confess when I first started to read this story it seemed to be completely different from what it turns in the end... But what a pleasant surprise it was :)
This last chapter, specially the very end (Snape's funeral), is my favourite ever! So sad yet so beautiful.. *.*
Congratulations :D

PS: back to study.. *sighs*

Author's Response: Uhoh, fanfiction is horrible for procrastination. :P So many times I've done the same thing as you - reading/writing instead of studying. Good luck on the exams!

Anyway, thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this! It's really quite awesome that you enjoyed this story. A lot of the plot got out of hand for me, but I was pleased with this last chapter, so I'm really glad that you liked how it turned out. :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Shohini 

25th November 2008:
I liked your story but I especially loved the ending. I think the way you ended it was great instead of the usually cliched happy ending. Is there any possibility of a sequel with the Marius as the central character?

Author's Response: You like the sad ending? That's pretty cool - it was nice having a change from the happy ending, which with canon, would be impossible. I've thought of writing more about Marius, but it probably wouldn't work out. :(

Thank you very much for reviewing! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #19, by secret potter fan 

23rd April 2008:
hi, i just wanted to let you know how great of a story this was
the ending is so sad that i havent been able to get this story out of my head haha
i was just wondering if you could clarify for me how emma's life was supposed to turn out before it was tampered with by mort & also if she was the one who really killed him .. the flash forwards were a little confusing for me
thanks!
p.s. you deff. have talent as a writer!

Author's Response: Thank you muchly for telling me that. ^_^ It means a lot to know that people liked this story in some way.

However, I actually never thought about what would have happened if time hadn't been changed. I guess that Snape and Emma would have not been able to get together, Snape being so devastatingly in love with Lily. But it's something I didn't think of, strangely enough. :/


 Report Review

Review #20, by gr33neyes 

13th April 2008:
i admit it, i was so anxious to read the whole story, that i haven't left a review at the previous chapters

your story has made the performance of making me read it in only one night

AND I LOVED IT!

it's absoloutely fascinating. the mixture of emotions, the idea of travelling through time, the teenage love turning slowly into poison...

The end made me cry :)

a well-earned 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading the whole story through! Wow, that must have taken a lot of time. It means so much that you read it all at once, and that it captivated you in that way. ^_^ I'm so glad that you enjoyed it (though I'm sorry it made you cry). Thank you so much! =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Evelyn Grey 

31st March 2008:
congratulations. I've never actually cried over a fanfiction. :)

this was amazing, utterly and completely amazing. I don't want to go on much longer because now I'm hungry to work on my own story. love love love this one though.

Author's Response: Cried? :( Oh dear... I'm glad that you liked it, though I'm sorry that it made you cry. Thank you very much for taking the time to review! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Erratic Amethyst 

27th March 2008:
Wow. *gasps* and *sobs* all the way through. Brilliant, love. A complete masterpiece.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dras Leona 

25th March 2008:
Love love love it! Your right that it was a bit confusing in some places. I had to read a few things twice, but once it clicked everything just sort of fell in to place.

It wasn't really a happy ending, but it fit. The whole story had a gloomy side to it and this wasn't actually what I expected for an ending. I thought you might write something more teary. It works though. Just simple, not another happily-ever-after cheesy ending with hope in the air, but mellow and it drew it all together nicely.

Some stuff I liked:

"The smile on his face had changed. Only his mother could have said whose smile it was now. She was, after all, one of the few who had ever seen a smile on the face of Severus Snape."

Loved that. It added something sweet but not cloyingly sweet to the end of the story.

Another thing I like:

"The wizard held out his hand. 'Sorry, my name's Harry Potter.'

Half as second passed before the young man touched his fingers to the wizard's hand.

'I know.'"

How Marius hesitated, it just seemed to fit the way I can picture him. And then, with Harry showing up at the very end, that ties it all into what the books center around.

Last one:

"She used all her strength to raise herself to his height, so that they were face-to-face, so that they could see death in each others' eyes. She rested her weight against him, touching her dry lips to his once last time. His arm tightened around her, but he also struggled to maintain balance. Neither had strength for passion, for anything more than a meeting of lips. It was not a real kiss, but it was all they had."

That was nice too. I like how it wasn't overly romantic and a huge deal about how they made up. It perfectly fit them and how they were feeling, not over dramatic or fluffy. They didn't need to be in each others' faces to show what they meant and you knew that.

Again, loved it and thanks for finishing. Your an amazing and talented writer.

Author's Response: A teary-eyed ending may have happened if I'd written it a few months ago, but with the way I was feeling about the story and how it had gone, this was the only way it came out. The bitterness of it suits the story better, I think, as teary-eyed endings are almost as bad as actual happy endings. *shudders* I'm glad that, even though you were expecting a different type of ending, that this one worked for you. I was worried about how this one would turn out and how people would react to it.

So the plot did click into place for you after a couple goings-through? That's a relief, since I can hardly make sense of what was going on at times. :P Guess I'll have to read it again to see what was really happening through the time-change parts.

The Marius ending had been written last summer, and it was strange to keep steering the story back to that ending. He's an interesting character. And that part with Snape and Emilia at the very end, I'm glad you liked that. It's a powerful moment, so sad for both of them.

Thank you again for reviewing and reading and enjoying! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by Oceansurferg 

24th March 2008:
I liked that ending. It was just what it needed to be. Her child's point of view. The small connection between Severus and Emilia. Yah, just a sweet yet sad ending. It's been a great story! Thanks for writing it. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for reading it! It's great that you enjoyed this ending - I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out or be received with all the trouble it gave me to write. It means so much that you enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by DAC 

23rd March 2008:
That was soo great!

I really loved how the chapter was told from Minerva's POV for the begining. That was lovely. and I really liked Snape and Emma's goodbye.

It was incredibly fitting considering the whole epic story of their relationship.

Great job as always!!

Author's Response: Yes, the first bit of this chapter was supposed to mirror the very first chapter which began similarly with Grimm. :) Thanks very much for reading, reviewing, and enjoying this story! ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>