Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by singer123 

21st November 2011:
this one is turning out really great!!!
its also a lot like what Harry went through at his aunt's house...

 Report Review

Review #2, by Patience 

6th October 2011:
I'm really enjoy your story and can't wait to see where it goes.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Bauhinia 

17th August 2011:
This story is fantastic so far! I love Nyah's character, how she seems so intelligent and that she stays strong even when her parents aren't very nice to her. I feel so sorry for her! I love this story, can't wait to read more :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Debia 

12th July 2011:
Very interesting I was sorry the chapter ended.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Occlument 

12th December 2010:
Again, this chapter is extremely well written. Are you sure you're not Jo?

 Report Review

Review #6, by SaphireSmiles 

24th November 2010:
My only advice is that there is a discrepancy in your two first paragraphs -
the first, she's nervous about going to the study
and the second, she's boldly approaching the doors.

so...which is it?

Perfect otherwise! :D
On to chapter 3!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Niamh 

25th July 2010:
I LOVE your writing and I can't stop reading!!! One thing though (sorry) you used impeccable three or more times in the last two chapters, which may only bug me so no worries sorry I shouldn't even have said that. Your amazing!

Author's Response: LOL - I hate when I do that! Thanks for noticing and bringing it to my attention! ... and a very special thanks for reading and letting me know what you think - I really do appreciate it!

~ HPMom


 Report Review

Review #8, by iloveblack 

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Iím here to leave a review for HPFFSAD!

I really like this chapter. Itís really refreshening to stumble over a fic once in a while that hasnít got romance already dripping out of the first two chapters.

Even without huge battles, romance drama, mysterious deaths etc., you have me ont he edge of my chair, waiting for more. By the way, this fic is definitely favourited (:

Itís also good to see that Nyah isnít all alone but that her sister, dad and the housekeeper are sort of on her side. But I really hater her mother and brother - grrr -.

Antje

 Report Review

Review #9, by Temple Deer 

7th October 2009:
I think the development in the situation in Father's office is well-paced and realistically done. The description of the flying papers is nicely written, and engaging. The only picky thing I tripped up on was the fire leaping out of its "confinement". I don't know why, but that word bugs me. *thinks* I can see the anthropomorphism (sp?) going on, starting with the papers, but suddenly with the word 'confinement' it became blatantly obvious for me, and shook me out of the story. Wow, this IS picky of me, sorry. I'd replace it with 'grate', personally.

Also, the para beginning "Nyah had stomped... " I think the grammar of the paragraph requires the perfect in the next bit as well: "had thrown". The 'now' bit of the story is Anna knocking on the door, the Nyah throwing herself on the bed took place sometime during the clean-up in the office. Gee, here I am taking apart your grammar, and my own in this review is a mess!

Nice to come across a Mom writing fan fiction, by the way. I was afraid I was the only one! I will treat myself to chpt 3 tomorrow.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Magical_Melody 

2nd June 2009:
I feel so bad for Nyah. She's so mistreated. Why doesn't someone report Catherine for bad parenting. Child services, man, child services.

 Report Review

Review #11, by harrylover90 

29th November 2008:
i love your chapter because although they are not full with action you no something is going to happen and your anxious to see what. thanks x

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jenna 

16th November 2008:
Dropped off? I didn't expect that! Your one amazing author!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pegasus1979 

26th October 2008:
Aw... another wonderful chapter.
It's hard to write lengthy reviews for chapters that are so well written because there is so little critique to give.

I love how you show Nyah's frustration. The swirling, flying papers was the perfect choice to give her anger life.
Beautiful!

I'm going to add this to my favourites so that I can come back to it and do some more reviews after I've read some other peoples!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pookha 

15th October 2008:
Again, a beautifully well-told chapter. I particularly like fics with youngsters discovering their magic and the chaos that surrounds that, so Nyah's coming of age interests me.

I really liked the way that Nyah does the classic 'ask one parent so the other agrees' thing. It not only feels true to life, it is true to life and it gives the chapter a true, organic feeling of actuality.

 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins_pants 

9th October 2008:
Well, I didn't read it before, but the revised version is great! I sure wish I could make things explode when I get angry...lol ok maybe that's not such a good idea! Anyway, Nyah's character is so enthralling, she really makes me just want to reach out and hug her. And I'm so happy she has Anna and Mrs. Cleary to comfort her. If I had a mother like that I would be insane!
Ok, so this "dropping" stuff..I'm so curious! I love suspense and this story is definetly full of it. 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Mistress 

8th October 2008:
Wow, I love the writing style you use. And that chapter image is just creepy haha. On to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by notenoughpotter 

12th June 2008:
For some reason, the description of the father's office made me think of Annie. Great description - I could really picture it in my head.

I see that I may have been correct about Nyah not truly being part of the family.

I didn't plan to stop and review here, but I liked this chapter a great deal. I wanted to let you know.

 Report Review

Review #18, by TantheCan 

8th June 2008:
Hmmm...

I'm liking that Nyah has family on her side. From the previous chapter, it felt as if she was an outsider, but I like that her Father is nice and so is her sister, Anna.

You did a great job with grabbing my attention with the little blurb that Mother let out.

I must say you have a real flair for writing. I really feel for Nyah and the situation she is in.

Great chapter over all!

Author's Response:

Hello again! :)

Yes, Nyah has family that does care about her... it would be unbearable to think a child has no one to look out for her... :(

Ah, yes, that little 'blurb' Mother let slip... that is the beginning of Nyah's Road Home.

I'm very glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by xXmalfoysgirl4everXx 

7th June 2008:
Another great chapter! Again, I like everything that I mentioned in the previous review. If you don't mind...I might just skip a couple reviews for some chapters, but I will review most. Sometimes I just get to into the story to take time to review! I see you have a lot of reviews already, that's awesome! Everything you mentioned on the thread doesn't really seem to be in here, it's very well written! 10/10 -malfoysgirl

Author's Response:

Hello again! :D

You can read/review as many as you like! I'm thrilled you're enjoying it! Take as much time as you need - I don't mind!

I'm glad things flow well. It's my first attempt at writing, so I worry about everything, so I'm it's good news that you are enjoying it!

Thanks for stopping by! It's very helpful!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Love Made Visible 

29th May 2008:
I preferred this chapter to the first one. There is more character development in this chapter, as in the last one I felt something was missing, that we were getting alot of information about Nyah but not about the people around her, it's great that some of my questions were finally answered.

You're able to write really well, I can really understand the way that Nyah is feeling, your writing style really speaks to the reader directly, it's a good technique. Also, I think you put across the character of her father well. He seems to care for Nyah, which makes me wonder why he puts up with the abuse that her mother is giving his daughter...which leads me to think that he's altogether wrapped around her little finger. I'm looking forward to reading more, both for the character development and to see what happens.

I really feel sorry for Nyah!

~ Sophie

Author's Response:

Hello again! :)

I'm glad there was more 'substance' to the minor characters in this chapter, but it too needs a bit more probably. :)

Nyah's character is very easy to write, and I'm glad you can get a good sense of her through the writing.

Father and Mother have a bit of history that will be explained later on in the story. But yes, Father simply believes whatever Mother tells him and will agree with her every time. He does love Nyah, but doesn't dare cross Mother's decisions.

Thank you again for another lovely review! I do appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Leo072491 

27th May 2008:
Excelent second chapter. It anwsered more character questions that the first left out though not all of them. However now I'm a bit confused again.
Does she know that she can do magic or not? The way she mentions not turning Alexander into a toad but they way she is suprised that the papers are flying over her head kind of contradict each other. Also Anna and cook dont seem to suprised by her little display. Do they know? There are just a few bits like that in the character development that are confusing. Like the father. He seems to care about his daughter so why does he let her mother treat her like that? These are just some questions that probably should be anwsered early on in order to not contradict Nyph's background story.
Other than that the flow plot and everything else is great! I'll continue on to the next chapter.

~Leo

Author's Response:

Hello again Leo! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter!

Nyah is an interesting character in that, somewhat like Harry, strange things happen to her and around her that she cannot explain, but mostly when she is very emotional. I don't believe she was surprised about the papers... neither were Anna or Mrs. Cleary.

The entire house knows about these strange happenings, especially when she doesn't take her medication. The medicine dulls her senses as well as her emotion, thus nearly stopping the 'outburts'.

There is a reason that 'father' allows things to happen, but he has no idea how bad it is. 'Mother' is quite secretive and as much as 'Father' is absent, she can tell him pretty much whatever she wants and would dare anyone to cross her and tell him the truth. I don't know that I could reveal the true reason behind why 'Mother' has full reign of the house this early in the story... but know that it is revealed... :)

Thanks so much... I've got more to think about and I appreciate your comments! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by marinahill 

23rd May 2008:
hi!
my favourite line: "He said that first impressions are vital and a mirror would show you what you need to fix before making an entrance."

again, your descriptions were really vivid. i love the world you have created around Nyah. her house reminds me of a book a read when i was in primary school, and my grandma's old house, which is nice as i get a nostalgic feeling!

So... Nyah is possibly adopted/ something else? this is interesting, and i cant wait to see what explanation you have. The scene in her father's office was good, and the dialogue was strong. I could feel her mother's anger when she found Nyah in there.

another strong chapter!

Author's Response:

Hello again! :)

I'm very glad you enjoyed this chapter! It was fun to create another side - the magical one - in this segment.

Is Nyah adopted you ask? Well, I can't give it all away in my response here, other than to say keep reading. [wink]

Thank you for taking time to review! I really appreciate it!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Malfoy_Lives_On (WittleAna) 

22nd May 2008:
Aw. I feel so bad for her not being able to go! What a mean mother she has! Great story, but I think you had a few punctuation errors here and there. Nothing major. A beta could help.

Author's Response:

Hi :)

Nyah's 'Mother' is quite awful... but it gets better... eventually. :)

I'm glad you enjoyed the story so far! Thanks for taking time to review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ariana_Gryffindor 

22nd May 2008:
So i'm back.

Okay so i lliked this chapter again, i like the fear and awkwardness you put in the speech when Nyah was asking her father to go to the party. i think he is a better person that i first assumed, but he is twisted around his wife little finger. i don't htink i ilike her at all.

Why did everyone chose to call Nyah, nyah? just as a thought. the hint about her being "dropped off" was really good, it really makes you think. Who was she before she was there? who are her parents? where they purebloods? it seems to answer as to why she did not fit in.

i like that fac that Anna is so nice to her it makes the family so diverse, The psuhover but friendly father, the cruel and dominating mother, the suck up brother, the abidable but caring sister and Nyah the odd one out.

And that about it. um i said i would only read two chapters of this but a i may read a few more as i didn't realised i would get this hooked to it. ir may not be many though because i am juggling it with my studies.

Thanks
Steph

Author's Response:

Hello again, Steph! :D

You're right, 'Father' is a wuss when it comes to 'Mother'... but there is a reason which is discussed a bit later on in the story. :D

Nyah's name will also be revealed, but not until the very end of the story... so please bear with me. Just know.. there is a reason!

Yes, everyone in the family has a bit of a different character, as is in all families. :)

I'm honored that you're enjoying it enough to continue reading past the second chapter! How exciting! :D Thanks!!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by LostInTranslation 

19th May 2008:
I really enjoyed this chapter, and the development of Nyah and her magical abilities. I also enjoy how you made her mother and father very believable and three dimensional in their development. A lot of the time, with OC's and their parents, the OC's parents are terribly underdeveloped, but you've done a really good job with this :) And even more good news, i didn't find really any spelling or grammar to pick at :)

Excellent work!
10/10

Author's Response:

Hello again!

I'm very glad all of the characters thus far are coming across well! Thanks for taking time to look at the chapter and leaving a wonderful review!

Wow... no major errors! yeah! :D

Thanks!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>