Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by justawillowtree 

4th September 2017:
Okay, so I've read each and every one of your Next Gen fics, even though I know this is one of your more famous ones. So, I'm giving it a shot now! And so far, the story is quite cute. I've always wondered about Molly Weasley's maiden name -- is it actually Prewett?

Author's Response: Yes, it is Prewett! I put a lot of research and effort into making this story canon and historically accurate (Molly and Arthur are my mother's age, so her stories of being a 60s teenager were helpful). I hope you like it! It's a lot fluffier than my Next Gens.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lily 

13th May 2015:
Oh my gosh! I found this fic looking for a highly rated/awarded one to read & one chapter I am not disappointed! Your writing, your OCs, & the way you portray the characters I am already loving & giving me the feels! Arthur is such a sweetheart X3 Can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFan 

14th August 2014:
Wow, Molly really doesn't beat around the bush, does she. Usually when a girl says that she's going to do something in order to get noticed by the object of her affections it usually doesn't mean, 'I'm going to slip him love potion.' And of course the plan didn't go well. It's like Karma is sitting on a chair with a drink, watching Molly and thinking, 'it's cute how you thought that would end well.'

And then Arthur and Thaddeus got all territorial over Molly (well, mostly Thaddeus really). At least Arthur realised that Molly wasn't a piece of meat and that she was the one who had to make the decision about which one of them she would choose. I think you could tell a lot about Arthur and Thaddeus's character just by the way that they were holding Molly's hands. Thaddeus got a little bit more possessive while Arthur was still gentle despite his growing temper.

I love how Arthur backed down when Molly chose Thaddeus. He didn't make a fuss about her decision but simply walked away because he just wanted Molly to be happy.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cho Chang 

12th March 2013:
Really great job! Very enjoyable!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by mum_weasley 

4th March 2013:
Oh my goodness! Imagine my surprise when I saw the title of this story winning all these awesome awards and wondering "Well when the heck did I submit MY story for all these???" lol Nope, my story "The Unsinkable Molly Prewitt WEASLEY" is NOT even close to be well written as this one is. I am certainly enjoying this though, can't wait to see how you write Molly, mine was very sugary. On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm not exactly sure how to respond to this. While I thank you for being my 800th reviewer and hope you enjoy the story, I can't tell if you're implying I plagiarized your story title. I have never heard of your story nor read it, but from a quick look at your account, it appears both of us were inspired by "The Unsinkable Molly Brown" for a title. My awards are my own, and my writing is my own. This is a fluffy story, the time period lends itself well to sweetness.

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm 

6th February 2013:
Hello there, Iíve been meaning to check out this story for ages, but as itís been nominated in the ship off itís an incentive for me to finally read it! And I can just quickly say I love The Supremes and that song, and it seems to perfectly fit what I imagine Arthur and Mollyís relationship to be like!

I rather liked Molly being adventurous as itís a nice change from the housewife we usually see her as, and it was funny to see that she had other romantic interests other than Arthur! And the fact that she wants to make a love potion must show that sheís a clever, a thing people often ignore and assume sheís not as sheís just a homemaker.

Poor old Arthur having to be a lackey of someone else, heís always mistreated isnít he and he doesnít deserve to as he is a lovely person! And poor old Molly getting herself into a Ďwobbleí as both of them took the potion!

I thought it was a great start to the story and I canít wait to read on!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry it took me so long to respond to your reviews! I've been inexcusably lazy about getting to these.

I really enjoyed reading your reviews. Thank you so much for reviewing every chapter! It's really made me smile to hear what you think about the story as it progresses.

Molly has a lot more spunk than she generally gets credit for in fanfic, which I think is primarily because in the books we only see her as a 40-something mother, and the majority of fanfic writers are (it seems) teenagers. So I approach her a bit differently. :)

Arthur isn't a lackey exactly, Molly just doesn't view him as the important person in this exchange because she's focused on Thad.

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 

9th December 2012:
OH why have I not come here before this?! I've been meaning to read this for ages as its on my must read list but I just haven't found time to make my way over here yet and now that I have, I really don't want to stop reading! I love Molly in this and her friend Hattie seems really nice and supportive of her! I couldn't help but feel bad for Molly though when Thaddeus duplicated the bottle of butterbeer that was laced with the love potion meant only for him. This was a wonderful set up to your story, it captured my interest right away and makes me wonder what exactly is going to happen next. The chapter flowed really well and was such an enjoyable read! One thing is for sure, I will be making my way back to this story sometime and hopefully sometime soon! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I have a huge list of things I want to read one day when I have time, so I totally understand :) I'm glad you enjoyed the kick-off to the story, and I hope you get a chance to finish it! It's a bit of a meandering plot, since I made this story up as I went along for the most part, but I will always be very fond of this story. I adore Arthur/Molly. Still my favorite pairing. :) Poor Molly, she's so embarrassed in this chapter. I did have fun taking that brief little canon reference to her making a love potion and creating the entire story from there. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by TenthWeasley 

28th September 2012:
So, this is a sort of gift to you. Not that I'm going to be pretentious enough to call any of my reviews gifts, per se, but it's a sort of thank-you from me, and from all the QTR editors, for helping us get this off the ground. It's been going now for two years and without your help, well, I really don't think the newsletter would be what it is today. And though this doesn't even begin to cover our gratitude, I really wanted to try and show you what it means to all of us. And so I've been stocking up reviews just to bomb you with them at anniversary time. And hopefully this will be able to convey at least a fraction of how very thankful we are that you helped make QTR great!

I've been meaning to read this story for ages -- I've been meaning to read a lot of your stories for ages, actually, but especially this one. Not only is it rather a notable one, but I've never read a story solely centered around the Arthur/Molly pairing before, and it seemed that one from an author like you would be as good a place as any to start. But let me tell you -- if I wander into any Arthur/Molly stories after this one, the bar's been set much too high for them!

Already this story has absolutely hooked me in -- and when I say hooked, I do mean hooked! I honestly can't remember the last time I've wanted to keep on reading a story so badly, and I mean that in the very literal sense. There are tons of good stories on the archives, but it's pretty rare that I come across one that makes it so it almost hurts not to click immediately over to the next chapter. (I had to yank myself away from this to eat dinner, and it was homemade pizza, so that should tell you something!) I think a lot of that's got to do with your characters. Molly, Hattie, Thaddeus, and Arthur are all incredibly well-written, and they're so real -- I wouldn't be surprised to meet them walking down a hallway, just because of how human they read. Hattie had me giggling a lot in this first chapter; I'm going to take a very wild guess and say that Molly's the leader of that duo. ;) Her reactions to the whole duplicated-drinks scenario was priceless!

Although really, Molly should have known better than to spike a butterbeer with love potion, shouldn't she? Not just because that's probably breaking nearly every school rule (let's not skive off lessons, but tainting drinks is totally fine!), but also because, well, those things never do go smoothly, do they? I could imagine it all so well, though, and oh, Arthur. He has no idea what he just walked into! Thaddeus either, I suppose... but mostly Arthur. ♥

Their reactions to the potions were priceless! It does make me wonder what kinds of shenanigans Hogwarts professors might have had to put up with on a daily basis, even before Harry appeared and started causing all worlds of trouble... Arthur and Thaddeus preparing to duel over Molly! Oh, be careful what you wish for, eh? Arthur's comment on her eyes was the best. Poor girl -- that right there is your future husband, Molly, so you'd better prepare yourself. Except she picked Thaddeus and crushed Arthur's lovesick heart... I am seriously impressed with him for staying noble through a love potion, though. If Molly doesn't want him, I'll gladly take him off her hands.

Well, if you can make any sense of this review, more power to you! :3 Honestly, though -- this story? Fantastic, and absolutely worthy of its awards. And then some! I fully and absolutely cannot wait to continue on with it! You're a FANTASTIC writer! ♥

Author's Response: Ack your reviews are so awesome I feel like my response is never going to do them justice!

Molly is definitely the leader of her BFF duo - no surprise there ;) Spiking something with love potion is just never going to end well. Poor Molly. I took the love potion idea from canon, cause you know how I love canon details. In Prisoner of Azkaban, she tells Ginny and Hermione about making a love potion "as a girl" - all three are giggling over it, so I tried to think of a story to explain that to fit in. It's embarrassing to her, but it's also the start of how she fell in love with Arthur. So hopefully that works.

"That's your future husband" made me grin. So true - she just doesn't know it yet. And picked the wrong boy. And of course poor Thad gets no choice there, since it was an unfair question when they're both cracked out on love potion. Fortunately she'll hear the truth soon enough.

Arthur is a seriously decent guy. I was always so impressed by him in the books that I wanted to really show his character in this story. I think a lot more people fell in love with him than Molly, and that makes me super happy ;)

Thank you so much for reviewing! It means a lot to me. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne 

20th September 2012:
I could never imagine Molly making a love potion, but you've made it so realistic so it must have happened! :-D I felt sorry for Arthur being sad and letting Molly go, he really does care for her.
I really liked the start of this story and I can't wait to read more. I've heard so many great things about this story so I'm quite excited hehe.

Author's Response: It's canon! In Prisoner of Azkaban, when Harry meets up with the Weasleys and Hermione at the Leaky Cauldron, Molly tells Ginny and Hermione about making a love potion "when she was a girl". The whole idea for the story started from there. :)

Thank you so much for reviewing, I hope you enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Snapdragons 

18th July 2012:
I've heard so much about this story, but I haven't read it yet, so I decided to fix that! I love that this is going to be about Molly and Arthur - I've never read anything about the pair, or this era, for the matter, so this is exciting.

It's a really nice beginning for the story - I already like Molly and Hattie. I really do like how they seem their ages, if that makes sense - it just seems like such a thing a witch her age would do, sort of silly but well-meaning. I don't know if that makes sense, but it does in my head! :P

A good love triangle always is fun to read. Poor Arthur though - he seems crushed. Dear me. I can't wait to see where this leads! An excellent first chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you came to read! I hope you like the story! It's a bit disjointed in places, as I wrote it to be a short story and tacked on plot later to turn it into a novel, but I am still very fond of this story so I haven't tried to re-write it. So stick with it, I promise ;) It's fun.

Molly's love potion is based on a canon line in PoA, and I put it at this point in her school years since it seems like the sort of thing a 16 year old girl does. Silly but well-meaning is a perfect description of it!

Poor Arthur. He's a sweetie. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by LadySlytherin96 

31st October 2011:
Oh, Molly...can't you tell that Arthur's the one who really loves you, even without the love potion?

I'm beginning to see why this one the Dobby Award, and of course I want to go and read the rest now.

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I'm glad you're liking it.

Arthur is the best, isn't he? I just love him. And Molly of course, she was my favorite in the books. So adorable, those two.


 Report Review

Review #12, by webeta123 

8th August 2011:
This first chapter was very interesting. It really sets up the preamble for the rest of the story and makes me feel sad for Arthur. It is such a Arthur-like thing for him to do. The OC is definitely interesting, I cant' wait to see where you go with him. All in all, a wonderful first chapter.

~webeta123
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Poor Arthur. But he comes out victorious in the end, of course - I'm super-canon, so it couldn't be any other way with this ship ;) Thank you very much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

11th July 2011:
Hi!

I've been meaning to come back and review this story for ages! It's one of the first stories I ever read on the archives, way back before I even became a member, and I have to say, after all this time, it's still one of my favorites.

You have such a way with words. The way this starts intrigues me. It's not necessarily embellished with a ton of fancy metaphors and such, but it doesn't need to be. It reads like a book. Molly's emotions while she's brewing the love potion, the teenage hormones, the fight. All of it could honestly be a novel I picked off the shelf at Barnes and Nobles.

It's an amazing story. You probably get tired of hearing that, but its so true.

-Naida

Author's Response: I will NEVER get tired of hearing that. It makes me smile, makes me happy, every time I get a review on this story. I love to hear that it makes people happy when they read it, that I could entertain them for a while or suck them into the fluff. Ha!

No, I'm not a fan of the overwritten, imagery and metaphor style of description. Too much going on. I usually skip over that when I read, so I don't often write it. I prefer story-telling rather than poetry, kwim?

Thank you so much - I'm glad you came back to review, and that it's still one of your favorites!

*hugs*
WTM/momotwins


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose 

23rd June 2011:
The Arithmancy professior is Prof. Arccos? Clever, very very clever.

Author's Response: Ah, you're the first person to notice that! ;) Nicely done. Yep, that's a trig reference.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Roots in Water 

18th June 2011:
I just wanted to say that this is off to a fabulous start! I've never really read any pre-Harry stories and definitely never any centered around this pairing! I find this really well-written and I'm glad that you didn't start off with Molly fancying Arthur- this will just make it all the more interesting once she does fall for him!
I am definitely going to read some more of this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you like it! This pairing is an unusual one, for reasons that escape me - it's my favorite pairing, but I'm still the only person to complete a novel on them. Not sure why other people don't write Molly/Arthur. Anyway, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by busybusybeta 

21st May 2011:
LOL. i know this story is a bit old, but i when i saw that it had won an award, i decided to check it out and i am SO glad i did. this sounds HILARIOUS. i couldn't stop laughing and grinning the whole chapter!
cannot WAIT to find out what happens! hahahaha

Author's Response: It's funny, I don't think of it as old, but I finished it almost 3 years ago. Hard to believe I've been around the archive for 4 years! I'm glad you're reading it and I hope you enjoy! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sincerely_Snape 

4th March 2011:
This is my second time reading Unsinkable, and I am enjoying it even more than the first time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're liking it, especially on a re-read. I appreciate you reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ForgottenFace 

28th February 2011:
Hi Megan!

I said I was going to read it :P

Ahah, poor Molly, it was her fault, though. That's exactly how teenagers work :P
Aww, Arthur. Did the love potion even work on him? Thaddeus is acting more obssessive and Arthur saying it was her choice.was he in love with her before the potion? :P

I'm going to read one chapter a day, if you don't mind. Don't want to rush through this ^^

~ Becca

Author's Response: Yes you did :) Thank you for reading and reviewing, I appreciate it.

Y'know, it really IS how teenagers work - and it was all Molly's own fault. Good catch on the effects of the potion. It was because he was already in love with her, yes.

Thank you again!

WTM


 Report Review

Review #19, by Debra20 

7th February 2011:
Many, many times I have started reading a story and said story turned me away from the first chapter. Usually, not because of grammar or phrasing, but because the portraying of the characters.
So, for me, starting a story is very hard because I am afraid of being disappointed while reading it, especially if the pairing has few stories written. So Thank You for making my day! I loved how you pictured Arthur and Molly and the idea you had to get it all started. I can hardly wait to read more

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm a canon girl, so I try to stay close to their characters in the books while still writing them 30 years younger. And the love potion idea is from Prisoner of Azkaban - there's a brief sentence toward the beginning where Molly is telling Hermione and Ginny about making a love potion when she was young. I decided to make a story around that. And then it turned into a novel :) Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm so glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by xxpetrapan 

6th February 2011:
Oh..how I adore love potion triangles! That was very cute I really like Molly so far! Can't wanit to read the rest!

-Kattia

Author's Response: lol - It won't last, Thad really isn't interested in poor Molly. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ReAnimated 

29th November 2010:
Like right off the bat. Truthfully I was really wary about reading a Molly/Arthur story but so many other people liked it I thought I had to a least give it a try. And even though you've already completed this story, I will still give a review for each of the chapters I read. I mean, why should the reviews stop after it's done? Right?

Author's Response: I adore reviews, so thank you so much for reviewing every chapter! I really do appreciate it. There actually aren't a lot of young Molly/Arthur stories on the archive. I'm actually the only one to complete a novel on them, oddly. I thought it was surprising when I first started this story, because they're my favorite ship. :) Thank you again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by PrincessPadfoot 

22nd October 2010:
Oh no!!! Love potion gone awry!!!

I feel sorry for Arthur :( He seems like a sweet boy and quite the gentleman for stepping aside.

I wonder what will happen when Thaddeus takes the antidote. Will he remember the situation? Will he still go out with Molly?

I really like the characterization of Molly. She seems like a very good student and very much a teenage witch with a crush Totally believable :P I also like Hattie's reluctance at wanting to watch the boys take the love potion. She seems like a good supporting character and she has lots of potential.

Well I'm off to bed!! I hope I can continue reading this tomorrow!!

Love ya!
PP

Author's Response: Arthur's a good guy. And Molly, well she's young and silly. Very teenage, yeah. Hattie is one of my favorites, I really like her (although really, I think all the OCs are my favorite. lol).

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it. Sleep tight ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by moonbaby11 

6th October 2010:
First off, contests with being chosen for the first ever Ravenclaw Book Club! I'm really enjoying this story and I'm so glad that it got picked, as I've been wanting to read it for a while, but always putting it aside.

I love your characterizations of Arthur and Molly. I think that they seem really canon and in character. Poor Molly, now having the two boys on her love potion. I can't wait to see how Arthur and Molly get together. Great story so far. It's a really good and original idea. I can't wait to read chapter 2! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope it goes well, I'd like to see the Book Club really take off. It's such a Ravenclaw-y thing to do! You guys really have been coming up with great ideas for our house, it does my little Head heart proud ;)

I tried to keep them close to their canon personalities at the base level, but because they're 30 years younger, they've got 30 years less experience with the world, they're not quite the same. I hope it works. Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by _hedwig_ 

9th September 2010:
I wanted to read this, but I kept on putting it off, for some reason, and even if this is only the first chapter, I still like it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you gave it a chance! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jazzeh Turnip 

22nd August 2010:
I like the names of your characters. Henrietta Habbershaw? Genius, and very in keepwith with the HP universe's habit of using obscure names to name all the children born into it.

I love this young Molly. There was a reason this won a Dobby, eh? It's brilliant, and hilarious. Hattie seems a little like the dim best friend, which just makes me laugh. I love her character already.

So much chaos in just the first chapter ^.^ -reads on to the next-

9/10
Lorren

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I'm still totally delighted to have won two Dobbies on this story (since really, the Most Convincing Ship wasn't associated with a story, but it was this. What else do I write? lol).

Hattie's one of my favorites, and I totally got a kick out of naming her. It sounded like a Jane Austen name to me. Totally Regency.

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>