Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hermy1 

17th July 2014:
So far, Running with Wolves is so good!! Initially,I was doubtful of the letter/journal format, but now I find that it is not only a fun way to read, but you have made it work so well. Kerri is such a wonderful, original character, and I admire the way she is determined not to be like Voldemprt, yet is sensitive to how others might take if they knew. I also love how she has close relationships with I several significant characters from the original harry potter books. There are so many more awesome things about this i could write, but frankly.it would take all day, so I'll just say: Brilliant!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hermy1 

17th July 2014:
So far, Running with Wolves is so good!! Initially,I was doubtful of the letter/journal format, but now I find that it is not only a fun way to read, but you have made it work so well. Kerri is such a wonderful, original character, and I admire the way she is determined not to be like Voldemprt, yet is sensitive to how others might take if they knew. I also love how she has close relationships with I several significant characters from the original harry potter books. There are so many more awesome things about this i could write, but frankly.it would take all day, so I'll just say: Brilliant!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by knicoles 

25th July 2013:
Okay, I'm getting the whole Hagrid interplay now, I had wondered how that was going to pan out. It seems he's had a big influence in her life, not just a periphery character. It's interesting to go from the interplay between Kerri and Snape last chapter to her and Hagrid in this one. She acts with no nonsense like Snape, but is warmer than him. It's also interesting that the daughter of the man who framed Hagrid to get sent to Azkaban, looks to Hagrid as a role model / fatherly figure.

It also seems funny to me that Kerri is comfortable in Dumbledore's presense. It goes past that of even Harry, which was written with a certain awe surrounding Dumbledore still, to one of confidence (I couldn't imagine being so forthcoming about my emotions and with such a man and expecting to receive advice back) and cohorts ("sneaking" into the kitchens for a snack). This'll be an interesting relationship to follow, as well.

 Report Review

Review #4, by lunylovegoodlover 

16th February 2011:
I really like the way you're writing this; the letters and journal entries are really neat. I love stories written like this!!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it.

Originally I bumped heads with the staff here over the letter-journal entry format. I didn't realize it was forbidden and one of them overlooked it and accidentally permitted eight chapters to go through before realizing the mistake. I had to actually stop calling the journal entries what they are in order for the series to be legal again. This way I'm happy because I can continue posting and the staff is happy because I'm not technically breaking any rules. The journal entries are still journal entries, just no longer marked as such after about the 8th chapter. I came very close to scrapping this whole project back then and I'm so glad I didn't have to.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Aeana 

15th February 2010:
I love the journal style that you're utilising from this story. I normally dislike this style as it seems a little bitty to me but you make it seamless. You transfer from "current events" to journal entries with ease and it makes it enjoyable to read.

Well done. Keep this up and I'll be happy to keep reviewing! :o)

Author's Response: This story was almost abandoned because of the journal format. The staff validated eight chapters before realizing there was a rule against the all journal format. We ended up compromising by them allowing me to stop marking the journals as journals (Excerpt from the journal of.). Obviously they're still journals but since they aren't marked as such, they're legal.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Skypaw 

27th November 2009:
I love the humor and think that you've got their personalities down to a T. I just hope Dumbledore continues to be as great of a person in your story as I know he is. Snape too.

Author's Response: Thanks.

Dumbledore is kind of intimidating to write since he is a wise old man and I don't consider myself and especially wise person. The only thing that makes it tolerable is his eccentricity which balances out the wisdom.

Snape is my second favorite character. In this story I wanted to show the more noble side of him without watering him down.


 Report Review

Review #7, by funkynat 

25th November 2009:
no worries, you're doing great! Its taking shape and well written. The character starts to become interesting

Author's Response: Thanks.

People do generally seem to like my OC's. Kerri actually managed to win the Best OC Dobby for me. I'm very proud of that because "Voldemort's daughter" is considered a cliche.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Molly 

3rd October 2009:
Not crazy about the name Kerri, but I like the story still. Dumbledore is well-written, which is great. It's always very hard to write for him.

Author's Response: You're the second person who hasn't liked Kerri's name. I'm curious why? Because it sounds like "Harry"?

The thing I think that makes Dumbledore possible to write is his eccentricity. He's such a wise person that it would be intimidating otherwise but his offbeat nature makes it easy.


 Report Review

Review #9, by ChoS_sista_gurl 

12th November 2008:
Funniest moment: "How is it that no one ever says Voldemortís name, but everyone knows it anyway?...I think we should just call him Evil M- F- and be done with it."

That was such an unexpected thing to throw in, considering the general somber mood of the story up until now. It startled me into laughing aloud. =]

AWW moment: "I hate it when people start trying to convince me to date. I just never felt it was right, considering the circumstances of my parentage.Some lines just need to die out -- especially those with inbred psychopathic tendencies."

Now THIS is a side of Voldemort's daughter that I have not ever seen written. She's never even met the guy, and yet she feels connected to him and indirectly responsible for all his evils. She's even willing to sacrifice her own happiness and hope for a normal life for the "good" of society. What a tragic, but realistic, point of view. Well done.

And of course, Dumbledore was very well portrayed, too. I loved the random comment about snacks, it's just the sort of wisdom Dumbledore would dispense. The way he made Kerri feel better was just like him as well.

On to the next one.

~CSG

Author's Response: Shoot...I responded to this earlier and it doesn't seem to have gone through. I hate when that happens. I think what I said was.

"Now THIS is a side of Voldemort's daughter that I have not ever seen written. She's never even met the guy, and yet she feels connected to him and indirectly responsible for all his evils." - Thanks. This is part of an important theme in the story. Kerri is constantly worried about what evil tendencies she might have and is always keeping an eye on the monster inside herself. This is why she fits so well with Remus who has a monster of his own to deal with.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shellee 

14th May 2008:
Sweetheart, this is great! It's different, from the fictions I have been reading, and I love it. They all do seem interested in her love life. Those unicorns sound so sweet. Tsk, they do seem a bit of players, those male unicorns. Hehe. She really does seem so worried about being Voldemort's daughter. I guess she'll take at least as much time as Harry, to realise she's not her father and she's her own person, a great one at that. I have a big feeling that Dumbledore already has an inkling to know that Kerri and Remus are going to get along perfectly. Fun at the Burrow, I'm guessing. I also think she's not going to hear the end of her basically been set up with Charlie.

Author's Response: Well. I like to think it's different. When I started planning it....years ago actually....I hadn't read any fan fictions but my own. I never learned all the conventions and cliche's that people use so maybe that accounts for some of the originality.

Kerri's fear that she takes after Voldemort is one of those things that I think makes her perfect for Remus. He's lived his life in fear of the wolf inside himself and she's lived hers in fear of finding Voldemort inside herself. Dumbledore probably recognizes that and that's why he's sort of trying to push them together.


 Report Review

Review #11, by JLHufflepuff 

26th April 2008:
This chapter cracked me up simply because I love Kerri's snide sense of humor! It seems like almost every other line has some little jibe in it that strikes my fancy! Here are some of my favorites:
-inbred psychopathic tendencies
-call him an Evil M--- F---
- luring unicorns till I'm 90
There are more, but I'm too lazy to go find them! Let's just let it suffice to say I love your sense of humor and the way you'v given it to Kerri!

Even though Hagrid is my least favorite person, I still liked getting to see Kerri interact with him. Through that I get to learn her standing in the 'Warts, and I learned some very important background information.

I can see why she would be SO annoyed that everyone seems to want to set her up with someone or see her dating. That is so annoying! Why do people (in the real world, too) have to meddle in others' business like that! It drove me INSANE in the membrane.

Anyway, I like the way Dumbly subtly mentioned Remus and his circumstances. I'm interested to see how you have portrayed the during-Sorcerer's-Stone Remus! Woot! ;)

Author's Response: Kerri has my smart aleck sense of humor I guess --- which is also a bit like Snape's. It's one way that I can show a resemblance between them. I'm glad you're entertained by it.

What is it that you have against Hagrid? Surely he's not your absolute least favorite? Lower down than Voldy, Bellatrix, and Fenrir? (My bottom three). Originally I made him important in this story just because I liked him since he and I are both animal nuts. I get to use he and Kerri now and then to preach on animal rights. Later on though there are parts where he actually came in handy. He knows a lot of interesting things even though he doesn't always grasp their significance.

Kerri is a lot like me in some ways. Her frustration with people trying to run her love life is me talking too. The more I think about it, the more appalled I am by exactly how much of myself I've given away with this character. It reminds me of Byron who always tried to say that his characters were not based on himself despite the uncanny resemblances.

Dumbledore is meddling too, but he's much sneakier than Hagrid. (And more effective).


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bella_Portia 

5th March 2008:
I enjoyed this chapter. I think you did a wonderful job with Hagrid -- nailed him! (BTY, I'm not sure if I said so, but in the previous chapter, I loved the bits about Lockhart.)
Sorry I don't have too much more to say, but this seems a transitional chapter. I think highly of your writing style.

Author's Response: Thank you.

I love Hagrid to death, and Kerri thinks of him as a father figure because he's had so much influence over her life. I'm also a big animal nut, so every now and then I can use conversations between he and Kerri to preach about that.

I'm glad you like the Lockhart parts. Lockhart becomes important later, and it should be interesting to see what you think of those parts. I've been crtiicized that those parts feel like filler, which they aren't. I have plans for Lockhart that I'm gradually building up to.

Thank you so much !


 Report Review

Review #13, by morgana67 

10th February 2008:
Ah, I'm now beginning to see how Kerri and Remus get together. Now, the notion of the "workhouse" is funny in name because places called that existed in England and they were truly terrible, where poor people were forced to go. In your story it seems like they are hard but not completely horrible. I personally would have used a different name for the establishment because of this connection, but then again, I doubt many people would actually make this strong association.

Hagrid is very good in this too. Now, you mention unicorns quite a bit and their horns. I wonder whether they will come into place later. In my story they do but not until chapter 17 and they are actually fairly significant. Interesting coincidence.

Nice chapter actually.

Author's Response: Sounds like what we call 'sweat shops' over here. The place where Remus and Kerri work is strongly based on a factory where I used to work. I even did a job similar to the one they're doing for a brief time.

Kerri's knowledge of unicorns becomes significant later when Quirrel starts killing them. By then, Snape has her helping him keep an eye on him. She's in a good position to do so because they were old school friends.

And thank you.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Richter Vans 

31st January 2008:
OMG!! I must keep op reading. Its interesting.

You dont have much grammar errors or other issues on why I wont enjoy the story. Its actually very good. But I will stop. XD. I will read some other stories from different autors.

But I will continue with this one later. I want to read about all the autors in the forum. You are very good. lots better than me actually.

Author's Response: Thank you so much -- you have no idea what it means to me. I've been posting this since August and only had one review up until now. I was beginning to wonder if it was so horrible that no one could think of anything nice to say about it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review