Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SpringTime 

14th November 2008:
So when Arthur first tells Harry about the news of Umbridge you have his "eyes chuckling sparkles" I dont know that that is appropriate given the news. It makes it sound as if it is good news that is coming not bad. I realize that he obviousy finds it all a big joke, but I am not sure that that is something that he would find especially funny (i know I wouldnt). She is an evil toe rag (that is brit slang right?) Sorry American over here. You have really made her quite nasty, which is exactly what she is. I like the idea of her using Harry's money to fund her evil plans (not like in the sense that i agree, but in the sense that it was a good thing to have her do as a character.) You so nailed that part about RAB taking Kearcher into the cave. (unless this was after HBP came out, i know you said but i forgot which chapter it was that you didn't have that bit of info in). Either way, good job. :) There is a little too much dialogue, I think you need to work on getting some decription into the story.

Author's Response: Thanks so, so much for reviewing the whole story. I'm sorry I have taken so long to reply but I had visitors at the weekend, so I haven't been on this site since Friday.

You make a good point about the sparkles, I will try to think of a better phrase. Umbridge, yes, we all absolutely hate her, don't we? I'm glad you found her plans in character.

Now, the cave scene in HBP Dumbledore mentions that one person alone could not retrieve the Horcrux and house elves appeared to have different magic (i.e. are able to Apparate to and from places that wizards cannot) so I guess that Kreacher may have been involved. RAB yes, I guessed who it was but only because someone pointed it out as a prediction in the forums. I just thought it fitted.

Yes, I do have a tendency to use too much dialogue which probably comes from the fact that I'm a bit of chatterbox myself.

Thanks for reviewing and for your very helpful observations.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Georgia Weasley 

26th October 2008:
Harry and Draco living in the same house ought to be a real treat. I cannot imagine either one of them going for that, really, but desperate times call for desperate measures. The Black Family Tapestry has been an inspiration for me, as well, and I always thought it was clever of JK to put a visual reminder up that shows how intertwined and connected the wizarding world is. It makes total sense that Harry be related to Ron and Draco somewhere back in that pure blood mess. And Umbridge as Minister? Ugh! Pass me the barf bucket! She will be bad as Stalin and Hitler when it comes to Muggle-borns. What a sadistic, greedy old hag. Your ideas for some of her more evil laws are very well done and creative. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Well, Harry and Draco are going to have some interesting interaction to say the least but I thought Harry would let him stay no matter how much he dislikes him because is too noble to indirectly let him get killed.

Umbridge, well, I love playing with this character. She is just so odious, isn't she and she definitely has it in for Harry and well all other species, so Remus is not in for an easy ride either.

I remember noticing that there was someone with the surname Potter in the canon tapestry and I thought that it seemed likely that there was some connection there somewhere, albeit a distant one.

Thanks so much for reviewing all of this. I really appreciate it. x


 Report Review

Review #3, by crazygingercatlady 

8th October 2008:
Oh Umbridge is evil. And you have done a fantastic job on making her really evil. I really like how you just didn't have her the usual nasty, you have put thought behind it and have shown just how evil she is.

I'm intrigued about the fact Harry could actually be related to Sirius, it's an interesting concept and well founded since all Purebloods are related one way or another. I'm curious- was this chapter written before or after the release of DH? I ask because the discovery of what the RAB initials could stand for and the realisation that he could have taken Kreacher is something that was a surprise for me when I read DH and I'm just curious as to whether you had saw the hints left in HBP and had guessed the outcomes.

Adding Draco into the mix at Headquarters is bound to be interesting, though a small part of my brain wonders is this an opportunity to throw Draco and Hermione together? Just kidding, I've read so many badly written Dramiones where sending Draco to headquarters seems to be the best way to get them together, I highly doubt that is your plan, I respect and enjoy your writing to much to even seriously think that that is where the plots going. But I'm getting off point =D

Another brilliant chapter, the plot is developing really well and is getting more and more intriguing.

Tory

Author's Response: This is actually the first chapter I wrote just after reading DH. However, I guess who RAB was a while back. I went on the forums at first looking for predictions and this made a lot of sense. I don't think it was my original idea but when I read someone's guess in this regard, I thought: yeah, that's got to be it. The connection with Kreacher I got it from the scene in the cave in HBP, as it became apparent that one person alone couldn't retrieve the locket.

Now, Umbridge well, she is really evil and there will be more on her later. Also, she appears a little obsessed with ruining Harry's life. Poor kid, probably the only thing apart from his friends that can make his life easy is all that money and now she won't let him have it, but don't worry they will try to outwit her.

As to a possible family link between Sirius and Harry, well, there is someone with the surname Potter in the tapestry and I checked the dates and it seemed to fit, although this plot line was never totally dealt with in the books.

No, this is not going to turn into a Dramione. Ron would kill them both! Now, what Draco decides to do at the end of this story will probably shock a few people although some hints have been given.

Thanks so much again. Yes, Draco living at Headquarters will be interesting. lol


 Report Review

Review #4, by juls 

10th May 2008:
Well, I am back! Sorry for the long pause in reads.

Have I ever expressed to you my strong dislike of Umbridge? Probably not- and I know for sure I am not the only one that dislikes her. This fits in so well with her characterization- and knowing that if she ever got hold of power, she would implement something just of this sort. Great job in plotting this out!

So finally- they have made the connection of RAB and Regulus. Poor kid- he was only trying to make his parents happy, and didn't realize until too late what he had gotten himself into.

I'm glad to see that Harry is going to bring Ginny into this all. Sure, JKR didn't- but she's in danger no matter what.

So- Draco is coming to the number 12, Grimmauld Place. Kewl!

On to the next chapter, overall lovely chapter.

~~juls

Author's Response: Thanks so much again and, please, do not worry at all about taking your time. I much catch up with yours too!

Umbridge, well... I just had to make her Ministry! Don't we just love to hate her? I was having a rant about taxation and I came up with this but she will do much worse than trying to confiscate Harry's money...

Regulus, yes, I guessed he was RAB and that an elf had been involved because of the scene in the cave in book 6 when it appears that one person alone cannot do it and elves have special magic.

I love Ginny too much to keep her in the background and, unlike in DH, her and Harry are living under the same roof and their hormones are all over the place, so Harry, despite his moronic noble attitute will not be able to stay apart from her.

Draco and Harry should be fun!

Thanks so much again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Shellee 

17th April 2008:
Oh, my, effing, god. Not Umbridge! Honestly, you have no idea how much I hate that woman with a passion. Urgh, so, so, deeply much! I still want to punch that stupid smile of her face. She can't take Harry's money. How on earth will she be able to pull that through when it's blatantly stealing? =/ I hate her, really. Good that he still has some money left. I don't see how it would help to put it into a Muggle bank account, he'd still need to "pay it back" so, hmm. She is starting to sound more and more like a Death Eater. Test someone's abilities, how the effing hell can someone perform well when they're sick or something? Urgh.
They're on the right path with Regulus, eh. I didn't exactly know that Harry was related to Sirius, such good news =) I'm sure they will figure something out in the end, after all, they're the good guys. I think Harry's being rather nice towards Draco, it's probably going to be a bit weird if Draco comes there. I can't wait to see it.
On to the next one, though I'm a bit tired and sore, it might take a bit for me to properly read and reply, I'm sure Imma get distracted by tv and things. I'm really loving this fic so far.

Author's Response: Umbridge, yes, I thought she would be fun as Minister! She is getting away with pretty much at the moment and yes, it's virtually stealing but she has had it in for Harry since the time she was at Hogwarts because he stood up to her. The Death Eater business, well you will see a bit later...

The Muggle account could be a temporary solution, to get the money out before she freezes it (the new law is still at the stage of being discussed but it's obvious that Umbridge will get it through) and in a place over which the Ministry of Magic has no jurisdiction. How this works in the end is explained later in the chapter where Harry goes to speak to the gobblins. She has done something very worrying as well to do with something else.

Regulus, well, yes, I always thought he was RAB. Harry is still not sure whether this chap is a direct relative of his or just someone with the same surname. This is taken straight from the canon tapestry family tree (as per the lexicon) but it was never stated in canon if this guy was or not a direct relative of Harry, so he may or may not...

Harry doesn't like the idea of Draco coming to live with them on bit but he knows how much danger he is in and as much as he may dislike him, he doesn't want him dead either.


 Report Review

Review #6, by punk poet 

4th April 2008:
umdrige minister no! Good idea though, she would so take his money away. i like this there are so many different elements to this story

Author's Response: Oh, Dolores, yes! Poor Harry, but Harry is not stupid and he will try to outwit her!

Thanks so much again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gords7015 

24th March 2008:
Umbridge as the minister! Ahh, the horror! Well, its a good twist, even if I hate it (which is probably your goal). I also think that Harry forgiving is a good thing, given that he remembered how Draco lowered his wand at the end. a nice chapter!

Author's Response: I thought Dolores may be fun as Minister! The Order in the end will go for a whole coup, the attack on Harry's inheritance is only the very beginning... Harry, yes, ok, he's lots of flaws but he's a compassionate peron. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing the lot! x

 Report Review

Review #8, by AnnaKay 

18th March 2008:
Eventually he has to realize that Petuina did not do anything with the DE's. It was just Snape who wanted to get them out of there before more died. Or that is my own opinion to tell you the truth.

Wow he took the news about Draco really well. Better than I thought he would when he was told. I think he also took about Snape well too. Even if he just shut them down, he did not throw a huge fit.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry can be a stubborn young man, but ok, he saw how Snape killed Dumbledore and Snape had been so mean to him all these years, well, his judgement is a bit clouded because your conclusion is correct. Same goes for Petunia. Harry sometimes lets his feelings get in the way of logic.

Now, it's really interesting because, out of curiousity I ran a full astrological chart on Harry and it's just plainly uncanny. I mean the stubborness comes from being a Leo with Taurus rising. Then, oddly enough he has Mercury in Cancer and Venus in Gemini, which in my book can only mean that this guy loves with his intellect (all the palava about Ginny) and thinks with his emotions (as he's doing here and as he acted before breaking into the Ministry before Sirius died). Anyway, please ignore me if you're not into astrology.

About Draco, well, Harry has a big heart somewhere. He is not happy about it and is a bit suspicious still but no matter how much he dislikes him, he doesn't really want him dead, so yes, he will help him. I think both him and Draco will grow up very quickly in this story, they just have to!

Thanks so much again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aurora Dawn 

29th February 2008:
Hi Morgana,

Yuck. Umbridge. If I was going to choose the worst possible candidate for Minister of Magic, she probably would have been it.right underneath Bella and Fenrir. (Stop and imagine that for a few seconds...eew) I'm sure this bodes no good for your characters. Having her making up laws that suit her interests is just so typical of her slimy nature. In your version is she actually a Death Eater or just a total fruitcake ? (Or both?)

In some things here, I notice you were pretty close to canon -- as in a lot of the chapters before this. When DH came out that must have made you pretty happy. The laws being passed against Muggleborns are what made me think of it here.

Harry is in quite a dilemma -- that's a horrible position to put him in. He can't stand Draco, and doesn't trust him, but Harry has his mother's compassionate nature (and a 'saving people thing') so I think he probably would help Draco out. If he does, I forsee a lot of interesting chapters to come.

Author's Response: Umbridge, yes, I wanted JKR to make her Minister. No, this is no good news for any of my characters and he has a vindictive nature and Harry gave her some grief in year 5, so there will be more stuff on this. I thought she would be likely to go for muggleborns. She will also do terrible things to werewolves, so Remus is not going to have a good time either. As to whether she is a death eater or not, you will find a clue in chapter 22 but it will not be 100% clear until later. Yes, I was pleased to have guessed a few things, the main one was what happens before the sex scene that I put on the validation thread, don't want to be more specific for people who don't know yet and may read the reviews.

Harry will allow Draco to come to live with them but he is not a happy bunny. There are going to have a lot of fun, put it that way!

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review this story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by kara101 

22nd December 2007:
Some spelling and grammar errors but I would just suggest getting a beta reader for those. This story sounds like it could have been written by JK Rowling herself! Harry Potter related to the Blacks eh? That means he is related to Malfoy! Because Narcissa Malfoy is really Narcissa Black and she married Lucius Malfoy and they had Draco Malfoy! I get it! Interesting idea there. Keep on writing.

Hermione G

Author's Response: Actually, I must check this story again because I do have a beta but obviously we have both missed stuff.

I feel so flattered that you think it could have been written by JKR, awesome compliment but I don't think I have her knack for creating a whole world from scratch!

Harry related to the Blacks... Well, Charlus Potter is taken directly from the tapestry (as per the lexicon) so he is canon. Now, I believe JKR said that it could be someone with the same surname but then again she has also said that most pure blood families are related somehow. He is even related very indirectly to Voldy himself (I mean in DH going back to the three brothers, Voldy is descended from the one with the stone and Harry to the one with the clock, although this probably goes back to the Middle Ages, so it's now unimportant). Yes, I am writing chapter 21 at the moment. Thanks so, so much for all the work that you are putting into this! x


 Report Review

Review #11, by Bella_Portia 

18th November 2007:
Umbridge as MOM -- what a horrible thought! (and a great idea)
Liked the legalistic moves -- they are exactly the sort of weapon Umbridge would use (although inheritance taxes would fall heavily on people like the Blacks and the Malfoys as a general rule)
Thought the final bit about Malfoy coming to live at Grimmauld Place was an interesting twist to look forward to -- although I did sort of think that would be about the last place they'd want to put him, even if he is Tonk's cousin.


Author's Response: Yes, I thought she would be an interesting Minister! The taxation laws are probably subconsciously a product of my actual legal training. Because of the time-scale for becoming a beneficiary the Malfoys are not particularly affected, pressumably they got most of their wealth from Lucius' parents or Narcissa's. Draco will not be prevented under this from inheriting from his mother because he is of age and she hasn't been dead for years like in Harry's parents' case. She is trying to attack Harry primarily but yes, other people will get caught up in this too. Now, this is only the beginning, I mean she will pass other legislation that will me more far reaching, against muggle borns, other species etc. The Order are not going to be pleased, put it this way!

Now, well Draco's life here is truly in danger. The Tonks don't want him at their place because of fear of Voldemort going after them and the Order's Headquarters is a better protected place. Yes, not everyone trusts him, even Harry has his doubts but, of course, Malfoy is now in a very different situation which is bound to have some impact on his true allegiance.

Thanks for much for continuing to read and review.


 Report Review

Review #12, by JLHufflepuff 

10th November 2007:
A lot of new developments in this chapter. Of course, this makes me hate Umbrage just that much more... Those laws are exactly something that she would do.. So despotic and ridiculous - yet she has the power of position!

I think you have some sort of JKR brain connection if, prior to DH, you added in the part about Kreacher going to the cave with Regulus...

Ahhh.. so Draco is coming to live with them.. That should make for lots of good drama!

This chapter was mainly driven by dialogue, and I think it worked really well! YAY!

Author's Response: Yes, I hate Umbridge and she hates Harry, it's a bit personal in a way since he wouldn't back down when she was at Hogwarts. Also this will force Harry to take some extreme measures.

Now, I guessed that Kreacher would have something to do with the locket, having been Regulus' elf but I didn't get it exactly right. I involved Dobby too...

Yes, the Draco and Harry interaction will be interesting, although Harry is still a good person and will protect Draco a lot. Moody will not trust him at all...

I'm really pleased you enjoyed this chapter!

Ah, I have seen your owl but I will reply to it tomorrow. It's a bit late here now.


 Report Review

Review #13, by jyyl94 

15th October 2007:
Interesting, and Draco is really coming into the picture !! I love it !! About this : "Oh, my ...!" was Harry's reply. I don't think that he'd say "Oh, my.. "because to me, it kinda sounds too girly for him LOL. Try something else that definitely suits Harry. I'm loving this plot more and more, and Umbridge being minister is really unbelievable ! I haven't came across any plot with her being the minister, so this is sooo original !! I can't really imagine her being minister, though ! She's so, arrghh. Can't stand her. Great chapter, and I'm off to read the next !!

Author's Response: Yes, it seems that Harry's path and Draco's are converging here. That may be fun since they hate one another! Umbridge, well, she was quite high up at the Ministry, and she is really ambitious and pushy so I could see something like that happening in real life politics, i.e. the worst person for the job getting it. She has some ideas that well... The Order is now going to fight two fronts: Voldemort and her. I'm not saying that she is a Death Eater, but as Harry said: "I wouldn't put it passed her." Maybe she just has her own sadistic agenda, wait and see... I will check the whole story for errors soon although at the moment I'm trying to get my chapter 19 off the ground. With Harry, yes, maybe I get him to express surprise etc in a different way, maybe more through body language actually. I'll think about what may work.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Joanne K 

20th September 2007:
I think everyone guessed about RAB being Regulus and the locket being the one they found in book five. lol.

Author's Response: You're absolutely right, if anything it was a bit too obvious (RAB etc). I couldn't depart from this because it was how I thought it would be all the way along. I leave Mundungus out here although I actually suspected that he might have played a part in canon before I read it, I never guessed about Umbridge having it though. I have some plans for Umbridge but you will see in the next chapter... I'm so glad people are still keeping up with this, especially since I think your own book 7 story is so good! x

 Report Review

Review #15, by LupinFan45 

9th September 2007:
it's really good!!! :@ :@ :@ :@ :@ :@

LupinFan45

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, again! It feels really great to know that people like it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by dramione12 

8th September 2007:
ACH! Now I have to WAIT! :-( UPDATE SOON! :-)

Author's Response: Ok, thanks for reviewing. As for the wait, chapter 16 is in the queue...

 Report Review

Review #17, by edenvirg 

8th September 2007:
Wow. So Harry's story will now tie in with Draco's. :) Interesting. By the way, have you had this chapter beta-ed yet? ;) I like how so many things are happening; I hope you don't lose track of them. LOL. :) I also like your ingenuity in having new things happen, like that taxation law. Original ideas like this make a story worth reading.

Author's Response: Yes, they are about to live under the same roof which will prove interesting... Yes, I'm trying to keep track of all the mysteries and conundrums to ensure that they all get answered in the end. Now, as for the betaing, I don't know.
What I mean is that I posted the chapter before it got edited, then my beta had it edited and I posted it again but I'm not sure right now if the version that is currently up is the first or the second one. I will go and check. I'm so glad you like the story and that you keep on reading. Chapter 16 is now in the queue, so I will have to try to get time to think of the next one. Ah, the taxation thing, I think I get this law fixation from time to time since I actually have a Law degree myself and I hate taxes! lol x


 Report Review

Review #18, by Sing4theSole 

3rd September 2007:
this story is gREAT!! keep writing. x

Author's Response: I'm really please you really like the story. I am currently writing chapter 16, I'll put it in the queue sometime this week, I guess.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Nautonnier 

3rd September 2007:
Ah! It sounds like things are about to get interesting with Malfoy around! Don't keep us in limbo for too long ;) And of course, Umbridge as minister would give anyone the creeps! I love your originality in this story, please keep it up!

Author's Response: Yeah, Malfoy -v- Harry is bound to be fun! I'm glad you like it and Umbridge, yes, she really has it in for Harry at the moment. There is no too much she can do to him, so she is just trying to rip him off, she'll probably be worse with werewolves and half-giants though...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review