Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Werewolf_love 

27th December 2013:
Wow! Where did you get the ideas for this? Looks awesome. Love the name Kerri as well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by knicoles 

25th July 2013:
I like the idea of saying that jkr had missed some key faqs and had unknowingly spread miss-information through dissemination of her books.

The tie into Snape as a family member is interesting and looking forward to the relationship being fleshed out. There are many fanfics that don't do his personality justice. What I've read written about him so far is how I'd imagine him acting.

 Report Review

Review #3, by noname 

18th February 2011:
That was amazing. I love wolves and my favorite character is Snape. This totally ROCKS! I WOULD GIVE IT AN INFINITY/INFINITY FOR A RATING IF I COULD!

Author's Response: Thanks.

Snape was my second favorite character when I began this series but now I think he's become my favorite. I set out here to show the side of him that we don't see in canon. The Harry Potter series is mostly biased against him because it's all told from Harry's point of view and of course he hates Snape. We don't see the good things that he did that Harry wasn't even aware of. We don't get to see many of his good character traits until he dies. That's the thing that I wanted to change. Sometimes people tell me that my story has changed their whole opinion about Snape and that's always very gratifying.


 Report Review

Review #4, by lunylovegoodlover 

16th February 2011:
This is a really ingenious plot. It's very creative and off-the-beaten-track, but at the same time manages to be realistic. The characters, too, are really good. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks.

The idea was in my head quite literally for years, though much of the time I was reading the series and waiting for new books to come out. I didn't actually start writing until the end of the series though.


 Report Review

Review #5, by strawberrydarhling 

18th June 2010:
This seems fairly interesting so far.

I'll probably read on

Author's Response: Thanks. Hope you do.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Aeana 

15th February 2010:
WOW.

I am completely in love with your story. I noticed in a couple of places there were some e letters missing on the ends of words. I have a tendency to do that myself. (I'm not the gushing reviewer type and I think it's always useful to leave constructive criticism) However the plot line is genius and I shall follow the storyline with interest.

It's really really good.

Author's Response: Eek. How did I do that? This is the first time anyone has told me about letters missing from the ends of words. Maybe they think it's too minor to mention. Once I typed "Diagon Alley" as "Knockturn Alley" and thankfully a reviewer caught it and brought it to my attention. I think that was the most serious typo I've made yet.

Anyway, thanks for the review. Hope you like the rest of the story.


 Report Review

Review #7, by funkynat 

24th November 2009:
haha.. Lovely idea of story, good pretext with the 'real documents' etc.
Can't wait to see where it all leads.

Author's Response: Thank you.

The 'real documents' thing was my way of sort of apologizing for the non canon elements of the story. I always hated non canon until I was inspired to write this. It has literally taken years for me to get over the idea that the story is inferior because of it. The Dobby Awards helped a lot.


 Report Review

Review #8, by kes 

10th November 2009:
its a cool story but dont pretend you know the lupins because you dont they are fiction

Author's Response: Thank you.and it's a literary device.

 Report Review

Review #9, by jamaica_no_problem 

13th October 2009:
whoa this is really really really good!!! sooo soo well written and such an awesome idea to write about!!! you are an amazing writer and i can't wait to read the rest!!!

Author's Response: Well, I'm 20+ years old so that accounts for some of my writing skill, at least in comparison to other writers here. That's why I think my story stands out a bit, but you'd be surprised just how many adult writers there are around here.

I'm glad you like my story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Molly 

3rd October 2009:
Okay, I have to say: I usually hate fics that totally rock the basis of the canon. That being said, I have a good feeling about this one. I like it, even if I'm a bit weirded out. I realize that Snape's her half-brother and all, but for some reason that last scene seemed a little...sexual tension-y? Maybe I need to stop reading SS/HG fics.

Anyway, I am curious to see what happens next, so I'll definitely keep reading!

-Molly

Author's Response: I always hated non- canon stories too, until I became inspired to write this one. It was in my head for at least a year before I gave up and actually started it. I considered it inferior to my canon stories until it actually won a Dobby award. Now I feel better about it.

There's not supposed to be any sexual tension between Kerri and Snape. That's the first time I've heard that.

Thanks for taking a chance on my story, by the way. The non canon elements usually turn people off. I've actually been turned away in the review threads because of it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by mercurialxsmile 

19th August 2009:
I was a little wary when I first started... But I'm very curious, and the story looks like it will consume some of my time (certainly a plus :D)
it hasn't been made clear though; Severus is Voldemort's son? (or am I just really really oblivious?) I'm just going to assume he is ^_^
Thank you!

Author's Response: I know -- thanks for taking a chance. I know that "Voldemort's daughter" chases a lot of people away because it's considered a cliche.

Yes, Snape in this story is Voldemort's son. He and Kerri are half siblings. I really think I should go back and re-write this chapter because people keep asking me this same question.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by _hermione_jean_malfoy_ 

30th July 2009:
oh this is absloutley great (to me that sounds as though im being saracastic, but dont worry, im not!). if you keep this up, ill just HAVE to add this to my favourites!

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope you continue to enjoy it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LunaLovegood72 

21st May 2009:
I really like how you made it all the letters and journals and everything... not many people do that. It's really creative!

So... Voldemort is both Cerridwyn's and Snape's father? That must be scary. It's good that he doesn't know about Cerridwyn, or else... yeah, bad.

Cerridwyn seems so sweet and innocent. I love how much she loves Hogwarts! It's so cute! I have to say, though, I do love Snape, no matter what Cerridwyn says. He's cool.

It is pretty weird that Cerridwyn and Snape don't talk and then one day he just invites her over... although he doesn't really seem like the type who would be used to social situations, much less complicated social situations. Other than being bullied.

Anyway, this is really creative and I really like it. I'm going to have to go read more now!

Author's Response: The reason you don't see many letters and journals here is because there are strict rules governing them that are hard to navigate. I had a lot of rejections when I first began posting this.

Yes, Voldemort is the father of both Snape and Kerri, but other than a few odd relationships like that, I've stuck with canon as much as possible. And yes, it is scary, but also embarrassing for Kerri. In a way she's a lot like Remus. Remus is one of the nicest people in the series, but he looks at himself and thinks only of the werewolf inside. Kerri lives her life in fear that she might take after Voldemort a bit too much.

Hogwarts is Kerri's current love. Eventually she'll have romance in her life but for right now, Hogwarts is her life.

Snape has been avoiding Kerri for a couple of reasons. One, he doesn't want any old Death Eaters noticing and wondering about the connection. Two, he really does not relate well to children and teens. Now that she's grown up, it's easier for him to relate to her.

Thanks so much for reviewing. My reviews have been dropping off a lot lately and it's very depressing.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Frogprincess 

6th December 2008:
The forword was really a cool idea and Authors note was the funniest thing in the chapter.

I think that this chapter is a really good introduction. It explains the base of the story, and yet leaves questions.

I think the letters are interesting and they tell a lot more about the situation. So I really like that (I love detail.)

Also, I have to say that from this chapter, to where I have read so far, she has changed a lot as a person. That is cool, she has grown.

wonderful chapter.

Frogprincess.

Author's Response: Are you back to the original story again? Some people have been going back through which is nice since I lost a ton of reviews. Personally, I'm terrified to look at it myself for fear that I'll think it's so horrible that I delete it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by ChoS_sista_gurl 

12th November 2008:
Hey there, I'm here from the forums.

I'm not a strict advocater of canon, but I've never been fond of spawn-of-Voldemort stories, either. It just doesn't seem in character for Tom Riddle to waste time fraternizing with ladies, even when he was younger. He's always had somewhat of a superiority complex where he can't admit anyone as his equal (or worthy of his affection).

BUT I will look past that, because I like giving people the benefit of the doubt. =] I like Remus/OC stories, and I like your title.

At first, the timeline was a bit confusing. I didn't understand who was descended from who, who married who, etc. But Cerridwyn's mother's--who was Snape's mom as well? or was Voldy Snape's father?--last name was Howard, and Kerri changed it to Lupin when she married Remus. And the girl who's compiling these letters is Remus/Kerri's granddaughter. Right? I'm sure it'll clear up further along in the story, but right now it's a lot to wrap my head around.

I liked your characterization of Snape. It's not as sour and sarcastic as he's usually portrayed, but his love for Kerri really comes across nicely--when they're alone, anyway. I imagine he must have acted the same way towards Lily (Evans).

Reading on.

~CSG

Author's Response: Hi, I'm sorry I didn't get to my responses sooner but we had an emergency yesterday. One of my cats is sick and had to be taken to the emergency vet.

I know that "spawn-of-Voldemort" stories are not popular and generally with good reason. I had hoped that mine would be well written enough and unique enough that people would still like it. Now that I think of it, it probably puts people off when they read it in the summary so plenty of them probably never even begin reading in the first place.

This is not the first time I've heard people express confusion about the timeline. I probably should go back and give it an overhaul.

Let's see if I can answer your questions :

Kerri and Snape have separate mothers but the same father. (Voldemort).

Howard is Kerri's maiden name, which is her mother's name. It becomes Lupin after the marriage.

The person compiling the papers is one of Remus and Kerri's decendents but is not overly important to the story.

I'm always happy when people compliment my characterization of Snape. I feel that Rowling only showed one side of him, and since it was through Harry's eyes it was not at all flattering. I wanted to show the side of him that Dumbledore seemed to be the only person to see.

The weird relationships are the only things that violate the canon. The rest I have done my best to keep canon compliant.


 Report Review

Review #16, by DracoMuggleLuver_01 

10th November 2008:
Interesting start. You weren't vauge in my opinion. You got everything just right.

Author's Response: Hi.

Thank you. I've actually had reviewers accuse this chapter of being a bit vague and rattle off a lot of questions about things they didn't understand. I'm glad you didn't think this was the case.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Shellee 

12th May 2008:
The first part I don't exactly get, but I'm slightly tired and I'm trying to distract myself and get happier, so I'm not fully concentrated on reading. I'm very intrigued to what this fiction is going to be about. Kerri is the half sister of Snape. Their father is Voldemort. Kerri's good friends with Charlie. I think that's the main deal for about now, isn't it? Must have come to her as quite a shock, finding out that the world most evil wizard is your father. I am curious though, you might cover this in coming chapters, if so don't mind this, but how many years are there between Snape and Kerri? How did she find out that Voldemort is her father? In a way, Snape is right. She has the genetic gifts of her father, she should use them well and for the best, make a life for herself.

Author's Response: To answer your questions, Kerri is nineteen and Snape is thirty one. I've never really gone into the details of how Kerri traced her parentage. I felt it was too much trouble and not strictly needed so I just explained that she was very intelligent and managed to unravel it all on her own.

The story is AU so it probably is hard to follow if it's been a while since you've read the books. I used to passionately hate any story that wasn't canon until I was inspired to write this horribly complicated monstrosity. Eventually I plan to do a complete rewrite of all three books and this is the rewrite of the first one.

There were just some facts that I disagreed with throughout the series and I guess that basically, this is me setting out to fix them. Aside from a few weird relationships, and the fate of a few people at the very end, I've tried not to change too much.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Regina Noctis 

1st May 2008:
Dear Muggle Liasion of the Lupin Family:

Great story. Keep up the good work, and I love it! ^_^

Sincerely yours,

Regina Noctis

Author's Response: Hmmm....I think I recognize your name from around the forums. Thanks for stopping by my story. Hope you continue to enjoy it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by JLHufflepuff 

22nd April 2008:
Oooh... I love it already! I really like the factual (yet somehow tongue-in-cheek feeling) introduction to what these collection of letters are. I feel as if I'm treading on historical ground. I'm glad to finally have these primary documents in my hands (or on my screen, I mean). ;)

So.. Hagrid was a mentor of sorts, Charlie a friend - and SNAPE half-brother and somewhat mentor. At least, after she discovered being related to him, he seemed to be such a strong mentor, offering words of advice that were very positive... I like the way he kind of hinted at his own personal angst...

It's just interesting thinking of the backstory behind how this situation came to be. I'm a canon-freak, but this feels so authentic that I'm very curious to see how it will pan out!

My favorite line: "I’d come to Dumbledore for some sort of comfort and he offered me lemon drops and Snape."

Author's Response: Hi there ! I'm so glad to see that you finally made it here. I always feel honored when you canon freaks take the time to check this story out and then compliment it.

I don't think I'd go so far as to call Snape a mentor exactly. That was pretty much the one and only time he ever had anything nice to say to Kerri. He treated her about as horribly as he treated Harry as you can see from later flashbacks that were immensely fun to write.

People do seem to like the Dumbledore - lemon drop line. You're not the first person to mention it. It's always interesting to see how different reviewer's opinions differ or reflect each other.

Anyhow, I'm glad you made it here and I hope you continue to enjoy my story.


 Report Review

Review #20, by celticbard 

10th April 2008:
Oh, this looks very interesting! I love the diary/letter format, it reminds me of Stoker's "Dracula". I cannot wait to read the rest. Best of luck!

Author's Response: I think I know your name from over at elderlies, don't I?

Thanks for reviewing -- hope you enjoy my story.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Bella_Portia 

3rd March 2008:
Well, I'm glad I finally had a chance to begin your series. It is truly intriguing and extremely well written. I like the premise and the epistolatory (sp??) structure. I do prefer my stories to follow the canon, so this did take a bit of adjustment. But I am looking forward to following the story.

Author's Response: Hi Bella Portia,

Thank you so much. Personally, I prefer canon too, but I got inspired with this and it just carried me off like a wild horse. I didn't have any choice in the matter.

Whenever I get complements on this story from people who prefer canon, I always feel very flattered. I understand, but I always feel a little disappointed when people can't get past the places where it deviates. As far as the story itself goes, I'm sticking to the canon. I think that if people can just accept the non-canon relationships in the story that it's worth reading. (But then I may be slightly biased.)

Anyway -- thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review. I hope you continue to enjoy my story !


 Report Review

Review #22, by Silver_Rosed_ElphabaFae 

25th February 2008:
That was very interesting. I like it! 10/10!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much !

 Report Review

Review #23, by morgana67 

9th February 2008:
Ok, I read this chapter yesterday and I posted a review but somehow it's not here, so I'll try to do it again.

I find the topic very interesting, well, they are not only brother and sister but Voldy's children. Before HBP, I actuallly got into my head that Harry was, because of the super strong connection, although he looking so much like James, well... that disconcerted me a bit.

Now, I really like your OC and the letters and the fact that "the Muggle writer" got it a bit third hand and not all is accurate. Very good device.

Also Snape being nasty to her as a pretence is pretty canon. Now, when you say something like "making the world a better place", well you must be psychic because you wrote this before DH and those are Remus' exact words to Harry in the forest.

On to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you.

I think the relationships between Kerri - Snape - Voldemort are the thing that turns people off of this story the most. So far, it's the most non canon part, and its the one that bothers me the most too. But I like playing with these very strained family reationships. Also, the story is partly about facing and fighting one's inner demons. Remus's is a wolf, Kerri's is Voldemort because she's afraid somehow that she might end up like him one day. That creates a great opening to bond her to Snape because as she often puts it, "we are uniquely outfitted to understand one another".

I was right about a few things that were going to happen in this series, so maybe I am psychic. I knew Harry was a horcrux and I knew Dumbledore had arranged his own death with Snape. I love being right like that, and I really am trying to keep this as close to the canon as I can. For the most part, the story will be the same, with the exception of some of the relationships and some of the deaths in DH.

Snape is pretty good at being nasty as a pretense isn't he? I've had some criticism on later chapters that he's turning too soft in his friendship with Kerri, but I wanted to show that side of him that no one but Dumbledore saw all those years. Could you keep an eye on that for me, and tell me what you think?

Sounds like you like my story -- I'm glad. Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Richter Vans 

31st January 2008:
Its interesting non canon story, XD... So no Tonks, and no Teddy Lupin... You write this before reading the 6th and 7th book?

Its interesting, how the dark lord did that. But I didnt get how is it that Snape is his half brother? by blood? Is he son of Voldemort too?? I didnt get it. XD. I'll keep on reading.

10/10 for the original plot.

Author's Response: Snape and Kerri are Voldemort's children, but they have different mothers.

Tonks has a major role in the story -- she ends up becoming Kerri's best friend. But no, I'm not putting her with Remus. To me, that relationship was just weird. They didn't seem right to me. I'm going to pair her with another werewolf though, one I think she's more compatible with.

I began writing this story after DH came out, but it was in my head ever since....Order of the Phoenix probably. For years at any rate. I didn't want to write it, because I didn't approve of violating canon, but it was driving me crazy, so here it is.

And thank you for calling it original. I know it has some elements that are considered cliche, such as Voldemort having children. I've always hoped that I was presenting it uniquely and giving it a special twist that hasn't been done before.


 Report Review

Review #25, by zrose 

21st December 2007:
I really like this...good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much -- you really made my day. You're the first person to give me a review for this story, and I was starting to get discouraged. I really appreciate it !

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review